GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Yakuza 2

Yakuza 2 plunges players into the violent Japanese underworld once more. In intensebrutal clashes with rival gangs, the police, and the Korean mafia, players willhave even more opportunities to dole out punishment with an improved fightingengine. As the heroic Kazuma Kiryu from the original Yakuza, players will exploreOsaka and Tokyo and delve deeper into the continuing mystery in over 16 complex,cinematic chapters created by Hase Seishu, the famous Japanese author whoalso wrote the first storyline. Endless conflicts and surprise plot twists throw playersinto a dark shadowy world where only the strongest will survive.
Average Customer Rating:
10
10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Yakuza 2
Review 1 for Yakuza 2
One of the best PS2 games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/28/09
What does it matter?
Yakuza 2 has to be one of the best PS2 games. The game is very fun and entertaining. The fact that there is no English and only Japanese really brings the Japanese experience. The game is a like and free roam/fighting game. you can freely walk around the city and you will get in random fights making the feel kind of like a RPG. when you beat up someone in a fight they givre you money or other valuables. you use yen (the japanese money) at stores and other places. There are shops, resturants, arcades, clubs, bars, and alot of other places to go to. you can even go to a bowling alley, golfing arena, and batting cage. there are TONS of places to spen money at. The fighting is really one of the funnest things about the game. in fights you can usually pick up anything around you and use it at as a weapon. you can pick up things such as shop signs, dropped bats and other weapons, bottles, chairs, trash cans, boxes, even a bicycle or bench. The funnest thing about fighting is the special moves. you have a special meter and when you beat the crap out of someone and get a lot of hits your special meter goes up. when the special is full you can do a special. special moves depen on what your doing. your can grab somebody and slam their face into a wall, slam them into a pole, beat the crap out of them with your weapon(whatever you have in your hands), punch them in the face when their on the ground to finish them, or slam their head into a parked car or vending machine to finish them off or even throw the off a bridge or balcony. there are endless specials. The story of the game is awesome and the ending the best ending in a game ive ever seen but im not going to say anything to spoil it. The bottom line is if you like free roaming and fighting games then you must get this game. NOW.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Yakuza 2
One of the most overlooked titles in the U.S.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/17/08
The Legendary R
After reading all the previous reviews, I felt compelled to talk about this game. This game gave me the best 50+ hours of video game goodness in my life.The story presentation I'd that of a great crime drama. The main hook of this game is the fantastic story that has you hungering for what happens next. I recently beat it and I have to say, the final battle and how it climaxes, I did not see coming. Playing through this game for the 50+ hours that I did totally paid off.This title will not be around long as we are in the twilight years of the PS2.Grab it now, while you can. You will not be disappointed. Only with the support of us gamers will we have a chance that SEGA will bring Yakuza 3 here to the U.S. when it launches on the PS3. Go to Gamestop now.You have been warned.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Yakuza 2
Japonese game rule the world
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/08
Dexter aka Dragon of Dojima
I can say,I'm one of the biggest fans of the first Yakuza. I would never expect that the sequel could be so good to beat the first game. Well,until I've played it. In the beginning you won't be able to see a lot of differences, except Japanese voice acting . But once you're getting through the game,you'll be exited. The combat system has been a lot improved,there's also much more things to do in the city,but it's nothing against too other things: the story and boss fights. So the story first. It's totally awesome. It's not only the great direction but also totally living breathing characters. There're no just good or bad. For example Kazuma, on one site,he's gangster with no mercy,on the other one,he would give a life for someone who cares about. Or Ryuji Goda. The dragon of Kansai and the main boss in Yakuza 2. It's incredible how you become to like him after some time. And that's why the final battle with him is the best goddamn thing I've ever played,no,not played. You don't actually play Yakuza 2-you live it. But Ryuji isn't the only boss in the game. There's a lot of others and fighting with them is really great. Much better done then in the original Yakuza. But my english won't let me describe it. I can say one thing though,BUY THIS GAME. Not even any next gen game ain't better. It's totally awesome and it's worth much more.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Yakuza 2
This game is every kind of awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/08
Richie C.
Whoever Sega hired to localize the dialogue script for the West, I salute you! What I appreciate is that there's no english dub like the first Yakuza. So Yakuza 2 truly feels like a Japanese experience as you witness the story cutscenes. I'd rather have the original voice work over a Hollywood dub any day for a game that takes place in Japan. The fight gameplay is the same as it ever was but a little more responsive. Side quests are varied and range from ordinary to hilariously weird. GTA wishes it could be as fun as this series. The only downside is that it happens in a fairly cramped, dense map. No free roaming Japan's sububs/cities/countryside. Just about every place is within jogging distance. The environmental sound effects are true to life and the battle sound effects are VERY satisfying. There are RPG elements as well. Fights earn you money and experience points which are used to upgrade skills or buy items that are useful or useless. The graphics are very good for a ps2 game. The environments are very detailed and the illusion of a living city is convincing. Now bring on Kenzan and Yakuza 3, and soon! Please don't make us wait long, Sega!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Yakuza 2
much better than the first one
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/08
ryanc519
The much anticipated sequel to Yakuza has shown many improvements on different areas. Control, interface, sound (ORIGINAL JAPANESE VOICE), graphics. I am only 2 hours into the game, but I am already getting addicted because of the well-improved fighting control and dialogues. During the fighting sequence, the enemies actually scream and yell out japanese filthy words which make the game much more realistic than the first one. The game keeps you on the edge of the seat with the story from the very beginning. Even players who hasn't played the previous one can jump right into the gameplay, because it has an option in the beginning to allow you to recall the past events that happened in Yakuza 1. The recalling lasts about 15 to 20 minutes, and it is sort of like a flash back to everything that happened in Yakuza 1. (watching the events is optional, player can skip the events by pressing X). With all these hi def games on the market these days that only focus on the graphics but thin on the gameplay, this is truly a hidden gem. Get it before it is all gone!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Yakuza 2
Live the Life of a Badass
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/08
ChrisLionheart
The long awaited sequel of the Yakuza series is finally here. Kazuma Kiryu returns to deliver the butt-kicking of a lifetime. More beatdowns, more aggression, more delicious food and drink to enjoy. Sega listened to the fans and has decided to leave out the American voice-overs that plagued the original title. Loading times between walking the streets into battle have been greatly reduced and this allows the gamer to enjoy a fuller, and immersive experience. We have waited long enough for the sequel. While Japan has already received the 3rd in the series, we finally get to taste the glory which is Yakuza 2. Pick up this game, and you will truly feel like a mountain of a man over common peasants. Walk the streets with the confidence of a true YAKUZA!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Yakuza 2
I Loved the first Yakuza. I will love the 2nd one
Posted on:8/8/08
Cixed - The Water God
The first Yakuza was well-done even with some medium-rare flaws. I was really excited to dwell into the streets of Osaka and Play chapter by chapter as if I was in some type of digital novel (lame... I know). One of my favorite parts from the first Yakuza was at the Japanese temple for a funeral to pay some last respects to a current member of the Yakuza organization and then suddenly finding myself knee-deep with some nasty characters due to some bad inner family scandal. I am sure the second game will be exceptionally better than the first with the current upgrades in fighting and combat sequences that made the 1st Yakuza superb. The free reign over territory remains which means interactions with the local shops, to the thugs on the streets, and then to the beautiful girls that can or will accommodate you. The Sound was okay, I think they could’ve given it a boost with different fighting music instead of the same sound over and over again every time you get yourself in a ruckus. Graphics were great even for PS2 and didn’t find overlapping body parts where they shouldn’t be. Re-playability was intact especially when you have a sick addiction to finding everything. I had to put in extra hours so I could try and find the extra side quests and stories which made me feel like a bad ass afterwards. Especially the side-story when you end up destroying a local bar. Unfortunately there were some issues with the first game... The Camera at times did become somewhat of an annoyance when a character is currently aiming to give you a good Gorilla Stomping. At times when on the Osaka Streets some NPC's would ask you for a favor or would require you to chase someone to get the final payment or item from them and the camera would end up on where you come out of and all of sudden you lose sight the culprit that you were chasing down hence making you lose that side-job. I also felt there were a few minor control issues when in fight against 3+ enemies. Sometimes I would aim at an enemy and it would end up hitting the opposite direction I was aiming for. This made me get stomped at times in the beginning of the game due to the controls but it did get better with the moves you later learn once you acquire enough exp points to actually be able to take on that many people in a single combo. The Interface and Item switch bothered me a bit I always had to go to the menu to actually switch my weapon/item instead of having a quick on the fly button control for when the Dragon of Dojima was in trouble.Aside from these minor pushbacks the game was friggin Awesome like Godzilla Hitting Up Lego land (which means one hell of a ride)... Yakuza 2 should be even better with the opportunity and time they have had to maybe master and overcome the flaws that slowed the first yakuza down a bit. By the way things look, it seems that Yakuza 2 will come with fists and kicks flying across the screen and probably end up being one of the last best Action/Adventure games we will experience on the PS2.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Yakuza 2
COME ALL SHENMUE LOVERS
Posted on:4/12/08
Just Being Honest
I personally saw alot of Shenmue in this title and i hope gets the support Shenmue never did. I wont lie. If you like mafia movies, you have to give this game a try. The action is fast and brutal. And the story is top notch. I just wish i could get my hands on it sooner. Take this time to play the first Yakuza. Its pretty cheap now.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BigMike88
Princeton,Ky
 
Please wait while more information about BigMike88 is loaded.
Additional information about BigMike88 could not be loaded.
The Shenmue of the new age
Posted 12/6/10
This game is better then the first one and harder than the first one i loved it cause it was longer and had more stuff to do in it i cant wait to play the third one this is the best game series ive played in a long time
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Yakuza 2
Dive into the next chapter of the Japanese Traid
Posted on:4/11/08
rodimus 2010
This is a direct sequel to the original Yakuza game that came out in 2006 made by SEGA. It tells the story about the Japanese Mafia or the Triad and the Japanese underworld of Crime. But what is not known about this game is are any of the characters returning from the original game and does it take place before or after the events of the last one. This is being made as a tie-in for Yakuza 3 which will be on Playstation 3 later on sometime. So, Don't expect this game to have an ending on it either. I hope that they fix the glitches from the last game and make them better from last time 1. Crappy Camera Angle 2. No ability to change the screen from 4:3 or 16x9 widescreen 3. No Dolby Digital or 5.1 surround sound. 4. Ability to skip cut-scenes 5. Crappy Target Locking onto enemies. 6. Be Able to Customize characters looks: Clothing, Hair, Weapons, ETC. 1. Awesome Story Line 2. Good Length of a Game 3. Good Fighting system but lacks moves need more in this one. 4. Blood, Guts. & Gore and a shoot out on a transfer truck. I am surprised that this game is so cheap, cause it is an awesome game and I hope that the sequel will not suck. I hope that do not change up to much but I do welcome improvements. Overall I will be getting this game after I get all my other ones bought 1st. Yet another reason people should keep on Playstation 2 and save their money cause nothing is out yet on Next get systems except for Xbox 360.