GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Tom Clancy's H.A.W.X.

Tom Clancy's H.A.W.X. is set in a not-too-distant future, as the era of the nation-state draws quickly to a close, and the rules of warfare begin to evolve rapidly. More and more nations become increasingly dependent on Private Military Companies (PMCs) - elite mercenaries with a lax view of the law. The Reykjavik Accords further legitimize their existence by authorizing their right to serve in every aspect of military operations. There goes the neighborhood...
Average Customer Rating:
7.482
7.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
6
8 stars
4
7 stars
4
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
21 out of 2778%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tom Clancy's H.A.W.X.
Review 1 for Tom Clancy's H.A.W.X.
ehh, okay
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/7/09
Mikem
I don't really play too many flight games, but i am a pretty big fan of all tom clancy games. The problem i find with flying games is that it gets really repetitive; you fly around in circles shooting down enemies and every time that you get a missile warning you pull back on the left stick, over and over and over again for 18 or 19 levels. And then after you finish that you try out the live, which is also the same exact thing. However, thats the problem with all flight games, and as far as they go this one was pretty solid. It was short; I beat it in three days, not really playing all that much, probably like 12 hours or so all together on the hardest difficulty level. The story behind the game is cool, as it is with all tom clancy's. So as you can see from my ratings above, other than length and challenge, its an enjoyable game, great graphics, cool planes, and solid storyline.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tom Clancy's H.A.W.X.
great
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/10/11
Jazzshadow2
Location: miami,fl
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I first bought this game I exected a simple shoot and blow up fighter piliot game. Instead I was hit with a breth-taking story. And a plot that kept me watching and kept me surpised.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tom Clancy's H.A.W.X.
By the way...
Posted on:2/16/09
Fwitter
I just tried Ace Combat 6 Fires of LIberation or w/e it was demo...Yea...not like H.A.W.X. at all in any way besides maybe the look. Completely different game...You have all the cockpit stuff floating around on your screen, the lock on system is weird and it was just wow...I honestly don't like it...I do like hawx however...the lock on system is very different, the controls are different, maybe the move left+right are the same but the games are COMPLETELY different. And as a guy whose first flight sim game was hawx demo...I think it is MUCH better than ace combat 6...(In hawx I don't fly from the cockpit)Whoever said they LOOK like...hawx has better graphics, AND no shit they are going to look alike...FLIGHT GAMES...tho ace combat 6 is weird IMO and so is the lock on system+the entire control system+game...Hawx is simpler and maybe not directed towards the hardcore flight sim players like ace combat 6 is...(so I've heard it is).
Review 4 for Tom Clancy's H.A.W.X.
Not user friendly
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/09
blame EA, not Ubisoft
Bad control set-up, which means you have to use your middle fingers(on triggers for brake/thrust) and index fingers(on bumpers for sway) simultaneously in conjuction with your thumbs(on thumbsticks for full up/down, limited left/right steering on left stick and limited camera viewing on right stick) to fly the plane effectively. If this sounds uncomfortable...it is. "Assistance off"(turns off onscreen flight display) and gives you more control over your plane...cool, finally...but wait, its too good to be true. You are given an extremely distant 3rd person view with the game is constantly changing your target viewing. The game will randomly change your view, so you never have control or a line on your target by constantly putting your viewing angle to the side, top, bottom and the worst view possible, ... in front of your plane, which makes it impossible to stay on the target because you spend 95% of the time trying to figure out where the hell your at again. I guess thats why theres only 15 games available online to coop with and none to versus with.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Tom Clancy's H.A.W.X.
Looking forward
Posted on:12/17/08
Miz
I have been following this game since I seen it in GAME INFORMER a while back. I have to say I think it looks great, but I need a game to do more then look good. I hope against hope that it contains good game play above all else. As well as being fun, good controls, good story, and another major thing I want it to contain would by all means have to be a SMART A.I. cause if its easy where is the fun in that after a few hours of feeling like a king?!? As for the aspect of the game about switching between the two ways to fly I hope against hope its optional. I don't want any help in controlling my plane. If I crash & burn I want it to be based on my skills or lack there of. As of now the 360 has a few quite fun flight games. And I hope to see this game be quite like in many but not all ways ACE COMBAT 6. Great game, also fun were the Blazing Angels games. Anyway, looking forward to taking to the skies soon. Mizaun....
Review 6 for Tom Clancy's H.A.W.X.
terribly dissapointed....
Posted on:2/20/09
Anonymous
I was hoping the Tom Clancy name would make this a slightly realistic flight combat game, but I was mistaken when I tried the demo. The controls are awful, as you can only use 1 control stick for both pitch and roll, rather than 1 each like in other flight games.There is a dumb "assistance" mode that does nothing but annoy you and prevent you from doing advanced manuvers, but when you turn it off you are sucked out of the cockpit and forced to watch the "dogfight camera." This feature cannot be turned off. Wake up Ubisoft! Fighter pilots never have an out-of-body experience during dogfights, and there is no plane that carries 250+ missiles. I understand some players may enjoy the ridiculously zoomed back third person camera and safe assistance modes, but not giving players the option is ridiculous. I have cancelled my pre-order and will have to reconsider buying any Tom Clancy games in the future.
Review 7 for Tom Clancy's H.A.W.X.
ACE-EDGE compatible!!
Posted on:3/3/09
ChaosDynasty
I've played the demo a few times, and I can't wait for this game to come out! I've enjoyed all of the Ace Combat games, and this one falls right in line with those as being a favorite. I've been playing with the ACE-EDGE joysticks (Ace combat 6 special edition), and they work perfectly for this game, which is a plus for me. I have enough accessories for my game systems as it is, so I'm glad that I don't have to buy another flight stick for the game. The button mapping is the same as it is for Ace Combat, A button is the gun, and B launches missiles, despite the demo saying to use A to fire the missiles (that's only with a standard controller.) Assistance off mode uses a 3rd person long range camera angle, which is odd at first, but I finally got used to it. The graphics are good, and as for the locations, well I wouldn't know how accurate they are because I've never been to Rio, but whatever.
Review 8 for Tom Clancy's H.A.W.X.
A pretty good game!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/5/09
HALO GUY $22$
I thought that it was an overall good game. But, there are some down sides to the game, the game is way to long and every mission was almost exactly the same as the one before it. The extreme manuevers in the game were unreal and impossible to perform in real life. At some points I felt like I was working to hard for nothing, what I mean is that I was spending so much time on one mission and all I got was a lousy Harrier or a lousy f-14. On the other hand, the graphics were awsome and the control layout was easy to get use to. The game was kinda challenging at some points, but, not to hard. I would definitely recommend the game to a beginner pilot. The game wasn't everything I had expected, but, I definitely had a fun time playing it. PEACE OUT!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jroxchase
Corning,ca
 
Please wait while more information about Jroxchase is loaded.
Additional information about Jroxchase could not be loaded.
D minus at best
Posted 7/14/12
All I can say is thank god that GameStop has a seven day return policy on used games. this one will be going back for sure. The game started way way slow, then it picked up. But its just sub par to me for a flight game.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Tom Clancy's H.A.W.X.
It's a good buy.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/9/09
assassinatur54
I think I speak for most people when I say, H.A.W.X. looks great. The graphics are very realistic, and I even noticed a building I went to in Rio De Jainero, or however you spell it. The challenge in this game is good, but I like to fly in assistance off mode(AO), because I can see where the missile is coming from. I mention this because you can't use AO in the beginning of the game. You have to 'unlock' it. It's a pretty bad idea because if someone sucks a lot in cockpit mode or third person mode, they will basically hate the game. But it;s O.K., because the game is good. Single player campaign is good, but I love the multiplayer. This game really is fun online! I got the achievement in which you have to stall at an altitude of 30 and recover before you hit the ground in a Team Deathmatch game. So overall, its a nice game, it just needs to have the option for AO...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Tom Clancy's H.A.W.X.
Straight to the point...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/09
-=BDK=-Lawdog
I want to first start of by saying, if you don't have the Ace Combat FCS, you are going to want to use it for this game. The graphics are phenominal, the story is fun to follow, the length of the game is just right, and on-line play is a ton of fun. Now...here's the deal, this game is challenging to say the least. If you don't like spending time on a game learning how to master the idiosyncrasies and the more difficult aspects of the game, then this one ISN'T for you. "Assistance Off" mode is very tough to learn and takes significant time to learn. However, once you have it down, it really gives you an edge in combat. An earlier review mentioned after the 4th mission, the game becomes overly difficult. I had no problems myself completing this mission of the first try. I read the review about the HAWX FCS and from the looks of it, you're going to want to hit up ebay and get the Ace Combat FCS. I had no trouble with response time, flight manuverability, or target acquisition. As with any new game, rent it first, give it a try and make your own assessment. I personally love it and will look forward to the add-ons.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Tom Clancy's H.A.W.X.
Game locks up!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/4/09
HotKarl
This game is very good, but has a major problem. I hope the developers fix this issue. I'm on the fourth or fifth mission and about 75% of the time the game locks up during the cut scene's, start menu and while navigating the menu. It doesn't allow you to use the guide button on the controller to back out to the dash board. You have to power down the system and restart the game. I've installed the game on my hard drive to try and eliminate this and the game still locks up. Granted the game has not locked up during a mission but it is very anoying. The assistance off mode is not working either. I've gone in to the options and turned on the expert controls on and in game when you try an use this feature it makes a sound like you failed a key entry. The game is very good as stated above but this locking up problem needs to be addressed by the developers ASAP!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 12 for Tom Clancy's H.A.W.X.
Realism....
Posted on:3/3/09
VT-22
Ok I have both Ace Combat 6 and have recently played the demo for HAWX. I am also currently going through advanced jet training for the Marine Corps so I have a good understanding on the realism of both games. Ace Combat is fun....realistic, not so much....the planes handle more like cars on a track rather than planes sliding through the air. HAWX impressed me with how the planes seem to slide and drift more like real aircraft. And for all those wondering if todays fighter planes can brake hard and stand themselves up or drift hard on a banking turn, to a certain extent "yes." Which is one thing about Ace Combat that felt so constraining. Especially with newer planes like the F-22, extreme attack angles from thrust vectoring are far more attainable. So to the point HAWX is bar far more realistic than any other air combat game on the console to date, but you can't blame them for having soo many missles and bombs, who wants to just fly around in a game when you can blow stuff up as well, it's a game not a flight sim. For that get to know a fighter pilot and have him take you in a real flight simulator some time! Semper Fi
Review 13 for Tom Clancy's H.A.W.X.
Game deserves a chance
Posted on:2/15/09
Reek99 Gamertag
Face it any Jet/ Airplane Video game or Simulator is pretty much going to look very similar in comparison, especially on a Next Generation System, they really are all going for the real look and I only know 1 type of realism and thats actually being Real. I would consider this to be a video game rather then a simulator, this is more of a Lets go get 'em attitude story line, so who cares about fuel I'm playing a video game. I give 2 thumbs up to this game, The Graphics are really clean, and Lets remember we only have a DEMO, the only slight bit of choppiness was close to the ground, I don't care about the ground I'm in a Jet, and its only when you fly low when you even notice and its still detailed. The Sound is pretty crisp for a demo, I like the sound of the free-fall-bomb. The ERS is awesome, I never play flying games and this system helps a lot it makes you feel like you know what you're doing, but once you get the controls down which is simple you wont need it, but its nice to have. I believe it wont be a need to get a aviator stick controller, save your money. All in all get the demo judge for yourself. I have mine on reserve.
Review 14 for Tom Clancy's H.A.W.X.
Game is Just Ok Rental at Best
Posted on:2/13/09
Anonymous
I am a big flight sim person. Ehh Ace Combat was ok. This game is just a remake of it with a few more aircraft. The demo on the 1st level is almost a splitting image of Ace Combat. There is no realistic feel.. You never run out of ammo,fuel etc.. The aircraft control is un realistic compared to today's fighters that can't do half the stuff they do in the game. You do not get to land or carriers no in-flight refueling boring .. The auto control is horrible you can either have a rear view of the aircraft or if you turn off the auto control the airplane is a little spec on the screen. Also the big thing I hate the SOUND.the roar of the JET ENGINES IS VERY FAINT just like Ace Combat.. If you a re true flight sim person and hoping this will be one stick to the PC with FSX alot better.. I think this will be a good rental at best..
Review 15 for Tom Clancy's H.A.W.X.
Its Good But Not Great
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/09
Jack Shep.
I was really looking forward to this game after I played Ace Combat 6 a couple of months ago. I played this game and I have to say I'm a little disappointed. The "Off Mode" is extremely annoying and lining up a shot is as fun as pulling out your own teeth. I like the ERS system that initiates a flight plan that guides you to a target or helps you avoid missiles. The graphics are not what I expected and the scale is completely off. When flying close to the ground your plane is as big as a soccer stadium. Overall it's a pretty average game. I would recommend AC6 though. Pros:Good plane selectionRealistic physics (stalling and sonic booms)ERS is amazingThe Voice command ability makes the game very funCons:Scale is completely offGraphics are lacklusterStory seems like it was made up in one hour by an intern
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Tom Clancy's H.A.W.X.
Missed Opportunity
Posted on:8/11/08
jkt94546
With the tom clancy franchise it would be difficult to screw this up but I'm on the sidelines with this one. The new perspective seems a little too drastic for those sim players that like to feel like they're actually in the cockpit. Looks like a rental to me. Who cares if this title is highlighting real world environments, it still lacks the mapping software that namco uses for the AC series. Add to that the lack of real-world aircraft and what are you left with? What I would have really liked to see is a flight sim like AC6 with all the ground chatter of the ghost teams yelling for support. I think red storm rising would've been better off doing a helicopter sim since they would be more useful with the "ground game" that is featured so prominently in the rest of his rainbow/ghost series titles.
Review 17 for Tom Clancy's H.A.W.X.
Don't even bother with thisone
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/09
JARLATH
Perhaps I am biased, as I am a big Ace Combat fan. But, I did give this a try. It is beyond bad. In fact, I cannot think of enough things to say that describe exactly how bad it is. If you like, love, or have ever seen Ace Combat, you will hate this game. The privews looked good, but like many movies, that is the only thing that was good. From the moment I started playing, I said, what is this? Graphics were bad, sound was nothing, and any aspect of real combat flghting was not even close. It was like they took a game from the early 80's and created an XBOX 360 game from it. I take that back, most games from the 80's were still better than this. Just buy Ace Combat or anything else. Trust a person that plays these games constantly. If this game was free, it would be too expensive.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tom Clancy's H.A.W.X.
WWAAYY Better than ace combat
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/09
Keaton T.
My friend has this game and, first off, this game is awesome. The sound is awesome with the sounds of explosions sounding actually realistic. The graphics are great and i like the assist on/off feature. If assist is on, you are looking in either the cockpit, the screen, or the back of the aircraft. If assist is off, it is like you are in another plane but you are executing the stunts of your plane. If you have the mic or a 3.5 mm headphone jack with attached mic, it is like you are talking to somebody. You can change targets, tell your allies to defend you or go after you locked on target, turn assist on and off, and change your weapon. The fighter jets are awesome like the f-16 and f-18 fighter jets. This is the best jet fighter game I've played so far and i love it. I recommend it a lot.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Tom Clancy's H.A.W.X.
WHOOOOO!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/4/09
TeeTopp
I dont even own an aviaton game, but this game here has changed my mind. I'm speaking for myself when I say this, maybe because I'm heading to flight school, but it's NO. 1 on my list for 09'. The ability to fly over such detailed countries is just amazing. It's amazing how realistic they made this game. I know I'm not an expert in flight simulations, but I have seen many although I dont play them. I'm just wondering if Tom Clancy will continue to develop games like this. I hope this isn't the last, but the first of many. Now, this game will be in my system for the next thirty or so days, well probably till Madden and NCAA 10' come out. The most amazing part of the game is the ability to fly over 50+ jets (NOW that's just SO AMMAZING!!) Big Up!! Tom Clancy you gained a lifetime FAN!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Tom Clancy's H.A.W.X.
Tom Clancy's Hawk....SUCKS!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/14/09
GR8WHYT
This game was very cool for the first 4 missions then in the middle of the game there is a level OFF certification. Now it is darn near impossible to fly the plane with a side only view the level is very difficult even on normal. So if I knew the middle of the game was like this I would have never bought it..So if you want to try it RENT it and have fun for the first hour or so then have all the fun drained out when this level come up. I expected better from Ubisoft and Tom Clancy 2 thumbs down ok to rent but not to buy. The game is pretty sweet as far as graphics, sound, and plot are concerned but why this level is even on there I have no idea and I imagine this will detour people from playing it after they buy it. Well I will go back to a REAL game now COD5. Thanks.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 2 3 4 next>>