GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009

The #1 fighting game franchise in the world upholds its commitment to providing gamerswith the definitive simulation of live WWE programming. Featuring added depth and realism, alongwith a first-ever co-op storyline, WWE SmackDown vs. Raw 2009 enables players to cometogether and experience the virtual world of the WWE. On your own, you're great, but together,you're unstoppable.
Average Customer Rating:
8.238
8.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (63 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
6
8 stars
2
7 stars
4
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 2186%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
Review 1 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
BACKSTAGE WANTER!
Posted on:4/21/08
WWE4LIFE!
Hey there anxious WWE FANATICS like myself! Once again another WWE Smackdown game is announced for release in Nov. I hope to god there is at least 10 backstage arenas where you can just kick the HELL out of each other with all sorts off weapons ane environmental grapples! Once again, take that stupid KO move out of backstage fighting! once again, when the series: Smackdown vs. Raw debuted back in 2004, it had only one backstage and over the years of purchasing WWE Smackdown vs raw games throughout the last 5 years, backstage just got suckier and suckier! but anyway, if you own a Playstation 3 like myself, you're in luck this year, you will have outstandingly real and super awesome skin-textured graphics, and they said that you will be able to have a custom soundtrack on the Playstation 3(the whole reason I bought the Playstation 3) and basically just enjoy the year and make your countdown to November 12th, 2008 and reserve that special edition ASAP like I’m, going to! HAVE A NICE DAY!
Review 2 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
I love smakcdown vs raw (tna sucks)
Posted on:10/13/08
KC Uchiha
The tna video games sucks, not only does it sucks but its hard to defend yourself against grapple and strikes. Not to mention that it can be frustrating to see the same moves over and over again, plus they got no style when it comes to music and they performance on drama sucks. Fighting over stupid things that doesn't even makes sense. However one game such as smackdown vs raw 2009 is very exciting even though it the same people passing to the next generation of gaming for me smackdown has always been exciting. But what i would love most is that they make all the matches in one game. Like the punjabi prison match, the ambulance match, barbed wire match, along with many mores in one game. There hasn't been a single smackdown game with a complete roster with a complete game. But still i like how things are going to be in 2009. I didn't quite like much smackdown 2008 cause the story sucks and the power ups were fake. And i see they improved the story mode which is great.
Review 3 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
Top Wrestling game EVER!
Posted on:9/22/08
Tiger06
I believe SVR 2009 will be the best wrestling game ever. SVR 2008 was just a stepping stone for this year's game. This game will be up for game of the year as long as they get rid of the repetitive storylines in my opinion. SVR 2008's problem was storylines and the absence of superstars in the game. It has been said it will have the biggest roster ever in the SVR or WWF Smackdown Series. The thing that I and a lot of other people are looking forward to is the Create-A-Finisher and New Tag Team setups. Over the past 5-6 years, everyone was asking for create-a-move and now they are going to have create-a-finisher. I heard a while back that maybe in SVR 2010 they will add create-a-move, which then you will be able to create a custom moveset. Think about it, creating moves for your basic grapples. Backbreakers, arm flips, sideslams, etc. If they do add that in 2010, I would say that would be the best game ever, period! I hope 2009 will turn out the way everyone is anticipating. I hope it is not as bad as TNA.
Review 4 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
suggestions for svr2009...
Posted on:4/5/08
TRiPLE EM
I hope that they can re-add the hardcore venture mode where you walk around the arena, the best one in my opinion is the one in smackdown! here comes the pain. Many matches should be added like a scaffold match, a decent buried alive match, and maybe even the infamous inferno match. The different styles moves like power house, high flyer, and etc. should not be in 2009 because although it was a very creative way of fighting it seems more like one time thing and should not be re-added. They should maybe focus more on a CAW and make him one with the roster and they should have more names for your CAW. It would be cool if they can get injured during match for example if Triple H keeps getting hurt on a body part that is red then the player can get a sprained muscle or even a broken bone! Lastly i would like to say that the more a cut gets aggravated they should bleed more and you should be able to bleed all over the body that gets cut open. thank you, -Mauricio Medina
Review 5 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
Not a good game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/27/09
lolik65
When i got SvR 09 for the first time , it was great. There were 60 people , the rtwm was okay and the dlc's were nice. But then , it became boring , there was glitches in online mode and RTWM was short. Also , alot more rosters were missing and career mode was not that good. So if you ask me , this game is a 7 average rank. It's too easy and the there were only 6 people in RTWM mode. This game wricks bad. Don't waste money on this game. I also did not like the inferno match. It was too easy for me and you could not go outside and get weapons to beat your opponent bad then burn him. This game was like the baddest game that i din't expect. It was supposed to have like 86 or more rosters. And the worst part was that hbk had the same red pants again like he had in 08 ,07. The main point , bad game but okay sound and graphics.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
alright game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/16/08
cmiller33
I was disappointed in some aspects of the game and was very pleased in others. I liked the create a finisher nothing like creating your own move. I also liked that you could add your own music to your entrance, to give your wrestler that personal touch. I also enjoyed the tag team option too. The online option is very cool too. The character animation was solid as where the entrance's. I was disappointed with the lack of a story for created wrestler's it made it boring and dull. It lacked that personal touch getting you involved, in the career mode you just went from wining belt to belt and not really getting you involved. I also didn’t like the fact you could get an opponent in the red and they get up like nothing is wrong, it can be very frustrating when you are in a ladder match and your opponent keeps getting up. I didn’t like the fact you couldn’t create 2 superstars and go for title in career mode. In some aspects game they did really good but others they left out a few details that could have made this a great game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
Awesome Game but needs a little improvement
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/8/12
Silentloaner
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
SVR 09 is a really great game. The superstars are good. I like how you can create a finisher. The RTWM is fairly short. I played Chris Jericho's and i beat it in a day. But its alright. The graphics need to be improved a bit. I do like that if you beat a match bonus, it will unlock you a second attire such as old Jericho attire. Online is cool, but one thing. I want to play with my CAW but the entrance is always a boxer. I made a mask kane and it showed a boxer entrance D: But the arenas, superstars, match types are so awesome. Overall this a really good game. I recommend you buy it. :D
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Astonmartinfan1
 
Please wait while more information about Astonmartinfan1 is loaded.
Additional information about Astonmartinfan1 could not be loaded.
Posted 1/19/13
you can change it by create an entrance mode
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
THANK YOU!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/13/08
IN-Vasion23
Ok so honestly I HATED SVR 2008! The storyline was terrible and gm mode was way to hard with 3 brands. This game is by far way better than 08. This game the player stats are actually accurate. Unlike that crap cena 97 overall, now he's a 93 and the highest overall superstars are accurate, undertaker and orton! I dont own the game at this moment but I've played it for a good 2 hours at my friends house so I've got the idea. I love how you can use signature moves, it sorta builds up momentum for a finisher. And hot tags are really cool too. They finally gave HBK a good overall. Legend is not as hard as 2008 but the reversals are ridiculous! I've noticed the rig in the 360 version elimination chambers but I dont know about the PS3 version. For some reason you cant use the turnbuckle unless u climb the cage and go down onto the turnbuckle. I just find it odd. Overall this game is very good and extremely better than 2008. Thanks WWE.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
Lost Faith
Posted on:9/20/08
resistance_fan
I was really looking forward to this game but, I recently found something on gamespot and on wikipedia that I think everybody should see before buying or pre-ordering. Take a look: There are six stories to choose from: five single-player stories and, in keeping with 2009s focus on tag-team wrestling, a cooperative story mode. The wrestlers featured in the mode are Chris Jericho, John Cena, Undertaker, CM Punk, Triple H, and for the co-op story, Batista and Rey Mysterio, Jr. Each of the stories features a unique plot and is told through a mixture of cinematics and gameplay. I can't believe this there are only 5 people to choose from and only HHH and Undertaker will have good story lines. Also, I can't believe they put Batista and Rey Mysterio as the only co-op story characters. I don't know how every body else feels but this might be the worst of the SDVR series. At least they had enough sense to put in The Inferno Match.
Review 10 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
2009
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/08
dudeman12354
I am a huge fan of the Smackdown vs Raw series. I have had every game since it began. If you liked the past games in the SvR series, then this game is a must have! Most of the controls are the same as last year. So there will be no awkward attempts trying to get used to the game. The characters in the game are outstanding. A huge roster of over 60 people. Plus downloadable content that is soon to be released. Graphics are another amazing thing. The graphics are greatly improved from last year, and it looks a lot more smooth. Making this game one of the most beautiful games I have ever played. There are a couple of problems though. Such as: in Road to Wrestlemania mode. Its too short. Completing a storyline takes about an hour and a half. Career mode has some problems as well. For example, in order to complete it, you have to take every single title in the game. I was playing as the Big Show and I had to take the Cruiserweight title. That's not even close to being realistic. Overall this game is still one of the best wrestling games I have ever played. Although like many other games. It has some minor flaws, but if you can see past those flaws, you can see how good this game really is. I recommend this game to all wrestling fans.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
Fantastic, fantastic and more fantastic
Posted on:4/11/08
Kane fan 101
THQ has finally hit the gold. They have every thing they need to make this game great. But every year it lets me down with the roster. It never has the complete roster. Like Hornswoggle, all they had to do is make a shorter version of Finlay. And the weapons let me down, too. What about the shillelagh? One more thing that let me down is the 24/7 mode which will now be Road to Wrestlemania mode. I hope you can use ECW superstars in it. But the two things that THQ hit right on the dot are the tag team finishers and the “create a finishing move. I have been waiting two years for them to add “create a finisher”. I think they should not bring back the superstar fighting type. Also, they should make it so you and your tag partner in 24/7 mode (Road to Wrestlemania mode) can walk around the locker room. All locker rooms. Also, you should make it so that you can request title shots on both co-op and single player mode. And make it so if you are not scheduled in a match, you have a chance to qualify for a match. But all together I think this game will be fantastic.
Review 12 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
Excited!
Posted on:9/16/08
Anonymous
I have been playing these games since they first came out and i really look forward to the new features in this game. Especially the major cut downs on the loading screens. I was watching a video of the end of a match and there was no loading screen. It just went right to the after match with the character's music and what they do when they win. I also look forward to the new Road to Wrestlemania game mode. It seems interesting. I think that the new RTW mode will be expanded over the years and will be one of the best modes in the game. I hope that there will be a lot of options in Create A Wrestler mode. The 08 version could have had more, but it's all good. As for the characters moving like robots, I personally don't pay too much attention to it, but I hope they improve on that too in the future. I look forward to this game big time and i'm gonna pre-order this pronto. I can't believe i haven't yet.
Review 13 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
The game is gonna be fine.
Posted on:9/29/08
gameinformer345
The game has some new features. The gameplay is gonna be the same but they got some great new match types like the inferno match which is probably gonna be really fun to play. I've had every wrestling game ever made. Smackdown Vs Raw can get pretty old after overdoing it, but that goes for every game. The TNA video game REALLY SUCKS. I'm telling you guys this game is horrible. They have absolutely no match variety at all. There's about 110 moves in the whole game and that includes all finishers and reversals. Be thankful at least SvR has given us a huge variety of match types and move sets. They offer over 1,500 moves and in SvR 2009 you can actually CREATE YOUR OWN FINISHER. Guys, if you've had all the other WWE games, just get it because you're going to buy it anyway. Anyone who's never had a WWE game before should buy this one because it'd be new for you so you'll have fun.
Review 14 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
This Is The Best WWE Game Yet
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/18/12
justin332244
Location: Watkinsville, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This Is The Best WWE Game Because 1. I Have Been Playing It For A Long Time, And I Still Like, Although There Is A Few Glitches For Online Play, Like, A Guy Can Freeze You, And If You Roll Near A Anouncer Table You Can Go Out In The Croud, But Besides That, Its My Favorite PS3 Game, So Some Day I Hope You Try It.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
brown34
memphis
 
Please wait while more information about brown34 is loaded.
Additional information about brown34 could not be loaded.
wwe 2009
Posted 6/23/13
this game has good superstars like kane undertaker boggeymen and big show and more even divas
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
SO-SO on some parts
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/08
darkhunter
I like the game it is better than 2008 cause you can download your own music but there are some parts that kind of suck like when you make your own player you do not have a story mode only story mode is with the players they have there real good i like to take the wrestler i picked in to a story mode and see what happens but is don't happen and you don't get to shop like in some of the other games. All and all it is not to bad but it could be a bit more expanding with it comes to game play. And the inferno match it real good and it take some work and the make your own highlight reel is also very fun and i like to see what could have been done if you got a chance to take your own player and see if you can make a strong group and the make your own finisher is mind blowing i would say get or wait and rent it either way you won't regret it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
The best wwe game ever!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/14
manbaby
Location: spokane wa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I think this is best because of the season mode U can play any wwe superstar! I kind of miss the season mode in the other wwe games!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
Ready to play
Posted on:10/14/08
cmdavis11
First of all i'd like to say Wow! This weeks opener for the SVR 2009 countdown was the addition of the highlight Reel. I don't know about all of you guys, but i know that when i layeth the smacketh down on somebody i always wished i could save or show a replay and now the video game designers have done just that and answered my prayers. And i'm still just ready to play now knowing that i can go into career mode and challenge for any title of my choice; that's off the chain. And then to have the largest roster to date of wwe superstars ever. Man i'm looking forward to this game more than i look forward to thanksgiving. Just from all of what we have been getting from IGN everyday on the countdown it's got my attention and i'm ready to take on SVR 2009 for the whole next year and beyond unless they bring us another one in 2010.
Review 18 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
I agree with the so called "TNA Fanboy"
Posted on:10/2/08
lmmacko
First and foremost, I have been a wrestling fan for over 2o years, and I'm a die hard fan, at one point almost becoming a pro wrestler myself. I hate TNA, and everything about TNA, so just because I'm about to say somethign negative about this game dosn't mean I like TNA. It is true about the limited story mode, and while there have been reports about using your own music in the PS3 version, I have found out after reading an interview recently on IGN that You WILL NOT BE ABLE TO USE your own music for the PS3 version, it was stated that yet again it's only available for the 360 version. The way I see it while I love the Raw vs Smackdown series no matter what, and will buy it, they just keep passing along the same'ol stale Koolaid, and us as the loyal cult followers we are just keep drinking more of the same, including me.
Review 19 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
WWE SvR 2009
Posted on:5/5/08
King of Kings 76
I was looking on a few websites and saw some video footage of the upcoming WWE SvR 2009 and it will focus a lot more on tag team. The animation runs so smooth, some of it looked like you were watching WWE Monday Night Raw. I just hope they add a lot more wrestlers or make an option were you can buy WWE Superstars off the Playstation Store if new stars come after the release of the game. I also hope they bring back create a pay per view and make were you can add your own music to the game. I know for a fact they have a new feature were you can create your own finisher animation by animation. I hope they make the story mode longer and were it can be different everytime you play. Well don't know if it will be the one I've been waiting for but it will definately be better than last years. Reserve your copy today.
Review 20 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
Greatest one ever!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/08
GTA FOREVER
This was the best wrestling game ever it blew my mind with what it has to offer. It surely is better than that other game. This has been a good year for sports and the goodness keeps coming. When you pop in this game it will keep you in a wow state just looking at the character models is ridiculous. I hope they bring in more matches next time. The inferno match is good it can be ever greater next year. We need to be able to throw the character even though there is a fire around the ring. We also need to bring back even more legends if this happens everyone will be overjoyed. My brother got the game yesterday and it was crazy. The graphics are astounding they all look so real it was like actually being at the events. I hope this keeps up and it doesn't go away. Keep it up and their will be no TNA wrestling.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>