GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sonic Unleashed

Sonic the Hedgehog is on an adventure unlike any other! Powered by an all-new engine,Sonic Unleashed merges classic Sonic gameplay with the latest in next-generation innovation.Merging blistering 2D action with meticulously rendered 3D environments, players race throughintriguing locations across the globe as Sonic to save a chaotic world.
Average Customer Rating:
8.076
8.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
10 stars
22
9 stars
11
8 stars
15
7 stars
7
6 stars
1
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
54 out of 6682%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sonic Unleashed
Review 1 for Sonic Unleashed
Sonic Blazing on the Right Path
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/08
Leigh
Challenge: Sonic Unleashed will definitely have you going through the levels a few times over to come back and find hidden things or to just improve your overall ranking in order to obtain Sun and Moon Medals, which work similar to Power Stars in Super Mario 64. Graphics: It is definitely pushing the Wii to its limits. Its constantly running at a smooth frame rate with no slowdowns whatsoever. Lush backgrounds match their environments perfectly, and look similar to what I would assume their real world counterparts would look like. Length: Completing the main game is not gonna take you very long. Obtaining all of the bonuses will definitely take you a while though. Storyline: The story isn't the most motivating but it'll get you through it. Controls: 3 different controller types are available to use. Traditional Gamers can opt for the Gamecube controller or the Wii's Classic controller. The third controller available to use is the Wiimote and nunchck combination. I personally found myself sticking to a GameCube Controller. It is nice to be able to have your pick of controller you would like to use, since no two gamers are alike. I'd maybe say only 3 times did I find myself agitated with the controls because they felt unresponsive. It wasn't enough to ruin the experience for me and was probably my fault anyway. Interface: The interface is kept very simple. Just your Dash Meter, Time for a specific ranking, and below it the actual counter. As a WereHog its pretty much the same thing. You have a health meter attached to your unleashed meter and a timer. It took a few minutes to figure out how to navigate it, but afterward navigating it wasn't an issue. Sound: Beautiful. You will definitely find yourself humming some of these tunes often. No unnecessary noises are present either. Overall: If you've been waiting for that Sonic game that has been done right, Here it is. Sonic Unleashed is definitely as much fun as the original games with that kick in it. I was never bored the entire time I was playing the game, even the werehog levels weren't so bad.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
19 of 21 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cold223
ct
 
Please wait while more information about Cold223 is loaded.
Additional information about Cold223 could not be loaded.
extra
Posted 2/1/11
the writing id also bad too and the story is weird DARK GIAIA?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Sonic Unleashed
Really fun including the werehog parts, but...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/16/13
WillofTheNight7
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This was good at first but I played the xbox 360 version first... The difference is night and day. well it was still fun but you can't level up like the 360 version and the overworld sucks. I guess my opinion is different cause I played the 360 version first, but oh well. Still better than sonic and the secret rings :)
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 3 for Sonic Unleashed
This game could have been great.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/13
rockstar321
Location: Fairfax VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Sonic unleashed could have been a great game, but the "night stages" ruin it. the daytime stages play like sonic colors, they're fast, they're fun, and they are great, well only problem is you can die a lot in eggmanland's day stage, I hate that stage. now the night stages, they are not like a sonic game, you just walk slowly as the "werehog" and fight a bunch of enimes, this can get annoying and tedious. now the story, basicly what happens is, Sonic confronting his nemesis, Doctor Eggman, bounding around a fleet of spaceships, and transforming into Super Sonic in order to stop him, destroying Eggman's mech and knocking Eggman himself to the ground. As a trap, Eggman pretends to plead for mercy. When Sonic is close enough, he activates the Chaos Energy Cannon, which traps Sonic in the center and begins drawing the Chaos energy out of Sonic and the Emeralds in a fashion that is clearly extremely painful for him.
After the laser is charged, Eggman fires it at the earth to wake a monster known as Dark Gaia, splitting the planet. The dark energy of the Emeralds is brought out by the ray, transforming Sonic into a monstrous version of himself and rendering the Chaos Emeralds gray and powerless. Eggman then opens an airlock which sends Sonic and the drained Emeralds out into space and down to Earth. While Sonic is saved from a fatal landing due to an unknown energy source, he still ends up taking a heavy fall, landing on top of a flying dog-like creature whom Sonic names Chip. The resulting impact causes Chip to lose his memory (which Sonic thinks is his fault). Sonic agrees to help Chip restore his memory during their journey. so I know it could have been a lot simpler. anyway, you go around the world, and slowly put the planet back together. this game has hub worlds, you just point and click to talk to the citizens of each continent. did i mention that each continent in the game is based off of real life countries. anyway, overall this is a great game. I recomend it to, all sonic fans, if you are not a sonic fan, well, you might not like this than.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 4 for Sonic Unleashed
sonic is back, but so is the werehog.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/13
rockstar321
Location: Fairfax VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
in this sonic game, durring the daytime you play as sonic, but when the moon goes down you play as the werehog. both of these stages are very good. but the daytime ones are a lot better. I still enjoy playing the nightime stages. the levels of the game are apotos,mazuri,spagoinia,holoska,chun-nan, shamar,empire city(NOTE: empire city is skiped entirely on the wii/ps2 versions of the game)adabat, and eggmanland. all of these stages are very well designed. there is nothing rushed about the game at all. it may actuly be the perfect sonic game, and the bosses are chalanging but still fun. the daytime levels are amazing, and the nightime levels are kind of fun but are slow compared to the daytime levels. but the rest of the game is perfect. the only problem is the graphics, they are okay, but the wii can do way better. yet the rest of the game is perfect. I highly recomend this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Sonic Unleashed
OK
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/12
FoxBro
Location: California, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I like it but it is a little bit too easy and the day stages are kind of boring and repeaitive but the night stages are awesome. The graphics are decent and the music is good. Overall good game and worth the buy.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 6 for Sonic Unleashed
this game i would describe it as awesome,
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/12
jegboo
Location: TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game i would describe it as awesome, great graphics , cool werehog...... if you LOVE sonic you will love this game !!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Sonic Unleashed
Sonic Unleashed Review
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/13/12
Gastly
Location: Wheeling illinois
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This Game is very corny but the game is lots of fun for sonic fans which I Am One of his biggest fans anyway the graphics get better and better when you go through the game The controls for running levels that's the problem I Would take a Rent out of this one. what option would you pick.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 8 for Sonic Unleashed
Not the best Sonic game ever.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/12
dtwiiguru6
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Sonic finally looks like he is beginning to recover from the dramatic downfall he took from the abysmal Sonic 06. There are two different gameplay styles. There are daytime levels and nighttime levels. The daytime levels are what anyone would expect from a Sonic game. Sonic runs at the speed of sound through stages and it is really fun. He also has a boost gauge which he can fill up by collecting rings. The problem is that the gauge is split up into bars, each representing one boost. You cannot just do one continuous boost to get through the level, so you need to keep pressing the Y button (GC Controller) in order to keep up your speed. And the controls while boosting are WAY too stiff, and it's really hard to turn while boosting. Then there are the nighttime levels. When the sun sets, Sonic morphs into a werehog (don't ask), loses his speed and gains strength, and starts beating the life out of enemies. While these levels aren't too bad, there are just too many of them. For every one daytime stage, there can be as many as FOUR nighttime stages. They are combat based, and feel like the old-school Crash Bandicoot games. They can get repetitive and can last as long as ten minutes each. But they're still not that bad. The game has you collecting Sun and Moon medals, and how many you collect depends on the rank you get on a stage. So you need ALL S-Ranks in order to beat the game 100%. And the ranks are COMPLETELY based on time, not rings or enemies killed. So you can have NO rings at the end of a level AND have killed NO enemies, but as long as you beat the level within a certain time, you will still get S-Rank. The music is completely orchestrated and sounds really nice. The only soundtrack I have a problem with is the song that plays when you encounter enemies at night. it's catchy at first, but it plays EVERY TIME you encounter enemies and gets really annoying. Sonic Unleashed is a good game, but only for those who are passionate about Sonic games. It's not bad, but not worth buying if you are not yet familiar with the series.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for Sonic Unleashed
Sonic slows down
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/22/12
Dman17
Location: San Francisco, Califronia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is the slowest Sonic game I have ever played, or at least half of the time. Thats why I rated this game a five because half of the time this game is good and the other half its not. The balance between good and bad gameplay is the daytime and the nighttime zones. In the daytime Sonic is on the right track, he's blazing through a fun, exciting game, going around loop-de-loops, rocketing through rings. But when the sun goes down Sonic becomes a werehog. (Yep... A werehog! Really?!) When Sonic is a werehog he is moving along slowly or moving somewhat fast on all fours but its not the same. Plus you have to use his stretchy arms to fling you over stuff and get over pits, If you can get past these horrible nighttime levels the game isn't that bad. Except for Sonic's annoying new friend that is suppose to help you along the way but his voice just drives me crazy and you can't skip the cutscenes!! Also this may be the first Sonic game where when you lose all of your rings you don't die! How is that Sonic? Instead you have a life bar which is filled up by collecting rings. Also the enemies in the nighttime levels are so annoying to fight! Just my opinion, but don't get this game!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
rockstar321
Fairfax VA
 
Please wait while more information about rockstar321 is loaded.
Additional information about rockstar321 could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
well apparently.
Posted 3/9/13
sonic wiki says that "It's possible to reach 2900 mph while boosting through a checkpoint at Act 1 of the day stage of shamar, making this Sonic's fastest running speed shown in the Sonic games history." so it's far from slow. the slowest sonic game ever is sonic labyrniyh. sonic unleashed might actually be the fastest one.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Sonic Unleashed
very good.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/12
bobbyflabby
Location: bloomington il
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I think that sonic unleashed is a very good game, the graphics are outstanding, the story is realy good and the desighn of the levels is fantastic as are mostly all of the levels desighned by sega.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 11 for Sonic Unleashed
PERFECT GAME FOR ANY SONIC FAN
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/12
MARIOFAN25
Location: CHARLOTTE,NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
sonic unleashed was realesed in 2009 and was instantly popular. the story begins when you are on eggman's spaceship and you are in super sonic mode. just when it looks like eggman is about to give up he opens a hatch and he sends sonic plummiting to earth. using the power of the chaos emeralds eggman awakes dark gaia: a monster that is inside the earth and splits the earth in 7 pieces one for each continent. but a mutation on the ship turns sonic into a werehog. then you meet chip: a nice little creature that lost his memory when he landed. sonic promises to help chip regain his memory and defeat dark gaia. the environments sonic goes through include icy mountains and a city filled with robots to eggmanland and a island filled with windmills. when you complete all the missions you face a boss eventually finding all 7 chaos emeralds and restoring earth back to normal. the daytime running levels are fast and action packed. but when night falls he turns into the werehog. now this gameplay is completly unlike sonic. your shaking the wiimote around like your throwing a temper tantrum and while your doing that your building up a combo. and there is no boosting just running doing combos and solving puzzles. the bosses in the game are fun to play and also challenging later on. you battle eggman as daytime sonic. and you fight monsters as werehog sonic. and that's it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for Sonic Unleashed
Awesome game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/11/12
buster123
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is very awesome and the two types of stages are awesome! A perfect combination of adventure (night stages as weresonic) and speed (day stages as regular Sonic) It has an awesome storyline and the levels are fun even when you do them over and over again.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sonic Unleashed
You NEED Classic Controller Pro to play this game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/12
PeeWii
Location: New Hampshire
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
At first i would have rated this game a 5 but as you get into it its actually not that bad. I haven't played this game too long considering my 40 minute per day limit (don't ask). But i think this game is actually pretty good. I have played the Xbox 360 version, and I liked that version because you can explore the different areas. With the Wii version, you can only talk to the people in chat bubbles! I would rate the day stages a 9 and the night stages a 7, only because, as many people have mentioned, it is kinda slow. I think many people have exaggerated for the worse part on this game. Also one disadvantage with this game is that is 1 player only. OVERALL RATING: 8
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for Sonic Unleashed
best sonic game ever
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/11
inhisworldfan
Location: nowhere
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
my first and best sonic game ive ever played. its not too long but not a short game, it only took me 17 days to get to the final boss
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for Sonic Unleashed
A game brought to light by the humorous fans
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/17/11
Justin7
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I have so many more reasons to bash this game. It suffers a little bit - a lot in ALL areas. Mainly the Were"hog" stages. If you like repetitive, poorly designed brawlers go ahead and give this a try. Even the daylight stages feel underwhelming. Many of the stages will often play themselves for you. Because of the lack of challenge. Roaming the town in the day is very very boring. This is a very bad game. Need I say more? Everyone, including critics, bashed this game except the fans. (Unsurprisingly.) I find it funny how they blow Sonic games out of proportion and make them seem like masterpieces when they are clearly the opposite.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sonic Unleashed
Pretty awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/16/11
Pokemaster1
Location: Juno, Alaska
sonic is one of my favorite video games. this one was strange but awesome! i freaking love doing the nite levels, and day ones ar cool, 2.i love it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Sonic Unleashed
Not what I Expected
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:8/17/11
Mooja
Location: CA
I played Sonic Colors first so this one sort of let me down. There are a bunch of useless stuff like talking to people and the tutorials are awful. It's just not that good.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Michael2
 
Please wait while more information about Michael2 is loaded.
Additional information about Michael2 could not be loaded.
HORRIBLE
Posted 4/3/12
Every time i finish a battle i cant walk 10 steps without getting into another stupid were hog FIGHT!!!! And the controls are really difficult
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Sonic Unleashed
I fell left out on the wii version
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/13/11
Sonicfan03
this game is bad not the 360 version but the wii version is just bad I mean very few daytime stages and like 2 hour nighttime stages no hd and slower gameplay
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 19 for Sonic Unleashed
Good Ideas, but some don't come
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/1/11
bane12
Location: Marlboro, NJ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I honestly don't play Sonic games as much as I used to. After Shadow the Hedgehog and Sonic Heroes, I gave up the series. I returned to Sonic Unleashed because it felt different than the other ones and it was in certain aspects. Each Sonic game in the last decade only do one thing, try to add something new to something that worked out pretty well before. This game does give you that same feeling, but at least, it's somewhat successful. Sonic goes up against Eggman again, but this time, he's turned into some werewolf being and tossed down to Earth after failing epically. Once down there, you will meet your new Tails, an amnesiac Chip, who will help you through the tutorial. The gameplay is different than most Sonic games. It has those new 3D platforming sections as regular Sonic, who runs as fast as sound and just running through enemies can kill them. At night, there comes the werewolf sections. It feels like Twilight Princess. In Twilight Princess, where Link turns into a wolf, it makes sense and gameplay works. In Unleashed, it makes sense, but it doesn't work gameplay wise. Shaking around the Wii Remote and Nunchuk gets frustrating after the first minute of gameplay. I would recommend using the GameCube controller for these sections if you still have one of those lying around because you will probably get incredibly tired after swinging your arms around like an idiot. As werewolf Sonic, you will have slower platforming sections that will give you a slight headache and along with a new type of health bar and different combat. It's cool looking, but it doesn't feel as awesome and scary as it does in regular Sonic. With those of you worrying about graphics, you shouldn't. This game looks as if it's been cut out from the PS3. It doesn't feel like a Wii game surprisingly and if graphics are the only reason you play, then this one is something you should buy. The soundtrack is pretty good and it mixes in well with the gameplay sections. The lasting appeal is good if you want to beat the times on those frantic time based day time Sonic sections. If you are a diehard fan of Sonic, this is a game for you, but if you want varying gameplay mechanics where you switch from regular form to animal form (cough cough Twilight Princess), just go buy Twilight Princess.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 20 for Sonic Unleashed
BEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/11
lennon87
Location: Miami,FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
After Sonic Colors , Sonic Unleased is simply the best Sonic game ever! Personally, I seriously don't know why the critics hate the Werehog (night) stages at all. Other than that, the new "Hedgehog" engine really lets Sonic go back to his speedier side in the early 90s.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 next>>