GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Madden NFL 09 20th Anniversary Collectors Edition

Celebrating 20 Years of Innovation and counting, Madden NFL 09 delivers its most complete NFLfootball package ever. Whether you're a seasoned veteran or picking up the game for the first time,players of all skill levels will enjoy a unique, yet challenging experience with the innovative AdaptiveDifficulty Engine, which tailors the game to match your playing style. Instantly improve your gamewith the all-new virtual Training Center or incorporate feedback with EA SPORTS BackTrack,allowing you to learn from your mistakes on the fly. With a new broadcast presentation and onlineleagues, plus more than 85 new features and enhancements, Madden NFL 09 is the mostauthentic and adaptable game in sports video game history.
Average Customer Rating:
9.3
9.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
3
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 1090%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Madden NFL 09 20th Anniversary Collectors Edition
Review 1 for Madden NFL 09 20th Anniversary Collectors Edition
great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/13
AngryEagles
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i love this game it is my favorite madden and has so many new features compaired to the last madden and i would recommend this game to any madden fan
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Madden NFL 09 20th Anniversary Collectors Edition
it is good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/11
Anonymous
Location: hogwarts school of witchcraft and wizardry
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
dis is the best game ever me and all my wizard friends play it!!!!!! C=3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Madden NFL 09 20th Anniversary Collectors Edition
AWSOMENESS!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/25/11
jonahbeastlyboy
Location: knoxville,TN
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Really Really Really Awsome!!!!! Madden 09 Great!!!!!! Head Coach 09 good!!!!! Overall Great for 8 dollars!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for Madden NFL 09 20th Anniversary Collectors Edition
a good price for this collectors edition
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/11
madd3n
Location: baltimore,md
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
wow this includes head caoch and the games. madden has inspired us from 89 to 11. this has good grophics. this is a game for football fans. the best sports game. 09 is my fave because it has breet favrre. im a giants fan. i lost my copy of madden 11. so i decide to wait tell maddn 12 comes out. though im gonna get madden 09. im a big madden fan. got madden 08-11. im gonna get a collection of maddens when im all grown up. well te head coach part is cool. its like superstar. but ur the coach. u control the team its fun. i say get this game if ur a big madden fan well thats all for the madd3nreport
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Madden NFL 09 20th Anniversary Collectors Edition
Love to Coach!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/26/09
Edba83
This game has consumed my life. NFL Coach is like a sports role playing game of glory. The game play is very engaging, and you really feel like you are in the hotseat as a coach. I few of the downsides are that the load times can be a bit annoying when you are trying to react to situations quickly. Moreover, the coach creation is a bit of a pain in the neck because you can't create from scratch like say in Mass Effect. Sometimes the 'Defining Moments' feel a bit absurd. But for all the fun I really feel like I am nit-picking. The voice work is fun and lifelike, and the Adam Shefter really steals the show for me; and hearing the Defensive coordinator chew out the DBs and feign resignation is hilarious. The playcalling is fantastic, and i love the freedom you have to play games. It feels like all my favorite games (sports, simulation, RPG, and strategy) are all rolled up into one in this masterpiece from EA!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Madden NFL 09 20th Anniversary Collectors Edition
Excellent Buy except...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/09
Chargazfan
This is an awsome game. It is definantly the best football gameout there right now, but it does need someupdates. The constant noise that comes from the commentators make you want to turn the crowd noise higher. The repitition is very boring. I like some of the things they have to say, but it doesnt make sence, when the game has just started, and if say an average...or even below average quarterback (like Thigpen, Russel, Cutler) throws a seven yard pass, the commentators will say "...is the kind of quarterback who wll do this to you, weve seen all day hes been picking the defence apart" or something like that... The repetition makes the game feel less realistic. Also, after the first season, the comentators will start association different statistics with plaers. for example, after 2008, after the playoff, and after the off-season, the commentators dont say the right stats for players. When i was in the second week of my second year, i had LTrush for his third td run, and the commentators said that he was at 25, and that it was a respectablenumber and all these random thisngs... that needs to be fixed... plus, in madden 08 for xbox 360, and even madden 08 for psp both have awsome off season modes, especially with the drafting process... the offseason is really one of the best aspects of madden, 09 really went backwards here... i hope they allow you to put your own songs at certain points of the game like in mlb... Camera Angles:9 because when you want to control a CB, you cant see too much of the sideline, which is critical when your trying to hold the pffence late in the game Control: 10, great controls, dont change a thing Interface:9 because of the offseason, and the repetition... but otherwise, great Statistics:9, because some players really do deserve higher ratings (philip rivers, ed reed, matt ryan,joe flacco) , and they sometimes arent applied in the roster updates Challenge:9 becuase it does adapt to you, but even with an 800 madden iq, short consistant passes and runs and a decently managed defence can shut out even the patriots in this game, even after five years... i would think that more players would have retired by then or at least the other teams get harder Graphics and Animation:9 becuase i play on a 1080p screen, i love the graphics, best in the biz, but the animations are repetitive... i love the celebrations feature Sound:8 decent commentating, again alot of repetition and i like the commentating of Tom Hammond and Cris Collinsworth but i hopejohn madden takes some time this summer and maby records some commentating himself... Team/Player variety:9 good job with the players, and some of thier ratings... maby they should spend a bit more time there... some teams who arent really appreciated (Chargers) are really underrated... Rivers,JAckson, Sproles, Floyd(Who isnt even in the game) kaeding deserve better ratings. Overall great job with madden 09, oh, also the collectors edition is cool...the bonus disk isnt really that great, and nfl coach 09 dissapointed me at first, but once you open up your mind, it really is a fun game... i definantly recomend this awsome game... dont even think twice, BUY IT!!! Go Chargers!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Madden NFL 09 20th Anniversary Collectors Edition
Incredible Game, Best Madden EVER!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/08
Rodgers12
This Madden 09 Collectors Edition for the Xbox 360 Console is an Incredible game. The Game includes Madden 09, NFL Head Coach 09, and a Bonus Disc. Let's start off with the Madden 09 Game. This years Madden 09 Game has the best Graphics, and a Great Franchise and Virtual IQ test to see how your Madden Skills Rank. It also has a pretty cool new addition called "Madden Moments". This lets you relive the best moments from the 2008 NFL Football season. The Superstar Mode is horrific compared to the superstar mode of 2007 and 2008, but it will still satisfy all gamers. (You can also play Madden 1993 on Madden 09 if you buy the collectors edition.) NFL Head Coach 09 is a Fun, simple game. One cool thing about this is that you can transfer the plays that you made in Head Coach and use them in Madden 09 using a quick transfer. The Bonus Disc has a Bunch Of Highlights of Brett Favre. It also has The In Just One play DVD and a bunch of other DVD's about Football. Overall, I would recommend this Game for any Football Fan. I give this a A++++
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Madden NFL 09 20th Anniversary Collectors Edition
Reviewing The Collectors Edition!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:8/14/08
NINRLVR
So the Madden 09 portion of the collector’s edition is a great offering. That’s about where it ends. Head Coach 09 is totally broken therefore I would suggest just getting the regular version of Madden. Madden 09- Great, Great game. I won't go into how great because there are several reviews covering that already. The bonus disc, to sum it up we will just call it your average collection of crap that you will never look at. The only real SE content that is cool is the full version of Madden 93..and that’s on the game disc.. Head Coach 09- I am not surprised they bundled this game and called it SE. It’s really really bad. They have taken away just about everything that was cool from the first Head Coach game and left a dumbed down button mash in between games. All you really do in between games is mash the B button to ignore the never ending trade auctions. You select what the team will work on each day but have no involvement in it. Then comes Sunday....The game mechanics are sooooo of its frustrating. In the 2 min drill your team doesn’t hurry up. I have never seen so many passes bounce off a player who wasn’t looking. If you are backed up to the 1 yard line you QB will run out the back of the in zone every time causing a safety...it goes on and on. It’s nothing more than huge frustration. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Madden NFL 09 20th Anniversary Collectors Edition
Greatness
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/13/08
FloridaEagles
This game is great, much improvement from last year. You can actually break out of tackles instead of once they get ahold of you that is it. You can see all your WR/TE/RB/FB while passing instead of them being off to the side of the screen. Animation and visuals are great. It is good to finally hear good broadcasting however at some points they sound like robots but Collinsworth points out things which I like. The rewind feature is good for beginners so when you make mistakes you can run the plays over again. You can actually throw the ball over the middle without a LB jumping 10 feet in the air to somehow make an INT. I love the Superstar mode it is very fun like last year but they have added things that make it better. I also like all of the different scenario's you can play in whether its being the dolphins and helping them acheive their first victory of the season, The eagles beating the patriots (which of course is different then the real thing but they change some of them around a bit) or the Giants taking down the 18-0 patriots in the superbowl. Its just a great game all together I would reccomend getting this.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Madden NFL 09 20th Anniversary Collectors Edition
Excellent Maybe The Best Up to Date
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/12/08
DeuCeZ
Im going to be real my xbox 360 right now is getting fixed for the red ring of death but I played the game at the store for about 2 hours non stop no lie. I played on 360 and ps3 I gotta tell you the ps3 version still cant touch the 360 version but that is not what I got to talk about. Im so happy you cant rocket catch no more on 3 and 4 WR's like last year. No more jet pack catches over 3 or 4 WR's. I am kind of mad at how a lot of good players from college teams are pretty sucky like Dennis Dixon, and Desaun Jackson,etc. But the gameplay is sweet is way more realistic with the catches and how players move more fluid. No more getting into the open field and not being able to even tackle a player because you swerve around. The camera view is way better now because it moves with you so you don't have to throw the ball to someone you think is open because you cant see them. Graphics and animation is good. It puts you in the mind of a real football game with the commentary and visuals. You just have to see it yourself and I cant wait for my 360 to comeback tomorrow so I can play my copy.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Madden NFL 09 20th Anniversary Collectors Edition
Madden 09 and Head Coach- Promising?
Posted on:8/9/08
Mr. Rant
The combining of madden and head coach seems to be a good idea letting you create your own plays and then add them into your madden playbook. With that being said I think ** dollars is way too much to be asking for. Yes it has three different games, but one is from over a decade ago and the other no one will really use except to make plays to use in madden because the other head coach games sucked on so many different levels. I think they could have just added the head coach right into madden in the extras category and made madden just that more realistic in being able to make your plays instead of having to get a whole other game for that.
Review 12 for Madden NFL 09 20th Anniversary Collectors Edition
Madden 09.....CANT WAIT
Posted on:7/26/08
Knight
Madden 08 was my favorite madden to date, but this one blows madden 08 out of the water. The graphics are amazing and I can't wait to see my madden IQ. Head coach 09 is just one big franchise mode which I will love because all I do is simulate in madden anyways.
Review 13 for Madden NFL 09 20th Anniversary Collectors Edition
Can't Wait
Posted on:7/25/08
Smart Person
This is going to be terrific. Madden 09 by itself is amazing. The gameplay has improved, including the graphics, player movement, and more in-game features. The feature called Rewind lets you re-do a play that you threw an interception or fumbled or something. The Backtrack feature is when Chris Collison shows you what you did wrong and what you should've done. There is also a Madden IQ Test that basically runs you through 4 drills: rushing, passing, pass defense, and run defense. When you complete this test, it shows what level you play it at, (ex: pro, rookie, all madden, and all pro) and this will revolve around the type of game you play (ex: run heavy, pass heavy, zone coverage, man coverage, ect...) Now for Head Coach, I know this is the type of game I will like to play. I like the feature of pre-season cuts, and the in game hot custom hot route feature. Overall, this game should be as fun for me as Call of Duty 4 was to most.
Review 14 for Madden NFL 09 20th Anniversary Collectors Edition
BEST MADDEN.........YET
Posted on:7/18/08
RaiderFan
I really think this is going to be the best madden to date. They still need to make some changes like too much fumbling. For example, like when your LT in MADDEN 08, he fumbles it at least three times a game. LT does not fumble the ball, check his stats. Last, but not least, too many glitches in online. If you're playing a really good person in online and you're about 1 minute away from a win the next thing you know he DC's you. If you madden fans know what DC means, there's no need to explain. But I'll be looking foward to buying this franchise.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Madden NFL 09 20th Anniversary Collectors Edition
gotta get both
Posted on:6/25/08
Happy I can finally create my own plays
so here's the deal. madden 09 sucks... head coach 09 sucks... put them together and they create a little football video game baby that shows what Madden should've been for the past 3 years. unfortunately EA can't release a good all-around game for a regular price(Rock Band). Therefore if you want a real football experience u need both Madden 09 and Head Coach 09. Now whether you pay $$ for both at once or buy them separately for $$$ is up to you.
Review 16 for Madden NFL 09 20th Anniversary Collectors Edition
Great franchise, great installment
Posted on:6/25/08
Falcons Fan
First off, packerfan93, in response to your statement: "NFL, NBA, and FIFA Street games were horrible and now they've decided to release NFL Tour and NFL All-Pro Football, rip-offs of Madden." NFL Street was intended to be a whole different style of play than Madden. Madden is a serious sports sim unlike Street, an arcade style game. NFL Tour was the latest "version" (even though EA wanted to lead the game in a new direction so they dropped the name) of NFL Street. Therefore, it is not a rip-off of Madden, just another football game. Now for Madden itself, this seems to be another great installment to the now 20-year franchise. The graphics of 08 prooved to have room for improvement, and i think madden has addressed that issue with the new (and beautiful) upgrades. Also, it seems that there are finnally some new celebrations in the game. Being a long time fan of the franchise, I have grown tired of the usuall celebrations. I look forward to seeing the new ones that 09 has to offer, as well as the gameplay upgrades.
Review 17 for Madden NFL 09 20th Anniversary Collectors Edition
Madden NFL 09 20th Anniversary Collectors Edition
Posted on:4/16/08
Anonymous
First off why would you want HC over Madden? And how could you say Madden sucked last year? you obviously don't know video games if you thought Madden 08 sucked. That game was unbelieveable. Great graphics, great gameplay, great everything. I'm not getting the package because Head Coach sucks, so im just going to get the game, but the fact that you think that the NFL is complaining about the game is stupid, since everyone in the NFL loves Madden, and plays in the madden tournament at the pro bowl every year.
Review 18 for Madden NFL 09 20th Anniversary Collectors Edition
NFL Head Coach
Posted on:4/12/08
jst8131
LAME LAME LAME, HC sucked last time they introduced it and will suck again. However MAdden may be solid , but needs work on the "D" aspect of the games,
Review 19 for Madden NFL 09 20th Anniversary Collectors Edition
Madden is #1
Posted on:4/9/08
A Customer
You guys are haters... Madden has always been the best football game EVER!! And I already pre ordered my special edt. with the Head Coach.. It's a good deal for the money.
Review 20 for Madden NFL 09 20th Anniversary Collectors Edition
No sale
Posted on:4/6/08
NFL Fan
Madden has been bad for a few years and now they want me to pay **** dollars to get it and hide it behind the "You'll get HC football also!" No thanks. Head Coach is what I want but instead of selling it seperately they package it in with Madden and then have the nerve to charge **** dollars for it. LOL at all those who fall for this. The NFL themselves have went to EA and voiced thier concern over the poor Madden games as of late. The only hype this "package" should be getting is from EA as they laugh about another clever way they've come up with to get a poor product into your home. FOR MORE MONEY no less..... I really want a good NFL game as so I want Madden to be good. However with the last few laughable disasters of Madden there's no way I will blindly (again) pay for a new copy. I'll wait for a used copy.
1 2 next>>