GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009

The #1 fighting game franchise in the world upholds its commitment to providing gamerswith the definitive simulation of live WWE programming. Featuring added depth and realism, alongwith a first-ever co-op storyline, WWE SmackDown vs. Raw 2009 enables players to cometogether and experience the virtual world of the WWE. On your own, you're great, but together,you're unstoppable.
Average Customer Rating:
8.238
8.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (63 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
6
8 stars
2
7 stars
4
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 2186%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
Review 1 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
The best wwe game ever!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/14
manbaby
Location: spokane wa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I think this is best because of the season mode U can play any wwe superstar! I kind of miss the season mode in the other wwe games!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
Good Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/8/13
TheBeastsBack
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Smack down vs raw 09 is a great game it needs improvement such as its graphics the road to wrestlemania is kinda short,but the game has great superstars and create a finisher. This game has great online play but its CAW entrances are always Boxer. But because this games arenas and superstars are so awesome I would recommend you buy it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
This Is The Best WWE Game Yet
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/18/12
justin332244
Location: Watkinsville, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This Is The Best WWE Game Because 1. I Have Been Playing It For A Long Time, And I Still Like, Although There Is A Few Glitches For Online Play, Like, A Guy Can Freeze You, And If You Roll Near A Anouncer Table You Can Go Out In The Croud, But Besides That, Its My Favorite PS3 Game, So Some Day I Hope You Try It.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
brown34
memphis
 
Please wait while more information about brown34 is loaded.
Additional information about brown34 could not be loaded.
wwe 2009
Posted 6/23/13
this game has good superstars like kane undertaker boggeymen and big show and more even divas
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
this game is not a waste of money
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/12
ratboy
Location: NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This a good videogame it is not a waste of money so i think you should buy this the next time you go to gamestop
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
Awesome Game but needs a little improvement
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/8/12
Silentloaner
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
SVR 09 is a really great game. The superstars are good. I like how you can create a finisher. The RTWM is fairly short. I played Chris Jericho's and i beat it in a day. But its alright. The graphics need to be improved a bit. I do like that if you beat a match bonus, it will unlock you a second attire such as old Jericho attire. Online is cool, but one thing. I want to play with my CAW but the entrance is always a boxer. I made a mask kane and it showed a boxer entrance D: But the arenas, superstars, match types are so awesome. Overall this a really good game. I recommend you buy it. :D
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Astonmartinfan1
 
Please wait while more information about Astonmartinfan1 is loaded.
Additional information about Astonmartinfan1 could not be loaded.
Posted 1/19/13
you can change it by create an entrance mode
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
This game is okay
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/5/12
jeral2334
Location: hammond
I have played this game alot sure the graphics aren't good but the gameplay is great if you learn how to use the controls which is easy and quick to learn
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
LEAVE IT ON THE SHELF!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/12
D3vorAK47
Location: Timbuck, Two
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
shallow gameplay, weak graphics, very dissapointing.................................................
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
Good but needs alot of work on the controls
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/11
BobDestrucktion
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game Smackdown vs Raw 2009 is a good game in the series of SD vs Raw Games, with feature like RTWM and Create a Finisher. The one thing I would change if they had more time to work on is the game play.
I think this game was good but needed improvement
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 9 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
great
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/28/11
justingatesINC
Location: in your closet
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
An awesome game in many ways, way#1 you can play different modes all the time to change it up. Way#2 there is a lot of different characters. way#3 you can create a finisher, a person, an entrance. way#$ road to wrestlemania is awesome! This is a truly great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
Pretty good
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/18/11
heatfan
Location: Dania Beach, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got this game because i had left over money from pre ordering madden 12 it is a great deal for 10 bucks there are so many things to do the only thing i do not like about it is that you have unlock some characters. Overall it is pretty good.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
This game is so fun
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/23/11
grantisbeast
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
The game has really good graphics and gameplay. You can hit people with chairs and tables. You will love this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
Not a good game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/27/09
lolik65
When i got SvR 09 for the first time , it was great. There were 60 people , the rtwm was okay and the dlc's were nice. But then , it became boring , there was glitches in online mode and RTWM was short. Also , alot more rosters were missing and career mode was not that good. So if you ask me , this game is a 7 average rank. It's too easy and the there were only 6 people in RTWM mode. This game wricks bad. Don't waste money on this game. I also did not like the inferno match. It was too easy for me and you could not go outside and get weapons to beat your opponent bad then burn him. This game was like the baddest game that i din't expect. It was supposed to have like 86 or more rosters. And the worst part was that hbk had the same red pants again like he had in 08 ,07. The main point , bad game but okay sound and graphics.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
Still needs improvements
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/09
TD_tHa_MoNsTa_609
SVR games have pretty much been a hit or miss ever since Here Comes the Pain, and since their transition to nex gen. SVR 09 isn't much diffrent from 08 as far as gameplay and looks, which are still pretty good, but can definitely have some improvement done to them. The same free running system which was introduced in the last game is still there, and all the superstars still look like they're chissled from stone, this is where the game could use improvement, cause honestly, some of the superstars don't even look like what they look like in real life. Also, THQ, change the look of the arena in the game, WRESTLEMANIA 24 WASN'T INDOORS, I'D KNOW, I WAS THERE!!! Your own game statistics are a nice welcome change, as well as the highlight reel. This game isn't very challenging, it should only take you about an hour and a half at most to completely master the control scheme if you never have played SVR, if you played last years SVR, I say about an hour, maybe even less. The introduction of Road to Wrestlemania mode is nothing but great, if they only could've made some of the storylines in the game better and as far as the new "hot tag" feature in tag team wrestling, it's a great welcome change to tag team wrestling which has been boring and dry in the past years, it pretty much keeps the overall gameplay from being a total FAIL!!! Not much improvement from the character motions, and the downloadable content is a huge let down from what developers had promised (at least I think so, all it is are more alt. costumes for Rey Mysterio, Chris Jericho, Santa outfits for the Divas, and superstars Evan Bourne and Charlie Hass). Overall, this game is just a decent game to me, and I think at least shows some promise for what's to come in the future.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
2009
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/08
dudeman12354
I am a huge fan of the Smackdown vs Raw series. I have had every game since it began. If you liked the past games in the SvR series, then this game is a must have! Most of the controls are the same as last year. So there will be no awkward attempts trying to get used to the game. The characters in the game are outstanding. A huge roster of over 60 people. Plus downloadable content that is soon to be released. Graphics are another amazing thing. The graphics are greatly improved from last year, and it looks a lot more smooth. Making this game one of the most beautiful games I have ever played. There are a couple of problems though. Such as: in Road to Wrestlemania mode. Its too short. Completing a storyline takes about an hour and a half. Career mode has some problems as well. For example, in order to complete it, you have to take every single title in the game. I was playing as the Big Show and I had to take the Cruiserweight title. That's not even close to being realistic. Overall this game is still one of the best wrestling games I have ever played. Although like many other games. It has some minor flaws, but if you can see past those flaws, you can see how good this game really is. I recommend this game to all wrestling fans.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
THANK YOU!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/13/08
IN-Vasion23
Ok so honestly I HATED SVR 2008! The storyline was terrible and gm mode was way to hard with 3 brands. This game is by far way better than 08. This game the player stats are actually accurate. Unlike that crap cena 97 overall, now he's a 93 and the highest overall superstars are accurate, undertaker and orton! I dont own the game at this moment but I've played it for a good 2 hours at my friends house so I've got the idea. I love how you can use signature moves, it sorta builds up momentum for a finisher. And hot tags are really cool too. They finally gave HBK a good overall. Legend is not as hard as 2008 but the reversals are ridiculous! I've noticed the rig in the 360 version elimination chambers but I dont know about the PS3 version. For some reason you cant use the turnbuckle unless u climb the cage and go down onto the turnbuckle. I just find it odd. Overall this game is very good and extremely better than 2008. Thanks WWE.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
Greatest one ever!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/08
GTA FOREVER
This was the best wrestling game ever it blew my mind with what it has to offer. It surely is better than that other game. This has been a good year for sports and the goodness keeps coming. When you pop in this game it will keep you in a wow state just looking at the character models is ridiculous. I hope they bring in more matches next time. The inferno match is good it can be ever greater next year. We need to be able to throw the character even though there is a fire around the ring. We also need to bring back even more legends if this happens everyone will be overjoyed. My brother got the game yesterday and it was crazy. The graphics are astounding they all look so real it was like actually being at the events. I hope this keeps up and it doesn't go away. Keep it up and their will be no TNA wrestling.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
no storyline for created character need i say more?
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/08
Chuckles
I mean ok maybe I am fool that doesn't buy wrestling games to play with friends or even online, but seriously I love WWE and I lover their story lines and they only did story lines for what 5 wrestlers in this game? Why create my guy when I cant even have a storyline only a career mode. Boring sorry. Everything else in this game is great, the matches, the graphics are the best yet, the commentary is its usual by the 5th match they have already said everything that there's to say. So I am giving this game an overall of like a 7 seriously if it had a storyline for my created guy like 08 then I'm all for it to being a 9 maybe even 10. So enjoy it if you will, but I have already traded mine back in for store credit. And got another game. Good luck people.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 18 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
Great game with only some minor flaws
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/20/08
topherware
I am a huge fan of the Smackdown vs Raw series. I have had every game since it began. If you liked the past games in the SvR series, then this game is a must have! Most of the controls are the same as last year. So there will be no awkward attempts trying to get used to the game. The characters in the game are outstanding. An huge roster of over 60 people. Plus downloadable content that is soon to be released. Graphics are another amazing thing. The graphics are greatly improved from last year, and it looks a lot more smooth. Making this game one of the most beautiful games I have ever played. There are a couple of problems though. Such as: in Road to Wrestlemania mode. Its too short. Completing a storyline takes about an hour and a half. Career mode has some problems as well. For example, in order to complete it, you have to take every single title in the game. I was playing as the Big Show and I had to take the Cruiserweight title. That's not even close to being realistic.Overall this game is still one of the best wrestling games I have ever played. Although like many other games. It has some minor flaws, but if you can see past those flaws, you can see how good this game really is. I recommend this game to all wrestling fans.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
alright game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/16/08
cmiller33
I was disappointed in some aspects of the game and was very pleased in others. I liked the create a finisher nothing like creating your own move. I also liked that you could add your own music to your entrance, to give your wrestler that personal touch. I also enjoyed the tag team option too. The online option is very cool too. The character animation was solid as where the entrance's. I was disappointed with the lack of a story for created wrestler's it made it boring and dull. It lacked that personal touch getting you involved, in the career mode you just went from wining belt to belt and not really getting you involved. I also didn’t like the fact you could get an opponent in the red and they get up like nothing is wrong, it can be very frustrating when you are in a ladder match and your opponent keeps getting up. I didn’t like the fact you couldn’t create 2 superstars and go for title in career mode. In some aspects game they did really good but others they left out a few details that could have made this a great game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
Nice improvements
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/13/08
Jerek
I was very pleased with this years Smackdown Vs Raw entry. Many believe that the game is too similar to 2008 but I would have to disagree. The character animations are more fluid and the entrances are always improving each year. The create a finisher is a great addition because you can pick a pre-set name from a list and the announcers will actually call out your finisher when it's performed. The announcing is so much better this time around and is more of a play-by-play rather than just talking about whoever is in the ring. The announcers even talk about the current storyline during your match in the Road to Wrestlemania mode. Sadly GM mode and 24/7 mode have been axed but with the new additions I really don't miss them much. The Inferno Match is a nice addition. Backstage areas have been added back in although you can't go back there while you're fighting in the ring like in the other versions. The season mode is just okay, because you only really have match after match and it's just a matter of getting enough "stars" to fight the champion. The Create a Wrestler has been improved as well. The clothing actually looks good and not painted on like in the older games. The facial detail you can put into your creations is always improving. There are plenty of people out there that buy these games just to create their own WWE Roster. The only negatives with this is that you have to put each character through career mode in order to build up stats and abilities. But THQ announced that they will put out a patch that opens up unlimited create a wrestler points after going through a season with 1 created character. I could have made this review shorter by saying that if you enjoyed all the other Smackdown vs Raw games then you will definitely enjoy Smackdown vs Raw 2009, but I wanted people to know why this game is different and better than SVR 2008.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>