GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009

The #1 fighting game franchise in the world upholds its commitment to providing gamerswith the definitive simulation of live WWE programming. Featuring added depth and realism, alongwith a first-ever co-op storyline, WWE SmackDown vs. Raw 2009 enables players to cometogether and experience the virtual world of the WWE. On your own, you're great, but together,you're unstoppable.
Average Customer Rating:
8.6
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 1080%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
Review 1 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
BUY THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/14/10
Viper123
Smackdown vs Raw 2009 for PSP is one of the best games ever. There are so many type of matches like the all time favorites Hell in a Cell, Money in the Bank, Royal Rumble, Elimination Chamber, Inferno Match and more. If your the type of gamer that likes fighting and being extreme than you should totally get this AWESOME game. It is really fun because you can jump from ropes, ladder, and even the Elimination Chamber doors. Something cool about it is that you can play with another person that has this game and fight it out to the finish. The graphics are pretty good and the wrestling moves are just amazing. The divas are so amazing and you could team up with them in a mixed tag team match. The Road to Wrestlemania makes you feel as if you were a wrestler and lets you see what wrestlers have to put up with. The best Arena is the Tribute to the troops and you can unlock it in story mode. Also, the Create-a-Wrestler is so cool because there is new things that you could put on him and you could enter him in career mode where you can make him the strongest wrestler ever. Of course there is crate a move, move set , and entrance. So if your a wrestling fan go buy this game right now.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
WWE does it again.
Posted on:8/14/08
Anonymous
While i have not been to impressed with WWE lately, I love their games, and this one is the biggest yet. I'm sure you have already heard about the importance of the tag matches and the new inferno match. The biggest buzz you may have heard is you can now create a finisher. These are great, but i would like to add two new things to the table. First, network updates. This means tournaments, updated rosters, constant updates to this game. Secondly, have you ever been playing as kane (who is supposed to be a monster) and because of the story line, he's getting beat up back stage or being a nice guy? NO MORE! Every character now has there own story line unique to the character. The only down fall is that low carders and low mid carders wont have a story line. Needles to say, I am pumped about this game and i already have my copy reserved!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
good for a little while
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/2/10
Waffleboy1234
Location: MD, Monntgomery village
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game is good for a while but kind makes u mad on PSP.The create modes are great. Exibiton is good with its matches, characters are fine but i hate how the give the fat wrestelers toned bodies i mean Matt hardy is fat and they give him a more realistic lookin 6 pack then Batisda. the controls are fine but the moves kinda get weird when rey mysterio can pick up big show, Mark henry,Khali,and Big daddy V ?!?!?!? Jerry king and miachel cole arent even there on psp. u cant even go over a bariicade. Randy orton looks weird , rtwm is awsome. The annocers move their mouths but no sounds comes out until they stop talking. In short itll tire u out in 3 months.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
Great
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/5/10
jaykidrock82
Location: elmsford,ny
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game has everything ecxept commentary from annocers and barrier section 2 fight what i dont get is that svr 07 had a barrier section 2 fight so this game is great get it
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
Its a good game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/30/09
AC42
This years smackdown vs raw 09 is a game that I would reccomend for all wrestling fans. Even though I have it for the psp. The road to wrestlemania story mode is pretty good where Triple H has to chose between evoultion or dx. Also the new inferno match is pretty fun once you get the hang of it. I hope that the 2010 version has the announcer table in the game and the commentary that goes with it. I also hope that they fix Jeff Hardy's hair from long to short. The sound is pretty low in the game but I like the wrestling theme songs so I'll live.The controls to this game is almost the same to last years version but the signature move option thats it. I think that THQ did a good job with this game and I hope that they keep upgrading the Smackdown vs Raw franchise into a bigger and more better fighting game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mikie
hampton
 
Please wait while more information about mikie is loaded.
Additional information about mikie could not be loaded.
wwe 2009
Posted 9/15/10
this game is awesome but they should of put matt striker as a wrestler
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
best game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/09
Andrew Hooper
This game is really fun i really like the road to wrestle mania the graphics are really good for i hand held system i really like playing online. they create a finisher is a really good idea and i am really happy they made it. one of the best matches to play is the new inferno match its a little hard when u first play it but then u get the hang of it. they also made the create a wwe superstar a lot better u can now pick what u want to enter the arena wearing. they even made the little things cool like if you control someone who is the wwe champion as they enter you can make the center spin. also when you do road to wrestle mania with the undertaker u can control santino with magic. there is one little glitch if you are the wwe champion the announcer says wwe heavyweight champion but thats only small.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
WWE SvR 2009!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/08
Master XMX
I've been a huge WWE fan for many many years now and I have played the games ever since it first came out. From the NES to the PS3/PSP. Ever since it first came out the graphics have improved little by little, but as you can see the graphics from SvR 2008 has improved dramatically in SvR 2009. The graphics aren't the only things that changed, the Roster has also changed a lot and the motion of the mouth matches the sounds even better now. The controls hasn't really improved but it is actually a lot better than controls in SvR 2008. The camera angle has changed a lot too. The camera will follow you to one side of the ring if you are out of the ring on that side, so it's improved too. Then it's time for my favorite improved thing about SvR 2008, The Creation Mode. In the create mode there is 4 different things you can do create a superstar, create a entrance, create a moveset, and the newest feature (my favorite) create a finisher. In these modes you can create your own superstar, then make it's entrance, give it the moves you like, and create your own Finishing move for your character. I've played this game for many hours now and still LOVE IT, so if I were you I would recommend buying this game because the money you spend on it is worth it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
One of the best games ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/7/09
Brandocammando
Wrestling and the PlayStation 2 go together like peanut butter and jelly, cookies and milk, and Ryan Clements and apologies. However, as the system continues to age, quality opportunities to lay the smack down are becoming more and more rare. This year, THQ and Yuke's have brought WWE SmackDown vs. Raw 2009 to a smattering of platforms, and the PlayStation 2 hasn't been ignored. While it's true that this PS2 version is just a stripped down rendition of what fans are getting on the PlayStation 3, this is definitely a step up from last year's title even though this franchise is nowhere near what it used to be on Sony's second system. On paper, it seems like SVR 09 should cruise to wrestling game greatness. The title packs more than 60 wrestlers, 14 one-on-one match types including the new Inferno option, a new story mode, better AI, and a focus on tag teams. However, when you get into the punching, grappling, and slamming that make up the game, the world begins to feel like well worn territory and begins to look muddled. In the end, we have a game that improves on last year's outing in a number of ways but falls short of returning SVR to its place of honor on the PS2. Where there's smoke, there's an Inferno Match video. Don't get me wrong, SVR 09 is a fun game. The solid controls from last year are back -- left stick to move, right stick to grapple, reversals via the shoulder buttons, and so on -- and come with a few minor touches such as the game flashing "Signature Move" when you can set off a stored special as well as the ability to enter the ring via the steel steps. These are welcome additions, but it's pretty much exactly what you saw last year. Still, there are a handful of other bells and whistles to grab your attention. For starters, the AI in SVR 09 doesn't suck for a change. On Legend, the computer's still going to be reversal heavy, but it's also going to store Finishers, break up pins in tag matches, and basically give you a run for your money. If you're not happy with how the AI is acting, SVR 09 finally gives us sliders to adjust the game's thinking. You can make Finishers more or less powerful, you can adjust how much the computer reverses, and you can even modify momentum rates. Customization like the sliders is a theme in this game. While you're messing with menu, a smattering of entrance music is playing as a soundtrack. If you don't like a particular song, you can press in your left stick and skip to the next track. Via the game's Roster Editor, you can mold the WWE as you see fit with a few button clicks -- change what brand people are on, give and take away championships, decide who is clean and who is dirty. There are alternate attires for the likes of CM Punk, Rey Mysterio, Chris Jericho, and others; there are 19 arenas; and you can unlock the WCW brand and classic championship. Of course, this wouldn't be a professional wrestling game if it didn't add some new gimmick matches. The Inferno Match is an interesting bout that looks good but always ends a bit silly. You and your opponent duke it out in a ring where the edges are set ablaze. As you pull off moves, the flames leap and the temperature in the lower left corner rises. When the magic number reaches 500 degrees, you're supposed to drag your opponent to the ropes and toss him (Divas still can't participate in the crazy match types) into the fire. When one of you is successful -- there's a button-tapping minigame to try and reverse the strong-grapple dragging -- a body flies over the ropes and that guy's clothing is set one fire. It looks a bit goofy to see CM Punk rolling around with his ass on fire, but it's still a fun (albeit simple) fight. Meanwhile, THQ and Yuke's dropped the Parking Lot Brawl from previous games and replaced it with the Backstage Brawl. Here, you can fight in a KO-only match in the locker room or the gorilla position. There are objects to interact with in these areas, but they're pretty barren in general. Plus, there
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
Good SVR Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/19/10
thegamer2000
Location: san diego
this smackdown vs raw is good , because for the first time ever includes de road to wrestlemania for superstars of wwe , this game dont include legends but the roster is very good , in my opinion is one of the best SVR for PSP
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
IF U DONT HAVE IT, GET IT!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/09
dummi34lif3
I got this game the day it came out and let me tell you its one of the best games in the WWE series so far. The grafics are so awesome and the moves are just amazing. Finally every superstar has there special moves and the quality is amazing. The controls are easy but not to easy. There Road to Wrestlemania mode is wierd because you would never expect it to happen but ii is believable.There is no general manager mode though. Career mode is just a new general manager mode which is actually better in my opinion. The divas are just amazing, a new arena with tribute to the troops its just awesome.The Create - A - superstar is more clearer than the old games. TO MAKE A LONG STORY SHORT good graphics newer moves quality should be worth more GET IT!!! Its a good choice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
08 was missing some things
Posted on:9/17/08
The Baby Legend
Smackdown vs. Raw was just about perfect. The only things missing were more superstars like the boogeyman, big show and other WWE and ECW legends. And there should be more appearance options like kane:masked or unmasked, and king booker or booker T. And there should be more unlockable players like my personal favorite Bill Goldberg and the members of NWO and even Christian and the Dudley Boys even though they're with a different brand now they were still essential to the wwe back in the day. And I think the ring announcers should say more during the matches. And since they have DX on the cover they should have the original members of DX as unlockables including Road Dogg, X-Pac, Billy Gun and even Chyna. NOW THAT WOULD SELL!
Review 12 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
Looks Good, Even This Early
Posted on:4/7/08
WWE Fan
WOW. So I just got the feeling that there may be some news on SvR,(Smackdown Vs RAW), 2009, so I just searched it up, and sure enough they had some screenshots and videos. Even though the game is due quite a few months from now, I just wanted to give some insight on it earlier on, in case people haven't heard any news. Well, it seems that this time, SvR will be focusing on Tag Teaming, and I mean REALLY focusing on it. The all new story mode looks great, and will have some sort of Tag Team mode, where I guess you go through story mode as a Tag Team! And they made a TON of new improvements to the Tag Team matches...They partner on the apron has an all new arsenal, such as distracting the referee, pumping up the crowd, holding the opponent, and stuff like pulling down the top rope and stuff when the opponent is running against the ropes. Also there are Tag Team Finishers, which look GREAT, as well as "Hot Tags", where upon being tagged in, your wreslter goes crazy, taking out both of his opponents and stuff..So yeah, this game just looks AWESOME, even like 6-7 months before its coming out. OH AND THERES A CREATE-A-FINISHER MODE TOO! Yeah I know this is kind of long and all, but I'm just so excited already on how good this game is looking! Thanks for reading!
Review 13 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
its so awesume
Posted on:7/24/08
Anonymous
i love the tagteam action. i also cant wait to create my own finisher. i also cant wait for the new story mode. i am so going to buy this game
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
Dont Buy!!!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:2/27/11
Gamer07
Location: Chicago
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Its really bad the graphics are terrible, theres no announcers, theres NEVER noone online to play with...save your money and dont buy this trust me.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
Its Awsome
Posted on:5/3/08
Ali Nasser
SD vs Raw 2009 is awesome! It has tons of new features like create a finisher, coopertive season mode, inferno match, big daddy v, shanon moore, jimmy wang yang, and much more. But the game is mostly focused on tag team and that means more tag moves, more tag matches, like 8 man tag (4 on 4), that means hard core holly and cody rhodes, and much more ITS AWSOME
Review 16 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
SVRSR showcase for the immortals
Posted on:8/2/08
Darnell Crittenden aka Player1
Get ready for a smackdown showdown and it's going to be raw as eggs. They did it again, but this time create your own finisher move. And it's got online tag mode (hot tag). Even I can smell what this game is cooking! I can't wait to play it this fall. I am in love with the preview of this game so far.
Review 17 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
CANT WAIT FOR SMACK DOWN VS RAW
Posted on:8/18/08
blown away yet disappointed
This game is gonna rock. All the focus on tag teams will allow gamers to get more interactive than ever with tag teams. There's even gonna be tag team finishers and tag team season modes. And the awesome thing is there's gonna be a create-a-finisher mode.
Review 18 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
sd vs raw 08 looks good so far
Posted on:4/19/08
wwe all day
It looks like sd vs raw 09 is going to be focused on more finisher selections to create also you get to use more tag team moves than ever before. I don’t like that it basically has the same commentary or the same matches.
Review 19 for WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2009
HOT
Posted on:8/23/08
Austyn
The Focus on tag team is cool. However Create a Finisher is going to be hot. But wwe should add more moves and Superstars because Smackdown vs Raw 2008 got boring with the same moves.