GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PS3 DualShock 3 Wireless Controller

The DUALSHOCK 3 wireless controller for the PLAYSTATION 3 system provides the most intuitive game play experience with pressure sensors in each action button and the inclusion of the highly sensitive SIXAXIS motion sensing technology. Each hit, crash and explosion is more realistic when the user feels the rumble right in the palm of their hand. It can even detect natural movements for real-time and high precision interactive play, acting as a natural extension of the user's body. DUALSHOCK 3 wireless controller utilizes Bluetooth technology for wireless game play and the controller's USB cable to seamlessly and automatically charge the controller through the PLAYSTATION 3 system at anytime.
Average Customer Rating:
8.243
8.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (125 reviews)
10 stars
57
9 stars
19
8 stars
10
7 stars
4
6 stars
5
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
10
89 out of 11180%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PS3 DualShock 3 Wireless Controller
Review 1 for PS3 DualShock 3 Wireless Controller
Finally, Sony releases the new and much improved PS3 Dual Shock.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/08
cmbjive
When Sony first announced that they would be releasing the PS3 without the Dual Shock interface, many gamers were put off (at least I was) because since the days of N64, rumble functionality has become a mainstay for gamers and game developers. Now Sony has corrected that mistake and released the Dual Shock 3. Before I continue, I should state that I kind of cheated and purchased the Japanese version, which was only $5 more than the US Dual Shock. I wanted to play DMC4 with rumble feedback and I must say that it did not disappoint. The heavier feel of the controller reminded me of the comfortableness of the PS2 Dual Shock and reinforces the feeling that you're holding something solid, as opposed to a feeing like you're holding a functional paperweight that is the normal SixAxxis controller. When I was playing DMC4, the rumble felt really good, but compared to the rumble sensation on the 360 version of DMC4 it is a much weaker. In fact, compared to the original PS2 Dual Shock, the rumble is slightly weaker, but unless you're anal and need a Richter-scale busting rumble in your hands then you shouldn't be bothered by this. Comfort and design wise, this is typical Dual Shock PS controller stuff. If it ain't broke, don't fix it; pretty much sums up the PS3 Dual Shock controller. The standard PS controller was one of the most comfortable and beautifully design controllers ever created and Sony continues this tradition with the new PS3 Dual Shock. Functionality takes a hit because Sony continues that absolutely atrocious response system that is SixAxxis. That feature is absolutely worthless and whatever engineer or designer or whoever came up with this idea at Sony should be fired. Responsiveness takes a hit because there is a minor flaw that occurs when you're controlling your character. Sometimes when you are pushing the left analog stick (the one that controls your character) in one direction, if the game camera changes your character will move in the opposite direction that you're pressing the analog stick in. This only happens in a games that are from a third person perspective, however it prevents the controller from getting an higher grade. Maybe Sony will address this issue when it makes a Dual Shock 4. Overall, the controller is a welcome addition to the PS3 lineup. The Dual Shock 3 is what gamers have been craving from Sony ever since the PS3 was released. Now, here's hoping that Sony will retire the standard SixAxxis Controller and replace it with the Dual Shock 3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
34 of 42 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
kingofkongs123
Elgin,IL
 
Please wait while more information about kingofkongs123 is loaded.
Additional information about kingofkongs123 could not be loaded.
AWESOME!
Posted 3/6/11
This controller is 5x better than the Xbox controller! It feels like your holding the key the heaven in your hands. This controller lasts about up to a year & a half of not having problems. After that it squeaks a little because its so harcore! Buy the controller. Id rather have this controller than OJ Simpson.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for PS3 DualShock 3 Wireless Controller
awsome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/14
hulkboy
Location: pittsburg,ks
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It is a great working controller.All the buttons work great.it is cool.ps3 controllers are the best.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for PS3 DualShock 3 Wireless Controller
Bad, just bad
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/14
DespoilHestia
Location: Superior, Wi
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Its an okay controller; for me personally its far too small, the analogs are awkward, everything is too close together, it breaks and malfunctions easily. Three of my controllers have malfunctioned or broke. So I went with a third party $20 wired one with the 360 design that works MUCH better, well guess what... doesn't have motion censor so I cant play heavy rain or folklore. So whether you want to or not, you're literally going to have to buy a faulty controller just to play games anyway.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 4 for PS3 DualShock 3 Wireless Controller
Good but not durable
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/21/14
gandhi123
Location: Clifton,NJ
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The first year i had it it was good but then the keys started sticking and the controller would do the opposite of what i wanted it to .
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for PS3 DualShock 3 Wireless Controller
This product is amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/10/13
iceibearz97
Location: clifton park
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The controller works amazing and has amazing functionality, its the best PS3 controller I've ever used. i love the motion sensor in it. its a big step from the ps2 dualshock 2 controller. BEST CONTROLLER EVER!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for PS3 DualShock 3 Wireless Controller
press random buttons
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/13
coneyislandfan
Location: ny
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this controller press random buttons whenever I turn it on say for example if I am in the middle of playing gta it would then shoot on its own or the character would start jumping out of vehicles without me doing anything. This is quite annoying especially when I hunt for trophies.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for PS3 DualShock 3 Wireless Controller
Poor , stopped working
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/13
MynameisWHAT
Location: new you, NY
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I've had it a few years now , on black ops 2 it doesnt work.
for example when I run I shoot and do random stuff
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 8 for PS3 DualShock 3 Wireless Controller
Works like a charm.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/12
Shamus
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Since I've had it, it's eliminated the use of wires, and it's also allowed me to be in whatever position when using it. Of course, I can just walk around when using it. A very innovative gaming accessory. The Dualshock controller's one flaw is that you have to activate it before it can be used. And sometimes, the controller doesn't respond to some of my commands when trying to activate it. But still, an ingenious touch to the PS3.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 9 for PS3 DualShock 3 Wireless Controller
WORSE CONTROLLER EVER!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/28/12
RACER804
Location: Fort Plain, NY.
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought a pre-owned Dualshock 3 controller cause mine broke. I was in the middle of a game when my original Dualshock 3 controller stopped working. It froze on me litrally. I didn't have another except for the collector's metalic gold one in which I refused to open, so I went out and got another black one just like the original one. I got it home, charged it overnight and tried to sync it to my ps3; when I tried to, it didn't work as well; all the top lights flashed and nothing worked the same thing happend to the original one. I couldn't turn it on or off with my original and the pre-owned controller was no better..
If anyone tries a pre-owned wireless controller save your money and get the NEW ONE. PRE-OWNED IS NO GOOD. However, wired controllers work fine' so far?
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for PS3 DualShock 3 Wireless Controller
best ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/12
best7401
Location: everett, ma
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i love this controller. it came with my ps3 system and i have a sister who like to play too so i will be buying one for her. believe meits awesome.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for PS3 DualShock 3 Wireless Controller
i love games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/12
23456789
Location: hawaii
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
games are awesome and i god my ps3 for my birthday and ever seance i loved games and i had a lot but now i need more so that is why im shining up
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PS3 DualShock 3 Wireless Controller
Great controller
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/13/12
Erik2000
Location: Florida,FL
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Well ive had this controller for about 6 months and unlike some cheap 20 dollar controller i got this one has never failed me in any way,great controller.BUT they should work on a better design.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
The Call of Duty: MW3 Ear Force Bravo
8.4 out of 10(14)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 13 for PS3 DualShock 3 Wireless Controller
Much Better than Xbox's!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/2/12
THEGAMER423
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have had a PS2 and own a PS3. One of my favorite parts about the PS3 is the more comfortable controller than Xbox's. The vibration feature is great. I love where the D pad and analog sticks are placed. I also love how easy it is to remember the O, square, X and triangle locations are. This controller is very amazing and that is why it wasn't changed when making the new PS3 console.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PS3 DualShock 3 Wireless Controller
Sony, Of Course
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/12
Sy777
Location: Atlanta
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
A lesson for all new and upcoming gamers, NEVER BUY THIRD PARTY ACCESSORIES. Especially controllers. Sony Dual Shock controller is a must, but is way to pricy. $55 is pushing it. Its not like we have a choice, unless your dumb enough to buy MadCatz or something. Controller is nice, light, and reliable. If kept in good condition, will last you a long time. Controller is a must buy, DUH. Sony brand, expensive but reliable. I would NOT reccomend their bluetooths, they are VERY UNCOMFORTABLE. After an hour or so, my ear was in agony. Cant wear the Sony bluetooth for longer then that otherwise its never ending pain. Pairing it is very annoying too.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PS3 DualShock 3 Wireless Controller
Average.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/12
CollegeGammer
Location: Hawaii
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I had purchased the controller myself so that I could be able to play with friends. Being a college student I needed to budget, as well as getting as much value as I can for my buck. I use the controller on a daily to weekly basis. The only thing that I can recommend, is to purchase any controller new. It's because now, I am starting to have bunch of problems with the used controller; the controller sometimes has a mind of it's own. I got what I paid for, but now I plan on reselling the used controller to buy a new one. Hope this review helps.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PS3 DualShock 3 Wireless Controller
Preeeeeety good controller
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/12
soulouloilister
Location: Rock Bottom
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
For those of you who don't know, this is the original Sony controller that comes with every Playstation 3 purchased. It is a great controller, not too heavy, not too light, however I will say I do prefer the xBox 360 controllers over this one when it comes to comfort and construction. I'm not saying that this controller is like holding a rock, it's just your basic, reliable controller. Another thing is, these controllers break a lot easier than Microsoft 360 controllers, because they're so hollow, and the plastic shell (the outer plastic that you can see) is really thin. But, what can I say? Other than the price tag, this is a great controller, especially with the Dualshock feature, it literally feels like you're holding a real gun, just a lot lighter, and in the shape of a controller. Get this over a Logitech or PDP controller, you won't be disappointed. My PS3's controllers have lasted about two years, so, yeah.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PS3 DualShock 3 Wireless Controller
its GREAT!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/12
PS3IzThEbEsT
Location: Mustang,OK
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
ive had this controller for 3 years and it just now broke ima have to get a new one. gamestops the best!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PS3 DualShock 3 Wireless Controller
Controller good for a couple of months.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/5/12
Sonicpichu
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The controller is perfect for anyone who has small hands. Vibrations on the remote makes it good for FPS games. But for me the controller has one problem.
After several months of playing, the controller stick (L3) woudnt be pressed down. (Example: Mw3- Trying to sprint but when button is pressed down, doesnt respond. this happened to me)
I recommend a different brand controller if you want it to last.
The Dualshock is still good for all the people on earth though.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PS3 DualShock 3 Wireless Controller
Great controls,Great design,Great durability,but..
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/2/12
WiiStars
Location: Roscoe,Illinois
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
The PS3 dualshock controller is all around great.Except for one thing ill mention later in my review.The performance is great,it reads all my button mashing.The design is my favorite part about it.I love how you can turn on and off the 3 with the controller, and I like alot how durable it really is.Just one thing is a setback,and it has nothing to do with the performance or the design of the controller,its the price of an additional controller.When you buy a PS3 new,it always comes with a controller,but in alot of cases,your in need of two,just like me.The price for a brand new Sony made dualshock controller is $55,which is alot of money.I reccomend either save up your money or buy an afterglow wireless or wired controller.Other than the price though,its a pretty darn great controller and thats why I give the PS3 Dualshock controller a 10 of 10.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for PS3 DualShock 3 Wireless Controller
this is a pretty good controller
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/24/12
coodude13579
Location: Houston, TX
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
if you like simple plain controllers than you should just get the black one than all the other color
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>