GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

GRID

From the creators of one of 2007's best racing games, DiRT, comes GRID - a fast-paced, cinematic, all-encompassing racing game. GRID takes players on a world tour of beautifully designed race locations through Europe, the US, Japan and beyond. The game features the most extensive range of courses ever created by Codemasters, combining official racetrack/circuit challenges and drifting events, with road races and urban street competitions.
Average Customer Rating:
7.69
7.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
10 stars
12
9 stars
7
8 stars
4
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
4
23 out of 2979%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for GRID
Review 1 for GRID
HOLY. KRUD.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/19/14
DaDerpKnight
Location: Easley, South Carolina
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is fricking amazing. The graphics are fantabulous, the gameplay is absolutely kick-butt, and the lasting appeal is off the charts. Sure, this game takes some skill, but that's what makes it awesome. This game also has loads of variety, too. From demolition derby to drifting events, this game will leave you wanting more (which it has). It has tons of cars including Muscle, Exotics, Tuners, whatever you can think of. Oh, and don't pay attention to those guys below. They don't know what they're criticizing.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for GRID
Almost perfect!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/9/13
ColonelCob
Location: New Jersey
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is very well made. I love the features of it and the graphics are outstanding. One of the coolest features of this game is that you get to make your own racing team. I didn't know that until I got the game but when I was playing it and found out, I thought it was pretty cool. You start off racing for other teams. Then when you get enough money ($80,000) you can start a team of your own and hire teammates. This game is also so realistic in the way that the graphics are amazing, and when you hire teammates you have to pay them, but it's not a crazy amount. And when you buy cars with the money you earn, you can buy them new and be certain that they've never been driven, or you buy them from eBay motors. When you buy from eBay motors, however, the cars are used, so you have to check out the history behind it such as how much it driven, and other facts relating to the cars history such as that. This game is realistic without taking the fun away, and they really hit that spot on. My only two complaints about this game is that the cars are VERY drifty, and hard to control. However after awhile you get used to it, and you have no problem driving them. In the beginning you're going to lose just about every race you compete in. But after awhile of practice, you'll come in first and second without any problems. And the second complaint is that there is NO free roam. When I got this game I had a feeling there wasn't but I couldn't find anywhere that came right out and said yes or no. So if your considering this game, go into it with the knowledge I didn't have: THERE IS NO FREE ROAM!! In other words, this is not an open world game. You do races and only races, but there are so many different types of them that I actually don't mind not having free roam. I, for one, love free roam, and I can't tell you how many games I've returned because they didn't have a free roam, open world feature. But this game is fun without it, and I actually don't mind, and I'm not even considering sending it back. The lasting appeal is great, so it should keep me busy for a while. So aside from the no free roam and the driftyness of the cars, this game is a 10. But because of those two things, it's a 9. It's still a great game with superior graphics, even to this day. If I were you, I would strongly think about getting it. And if you need free roam in a game, this might be one of the only games where you can look past that, and enjoy it anyway. I strongly recommend this game, and if your a hardcore racer, I would definitely spend the money. It's definitely worth it, and you won't regret buying it. Oh, and by the way, the teams you start out racing for you get to choose. There are three options with different appearance fees and rewards, and when you pick one, another one takes its place. I love this game, and you will too!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for GRID
Looking 4 a game better than any NFS and GT Game?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/12
Mopar20
Location: North Carolina
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is, by far, one of the best games that I have ever played!!! The controls are simple, the cars are awesome, the engine sounds are fantastic, and the graphics are life-like. Originally, I tried this game out on gamefly and I couldn't put the controller down! It was an amazing game. I sent the game back when I cancelled my subscription. But, after a few years, I remembered the game and couldn't believe that i did. Anyway, the game is still as great as it was then. Although I do wish that drifting in the game wasn't like brain surgery and the lack of cars is a bit of a problem, the game is still the best out there...and this game is like 4-5 years old!!! Can't wait for GRID 2, just hope that it tops this one.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for GRID
if you like mario kart, this not for you lol
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/4/12
King214
Location: Dallas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
great graphics great sound great gameplay, although I can understand why some people would say its frustrating, if you're not a hardcore gamer, don't buy it, you will end up with a broken tv, if you like a challenge and understand more about racing games in particular drifting ones, its a good game for you, the difficulty on this game reminds me of "tokyo xtreme racer drift 1 and 2"
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for GRID
Good Game But...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/11/11
Nascar0070
Location: Martinsville VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've been into racing games for a while now(since the PS1). This is one of the better racing games I've played, though even for a vet like I at these games, there is a learning curve. I discovered that the cars tend to be on the lose side(ie tend to want to spin out) though once you figure out the lift points etc. it can be pretty fun. If you are looking for a good challenging racing game this is for you. Though if you just want a pick up and go(ie easy) you would probably want to put your controller throw the TV.
The Break Down
The Good: one of the prettiest racing games around, good selection of cars and race types.
The Bad: really can't tune your car to make it handle better, it seem like you're always too lose for most of the events
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for GRID
awesome graphics, too sensitive controls
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/9/11
nolf67
Location: hartshorne, oklahoma
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I HAD this game but got rid of it because I couldn't tolerate the frustration that went along with the game play. The graphics are AMAZING, some of the best I've seen in a race game. The attention to detail is really awesome. The car selection is huge and the selection of choices to personalize your car is vast. Now onto the game play, gamers lose your hardcore game controller direction and gas pedal button/trigger action because if you don't you'll end up frustrated. This game has "absurderweise" sensitive control action. For those that aren't familiar with German, RIDICULOUSLY sensitive control action. I ended up either crashing into the wall or spinning helplessly out of control more often than not. Also I found myself purposefully crashing into my opponents to make high speed corners. Brake early because you'll need distance to slow down. The higher level cars, Porsche and Lamborghini are even more sensitive than your Mustang they start you out with. The CPU cars are dialed into perfection so you have to be on your game to beat them and if you let off the gas or miss cue a corner forget it, you're in last place which is where you'll find yourself most of the time. I was very disappointed in this game. BTW all the game play I described above was on EASY MODE, GOD forbid I try normal mode. The makers should have made this game easier to win on occasion, isn't that why us gamers buy and play these games, sure we love the challenge but we also like to win and eventually beat the game and then move on, its part of the reward for playing the game. Not the case with GRID.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for GRID
Pitiful Excuse For A Racing Game
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/7/11
PDad1967
Location: Cape Girardeau, MO.
I have tried this game not once, but twice. The first time I tried it, I didn't have much experience with racing games, however the second time around, I was a more seasoned racer. I have never played a more frustrating game in my life! I know I restarted one race at least 20 times before I finally gave up. What I couldn't get over was the dirty manner in which the AI drivers operated. They seemed to enjoy running me into a wall or something else that would total the car, and that was on BASIC difficulty. I would hate to see what would happen on normal. I must really be missing something when others review this game as an 8+, because I would give it a zero if I could. The sad part is that this is some of the best graphics I've ever seen in a racing game, but that's not enough to salvage the aggravation this game causes. I wouldn't pay a dime for this piece of junk, much less 24.99. If you enjoy wasting your time and money, this game is for you, if not STAY AWAY!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for GRID
Grid Forever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/28/11
gazd4
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The moment i played this game i fell in love. I love racing games and this is one of the very best ones i have played in a long time. And for all you people who say it has bad gameplay and sound the gameplay just takes some getting used to and the sound rocks. so get off the couch and go buy this game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for GRID
Horrible!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/11/11
Dreamis
Location: NC
Can you say BORING?! FRUSTRATING?! and WORTHLESS?? because thats what this is!...i played it for a total of 20 min, and felt like i w8sted my lifetime more than money, and the reason why is because i jumped into it thinking u can rewind time and manipulate the race gameplay, but its no use if every crash leads you to getting busted into billions of pieces, with the race tracks having billions of hairpin turns and the NPC racers NEVER fail, you'll always end up in last place simply because its harder to not crash than it is to actually keep up with the other darn racers...plus the cars sound annoying along with some guy telling u over radio how bad ur driving >=/ (want a real racing game that makes you truely happy playing?!...get "split second!")
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for GRID
The game for all.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/14/10
AntiReload
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
A must buy if you have either xbox 360 or ps3. This game has the best crash engine ive seen for a racing game in a long time. Going out of your way to crash is just a very fun thing to do. There are drift challenges, races, and togues and the next is harder then the last. This game is very challenging so what i recommend is to do drifting first to get a hold of turning and the controls, then when your ready go onto racing. There are little amount of cars but they are just beautiful. This game is for kids, casual gamers, and the hardcore. Trust me you wont be disappointed.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for GRID
Pretty Good Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/16/10
Mended Flesh
I think that this game is pretty cool and this is the only racing game on PS3 that I can say that I liked. It can be as challenging or easy as you want considering there is like 5-6 difficulty levels. The crashes in the game are pretty realistic and thats one of the reasons I like it so much. Career mode is really fun and gives you a lot of control over your character. One of the things that I like the most is the in-car view and the teammate system. Now let me tell you about the things I dont like about the game. In career mode there is something called prestige and the harder the difficulty level is the more prestige you get. I always drive with the In-car view and that makes the game way harder than if you had it on extreme difficulty with 3rd person view but you dont get near the amount of prestige points if you have it on In-car view with normal difficulty setting on. Another thing is that what you end up playing in like the first day is what you get. Its pretty repetitive but its fun but that also gets old real fast. Overall it was pretty good though.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for GRID
Awesome game!!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/10
Batman2450
Grid is what every race game should aspire to be. The graphics are spectacular, the manueverability of the cars and handling are second to none. I bought the game after playing the demo. I really have nothing bad to say about the game. The selection of cars is perfect, the tracks are phenomonal. Many to choose from. The creators of the game obviously have driven alot, because the cars perform like the real cars. The dodge challenger was a disappointment. It doesn't handle well, and it is slow. The mustang and the camaro are a credit to ford and chevy they should be proud that a game could showcase their perfection in a vehicle. Kudos to the game designers. I recommend this game for anyone who love to race. Granted it is hard to play, but that is what makes it challenging. If it was a breeze to play, then what would be the point?
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 13 for GRID
AMAZING GAME!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/4/10
vanderj225
This game is such a great game!! The challenge is good, hard but good. If you love racing than this is the game for you. Its is the best car racing game out there still, and its been out for a couple years. The sound is amazing, and the graphics are too. The career is very fun and challenging. Its setup great. Online is alright, but could be better. I finished career so the only thing really to do is race online for fun. Its very fun and a lot of people still play the game online so there is sessions. The only thing i would fix about online is that you can request what type of race that you want. For example, if i want to race demolition derby, than i want to request demolition derby. It just sucks in that way now because say you want to race demolition derby, but every time you go to search for a session all that comes up is drift battles and stuff that you may not want. Another thing i want to make this game better would be to expand the types of cars that you can choose. Other than new online settings, and more cars to choose from, this game is the BEST!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for GRID
Be safe,try before tou buy.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/18/09
cavemanjam66
I first saw the video for grid on gamestop.com and thought,what a cool game.I was later at my local video store and saw it there so I rented it for my son and I,which we both are avid gamers.Opon starting the game the sound and graphics were very good,but once we started the first race on career mode we found ourselves in last place in a matter of seconds.We took turns playing for almost 4 hours in disgust only to come in dead last every race but one because one of the AI cars crashed and burned.The problem with this game is that they made the AI cars to perfect in their driving skills.You have to drive at full speed to keep up with them and believe me they rarely make a mistake and they are faster than your car.By the time you get through one lap of crashing trying to keep up with them your car is trashed since it takes on damage every time you hit anything you don't stand a chance at winning.If you want to get a race game I guess this game would be okay if you don't mind loosing all the time.I'm sure glad I rented this (in my opinion) a bad racing game before I went out and bought it.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 17 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
highlifter2112
NM.USA.
 
Please wait while more information about highlifter2112 is loaded.
Additional information about highlifter2112 could not be loaded.
Great game but not for the arcade racers
Posted 1/18/12
Grid is simply one the best racing simulator
games made there is a learning curve and a racing wheel will help you too if your into arcade style games this is not for you and yes the game has been out for 5 years so you can find a great deal if you buy used many great hours of racing and fun
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for GRID
One of the Best
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/09
LOVE MY PS3
Race Driver: Grid is one of the best racing games on the PS3 yet beside Grand Turismo 5: Prologue. The graphics are exceptional and the courses could not be more realstic. You start of the game by trying to earn $75,000 to buy yourself some new wheels. Unlike other racing games, in Grid, you get flashbacks, which allows you to view the instant replay, and rewind to that point in the race where you crashed or messed up and take the race back to that point in time. This can be a lifesaver if you have a chance to get a perfect three laps. There are a variety of cars to choose from like Lamborgini's and more. Also, a neat feature is that when you crash, that side of your car drifts to that side. Sometimes, it is hard to drive your car when it is behaving like a druken moron. LOL. Anyways, this is the best racing game and it's definitly worth a look if you do not buy this game at full price.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for GRID
A couple little beefs....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/09
dutch46
For a arcade-style racer, this monster took some getting used to. Once you get your hands around the uber-subtlety of the game physics (a week!...it took me a week to configure the G25 game wheel prompts to my taste and I'm still tinkering), the thing that really started to bug me was that I could barely hear my engine. Every car sings a tune and I just couldn't discern my engine RPM enough to keep the car in the power band. It should be roaring--yet it's buried so far down in the effects mix that I'm missing critical gear shifts. Also...would it be too much to have the ability to tinker with the gearing? What makes GranTurismo rock is the ability to make gears a little taller or shorter so that a shift from, say, 3rd to 4th becomes unnecessary. I was expecting to love to this game, but I'm just not a fan of drift racing. But it still a terrific game if you're into racing "sims," and we're all just killing time waiting for the full version of GT5, now aren't we?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
nolf67
oklahoma
 
Please wait while more information about nolf67 is loaded.
Additional information about nolf67 could not be loaded.
awesome graphics, too sensitive controls
Posted 12/9/11
I HAD this game but got rid of it. The graphics and car selection are amazing. All the choices of details are pretty cool. Now as for the game play, gamers lose your hard core direction and gas pedal control action because if you don't you will find yourself in the wall crashing or spinning helplessly out of control. Straight up this game is "absurderweise" sensitive, for those that don't know german, its RIDICULOUSLY sensitive. I found myself most of the time crashing in the wall or spinning out of control before I learned to go easy on the directions and gas. I also found myself crashing purposefully into my opponents to make corners at full speed. Buckle your seat belts and hold on because you will find yourself very frustrated and maybe even throwing your controller in anger because this baby is fine tuned to the very seasoned race car gamer, the CPU cars are ruthless and dialed into perfection with their game play.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for GRID
Simply Amazing
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/15/08
Zeshal
I know that this review is somewhat late, but I've been very skeptical and pretty much gave up on PS3 racing games for a while. Having played way too many racing games, I must say this game really got me. I've read on other reviews that this game is simply impossible, it really isn't. Grid isn't another racing game where you can gun the car, power slide right into the wall, then power shift your way from first gear. You really have to pay attention to the assist beacons and your car condition. This game is extremely realistic and very challenging. Before I start talking about the AIs, let me tell you something about your teamate (wingman supposedly). There are a few challenges where I had to fire my teamate because the type of challenge (pro-tuned, open-wheel, etc) was his expertise... Don't think for one second that just because you pay him, that he's gonna let you have first place, though he apologizes for running you off the road and stealing gold, he never seems to stop doing it. For many NFS drift fans out there, the drifting aspect of Grid is amazing, it takes a while to get used to due to how realistic it is. The different types of races the game offers is also another plus, although it was actually more frustrating for me, since the game records every retire you use. The different race types requires you to consistently adjust to the cars, for instance, the F-1 cars have such great handling and acceleration, you'll probably end up at the end of the pack for the first half hour switching over from muscle or pro-tuned. There are however downsides to this game, unless you're playing with a wheel and is OK with getting anything other than first place, you're going to be using ALOT of replays and restarts... This game can be very very very frustrating for people who are not above average in racing games. But given the variety graphics and sound, it's all worthit. If you're worrying about having to play through different race types that you don't like in order to make money and buy cars. Worry not. You will have more than enough money if you can clear a single race type. For example, if you can finish all the pro-tuned races, you'll have enough money to buy almost all the exotic cars (astin, lambo, spyker) and mess around with them. Graphics are superb but not perfect. In some of the cars, mainly muscles, when you've ripped off your front bumper (and you probably will 80% of the time) the railing is simply black, sort of like the oldschool 3-d games where if you've damaged or blown up something, it simply turns black. Though it's not easy to flip your car in Grid (you usually total your car first) I've managed to done so many times. It maybe intended, but I think they're just taking it the easy way. I'm only speaking for the cars I've flipped...which are only like...3 cars. The bottom of the car, instead of seeing the steering mechanics, pipes, and axles, you have simply 2...black...plates. Though some race cars do have that for aerodynamics (i'm talking out of my butt), but some graphics would be soothing right before pressing start and restart. And as for the customizing aspect...it's non-existent other than your decals, as for the sponsor stickers...you'll probably put on ones that pay rather than look nice. But given that there's so many cars you can drive and that you absolutely HAVE to drive (you can't drive your Skyline in the demo dirby...nor can you drive your F-1 at the 24hr Le Man race) not having to customize your car is a big relief. I recommend this game to die hard racing fans, as for amateur racers, if you have the patience and would like to try it out, rent it first, this is not walk in the park.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for GRID
OMG!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/9/08
WHYTRY
Where do I start? Ok, I am a serious auto enthusiast. I love auto racing in almost every form. I am a street/road course racer. I never was a video game guy, but then I tried Gran Turismo. I played every version from beginning to end. I have been craving some realism for a long time. Then along came Grid. I thought it was going to be another corny PGR or fun but not realistic NFS or Midnight Club sort of deal. Where Forza fails Grid succeeds. This is, hands down, the best racing game ever created! The only downside is that Grid doesn't allow much customization of the vehicles and adjustability of the mechanics of the vehicle such as air pressure, downforce, suspension etc. However, where Gran Turismo got a little too realistic, taking from the fun you are supposed to have playing a game, GRID learns from that lesson. For instance, you no longer need to pass tests to get a license to start playing. However, this game has the best sound effects, graphics (you'll swear you are watching a real life race on TV when you play, and this is my experience without HD), and the best blend of various venues in auto racing. I sucked in free-style drifting in real life, and guess what, I sucked in this game too, however real life techniques and pointers improved my game. I love how they have the 24 hours of Lemans race that can be shortened down to as short as 15 minutes. Unlike Gran Turismo that forced you to play an endurance race from beginning to end , even if it was a six hour race, I love how you can retire to the garage, shut off your console and start up an endurance race weeks later in the same place if you like (I am an adult, I have a life). This is a freaking must have! It's so good I got to wonder if professional drivers would agree with my opinion.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for GRID
For racing fans, a definitive choice and an Elite of those to come
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/7/08
JaKe8
GRiD, in my opinion, has gotta be one of--if not THE--best racing games ever produced. Spectacular graphics blended with slick realism, enthralling gameplay, great audio, user-friendly menus and intuitive progression makes GRiD a definite winner. Usually in racing games, especially those like Gran Turismo and PGR, where some sort of realism plays a big factor in the outcome of your driving, you'll end-up at the peak of frustration or constantly pausing-and-restarting. But with GRiD, you can now use their unique "Flashback" ability to rewind your mistakes and take an alternate step--or, in this case, turn--towards a more fortuitous future. As far as difficulty goes, it can be easily tweaked at the start of every race. The harder the difficulty, not only the more elite your opponents but the more money and reputation points you get, not to mention the less available Flashbacks too. In the end, no matter the difficulty, you'll find yourself challenged and truly engaged from the start line to the finish. Whether it's the thrill of strategically passing your often aggressive rivals, speeding down a straight going 180 mph, drifting around a bend at 80, or hearing the crowd explode as you pass the finish line, you're sure to be hooked right in. For racing fans, especially those who liked the taste of Codemasters' "DiRT," pass by the rental and go straight for the buy. It'll be worth your money, your time, everything. And it's vast enough to keep you playing for months, if not more.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
wolverine777
 
Please wait while more information about wolverine777 is loaded.
Additional information about wolverine777 could not be loaded.
Posted 1/22/11
Just a few words about this game. "THIS GAME SUCKS"
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for GRID
Wow what a great game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/30/08
C-dawg
It's awesome. The graphics are amazing and when you crash it's very realistic. The controls are great and it is very challenging. I am constantly restarting the races because i always crash, otherwise it's awesome. I like how you can watch a replay of your race or your crashes. Turning you have to slow down to make the turn but so does the CPU so it doesn't affect you. By the way, to crash a car hit their back wheels from the side, they'll spin out. The cars are great and i love how you can create your own team and customize what your cars paint job is. I love how you have your own teammate and get sponsors for your team. I would highly recommend this to people who like racing games. If you don't usually like racing games i would rent it just in case. Boy, what a game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 next>>