GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Battlefield: Bad Company Gold Edition

Set in the near future, the Battlefield: Bad Company single-player campaign drops gamers into a dramatic Eurasian conflict. As part of a squad of four soldiers, players risk it all to go AWOL on a personal quest, fighting their own war within the war. Featuring a dramatic storyline flavored with attitude, Battlefield: Bad Company leads gamers far from the traditional frontlines on a wild ride with a group of renegade soldiers who decide that sometimes the gratitude of a nation just isn't enough.
Average Customer Rating:
8.385
8.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
7
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 1385%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Battlefield: Bad Company Gold Edition
Review 1 for Battlefield: Bad Company Gold Edition
Stop Whineing and PLAY
Posted on:6/21/08
Anonymous
This game is great. Play the demo since the day it came out, and cannot stop playing. Stop comparing it to COD4, if you ask me, this game blows COD4 right out of the water. Everything is destructible, except for the building frames. If you want a sniper nest, make one, if there is a guy hiding behind a wall, blow the wall up. Playing this game requires you to think differently about each move you make. You can't say "If I hide behind this wall, I'll be safe", because 90% of the time, you aren't. The game is also beautiful, and don't get me started on the sound. Not playing this game with surround sounds should be against the law. Every little noise immerses you in the combat. Overall any Battlefield fan should pick this game up. The frostbite engine makes every explosion a work of art, and every gunshot a symphony. And like I said, don't play this game as you would play Halo, or COD4, because you will get destroyed. If this is were the FPS genre is going over the next few years, I can't wait to play.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Battlefield: Bad Company Gold Edition
Demo Haters...
Posted on:6/10/08
GAM3BR3AKER
People... I'm sorry but many people have complained about the lag and the number of bullets it takes to kill a person. I experienced no lag while i played the demo, it was awesome. I could kill people in 10-15 machince gun bullets out of a 50 bullet clip. This could help you guys...DONT FIRE ASSAULT RIFLES ACROSS THE MAP. You wont kill aynthing. Sniper shots took one hit for me as well. I would check your internet connections complainers. BC has some of the greatest sound I have heard too. My only two complaints about BC is that sometimes a surface that seems destructable such as a flat wall will either not blow up with a noob tube launched at it or will blow up a section away from where you shot ans secondly the explosive damage needs to be fixed before the final release which I am sure they have already adressed. It will be a great game, dont compare it to COD. COD is strictly run and gun whereas BC is a open map sand box gmaeplay game with vehicles. Buy this!
Review 3 for Battlefield: Bad Company Gold Edition
puts call of duty to shame
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/29/14
carterav
Ok When I herd about battlefield or saw my friends play on Xbox live I thought it probably isn't that great of a game then my friend said he got it and said it was epic so I got the game and I thought it put black ops to shame it has tanks buggy's helicopters boats and lots of destruction!
But the only downside is the campaign its fun but gets old but this game has fantastic multiplayer and its very realistic! gun sounds are great and unlike call of duty you can blow hole through a wall to take down there cover! I highly recommend this game to anyone with interest of online shooting games! this I even think puts call of duty ghost to shame!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Battlefield: Bad Company Gold Edition
very fun
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/11
truckdriver
Location: alabama
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is very fun if you can't play M but is looking for a great shooter game. in the game you are able to shoot anything in the game and you can blow holes into any building. the multi player is awesome.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Battlefield: Bad Company Gold Edition
One shot, One kill-listen closely
Posted on:6/17/08
a happy sniper
The Battlefield Bad Company demo. Why is it so hard to kill someone with a sniper rifle? Well, there are a few reasons. #1. The game uses advanced physics. If your target is moving, you have to LEAD" it, duh. #2. Try aiming for the HEAD. #3. Still having trouble doing #1 and #2? Then use a sniper rifle with an actual cross hair instead of the ones with the arrows pointing up. If you still cant get a one shot kill..............Lol...then there are 4 other classes for you to try. I chose Recon every time. Why try and fight in the thick of battle and get run over by a tank or humvee or get pummeled by artillery. Stay hidden and out far, then reach out and touch someone. I average no less than 25 kills as recon in the demo. Remember, stay still and hidden, acquire your target, shot, then move and repeat. A stationary sniper is a dead one.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Battlefield: Bad Company Gold Edition
I'm disappointed
Posted on:4/22/08
DrkKnightBatman
I was a Battlefield fan from the beginning with 1942 for the PC and I have seen it go through its stages. I played the demo on XBL and had pretty high expectations from hearing about this a year ago. Anyways, this game is horrible IMO based on the beta. The graphics are so blurry compared to COD4. It looks primitive. Plus, the destructive environments are very lame. All is what I could do is run over trees in a tank, but it isn't like how they make it sound. You can just blow a whole anywhere in a building and then use it as cover. The beta was so bad that after a day or two of trying to like it, I couldn't and I canceled my pre-order. It seems to be the death of the Battlefield franchise. I also participated in the COD4 beta but I was hooked on it right away and I still am. The Battlefield franchise better look at what COD4 has done for shooters and maybe they could improve on it. Again, I am very disappointed. I was a die hard Battlefield fan from the beginning with 1942, Vietnam, and Modern combat. But now Battlefield is starting to go downhill in a big way with this game.
Review 7 for Battlefield: Bad Company Gold Edition
Welcome to Bad Company
Posted on:6/5/08
xxHazyShadowsxx
This game is without a doubt, Going to be amazing. I didn't care too much for Modern Combat, but by the time I started (And I quote) "Blowing open walls to get a sneak attack on the enemy" I was hooked... Not to mention the Squad mechanics. You always feel like your contributing to the fight, not just knocking back a cold one while your AI Squad-Mates do it for you. The Squad's AI you might ask? Very good! I had experienced a scenario in which I was laying hot, steamy lead upon an un-suspecting group of Enemy Soldiers, when one stray one approached me from behind. Me, not seeing this "Bogey" as they are called, was almost thrusted upon a one-way ticket to the land of eternal sleep. Luckily however, my Team-mate (Haggard I believe it was) quickly cried: "Preston! Behind you!" and Haggard then precieded to fill him with lead. So to keep it short and simple: Get some cash, Pre-order now
Review 8 for Battlefield: Bad Company Gold Edition
Not so good
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/16/08
rsgSVsdfg
I bought bad company a few days after its release so at the time I did not have XBOX LIVE so clearly I was stuck with the single player option. It was rather fun but the action was bland the storyline and the jokes where good as well as the dialog but for some reason I just cant seem to have any fun with replay value. I beat the game on hard then tried the campaign again but then I simply got to board. When I finally got XBOX LIVE I played the game online and it was horrible. If you try to play the only game type gold rush you basically try to get or defend gold. If you wander into enemy territory there is all ways a sniper and if you try to snipe you get killed by someone else. It is a very cheap mode and I dont even play it anymore. I wouldn't recommend this game to buy but it would make a nice rental.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Battlefield: Bad Company Gold Edition
With great style, comes great gameplay
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/08
C. Senge
With Battlefield Bad Company, EA puts the player in a whole different universe than franchise players are used to. Depending on who you are, that is either a really good thing or really annoying. For me, the game's superb sense of style, excellent controls and absolutely stunning sound design really worked well for me. Firstly, BC's unique style comes at you right at the title screen with the eclectic and amusing music. Right then, you know you are playing a different Battlefield. The writing and the humor used within it is simply fantastic. The player really knows, likes and respects the members of the team. The sound design is simply the best I have ever heard employed in a video game. Distant explosions of grenades, mortars and machine gun fire really highlight the atmosphere. Of course, with a Battlefield title, one expects great multiplayer and EA did not disappoint. The ranking and point systems are great. However, my only problem with the game is with the multiplayer component: you cannot create a private game. I like the smaller battles that involve 8 or so people that I know. I want the option to play with whom I want, instead you have to play random people. Overall, the game is excellent and highly recommended.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Battlefield: Bad Company Gold Edition
Destructive
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/17/11
Gamer740
Location: Somewhere
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got this game 2 days ago and it turned out fun. You go through and pick up a gun with an attachment (example: machine gun and then you add somthing and it makes it a grenade launcher) or a grenade and a gun. You totally go and blow up anything you want. This game was good so far I Haven't beat it but still yo should Get
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Battlefield: Bad Company Gold Edition
Cant Compare.
Posted on:6/17/08
Scythe142
Well the Demo is out and it is impressive when you look at the last BF console game. The graphics are an amazing improvement, as well as the controls. While in there last game, every thing felt forced, this one feels more fluid. I know people are comparing it to COD4 and saying COD did this better and its easier to kill on COD. This isn't COD4. The games weren't meant to be compared with each other. While COD4 is a run and gun game, This is a tactical game. If you try to go in with out a plan, you will die. When playing, Make sure you talk to your squad. If your an assault. Be on the front lines shooting the enemy. If your support, Try to heal and repair every once in a while(you get points for each), If your Demo, Taking out enemy vehicle's needs to take priority for you. If your a Recon, Do just that, Be recon for your team, use sensors, tell your team where the enemy is, tell them if theres incoming tanks and so on. Also, Any one thinking of buying this game should have a Mic. If you don't have one, This is the time to get one. This game depends on players giving each other information. Thats how you will win here.(every one with a mic seems to agree on this point when playing.)
Review 12 for Battlefield: Bad Company Gold Edition
cool game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/24/10
whitey
Location: San Antonio Texas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
its is awesome you made this game, but my problem is that there needs to be multiplayer versus or co-op campaign
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Battlefield: Bad Company Gold Edition
downhill
Posted on:5/2/08
Anonymous
I also am a very very big fan of the bf series i started with bf1942 also and worked way up to 2142 but got bored there. I played the other bfmc for 360 to and liked it. Nothing compared to the 1942 MC and vietnam online. I played the beta and was i mean horribly disgraced. First of all u cant lay down which i love since i love the idea of ambushing a squad in a huge map. Now that is gone also if u go over a guy a red dot goes about his head which its very very very ez to pick out people. Its a bit to far annoying with a red dot and nvr being able to flank. Graphics arent top notch. Also when running u have to wait about 1 sec to pull out a gun it doesnt sound bad but it is so terribly annoying running see a guy and having to like wait before u can shoot.
Review 14 for Battlefield: Bad Company Gold Edition
Not bad... Not impressive either!
Posted on:6/8/08
RUNERIX71
For all the hype going into this game, the demo definitely leaves something to be desired. I know a whole bunch of people are going to complain that you shouldn't rate a game based on just the demo, but everyone else is, so I figured I would too. I probably WILL rent B.C. when it comes out, but I won't buy it based on what I've seen so far. The graphics are NOT gorgeous, they're very nice, but COD4, and Gears, and many others are still much nicer to look at. The explosions and smoke effects are top notch, and the sound is incredible, but the map they put on the demo is empty and boring, and the vehicles need some touch-ups. The facial animations on the characters are great, but the multiplayer and single player AI movement is blocky and unrealistic. The physics need some help, but I'm sure the full game has a little less choppiness and lagging. Over all, it's not a bad game, but it's definitely not "Game of the Year", not even close. Who knows, maybe the full game will be much better, but based on the demo I'm going to get my pre-order money back, because it's just not very impressive at all. I adore Battlefield games, and I just hope the full game manages to fill in the hole that I was left with after playing the bland, boring single player AND multi demo.
Review 15 for Battlefield: Bad Company Gold Edition
Fun and something Interesting during that time
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/16/11
Huynation
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game was amazing when it came out the graphics were beautiful and the gameplay was addicting. sure it had some flaws here and there but this game was a must buy for me. the story was fun and entertaining it kept me playing and it kept me laughing. the multiplayer lasted me a very long time i kept going back for more even when i got new games. still today this game is one of my favorites.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Battlefield: Bad Company Gold Edition
bf:bc gold edition
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/23/08
random person
I just got battlefield bad company in the mail today. When I first turned it on I decided to play the single player first. In my opinion the story is original but simple at the same time. The single player is ok but this game would definitely not be worth getting if you cant play on xbox live. The controls are a little strange, you use left and right bumper to switch weapons and gadgets. After playing single player I was eager to start playing it on live and I had very high expectations for the multiplayer considering battlefield modern combat for 360 was terrible but BF2(pc) is probably one of the best games out there. When I started playing live I was 95% happy. They only have a few maps and one game type. My favorite map is harvest day. The only game mode you can play now is gold rush.(conquest will be released in an update soon) One team defends and one team attacks the 2 gold crates at the defenders base. Once the 2 crates are destroyed the defenders fall back to the next base. When all the bases crates are destroyed the attackers win. The defenders win by killing all the attackers and depleting their reinforcements. When the attackers destroy a base their reinforcements go back up to 100%. They have a new ranking system in BF:BC. You progress through the ranks like in BF 2 but instead of haven a certain gun at a certain rank you gets unlock credits when you rank up and you can use them for any gun or gadget. The only aspect of this game that is unrealistic I would recommend this game for people who are able to play it on xbox live. But the single player alone is just not good enough. Definitely worth buying!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Battlefield: Bad Company Gold Edition
Destruction to the MAX!!!!!
Posted on:6/7/08
GamerTank28
I've spent a lot of time with the new bad company demo, and the game is awesome, the single players great, but the multiplayer is where this game shines. The battle fields you play on (there's only one map in the demo.) are huge, if you want to get into the action fast, go drive one of the vehicles in your base over to the hotspot. It's a really fun game, the best feature in my opinion is the destructible environments, so if someone's camping out, sniping in a building, all you have to do is launch a grenade, or an rpg rocket, and bam there wide open, if not taken out. Overall, I'm definitely getting the full game, when it comes out, and you should too.
Review 18 for Battlefield: Bad Company Gold Edition
Do not play like CoD4
Posted on:6/21/08
Anonymous
If you play this like CoD4 you will hate this but if you play it like a new game it is beastly. When I first played the demo I thought it sucked because I was trying to play it like CoD4. Now realize this game is totally freaking awesome!!!! Most of the game is destructible like 95% the other 5% is the remaining walls from the house. The graphics are amazing. The gameplay is amazing. The sound is amazing. The story mode is too hard to tell. The controllers are easy after you get used to them. For god sakes people stop complaining about weight to the gun. You should even be able to run that fast with a .50 cal barret on CoD4 anyway.
Review 19 for Battlefield: Bad Company Gold Edition
Poor mans Battlefield
Posted on:6/9/08
NewYork
I'm sorry but after playing a real FPS like Battlefield on the PC this game is a total let down. It feels like a bootleg version of the PC game. Squad combat is joke. about as deep as squad combat gets is that you can spawn either with your squad or back at base. There is no strategy. No spawn becons, the different classes are a let down. They are mixed up in a way that just does not make sense. The guns in the game have no weight to them. Not to mention you can unload a clip into someone and they will still be standing. The lag might be worked out if we are lucky by time of release but not he mechanics of the game. Oh and if you like driving a tank you forget about this game. Tanks are like toy cars who are better at running the enemy over then blowing them up. Don't even get me starting on trying to hit inf with the mounted machine gun. Its a joke. Even if they are standing still you will probably miss or they will get hit a few times then run off. I was so looking forward to this game. But it looks like EA is more concerned with getting out as soon as possible then releasing a quality title. The battlefield name will indeed be tarnished with this release. For the time being I suggest you save your money and stick with COD4 for better action and realism. If COD4 has a better class system and a real reason for prestige mode it woudl be perfect. But its still alot better then this game I'm afraid.
Review 20 for Battlefield: Bad Company Gold Edition
Too great for words.
Posted on:6/22/08
no one you know about
Downloaded the demo yesterday, and can't put the controller down. All the vehicles, the huge maps, but I do agree don't play like Cod4. If you do you'll never get a single kill. The demo is AMAZING, so the actual game will most likely be better. IF YOU DONT PRE ORDER THE GAME, YOU ARE DEFINITELY MISSING OUT
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>