GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NBA Live 2009

NBA LIVE 09 is back with the best playing basketball game in the category that rewrites the book onauthenticity - but is still accessible enough for new users to get in on the ground floor. NBA Live 09offers an unparalleled basketball gameplay experience thanks to Dynamic DNA, which redefinesplayer artificial intelligence. And with the addition of 16 new International teams, and the FIBAtournament, you can now compete as your country in your quest to become the best basketballnation in the world.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2
4.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
4 out of 1040%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NBA Live 2009
Review 1 for NBA Live 2009
Feels like Im playing Live 08 but with problems.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/08
PlaystationMan24
This game just isn't what I was expecting. The PS3 version is better. First of all, The Dynamic DNA feature isn't that great. On the next-gen systems you get real-life player tendencies that are updated every day. Why didn't they put updates on the PS2 version? And on the PS2 version, you're getting average stats not player tendencies, so you still see the same players doing the same stuff over and over again. Players will actually walk backward. Be a Pro mode is actually pretty good, you get to play a whole career as your favorite player while on the next-gen versions it was only for one game. The gameplay isn't better this year because you're basically choosing from the same plays to call as last year. Graphically, the game is mediocre. And the camera view is annoying. The game doesn't even have any online play. To sum it up: if you have a PS3 but are thinking of getting it for the PS2, get it for the PS3 if you can because on the PS2 its the same as Live 08 but with problems.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for NBA Live 2009
This game is good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/08
Snapper9989
This has good graphics and it is fun to play. I bought this game and I had fun and so my friends bought it as well and they also said it was good so if you're looking for a new basketball game, choose this one. I like it because the game experience is better and it's way then the 2k sports version. Each player plays their own style unlike 2k sports where they all play the same way. The only bad thing is that there is no online gaming. I sat there for 10 minutes tying to find the online part and could'nt find it. But even though there is no online gaming the game is still a great game and its fun so just buy it. This game could probrobly the best basketball game that I've played in this decade. This game was good for me but it may not be good for you but you'll never know till you try.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NBA Live 2009
Its good but not great.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/8/08
Obessed Gamer
Nba live 09 is good. The graphics are sweet. It's not the best challenge but its fun. There is only 2 problem. The Oklahoma team isn't called thunder, its just Oklahoma City. They dont even have the right jerseys. Their stadium is stupid as well. The second thing is that they dont have all the rookies. Like Mario Chalmers isn't on the Miami heat and when u just want to play a game derrick rose isn't even on the bulls. And then when u do a season u have to deal with the cap space. I hate that. And when u release a player it doesn't change at all. Overall I would give it an 8 out of 10. Another thing is that when the 2010 game comes out I think they should show when u r about to trade people that it should show if the other team is interested in the trade so u would know if they would take it. This game is good. If u have a ps2 and an xbox i rent both games first
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for NBA Live 2009
My PS2 NBA Live 09 Review
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/6/09
maliekthom
This game is okay, but, I have to say that is isn't good to tell the truth. For this system I would definitely recommend 2K9 sorry if that was offensive. First of all I would not call saying if players are hot and cold vs. a team or a players stats "DNA". On the other systems it has a player tendencies, hot spots, hot streaks, and real real life heat. Dynasty is not entertaining I can't seem to find this negotiation mini-game. Also, this game is very easy I drop a hundred in twenty minutes with PHILADELPHIA of all teams! Why would any body sit around playing the FIBA Championships with players you don't even know but even if you use America it still shouldn't be there because it wouldn't be fun playing over and over with one team because that doesn't make it a feature that much. The stats are okay because they many slots and are pretty accurate.The graphics almost make me throw up they are poor are non-colorful. The sounds are okay because of the commentators. The controls are way too basic. They also shouldn't of taken off some of the camera views like center court. Also, and almost finally the best thing about this game is the start menu. I do not recommend this game to anybody.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NBA Live 2009
The last and most improved NBA Live game for PS2!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/11
ThomasT
Location: Orange, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
First off, let me say that this game isn't bad! EA actually took some effort adding a few new things to the game when they didn't really have to and could go with just updating rosters and adding new soundtrack like 2K Sports did with their NBA 2K franchise on the PS2. EA definitely deserved some props for not leaving PS2 users out in the dust. In this game, they added the new Be A Pro mode, where you can create or select an existing player and play through a season with him doing tasks and gaining skills. It's a nice addition to the NBA Live franchise and it's a pretty entertaining game mode. The second thing they added to the game is the new Dynamic DNA which gives you specific players stats, tendencies, and tell you whether they're hot/cold and what teams they tend to raise their games against. The third thing is the Hot Spots 2.0 showing you where players are most likely to make shots and where they're going to throw up bricks. The FIBA Championship mode has returned and expanded to include 24 international teams. Rounding out the new features, is the new Practice Mode letting you do team practice. If you've played previous NBA Live games from 06-08, you'll feel that this game is very similar to them in gameplay. The graphics are identical to last year's game, which isn't a bad thing. It looks pretty good for a PS2 sports game but could've been better. Gameplay can be unrealistic at default settings but luckily there are sliders to adjust nearly every aspect of the game. With a little tweaking you can get the game to play much more realistically. The new soundtrack offers some great rap/hip-hop tunes to keep you jamming while you're playing NBA Live. Steve Kerr and Marv Albert do a good job with the commentary that doesn't seem to be repetitive. Overall, this is a pretty good game with a lot of features to keep you playing. It's got a deep enhanced Dynasty mode that also includes the All-Star Weekend completes with the Rookie challenge, Three-Point Shootout, Slam Dunk Contest, and the All-Star game. Play around with the settings to adjust the game to your playing style and you'll have a great NBA experience on the PS2.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NBA Live 2009
Under any circumstances, do not buy this game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/08
An Upset Customer
This game is easily the biggest waste of money that I have purchased in recent memory. I have '06, so I wanted to upgrade. Hardly did I know that this is virtually the same exact game. There is absolutely no difference in the graphics, the camera angles are a joke, and overall, the actual game play itself might actually be a complete joke. Another thing in which I have no clue why they did this is the fact that this game cannot be played online. Does that even make sense? '06 was always capable of being played online, until Sony (or Playstation) finally decided to shutdown the server for the game. If you truly do want to buy a NBA Live game for Playstation 2, you may as well buy 2005 or 2006, because you will seriously be getting the same quality in a game as you would for '09, but you pay virtually nothing.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 7 for NBA Live 2009
nba live 09
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/16/08
jschultz2808
Nba live 09 is pretty good. I've had it for almost a week, and so far so good. Last year it didn't have all the rookies, this year it does. The free throws are still ridiculously hard, and the dunk contest is kind of too. Other than that it's a good game. It retails for 30, so it's a good buy. Unless you play on starter mode, it's way too easy. You end up blowing the other guy away with scores like 92-45 or things like that. I've played a full season game by game and am in the second round of the playoffs. I ended up with 4 losses for the season, so like i said very easy and that was on starter difficulty. Overall, i would definitely recommend this to the hardcore basketball fan. If you're not one of those, but like the game, wait for a couple months until the price goes down and you can get a used copy.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for NBA Live 2009
A great game could be alot better!
Posted on:7/12/08
Will F.
NBA live is the greatest basketball game ever. So NBA live 2009 should make a great impact on it's history. The graphics and the new things you can do are good, but in my world it's only missing one thing. The opportunity to draft a player from college and develop him into a great star, just like they do on Madden. If this game had that one game mode it would be a top seller if it isn't already.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NBA Live 2009
nba live 09
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/11
tidow
Location: eutaw,al
This game is perfect for: party gamers
they cant make better players rating its just a very bad game. don't buy unless u just like beating the mess out of the computer!!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NBA Live 2009
Worst game ever
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:4/2/11
JDH13
Location: Columbus, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
First off the hot streak thing works but it turns out it can be unrealistic. Paul Pierce made 5-6 3 pointers in a row. If he wasn't guarded I believe he could do that, but half the time he was guarded. Second it feels like they are drunk and roller skating on ice. It should be called NBA on Ice 2009.
 
My Product Recommendations
NBA Live 06
10 out of 10(4)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NBA Live 2009
Dont Get It
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/19/11
TheReviewMan
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is a waste of money. Its ok but its not fun or entertaining
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.