GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II

Developed by award winning Relic Entertainment, Dawn of War II ushers in a new chapter in the acclaimed RTS series - taking players to the brutal frontlines of war to lead an Elite Strike Force on a mission to save the galaxy.
Average Customer Rating:
6.972
7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
10 stars
14
9 stars
5
8 stars
3
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
8
24 out of 3667%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II
Review 1 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II
Don't knock the hammer
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/27/12
Prude
Location: Frankfort, kentucky
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
you have to play any game in the dawn of war series to understand the game completely it is a really good game and once you play you will be thinking about the next one nuff said
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II
A new direction!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/11
NewbornRiddler
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Unlike the first Dawn of War this game doesnt play like every other RTS with a home base and then building structures to make and even bigger base. Instead this is really down to the squard tactics and manuvering. The awsome thing is that you can customize your squads and characters like an RPG. It arrays from armor to weapons to medals that provide upgrades. The game is a great buy to anyone who likes Warhammer 40k. The only thing is that it isnt like the first Dawn of War, but a new game all together.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II
A Thinker's Strategy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/1/11
Reapers
Location: Mentor, OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you've played the first Dawn of War, this changes things up quite a bit.
Let's start with the single player.
Wars are won by armies, unless you're space marines. Then, all you need is a squad. In DoW2, you play as the Raven Squad. There's no base building, there's no resource gathering. You control select squads you customize between missions - who will level up, and you can specialize them in a number of ways. Each mission gives you gear (weapons, armor, grenades, etc), which you can outfit your squads with.
With no base building, this game is far from the normal of "BUILD BILLIONS OF UNITS, THROW AT ENEMY BASE". Instead, you have to rely on your smarts, your squads, and the environment. You can use cover, destroy cover, blow up buildings, call down bombardments.. The game is rather intense, makes you think, shows you that war can be won with less than 30 units against hundreds. I'd recommend this to anyone and everyone who enjoys strategy games.
Now, for the multiplayer.
While different than DoW, it does give you a base where you can build your squads and heroes, do your research, etc. You gain resources by controlling parts of the map. It still employs the cover from singleplayer and the desire for strategy, although en masse groups can still roll across the map if deployed correctly. A good connection is a must, otherwise you'll be quickly left in the dust or dropped from the game.
However, there is another multiplayer mode called Last Stand, where three players, armed only with a hero they can customize between missions with gear unlocked with every level. Its co-op between the players as they survive waves of enemy forces that only get stronger and stronger each wave, until wave 20, where the 3 players are pitted against AI controlled doppelgangers of themselves - every spell you have, they have. Recently, the Last Stand mode has become so successful its actually available separately without purchasing DoW2, which will put you with both DoW2 owners and those who bought just Last Stand.
Overall, this game is fantastic. The story is great, the graphics are lovely, the gameplay is solid, and the sound.. It really works. Nothing like grenades going off, the sound of heavy machine guns, the shouts, the screams, the grade A voice acting.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II
Dawn of War II is a mixed bag...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/30/11
TheBlackCat
Location: D/FW, Texas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Dawn of War II is one of the oddest mixed bag games in history. When I refer to "oddest mixed bag" it refers to the overall game concept, the execution, and the design flaws.
Pro's:
- Mixes strategy and rpg, isnt a straight up RTS.
- Lots of different strategies and tactics to play as but again very limited if you want to win.
- Several ways to upgrade your character.
- Best Co-operative play in a RTS you can find
Con's:
-Extremely flawed multiplayer
-Worst net code I have ever seen, if one person has a bad connection everyone has a bad connection and everyone suffers for it, pings tend to be 200-400 depending, requires at least a 6 mbps to not lag everyone out.
On top of the bad pings and issues with lag there is also the fact is someone has a computer that runs minimum requirements that can also lag the game out for everyone too, net code is a big issue in any rts game but this is the worst of the worst, definitely one of the two or three biggest issues in gaming and this is the worst one.
- Uses both steam and games for windows live, sadly it uses games for windows live matchmaking which is horrid for peer to peer. (this will be fixed in the expansion coming out on march 1st where they transfer it all to steam)
-Braindead players who do not think before doing anything and cause losses right away, not a problem if you play with friends but a big issue if you intend to play in a pick up group.
-Bad matchmaking a pug gets put up against a pre-made almost every game and it screws the game over.
-Hard for new players to play the versus mode due to lack of wargear and you can count on losing a lot.
-Game is definitely intended for hardcore players who intend to think and win. Recreational players tend to screw the entire game over in versus mode. But the Co-Op game modes are perfect for Recreational game play.
-Horrible Pathfinding logic, there are situations where my character is told to move from the front of cover to the back of cover and my character just sits there looking stupid and dies.
The controls tend to be delayed sometimes as well even in campaign all though they are responsive in many situations, its just the few that tend to screw you over.
All in all, the game is acceptable, if THQ can start thinking and fix these issues and include better matchmaking, netcode, controls, and more new player friendly (higher levels and players who have played multiplayer longer get better wargear and it does make a BIG difference,) the game might be worth playing multiplayer, but for now the co-op modes are the only modes of worth.
This is a highly mixed bag, its fun but it is also flawed.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rocketfist
Minnesota, MN
 
Please wait while more information about Rocketfist is loaded.
Additional information about Rocketfist could not be loaded.
SINGLE PLAYER COUNTS IN REVIEW
Posted 1/3/12
Okay I understand your frustration on online net coding, but still,
YOU DIDN'T Explain your single player experience...was it good?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II
Change can be good.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/13/10
freekw3
Location: Port Huron, MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I don't know why the rating is so low. especially if you have played the first one. Dawn of war 2 is like saying hey we got new equipment and we are starting the series over. The Tyranids are a great edition and the graphics are fenominal. I play all of the warhammer games including the table top game so I am very picky on how thing look in these games but I have no complaints here. keep it up THQ.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II
not a rts game
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/10
arcabus
Where to start. Size of army controlled about one tenth the size of most rts games. no base building. whats the first thing we bomb (americans) its warfactories and oil supplies and fuel so there you lose a big part of strategy. no resources collection to control and defend another part of stradegy lost. No war wheres all the units ive played multiplayer game online with more units than this in first person shooter games. I just dont see the strategy in this game is all they have done is totally limit your options to do things all rts have units. but thats just a part of it. controling a basic economy with building and resources is a big part of strategy. i loved dawn of war 1. and am only so mad because they should not have called this a sequel it should have been called dawn of war recon. because thats about the size of your army. i didnt even research the game i bought the game on its release soly on the the first game. a mistake i will not ever make again i may never buy a game again as soon as it comes out. im glad that other people could find enjoyment in this style. i just wish they wouldnt have called it dawn of war 2
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 38 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
sbam
Minneapolis, MN
 
Please wait while more information about sbam is loaded.
Additional information about sbam could not be loaded.
BEST RTS EVER!
Posted 7/20/11
This game is truly one of the greatest rts games ever made it takes away all the basebuilding (which at first turned me away) but once you play it you'll realize it was an excellent decision by the devs. BUY IT!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II
Dawn of war 2 only a 6.0!?
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/30/10
Severin30
I don't understand this game is much better than the first one, better graphics, better gameplay and a better game. It deserves at least an 8.5! I would give it a 9.0. I mean in the fisrt dawn of war the battles get to big too control and I prefer a smaller cap limit, in fact I play this alot more than the first one, but don't get me wrong the orginal dawn of war was a great game, but I just like this one better, with the orginal it's like " I have a special unit, I win." not really that fair this one takes alot more strategy and I will play this game for along time, of course not when Chaos rising comes out, it's going to add a new campaign and a new race. I would strongely reccomend this game to any one thats a fan of rts or strategy games.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II
Not as bad as most people made it out to be
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/09
Mad-Hatter-13
Well lets see no Dawn of War II is not not like the 1st Dawn of War & that's not a bad thing what Relic & THQ did was took Dawn of War an awesome RTS & Company of Heroes yet another awesome RTS made by Relic & THQ & crossed them to make Dawn of War II there is no more base building like in DoW... You'll get your units now like ya did in CoH which I like cause I loved both game.. Instead of building your base & lots of defenses you just have a few squads that are dropped in & you need to use cover unlike DoW where you just made a bunch of units & overwhelmed your foe now you use tactics & your surroundings to your advantage also they made it more RPG like you level your units & up their stats you also have upgradeable armor & weapons which you find in the different worlds you go to & that you also receive from completing mission/objectives... most people don't like change but I think its a great game & a nice move on THQ/Relics part... I love Warhammer & I look forward to many more DoW/Warhammer games in the future!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II
Dawn of War 2: The Real Strategy Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/09
Durandral
The previous Dawn of War was well done in the fact that it improved what other RTS's have done but Dawn of War 2 is completely different. However, it is better that way. The first Dawn of War wasn't really similar to the actual thing it was copying which is the tapletop game Warhammer 40,000 and the game is also just another mob army RTS. Whoever builds the biggest army can just walk around with the enormous group and slaughter everything in their way. However, Dawn of War 2 changes that. Dawn of War 2 is very similar to the tabletop game and is very tactical. Mob army RTS games like the original Dawn of War doesn't require any real strategy to play. However, Dawn of War 2 does. The game focuses on a smaller amount of units but with more strategy. It is very comparable to Warcraft 3 in this aspect. Unlike Warcraft 3 and the first Dawn of War, the game has only 1 building and units can only be reinforced in certain areas of the game. This is great in my opinion because a close victory will actually mean a close victory. The person who has injured units or even lost some would have to go back to their base to recover and regroup which adds to the strategy. Cover also plays a HUGE role in the game with the defense bonuses it gives units in the game. I could rant on and on for a while about how much I enjoy this game and that it is the best RTS I have ever played but here is a list of pros and cons of the game.PRO:1. Smaller amounts of units allow in-depth strategies to be played out2. Cover plays a larger role in game3. Buildings play a very little role in the game4. Strategy actually needed to play the game is much greater5. Animations and graphics are beautiful6. Music soundtrack is pretty great7. Challenges is much greater than the first with Insane computers being difficult to face and the Primarch mode in Single Player8. Leveling system9. Customizable hero ( Example: Farseer for eldar or Techmarine for Space Marines)10. Abilities special to every unit11. Customizable wargear in multiplayer for hero unit12. Great single player mode13. Suppress ability 14. NOT a mob army RTS15. It is simply a kickass game16. Destructible cover17. Game looks pretty awsome when all everything is basically destroyed halfway into a battle(List could go on)Cons:1. AI always runs away when suppresed in multiplayer2. Campaign can be slightly lengthy and repetitive3. Only 4 races (Space Marines, Eldar, Orks, and Tyranids)4. Few multiplayer maps
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II
Excellent game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/30/09
Salerno
Im a big fan of the Warhammer 40k series and strategy games. I was hesitant to buy this game seeing the other reviews, but Im glad I did buy it. Its so much more fun when you dont have to micro-manage bases and supplies and research technology. You just get right into the fight and have fun. Pros for me: Customizable squads, squads level and you can choose talents for them, you can choose which squads to bring, you can choose which battle you want to fight on which planet. The environment is destructable, its very fun to blow things up. Tactically you have lots of options for how to complete a mission, if your in a hurry you cna skip objectives, if you have all day to play you can slaughter everthing on the map. The boss fights feel like boss fights, challenging and sometimes long, but rewarding. The storyline went along very well with the 40k universe. Cons for me: You can only do the campaign as space marines, I would have liked to try it as tyranids or orcs. Multiplayer I tried a little and its not as intuitive as single player with its excellent tutorial. It took me a while to figure out the upgrades for my forces in multiplayer. All in all an excellent game, the first time I went through on Sergeant difficulty, now Im trying Captain level and different squads and gear for them.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II
Really bad.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/23/09
8-bit
I don't know where to start...this game has so many bugs its not even funny, online I find myself more angry than having any sort of fun. Pros: Graphics, Utilizing a better engine, co-op campaign. CONS: It's using both STEAM and GFWL, countless bugs, online Trueskill (Matchmaking), requires a internet connection to install the game (If you have no internet or it just sucks then stay away from this game), limited to just only 3 vs. 3 (Multiplayer). Computer player is too easy or just no help to your team (Multiplayer). God units are limited to just the eldar. This game is still in a beta state and needs an awful lot of fixing. If your not into unit management and like the old RTS way of fighting then this game is not for you there is no base building what-so-ever only base tier upgrading. This would have ended up being a good game if made properly like the first CoH (Not CoH: OF).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II
Not for Cookie Cutter RTS Lovers!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/09
XERIDIAN
This is an amazing game, you can tell the love went into this title. I am a fan of the Warcraft, Total War & Supreme Commander series and own the all of them, so I know what an RTS and what one isn't. This has a lot of features of a traditional RTS, just done in a different way. This game opens a lot of doors that others haven't. You either like micro management of inanimate objects or micro management of the important things. This takes getting down to the essence of the battle, into the meat and potatoes if you will, of what will win the war. This game also leaves it open to those casual players that the first DOW didn't really cater to. I played the first one and part II added what was missing. This isn't a grand epic RTS like Empire, Civilization and Total war and the like. This game is more relative to Warcraft 3 which is one of my favorite games of all time. While the story isn't as in depth I think the application of the point of this game is dead on. Multiplayer is well balanced and all the patches and effort being put into DLC is much more than other companies do with PC titles. Every company out there uses some form of Security, Steam is their choice, and to be honest, I kind of like it as opposed to SECUROM. Plus you get achievements with Windows Live, auto updating, a great community. People need to stop complaining and start playing. Don't let the people fool you, Steam is here to stay, and for PC it is a good thing. It is no different than XBOX LIVE and their security, except you need to have internet. If you don't have internet by now, you need to go buy a console and stop playing PC games. This game shines at multiplayer and is very addictive and fun. If you don't go online it isn't worth the purchase. The campaign doesn't really have the story line I would like, but it is pretty long and fun to play and has plenty of replayability. If you want a standard RTS you should go buy one or stick to what you know, this game is about branching out into something new and fresh and i like it. Don't give a game a 1 for an overall score if you don't know how to research it before you buy it. (Demos are always available, if you have the internet!)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II
Great Dissapointment !!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/4/09
Archimedes00
This was one of the few games that I even cared to count the days down to it's release. I knew it was going to be different from the previously released games, more like the board games, and I had no problem with that . The addition of the Tyranid race that has FINALLY been put into the game ( From the game company itself ) was even more exiting to me . I had seen video and read up about the game so I knew how different it would be. Then my friend calls and says he just bought the game and was stopping by. We installed the game on my machine and played for 5 hours. The up level up of the troops and Hero was a neat touch . As well as the Tyranids and graphics/ sound were ok. The ability to set troops behind cover is new and is nice when it works right. The rest of the game ( lets be honest... The whole Game ) is a total failure in every other aspect to me and my friend. This game is boring and misguided, then when combat does happen I found my self hoping that I would get wiped out so I could quit playing. Then I remembered I could just quit at any time. " YEA ! " . All of these things ( and more not mentioned ) plus the addition of the " Steam " program having to be installed ( which I absolute can not tolerate !! ) Lead me to suggest avoiding this game at all cost ! Play the board game, play any other of the great 40,000 K games , but avoid this until you get a chance to try it first.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II
Good Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/4/09
Nods
Not really sure why there are so many negative reviews of this. DOW was never an epic game like the total war series. There is no base building, or building of any kind in this one, so if that is your thing you wont like this game. If you enjoy employing strategy and tactics without any building and very little managing resources (placing turrets and airstrikes, for example) then this is the game for you. It is similar to an rpg game in that your units use the armor, weapons and special equipment (like mines and grenades) that they find in the game. The units level as they go and get stronger. In order to beat the game on the most difficult setting you'll need to level your units and get them geared up via the optional missions. All in all I thought the game was great fun for a few weeks and I'd suggest picking it up.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II
DoW 2 simply unique!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/4/09
Independenz
DoW 2 is definitely different as most people have said. It completely has revised how the game is played since DoW 1. Now, a lot of people would say though dont like this due to the fact you cannot build buildings or what not... but, in all recognition they dont realize the fact that this game didn't try to aim for that. They wanted something new and new is what they made. It is a mix of Dow 1 and Company of Heroes. This game is fast paced and rounds aren't long. People have said it is repetitive... but in fact it is not at all. You encounter many new opponents of which they have different tactics and the game is as fun as can be. It seems like a simple game but has a lot of strategy involved. You need to get cover in this game it is imperative. It is harder to get vehicles and tanks... which means you feel awesome when you have enough to buy one... but feel horrible when it explodes :) This game hit's a new bar and a lot of people are afraid to try it or are worried it is not going to be fun. This game is very worth it if you are in a fast paces EXPLOSIONS EVERYWHERE fun multiplayer. I suggest this game to anyone as this game is fun and enjoyable. People that are mocking every game lately because it's not like the old one need to go away DOW2 was meant to be the way it is and it is not meant for building bases, its meant to be like offense! This game is 100% worth the money, now if you would excuse me. I have DoW 2 to play.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II
True Review READ BEFORE BUYING!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/09
Dawn of war fan
Every Dawn of war 1 fan has been waiting a long time for a new one to come out. this dawn of war was truly terrible!!! DOW 1 was great but now you CANT even build buildings!!! all you have is one building. you cant increase squad caps unless your near some beacon thing. The game doesn't even feel like an RTS. they concentrated too much on just your hero. it is cool that you can upgrade your hero but the game still falls short by a long shot. It feels much slower pase than DOW1, and half the armies aren't in this one like chaos, tau, necrons, and more. The campaign is still the blood ravens witch got old pretty quick. In DOW1 i felt like i was fighting massive wars in this the dead bodies fade away after like 5 seconds, and you don't really build huge armies. the graphics are amazing for an RTS but it doesn't make up for the poor quality of the game. Stick to DOW1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II
Repeticious RPG Not RTS
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/09
HawkDreams
As a MAJOR DoW fan who owns all releases, this was the most disappointing waste of money and, other than fantastic graphics and a very good story line, gameplay is repiticious and boring! Yes, you have real time battles, but you only have 3-5 squads per battle. If you like monotany, then this is the game for you! There is relatively little difference in the various maps though they are beautiful maps. I will even admit the first 10 battles were fun, but after 10 it becomes a never ending choice of battles where you already know where they bad guy is and you have to kill him. The first battle is basically the same as the 100th battle as you have, usually, 4 squads, a bad guy, and and army in between. Each enemy team only reacts when you come into its area of influence rather than seeking you out to destroy you. The only exception to this is when you find yourself having to defend and you have several waves coming at you timed and counted down and all you have to do it face several squads at once. Granted it does get more difficult with each level but then you also get more effective each level so there is no real difference in challenge. The original DoW was revolutionary in how it played compared to all other RTS games. I fell completely in love and happily addicted! Company of Heroes expanded upon the game play as far as style and options. Dawn of War 2 had the potential to once again revolutionalize the RTS world of gaming, yet they released a 2nd person squad based RPG and tried to call it RTS. Who knows? Maybe they were trying to compete with Blizzards upcoming Diablo 3 release? Please do not get me wrong! Some people like RPG, some FPS, and some RTS. Personally I generally only play RTS unless bored out of my skull. As an original Total Annihilation and StarCraft player and every RTS game since, I am completely and totally insulted that this could be called RTS gaming!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II
Worst RTS ever played.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/09
Exar Kun
The reasons why I am saying that this game is the worst Real Time Strategy game is this; this game focuses lesson actual strategy and more on "is my unit under the cover of nearby rocks"? The original DOW is FAR better. Whereas this game is slow paced and very painful. What I mean by that is, once you lose an engagement, it is nearly impossible to recover. And losing is what you will do. If you don't have the proper counter unit to the enemies forces he is going to wipe you out. More rolling of the dice then actual strategy. The online interface is also poorly designed. In order to play ranked matches you must sit watching a screen for roughly 10 minutes waiting for a server to locate 5 other players. Another draback is that when you play ranked matches you are forced to play something called point control. Where you attempt to grab specific nodes to hod on to and win. Many times when you have thrown the dice in this slow paced game and lose a single engagement it is now to late to recover on any term. Your other option is to go into non ranked matches that are somewhat better off, you have the chance to play annihilate. Where you simply play to beat the enemy into submission. On the plus side, the game graphics are pretty good... And the game sound is decent. If you like Dawn of War, stick to the first one, they have butchered this game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II
Simply amazing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/09
Skarwind
Well when I first saw this game I had to have it. The beta was very fun and so is the real thing! Yea they took out base building but that doesn't make the game any less challenging in multiplayer. In a sense it takes the stressvof worrying about your base and more on your units... It's more realistic also in the sense that an attacking force won't have a base built during the battle... Also there just wouldn't be that many materials around so it's a lot more fun this way. The game features lots of upgrades for units and the graphics are outstanding... Any fan of the Warhammer 40k series will find this game true to the dawn of war epic story lines and gameplay! The campaign is just to die for! This is my opinion of this great game and this is just the beginning!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II
The Real Review
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/09
some dude who games
If your into RTS and RPGs this title may be what your looking for. Dawn of War 2 brings true elements of the table top version to the PC. Each mission of the champagne focuses on your small units of space marines as you try to halt the tyranid invasion. Unlike traditional RTS, there is no base building, no large battalions of troops and tanks, just a central headquarters and a few 3-5 man squads. However, those squads are powerful and, can be further upgraded through RPG style level ups and equipment additions (wargear). There is a sense of strategy to this game that I have failed to see in similar titles. Mainly the use of cover and synergy, as you try to make your units work together to accomplish objectives. In my opinion if you like 40k on the table top, you will like this game and probably play it regiously. If your expecting a larger more advanced version of the first DoW, then you will be disappointed.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 2 3 next>>