GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Spectrobes: Beyond The Portals

Spectrobes: Beyond The Portals is the sequel to highly popular anime-inspired, sci-fi action/role playing game series Spectrobes for Nintendo DS. Spectrobes: Beyond The Portals continues the story of Rallen and Jeena, interplanetary patrol officers who discover, excavate, awaken and train mysterious fossilized creatures known as Spectrobes and then use them to battle enemies. The story evolves around  the origins of ominous portals that lead to distant dimensions and a new nemesis who hopes to destroy the Spectrobes.
Average Customer Rating:
7.688
7.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
8
8 stars
3
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 out of 1681%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Spectrobes: Beyond The Portals
Review 1 for Spectrobes: Beyond The Portals
Surprisingly Fun
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/28/10
Monkie
Location: Phoenix, AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Okay, this is my first review of a game on here, so here it goes. This game was surprisingly fun for me. I thought I would never like the concept of Spectrobes. This game is very close to pokemon, but instead of catching animals in a ball (that may or may not be raised already) you start out with waking it up from a fossil. Then after that you feed it to make it grow, and then you train it. Naming the animal is fun because if you didn't get to name them then there would be no connection for the player to have with the creatures they get. The graphics a incomparable to all the game systems like x box 360, wii, and ps3, but you can suspect that because it is a hand held game. The sounds kind of get annoying but if you learn how to ignore that you can have a lot of fun. Going around and excavating is more fun then just catching pokemon in the pokemon game. Disney's version of pokemon is just as, if not better, good as any pokemon game i have played. The game is long if you decide to battle to raise you spectrobes, but the battle is half the fun. Unlike pokemon, you actually control your spectrobes, and by this I mean you do more then select an attack. The game is all around fun but you shouldn't play it if you are not into pokemon. Well that is my review, tell me what you think.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Spectrobes: Beyond The Portals
A so-so RPG
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/09
SenseiMastaZ
I got this game not even a month ago and I have beaten it.The story itself is alright but it is classified under the RPG genre but I didn't see any familiar RPG elements in it.I would say it is more of an Action-Adventure than a RPG, because it really just plays like one,I found the story line to be a little shorter than what I expected though.About the only level of character customization was found in changing suits or weapons.Overall it was a good game,but not a great RPG.The challenge was not up to my level but it was good.I liked the way how you could excavate fossils,and rise the Spectrobes to be good opponents. Also,the game had no side quests like in traditional RPGs, which made this shorter.It would be better if the Krawl vortexes didn't respawn every time you left the area you fought it in.I gave this game a 5 cause it was about half of what I expected.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Spectrobes: Beyond The Portals
One of My Favorites.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/11
Gecko
Location: Georgia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I don't know why people say this game is terrible. It is nothing like Pokemon, and is unique and fun to play. The graphics aren't the best, but you have to remember this is an older DS game. The storyline is OK, and the gameplay itself is better than the first. I would recommend this to any of my friends, because it has always been one of my favorite DS games.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Spectrobes: Beyond The Portals
The Little Sequel that Could
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/08
Jakethesnake
When the first Spectrobs for the DS came out almost 2 years ago, it was, at least for me, the sleeper hit of that year. Its unique blend of action, strategy, excavation, and exploration pulled me in completely, and would entertain me for more than a year after I beat it. Not many people gave the game a try because of the death- note Disney label on it, but those who did I am virtually patting you on the back right now. The sequel does everything a good sequel should do. The developers obviously put a lot of time into reviewing their first triumph to see what people did and didn't like about it. Everything that made it great is there, and better than ever, and everything that was not so great was taken out and replaced with something better. The adventure part of the game is better than ever with improved 3-D and above all, a map. The battle feels less turn based this time around, giving way to a smoother- feeling, action- oriented combat system. The excavation element feels more polished this time around, yet sometimes feels overly complicated when you must excavate through mud, which you must vacuum away from the area around the fossil or mineral before you can properly excavate it, and then rushing to dig it up before the mud seeps back onto the screen. The minerals and fossils also take a ridiculous amount of damage from simply being touched with the drill, thus you will find yourself spending more and more time digging up items, and even more when the types of terrain are introduced. In this game, minerals are also the fastest way to improve your Spectrobs, thus you may find yourself excavating for a lengthy and very boring period of time just to get your 'trobes up a few levels. The exploration part of the game has vastly improved from the original, but now in areas inhabited by krawl (the game's main enemy) you must defeat all the krawl cyclones. In the cycone, you fight as the Spectrobs, but outside of the cyclone you fight as Rallen and destroy the small enemies that the tornadoes spawn. Rallen's combat mechanics could have turned out well, but they feel somewhat like a sloppy mess. You have three types of weapons as Rallen: a glove (stun attack), a sword (close range and powerful), and a gun (long range, weak). These could feel interesting and fun, but they somehow turned out badly. Rallen is somewhat unresponsive to your button pressing, and there are issues with turnaround and camera controls. When you upgrade to multi slashing swords, it turns into more of a repetitive hack- and - slash. However, the main battles with the Spectrobs are well- organized and fun, so no real harm is done. On the whole, Spectrobs Beyond the Portals is everything an aspiring sequel should aim to be. The core elements are there, underneath an admirably blinding sheen of polish and work, and it mixes in several new elements such as customizing your spaceship, and asteroid field navigation mini games. These all come together well on a whole, and still adhere to the elements of the game I enjoyed so much. Along with many new Spectrobs and back wards- compatibility trading with the original, whats not to love? This game will no doubt entertain for twice as long as its predecessor, and if You enjoy it, you may want to pick up the original first, as it too is an excellent adventure. If you are looking for an excellent RPG to sit down with during the frosty winter nights to come, look no farther.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Spectrobes: Beyond The Portals
Better then most make it out to be
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/13/10
FoolyCooly
A lot of people compare Spectrobes to Pokemon. Can no monster trainer game exist outside Pokemon's shadow? But I feel that they are nothing alike. Personally I prefer Spectrobe's gameplay. You command your spectrobes, while controlling the main character's movements and attacks. It may sound odd, but I say give it a chance.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Spectrobes: Beyond The Portals
Good Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/11
ThatSpectrobeGuy
Location: Austin, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This a very good game. You"ll never get bored of collecting all the spectrobes. I recommend this game to anyone that likes a good RPG.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Spectrobes: Beyond The Portals
eeh
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/11
SUPERDOOD1919
Location: IN
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game was over all pretty nice. I can see why pokemon fanatics would get offended by it though it was alot like pokemon but if you havent played pokemon before you would think it to be a pretty good game and the graphics were not shabby at all and if you mess up naming the spectrobe you can change the name latter on o and have at least one spectobe child of each class.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Spectrobes: Beyond The Portals
Good Game!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/12
alixs
Location: johns creek ga
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Its a good game i would not say its the but its ok short story line gets boring at the and very long and annoying intro but other then that its good I would Buy it if I can't get Pokemon.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Spectrobes: Beyond The Portals
sweet
Posted on:9/14/08
beelzemontanner
cant wait game is great for pokemon fans or monster collecting game fans definitly a great buy over 100 monsters and great graphics
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Spectrobes: Beyond The Portals
Disney's Attempt at Pokemon
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/28/11
jonander51
Location: Michigan, US
This summer, my friend and I were hanging out, and we were so bored, we started playing DS. I saw Spectrobes Beyond the Portals in his box full of games. I asked him why he had this game, after how bad the first one was. He said that this one is better than the first one. After ten minutes, I could no longer stand to play this garbage, so I just went back to playing Pokemon Black, which STILL hasn't gotten boring. Hey Disney, if you're reading this, stop trying to make "better" versions of great games; you epicly fail at it. Instead of blowing your five bucks on this game that doesn't even deserve to be called a game, just buy a pack of gum; one stick of gum has a longer lasting appeal than this trash.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Spectrobes: Beyond The Portals
There's that real-time combat I liked.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/12/12
Roxas358
Location: Clemmons, NC
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I played the first and the third in the series before playing this one. This one has the KH-esque combat I liked in the third game, and at least you can do more damage than the first. I only tested it out for about 5-10 minutes before playing something else, but at least this will be a great filler for me to get enough cash for something else. BTW $3 for a game this good is a great price.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 12 for Spectrobes: Beyond The Portals
can't wait
Posted on:5/3/08
Little Bo$$
I saw so many things about this game. You can play as Jeena too in this one. Also, this is spectrobes 2. they changed the name. You can see in the trailer that the crawl can transform into spectrobes. I'm possibly gonna get this game.
Review 13 for Spectrobes: Beyond The Portals
Why are people hatin'???
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/17/11
ZeroBlader
Location: Orlando,FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
In my opinion, Disney actually did good on this game! I don't know why people compare it to Pokemon just because it has monsters in it. It barely is anything like Pokemon. If you want a good RPG get this game it'll last awhile.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Spectrobes: Beyond The Portals
Very good game way better than the first
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/12/12
bigxgamer85
Location: New Pilidelphia,OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I played the first one and I thought it was not bad so I tried Specrobes Beyond the Portals. Within the seconds I went into battle I knew I made an awsome choice!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 15 for Spectrobes: Beyond The Portals
Good Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/11
ThatSpectrobeGuy
Location: Austin, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is really fun. You will never get bored of collecting all the spectrobes! I recomend this game to anybody that likes a good RPG game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Spectrobes: Beyond The Portals
Great DS GAME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/28/12
LordAlucard95
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is better then the first one, it was very cheap and i love it and i will never find i great game like this
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Spectrobes: Beyond The Portals
oppion
Posted on:9/7/08
the codemaster
The one thing i didn't like about the first spectrobes game was the battle system, imean it was ok but i think theres room for much improvement
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Spectrobes: Beyond The Portals
Boring
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/11
icecube333
Location: Denver, CO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is boring in its own unique way. If the game had better graphics and gameplay, i wouldve liked it. Don't buy this.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Spectrobes: Beyond The Portals
Its an okay game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/24/09
TwilieHeart
When I first got Spectrobes: Beyond the Portals, I didn't know what to expect. I didn't play the first, I got it mainly because it made the cover of Nintendo Power, and I was in dire need of an RPG. But this game delivered on levels I didn't expect it to, especially on the Ds. The game has genuine 3-D, however pixelly. And Rallen has alot of awesome weapons you barely get to use. He has a sword, blaster, and a glove you get to pound the ground with, though most of the battling you do is with the spectrobes. Which is alot like the Pokemon games, though it isn't turn by turn. I like the spectrobe idea, but the battling isn't all that great. You only have one main attack which is just mashing one button over and over. Then you build enough points up and you can to either a special duo attack or a single attack on one spectrobe. The spectrobes are pretty cool, though they could've done alot more with the battles. And one of the most pain-staking parts of the game is that you have to constantly excavate, which is cool at first but having to do it for hours on end to find the spectrobe fossils is a real drag. Then you have to do even MORE excavation after that because you need to feed the spectrobes some minerals in order to get them to evolve. And i said about the boring battles, but when you visit a new planet, there are a bunch of vortexes you have to destroy, which contain about two to three spectrobe battles. And you have to buy alot of medicine to keep your spectrobes healthy when you're battling, which isn't too difficult after you get the cyrus express. The storyline of this game is interesting, there are these high krawl who are for some reason trying to destroy the universe for some reason. You can't really tell why at first. You just have to go to all the planets to cleanse them of the krawl. Which is like a big spectrobe boss battle. And right here, if you don't have a spectrobe of the right type, i highly suggest you get one. Although this game lacks in some area's, its a pretty good game for a sci-fi, action, or a RPG lover.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10