GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Tales of Vesperia

Tales of Vesperia launches the series to new heights of interactive narrative and engrossing gameplay with incredible anime-style graphics, a captivating storyline and characters as well as an upgraded battle system. Set in a world reliant on a mysterious ancient technology known as "blastia," the game follows former knight Yuri as he delves into a shadowy plot to use these magical devices to control civilization, or destroy it.
Average Customer Rating:
9.567
9.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (106 reviews)
10 stars
75
9 stars
16
8 stars
4
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
95 out of 9798%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tales of Vesperia
Review 1 for Tales of Vesperia
Great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/6/08
Goose
I purchased this game as an after thought, grabbing it with something I had been waiting for, for some time. Tales certainly didn't get much advertising, it needed it. A great game! A solid RPG all the way, from the beginning scenes played out before the game even starts you want to know more. Some of the most inventive, unique, and endearing anime characters you will ever come across. The game itself is challenging, in the perfect way, you will not avoid death but you will feel accomplished when victorious. The storyline sucks you in, you want to know why, how, and what. The voice acting is perfection, you believe them. The real time combat system is not your usual button mashing, it is interactive and requires a sound knowledge of strategy. My only grip is some of the character AI is a bit off at times, bringing interface from a solid ten to an eight. All in all I do not regret by buy at all, the game I had waited for turned out to be a dud but this gem is definitely well worth the money.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Tales of Vesperia
Play this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/27/11
ThisisIt
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is by far the greatest rpg I've played on the Xbox 360 and everyone should try it. The Story is very good and the charaters are some of my favorites. The graphics are very colorful and polished. I think the game's best feature is it's combat system. When you find and enemy you fight it in an arena type battlefield (Similar to Star Ocean). You can freely move around and fight the enemies as you please. Every character has a specific fighting class. Swordsman, Archer, mage, etc. Another great combat feature is the use of artes. Artes are basically special moves and magic. You get a lot of artes throughout the game, way more than you'd think. You can alter artes to make new more powerful artes too. Also the weapons and armor quantity is amazing. You can get a new weapon in every town, in treasure chest, and by doing side quest. This jrpg takes everything a people want to see in an adventure game and gives it to you x10!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tales of Vesperia
A very well made Action-RPG
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/11
TheSpaniard
Location: New York, NY
Tales of Vesperia does an excellent job of bringing the gamer in early on, instead of forcing them to grind for many hours without seeing any real progress in the storyline. Character design and development lends to a believable cast that creates a cliche (but fun nonetheless) storyline. Graphics are very crisp cell-shade type anime, which I don't particularly care for usually but it works out well for Vesperia. The music is a little bland, in some instances like something you'd hear while waiting in an elevator. Voice overs were done excellent, although some characters are skinny little bags of bones with the voice of a Goliath (Duke, who looks more like he should have been a female character), which I thought was a tad-bit off. Gameplay/controls were spot-on and helped bring (Both Newbie and experienced) players in without frustrating them with a harsh learning curve. The storyline was satisfying and well worth the time invested. This is definitely and RPG you should invest some time in if you're interested in the genre at all.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tales of Vesperia
The 360's first great JRPG!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/08
BHeaggans
Ok Tales of Vesperia is a very good start to the slew of brand new RPG's to hit the 360 this year. And it will be a tough act to follow. The graphics are on par if not better then eternal sonata. The colors are very bright while the actually art work is detail with contrasts of light and shadow effects. It feels like you are in anime, which brings us to the story. It starts off at a fast but confusing pace. It builds up slower then the older games in the series but it becomes very entertaing as it does. Also it throw in alot of humor along the way. All of the tale of series hand me downs are here, from the arte names to item names to some of the enemies all make a very bold return. The Controls are top notch. The feel very natural on the 360 controller. The battles are in 60 fps and are very fluid in execution. No breaks in animation, or in game slow down occur while the battles happen. Overall its the best game in the series to date, and people should give it a try!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Tales of Vesperia
An overall well made game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/10
Kyle D. Weaver
Tales of Vesperia is a very sought after game and for good reason. The game includes many classic and new game play tactics that you can work with. The storyline is new and fun while it stays in hand with a very classic theme. It starts with one hero, who in this case is known as Yuri Lowell, who meets another hero, Estelle. They go off on an adventure and meet up with other hero's and in the end save the entire world as they know it. As with most Jrpg it is quite lengthy and has many side quests to fill dull spots. Though in saying that there are really no dull spots. The storyline keeps you focused and wanting to know more. The characters are well developed as well. Not only do you get to see the development of the world but you also get to sit back and watch the relationships of the characters build. As usual with Jrpg the soundtrack is absolutely beautiful. It can be peaceful and cheery or dark and creepy. No matter what part of the game you're in the music always sets the mood. The voice acting however left me wanting more. The voice acting itself was good, but it was more or less the script. Sometimes they just say dumb things that make me shake my head in disappointment, though those usually only happen after battles. One thing that I understood but still was disappointed that was left out was character customization. I mean yeah, you can give them different equipment, but none of it shows up other then weapons. Everything else only helps their stats, I just wish that they could look cool and give them better stats. Though there is still some customization. You can get titles through doing different things that I won't reveal and some of them will change the way you look. Some of them look really cool and dark while others look funny and happy. The last thing that I'm going to cover is the battle system. I love it. It keeps me going with different skills and magic that I can learn I never get bored of playing it. It gives you two ways that you can play. You can play as the default and run lit a static scroller or if you hold the left trigger you can run around like a regular action game. There are three different modes that you can play on in the beginning, easy, medium, and hard. If you play through the game on medium the game never gets to challenging that you want to quit though in saying that you may still have to grind a bit. (Grinding, if you didn't know is when you battle monsters to level up so that you can fight the boss.) Overall the game was well made and tons of fun. It kept me going for hours and had me play over and over until I achieved 100%. With graphics that made me smile along with a great soundtrack and well driven story I would advise any gamer, that doesn't mind playing a game for countless days, to get this game and at least play through act 1 by that time you will be completely hooked and not want to stop for anything.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
14 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tales of Vesperia
A loss for words.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/11
Saito743
Location: Houston, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Flat-out 10 for all.
Tales of Vesperia is very rich in story, and while there's some suggestive themes, it's usually backed up with amazing comical reliefs. I thought the gameplays/battles were absolutely amazing and while the graphics isn't anything like Modern Warfare, Halo, etc., the game itself is a JRPG and it falls within the wing of Anime since there are cut-scene conversations from time to time that makes it look like you're actually watching an anime.
I thought the voice actors did a splendid job for their respective characters. Honestly, I thought there was an option to change over to Japanese like Ultimate Ninja Storm 2 since I usually watch a lot of anime, but the english dubs were not horrible AT ALL.
I enjoyed Tales of Symphonia 1 & 2, but Vesperia became my most favorite. There's more I'd want to say, but I'd be writing an essay if I continued. All in all, I highly recommend this game for any players out there who are into RPGs (or JRPGs) with great adventure, action, and comical relief.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Tales of Vesperia
A very good and long game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/8/08
ehh
I bought this game the day it came out and I admit, this game blew me away!! This is the first Tales game I have played and this was not what I had expected. It exceeded my expectations and got me addicted after a couple of hours into the game. The graphics are great, sounds are awesome, character dialogues has the same quality of an anime show. I just have to say that this game is one of the RPG's I have played. The length of the game is also nice. This is not a game that a person can beat in 1 to 2 days. I have read that this game was approximately 50 hours. I'm just 15 hours into it and I can't stop playing. A disappointment of the game is the camera angles during battle. I had hoped that the camera angle can be controlled but it's on automatic. I sometimes find myself wanting to go up toward an enemy but my character tends to jump up instead of walk up. That's my only complaint, other than that the game is awesome and I will look forward to the next installment.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Tales of Vesperia
ONE OF THE BEST RPG'S I'VE EVER PLAYED!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/11
Almagest03
Location: winter haven, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I'VE BEEN PLAYING GAMES ESPECIALLY RPG'S SINCE I WAS A CHILD, NOW AT 23 ITS HARD TO FIND RPG'S THAT ARE GREAT. TALES OF VESPERIA WAS AN AMAZING GAME FROM START TILL FINISH. IF YOUR A YOUNG GAMER OF VETERAN LIKE ME YOUR GOING TO LOVE THIS GAME..
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tales of Vesperia
BEST GAME FOR XBOX360
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/09
truegamer1234
most addictive storyline ever, you want to keep going i beat this game in 3 days 70 hours how much i was into it im just disappointed i finished it so fast... definately one of the only games i actually liked and played out till the end... even if u suck at rgps and just want to follow the storyline, honestly the 2nd boss was the hardest out of all of them if you actually fight all the monsters and get really good items other games you usually get stuck and stop playing if yoru not into it this makes you glued to your television for hours without even knowing it.. this game has to be the best so far that i've played on xbox360 and i would recommend this game to everyone that is a rpg lover.... it has that oldschool final fantasy 7 storyline/ graphics/ game play (graphics in the character models and stuff idk how to really explain it) with a new fighting style that isn't difficult for you to pick up.. overall great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tales of Vesperia
A more entertaining RPG.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/3/08
Nadesico
TOV has great character designs and more entertaining battle sequences then most RPGs. I always shun english audio tracks in most RPGs when given a choice because the voice acting is poor or unbelievable. The voice acting in TOV is very good. At first I was PO'd because I couldn't find a setting to switch to Japanese dialog but after I got into the game I was glad the English track was a real treat, the voice acting was good, the dialog is whitty. All the sequences between characters triggered by the back button made me look forward to more. The 3d battle environment is a great break from turn based stuff and a lot more entertaining. Tons of features and weapons. I wish the skills system offered a little more. The graphics and sound are top notch. The battle system itself is very entertaining, but the controls could be a little better. The only disappointment was the character Zagi, who looked like a reject Jpop star. I would recommend this to any fan of RPGS.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Tales of Vesperia
My thoughts...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/5/08
Tehmpest
I'm not sure why the 360 is becoming the system for RPGs, but it is. Or at least it is for the initial releases. For those who haven't played a Tales game yet, let me let you know what to expect: real time combat for battles and lots of RPG trophs. For the combat, you link skills to cardinal directions, then use them in battle. When you use items, the battle pauses. Rushing through menus to try and find the item to heal your buddy is a bit frustrating, so I'm glad that this isn't under some sort of active time battle system or something. The difficulty is not that hard. Keeping it in real time lets it not be boring. The music is very nice. The voice acting has improved greatly, though I still miss the Japanese voiceovers for battles. I wish there was an option for that. Was .hack// the only game that came out here that did? The visuals are shiny. The Xbox360 provided a wonderful tool for this Tales game to be created on. All the rendering is crisp and clean.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Tales of Vesperia
Another Tales Masterpiece
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/3/09
Nibenon
The "Tales" series has had--in my opinion-- nothing but success since I first heard of it while purchasing Tales of Symphonia. This series mixes excellent characters with amazing storyline. The battle system is fluid and almost flawless. Instead of singing all of the praises I can about this game, I am instead just going to name the few things that I find irritating and annoying. The first of these is all the different kinds of artes. There is not only the basic artes, but Tales of Vesperia contains arcane artes and altered artes, not to mention all the special artes one can use while in "Overdrive." There really isn't much problem with these except that it makes linking and combo-ing very hectic, and difficult. The special artes only usable in overdrive have controls that are somewhat difficult to remember and to master. All in all, I absolutely love this game. The storyline starts off slow, but as you get deeper into the plot it begins to drag you into it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Tales of Vesperia
Best RPG on 360
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/9/10
shadowcat
Location: Arkansas
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Tales of Vesperia is one of the best games on the 360 I've played. The game centers around an antihero named Yuri Lowell, who is a former knight who got tired of the corruption in the knight order. The battle sequence in the game is real time, not turned based which I like that. The skills in the game can be altered and improved by using weapons that can alter your attacks. I love this because it gives you a ton of custom options for you to use. This game got a ton of side quests as well. The main side quest is the hunting one which is nine giant monsters in the game that are extremely difficult to defeat. Other side quests include finding all the Fell arms in the game, rebuilding a city from the ground up, etc... The voice acting is done extremely well on this game and the story is an adventure that has plenty of humor along the way as well.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tales of Vesperia
Best Tales Game Yet
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/16/11
DiehardTalesFan
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you've played and enjoyed past Tales games, you'll love Vesperia. Tales of Vesperia takes everything that makes the Tales games worth playing and builds upon it, making it even better. Although I'll never forget or get tired of my first Tales game (Tales of Symphonia), Tales of Vesperia is my favorite. The biggest difference between Vesperia and past Tales games is that the main character is 21. This means that he's already found his place in the world and already developed his own ideas about how things should work. While this means he doesn't go through the extensive development that other, younger, main characters have it makes him in a way more fun to play. Yuri is also a typical anti-hero and that was one of the things that I enjoyed the most. I don't want to spoil the game but I point this out because some people don't like characters like that. Even if you're one of those people, though, I still recommend you give this game a shot. It's ideal for any and all RPG lovers. The story is breath-taking and easily whisks you away to the world of Terca Lumireis where you'll experience adventures worthy of being in the Tales series.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tales of Vesperia
Now we're hooked
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/2/08
lights08
I never play a Tales game before but the co-op capability is what caught my interest. My best friend and I like to play game together and this game fit the bill. We both not big RPG fan yet we couldn't put this one down. I found the artistry in the game amazing especially with my interest in anime (never play a jap-RPG before). The game play just flow and the amount of combos and powers you can obtain really impressed me. I found the storyline fun and especially the little conversations they have which really make you feel like you’re watching a show/movie not just playing game. Also the unlock features were really cool and intricate; my favorite was the change of costumes and the different weaponry. My favorite aspect of the game even after playing it is the same reason why I bought it in the first play and that co-op. After such a great experience with ToV I honestly wish all RPG were Co-op. If more worth I would defiantly be a hardcore fan.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 16 for Tales of Vesperia
AWESOME!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/09
Rolling Thunder
Tales of Vesperia is the best rpg game i have ever played and i have played a whole lot of them. It took me a week to beat and it kept me interested the whole time. The character designs are great and the soundtracks for it are great. I loved the way you fight in the game where you get to move around freely and attack and use items as you please. The world wasn't to big or to small it was the perfect size and i didn't have to do any backtracking through the game. There is a descent amount of characters that you get and i leveled them all up to level 50 because it was so much fun. The story had me hooked through the whole game with all of its plot twists and i enjoyed it the whole time i played it. The game isn't extremely long which is good because extremely long games are not my style and for any player it should take them 40+ hours to beat it so i hope you have a lot of time to kill because it will have you playing all night. I recommend this game to everyone because it is fantastic so when you pick up a copy be ready to get hooked.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Tales of Vesperia
I love this game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/9/08
Newmanator1010
I personally think that this game is a masterpiece. The minute you watch the opening video you know that it is going to be an awesome game. The gameplay is very well designed, including the scenery of each area of the game. As you level up, you learn all new abilities called Arte. One of the main characters, Yuri, is able to use axes and swords. He is a former part of the Knights, an organization that is located in the capital city. Yuri left the Knights because he felt that they weren't focusing on what really matters, protecting the world. The world runs on what is called a blastia, which is used for barriers to protect cities from the monsters that lurk outside of them. Yuri and his friends he meets along his journey later form a guild, which are similar to gangs, and they are known as Brave Vesperia. The storyline just takes you in. It has the perfect mix of action and enough sadness to leave you wanting more of this excellent game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for Tales of Vesperia
Best JRPG On Any Console
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/5/10
DoubleDutch
I had tremendous fun with this game, I felt everything was done just right. It had 3 difficulty modes that could changed mid game at any time. The controls were easy to master and it wasn't turn based which is a huge plus for a game like this, combat never gets repetitive as battles are free roam. You can play co-op as well. The voice actors were "cliche" but better than average none the less, it felt like I was watching an interactive anime which was very cool. You can pretty much customize everything on your character (not appearance obviously) weapons, attributes, skills etc. the game is very rich in content and can last anywhere from 40-70 hours, very in depth. The graphics are cell shaded to perfection look amazing on HD. The story line really draws you into the game and you get know each characters personal story and what their goals are. I recommend this game to anybody a fan of RPG's this is certainly one of the best all time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tales of Vesperia
Amazing and unique experience.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/12
ThatAmzingReviewGuy
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The "Tales of" series has brought us immense numbers of surprises, both good and not so good. But also, one of the most memorable games up to date, and Tales of Vesperia is surely not an exception. Well, first off the characters. Character back story is not really great but fair enough, every character is unique and the personalities of every one of them is enchanting and fun. The progress on the characters is high for some, low for others due to them not being that important in game to say so. The music, as practically every other "Tales of" game, is beautiful and greatly made. From the starting theme to the last boss theme song, every song along the game fits perfectly the theme, the area, the monsters or anything it's playing for. Every theme brings a great sense to action occurring in-game. Gameplay is pretty unique in it's own way. The movement is pretty usual, a world map with various dungeons and town you can enter and various camera angles to fit each scene. The gameplay takes off slowly with less things to recur to compared to later on in-game like the ability to do the Mystic Artes and such. The battle system is repetitive, you touch a monster sprite in a dungeon or in the world map and your party (4 characters at a time) enters a circle area which you can't leave unless you escape, using HP as life, and Mana which is needed for Artes (Special attacks besides normal slash or hit). The ability to command your team to use certain techniques, build your strategies, focus on a target and other things is pretty entertaining and useful in every case. (I'm on my fourth play-through and I still enjoy everything about the battle system.) The story is pretty unique but at the same time cliched. It's the usual "Guy saves princess who is the chosen one of something and has to save the world" kind of thing with a lot of twists. I'm not going to go into detail here to try not to spoil anything but the story is really entertaining making a lot of changes in the middle of the story, you set off on your journey to do something but end up doing something COMPLETELY different. Overall, the story is extremely fun, compelling and full of emotion if you get yourself into it. Replay value is really high, there are a LOT of side quests you can do, costumes to get, secret monsters to fight, etc. But one thing that makes this game extremely fun is the option to start a New Game + which many games now days do not have. After every battle you get something called GRADE, this GRADE is based of what things you did in battle, time taken, hits landed, etc. After you finish the game all the GRADE adds up and you can choose the option to play the game again with a few bonuses if you have the needed GRADE for example, 10x experience, keep all your items, keep your gold, keep titles, etc all for a prize. This extra component in game is really fun and makes you want to play the game all over again with either more challenges, or less challenges just for the heck of it. *For all of you people who don't like to read long reviews* Fun game, amazing storyline, enchanting music, beautiful concept and high replay value. *Thanks*
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tales of Vesperia
Best XBOX 360 Game I've Played
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/11
XxfallenangelxX
Location: Anderson, MO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
My title may sound a bit exaggerative, but its not. I've played Halo 3, Fallout 3, GTA 4, and this game is way better. The story really gets you into it, but it circles more around the characters than anything else. And the characters are wonderful. The voice acting is great, and they all have deep, complex personalites. And the relationships that grow between them are also done well. The graphics are a thing of beauty. They're not your typical 360 graphics, but they are awesome nonetheless. The battle system is very fun, although sometimes you'll feel like your just mashing buttons. But it doesn't hinder you or cause a negative experience at all. I'm 100 hours into this one, and i haven't gotten bored of battles yet. The length of the main story is good.(Approx. 45 hours, although there is an achievement for beating it in 15). The music will wear on you at times, especially when your spending hours level grinding for some of the optional bosses, but altogether, the soundtrack is very solid. I loved this game. It's the best 360 game i've played, and is second on my all time favorites list only to Star Wars:Knights of the Old Republic. You have to buy this game. Even if your not a rpg fan, there is a lot of fun to be had.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>