GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Baja: Edge of Control

From the core founding members of the MX vs. ATV franchise comes the ultimate off-roadracing experience: BAJA. Conquer the toughest terrain Mother Nature has to offer and buildthe ultimate off-road vehicle in the most realistic, edge-of-control racing game ever created.Combining the best elements of the real-world sport with the right balance of arcade fun, BAJAtransports players to the epic open worlds and unforgiving terrain found at the pinnacle ofoff-road racing. Stunning visuals, vertical environments, and unpredictable terrain are crossedin over 100 square miles of drive-to-horizon landscape. Master hill-climb, circuit, and rallyraces to earn career sponsorships on the path to off-road supremacy. Harness the horsepowerof elite Trophy Trucks, 4x4's and Buggies to finally compete in the definitive off-road endurancechallenge, the Baja.
Average Customer Rating:
8.5
8.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
10 stars
8
9 stars
1
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 out of 1479%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Baja: Edge of Control
Review 1 for Baja: Edge of Control
Unique game, but not for everyone
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/5/12
aco612
Location: Future wetlands of Louisiana
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is pretty well dismissed by racing gamers: it doesn't have the panache of the Forza Motorsports series, or the hipness of Dirt; what it does have is a pretty realistic simulation of Baja racing. It isn't easy. It isn't edge of your seat excitement. It hasn't got a thumping techno soundtrack or the demure enunciation of Forza or colossal wrecks or ... you get the picture, right? Playing this game is like actually DRIVING in Baja! You have to maintain concentration or you will go right over. You have to actually scan ahead to look at the surface (wet slows you down, sand is hard to steer in). The competition is tough. But if you prevail and bear with it, your skills will improve and you will feel like you actually accomplished something difficult. So it isn't for everyone, and sure enough, not everyone likes it. But if you like real racing sims with none of the fluff, this is a great and very re-playable game. And the freeform driving is a quick way to waste a couple hours without actually having to drive to Mexico.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Baja: Edge of Control
I love this game.......I hate this game!!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/7/10
XboxGamerGrL
Okay, I happen to be an off-road fan. So when I saw this game (used of course) I thought to myself , this would be such a fun game to get into. Well I brought the game home!! And now, its just collecting dust. I love this game for the realistic graphics and the awesome engine sound. I hate this game because it seems when you race you have the SLOWEST truck in the bunch. Heaven help you if you lose your way and go off the track, you won't be winning that race!! Honestly the trucks are limited to what you can drive. All the real rad TROPHY TRUCKS you would have to unlock a level (GOOD LUCK)!! Not my idea of a good time game. The controls aren't too shabby, yes it does give a "real off-road effect", however steering can be a little tighter so you can have some sort of control. If your interested in playing career mode, make sure you have ALOT of patience. Its gonna take a bit of time to even think of winning a race or even coming in 3rd, at the most part!!! One thing that is half way descent is the tracks..... I hope someone different comes out withan off-road game...BUT EVEN BETTER!!!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Baja: Edge of Control
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/14/08
gamerdude
This game really is a great game. It's a bit hard at first, but once you get the hang of it, it is so much fun to play. It's hard and not a game you just mash the gas and go off the track, you have to pay attention to the track. Anyway, I wasnt gonna buy it and my friend did. After I played it for a while it really grew on me. I would say if you like racing games then try it, but if you're into arcade racers then you might not wanna get it, but i think it's a lot of fun. There are also a ton of tracks to pick from. The baja events can be a bit long, but they are still fun. I played online too and it was just fine. The upgrade system is okay. It's what you would expect: engine, tires, brakes, etc. Load times aren't too long, but they are there. It's a game where it's hard to just pick up the controller and win your first race. Even on easy, it's still hard.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Baja: Edge of Control
OMG WHAT A GAME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/29/08
bluga
This game has many great things so I'm going to start with the graphics, the car graphics don't look great but they look good, however the tracks and back grounds look perfect. The game itself is really hard and is a lot of fun to play, it's not like those other racing games where you are going to win all the time. No, you have to fight for that win. You can customize the cars in performance but you can't really change the way they look. That was the only disappointing thing in this game, but you can go and look at all the setups for the car and change shocks and all that stuff to make it drive better or to your liking. Online is a lot of fun and has a lot of different things you can do, this game has TONS to do and is really fun. I think for any one who likes to play racing games or just off road games should get this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Baja: Edge of Control
Great Game!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/10
Jewdude
This is one of the best off-road games ive ever played the realism of the controls and physics remind me of actually driving in the dirt. Although the realism is good the vehicle selection is limited: as in there are many different styles of trucks and buggys but there all the same speed stock theres no good starting truck like in other racing games...also the vehicle customization is limited once youve added all that you can add all you can do is tune your truck but thats how all racing games are i guess...i like the race tracks and the race types im a rally fan but the curcuit races are cool im not al the way through the game but so far the game is wayy fun for the full effect you gotta get the racing wheel it makes the game that much more real...out of what ive played so far i give this game a 9.5/10 its very entertaining
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Baja: Edge of Control
Finally a Good Off Road Racing Game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/1/08
Problem_With_Authority
I was kinda worried about getting this game because it takes a lot of processing power and memory to do a game like this. But THQ did a really good job There a couple things they need to work on. There suppose to be 2 people the vehicle. A driver and a co driver this game only has the driver. When you call for help half of the time the helicopter never shows up so you pretty much waste time stop where they say there going to be for nothing which really gets on my nerves. The graphics are awesome they could work on the vehicle graphics a little more Almost every trophy truck out there is custom so i can see why is a little hard to do. Robby Gordon's trophy truck is on here but its really not his its Allen Pfluger's There just needs to be a little more detail in the vehicles. As for the control its good i like it all and all I think this game is a must buy i think who ever buys it will like it. Its the first off road racing game that has good graphics and a blast to play i think the next Baja will be way better just because this is there first and there will always be a few tweaks to be made here there.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Baja: Edge of Control
Fun Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/10
Lizardrocker
Location: Birmingham,AL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is pretty fun, but it is a great game for free play. I am not so crazy about the career so i think this is more of a free play game that a career game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Baja: Edge of Control
This is an amazing game!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/11
offroader4life
Location: Tonopah, AZ
this game is amazing. Forget all the haters that dont know how to play the game. Stick to your halo........crybabies. I love the tracks, i love the trucks, i love this game. They really nailed it on this game. Granted the graphics are not the best in the world, but still an amazing game. And for those of you who whine about coming in last every race, be quiet and learn how to play the game. Anyway I'm almost done with the career.... now i need to work on the free ride. trust me, there is plenty of stuff to do on this game. I would definantly recommend this to a fellow OFFROAD ENTHUSIAST!!! Im not gona recommend it to some halo playing mouthbreather.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Baja: Edge of Control
Worst RAcing Game so far
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/08
1withFonz
Wow this game is awful. I pick this game up thinking it'll be really fun, boy was I wrong. They restrict you so much you can't go off the track or else they send you back if you go more than 15 feet while driving off there. That and the controls are horrible it seems like u can't control car at all. That and wheres the driver? Aren't cars supposed to have drivers I mean last time I checked in order for cars to drive they need a driver. Also if you have the unfortunate event of getting stuck in last you get stuck in last the whole race and is impossible to pull to the front I don't know how anyone can play this game except for moderately easy achievement points. I would not recommend this game to anyone. Don't listen to what other players say this game is awful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 23 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Baja: Edge of Control
My personal favorite racing game of all time!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/3/08
barnhart09
This game is well worth its weight in gold! It has so many tracks that you cant memorise them like other games, which keeps it interesting and chanllenging. The suspension moves so realisticly that it seems as though a THQ put a decent amount of time into it. The handleing is very realistic too, unlike other off-road games such as dirt. You accualy get moved by the bumps under you, you cant just fly down a dirt road with your throttle bodies wide open and expect to go perfectly straight down the road at 100M.P.H. The damage is realistic too, your car doesn't just die for no reason you can watch your gauges and see whats going on, and go into pits for repair. you can even stop and use your spare tire if you get a flat. this is why I love BAJA Edge of Control!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Baja: Edge of Control
Baja Edge Of Control
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/6/12
videogamefreak1
Location: miami florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
from the core founding members of the mx vs atv franchise comes the ultimate off road racing expierence baja conquer the toughest terrain mother nature has to offer and build the ultimate off road vehicle in the most realistic edge of control game ever created combining the best elements of the real world sport with the right balance of arcade fun baja transports players to the epic open worlds square miles of drive to horizen landscape master hill climb circuit and rally races to earn career sponsorships on the path to off road supremacy harness the horsepower of elite trophy trucks 4x4's and buggies to finally compete in the definitive off road endurance challenge the baja
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Baja: Edge of Control
Straight from the mud to CG
Posted on:9/6/08
Ostran
I watched a video on how they were making this game, they seriously went on a design overhaul... they looked at all the suspension, the swing arms and springs, the roll cages etc. and took it straight to CG. I honestly think this game will be sick! With actual off-road competition events like the hill climb, rock climb, and a circuit option BAJA offers a new view into the world of off-roading.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Baja: Edge of Control
Awesome game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/16/13
Jay3
Location: Seattle Wa
I have played some of the other rally games like dirt and I have also played Forenza and Gran Turismo. So needless to say I have played a few different racing games. This game is the reason I don't really enjoy the other racing games anymore, it's fun, changeling and a blast to play. Rather you're racing along cliffs, doing hill climbs or big rallies this game is just good. Upgrading your car or truck does not mean that you will win, it takes a little bit of skill to get good at this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Baja: Edge of Control
Fans of the pavement just don't understand
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/09
Poetic Skillz
I first have to start off by addressing those that have complained about the controls and handling on this game. These gamers obviously have no clue what happens to a truck, suv, or 4x4's on the rough off road terrain. The creators did an excellent job on taking real life events, and tranferring it to the next-gen video games. The handling and controls represent also exactly what would happen to a truck racing at those speeds over uneven terrain. So honestly, it you really aren't into four wheeling, or off roading, then you wont appreciate this game at all... That's like me purchasing a WWE video game when I'm not into wrestling at all, and then post a bad review on the moves! Any dirt riding junkie will apprecite this game for what it is, the graphics aren't the best that we've seen on a racing game, but you can't put the bar too high for THQ. However, that isn't stating that the graphics are bad neither, I am very statisfied with the games presentation and physics. They have a wide range of trucks, and 4x4's to choose from, and they did a wonderful job in creating the enviroments. Being that the game is a hard item to pick up used at any gamestop, I definitely recommend buying this new, it's something you wont regret, but only if you truly understand off roading. Those that complain about the controls and handling, and wine about how hard it is to finish a race or stay on the road. Stick to the pavement stable boys! Leave the hard tarrain of dirt, mud, hills, and jumps to those that know what to do with it. Baja Racing: Edge of control is not wasted money for the off road fan!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 15 for Baja: Edge of Control
its cool
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/12
yota89
Location: san luis az
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
good game !! nice!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10