GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

In the game of Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, players will return to Hogwarts to help Harry survive a fraught sixth year. They will also have a chance to engage in exciting wizard duels, mix and brew magical ingredients in Potions class and take to the air to lead the Gryffindor Quidditch team to victory. Players may even get sidetracked by Ron's romantic entanglements as they journey towards a dramatic climax and discover the identity of the Half-Blood Prince.
Average Customer Rating:
7.4
7.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
1
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
4 out of 580%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
Review 1 for Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
An Amazing Harry Potter Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/12
omega124
Location: Washington
Since I somewhat enjoyed Order of the Pheonix when I played it in 2008, I had my hopes up for this game. After owning this game for 3 days, my expectations were surpassed. I love the gameplay and one of the things I LOVE about this game is that Hogwarts is right there in all of its glory. Almost every place and detail is included in this game, from the Boathouse, Hagrid's Hut, Hogwarts itself, etc. In the game you go through the story line based off of the movie (which will only take you about 4-5 hours to beat) and you look for 150 Hogwarts Crests that give you rewards. My favorite activities in order are Dueling, making Potions, and Quidditch. Dueling is fun and great to play with a friend, the Potions is everything a Muggle can ask for, but all you do for Quidditch is fly through stars, which is somewhat of a let down for Potter fans. The sound for this game is alright, some of the actors of the movie supported their voices while horrible voice overs gave their voices to memorable characters, such as Dumbledore and Hermionie. Each spell sound has a unique sound, which I love. You can either love or hate the graphics for Half-Blood Prince. Harry looks even more detailed than Order of the Phoenix, especially the hair and the reflection of his glasses, and so do a couple characters too, but there are also smudgy, zombie looking characters such as Hermionie. Sometimes Hermionie's hair would go through her shoulder or Dumbledore's beard goes through his chest, but on the plus side, Hogwarts is created in great detail and a lot of characters look better than the previous game. Overall, you can probably beat the main story in 4-5 hours, but even after the story is complete, there is still so much to do, like duel with other students, make potions, explore Hogwarts, collect Hogwarts Crests for rewards, and so much more. True Harry Potter fans will enjoy this game as much as I have and it will be a great game to add to your collection.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
Finally a fun harry potter game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/09
Heather L.
I am about half way through this game, trying to pace myself until movie comes out, and I am having a fun. The controls are easy to use, sometimes the potion part of game is difficult only because it's easy to miss the cauldron. Out of all the harry potter games I have had and played then sold back, this one is fun, a lot of different side activities and exploring of hogwarts you can do. Also flying and dueling is always good after a stressful day! I will probably keep this one and replay it often. Good animation in the cut scenes, character voices are not original actors but they are close enough. So far I have only been able to control Harry, I am hoping that the other characters become available at some point. Finally after 6 movies and even more video games they got it right. I would recommend this game to any harry potter fan! For those who just like adventure, rent it at least to try it out.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
Haryy Potter 6 Highlights
Posted on:12/23/08
Slytherin
Harry Potter And The Half-Blood Prince is going to be a very exciting game to say the least. The Last game was so much fun and filled with adventure and that was shocking because Harry Potter abd The Order of The Phoenix was not the most Adventurous story in the world. It was probably the most layed back book in the series. That's not a bad thing but can you imagine what The New Harry Potter 6 game is going to bring to the table. Quidditch is back more than ever and so is the teen love, with Harry And Ginny starting and Ron and His girlfriend Lavender Brown kissing non-stop. Hermoine and Ron fighting practically the Whole book with alot of humor in the one. You also get introduced to a new character as well. Horace Slughorn is teaching the new Potions class which we'll get to experience in the game. One Last thing, you are able to duel in this one with practically anyone which we'll be very fun. There's going to be very many little tiny side missions to do in this one just like the others. So if you like the Last couple of games im sure you'll enjoy this one very much.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
Good,but not great.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/09
Mr.Gameplaya207
I have had my ups and downs with this game. This game wasn't much of a challenge if you tried your hardest. The controls are great,one of the best i have used. The graphics were excellent because everything was detailed from Harry's broom to the surroundings of Hogwarts. The interaction was great and really addicting. The length was one of the worst parts of the game. I was very disappointed with the length in this game because if you played this game all the way without stopping, it would probably take about 1-2 hours.The sound was also great because say when you were brewing a potion and did something right,"POOOF" at full sound.The storyline was good because most of it was directly from the movie.Overall, this game is a good game for the fan but not for the person who just wants to get a challenge.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Spideygamer101
Indianapolis,IN
 
Please wait while more information about Spideygamer101 is loaded.
Additional information about Spideygamer101 could not be loaded.
Brilliant!
Posted 9/22/13
This game was pretty awesome. I did use to have it on the PlayStation 2 a little while ago. As I started playing it I thought it was a little better than the Order of the Phoenix. The only Problem is that this game, is pretty short. I do reccomend for Harry Potter Fans though. You should definitely pick it up. It's a fantastic game and has all the Elements a Harry Potter Game should have!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
Surprised me
Posted on:5/14/10
Heather Faine
Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince game really surprised me. It was not like the other games. Actually it was kind of disappointing. It was very easy and I finished it in three days. There wasn't really a challenge. I do have to admit though that making the potions was REALLY fun. I think that that was the best part of the game. Getting the crests were a challenge and that was fun to an extent but everything else was blah. I mean they could have at least made it to where there was some kind of challenge. For the money that you spend on this game I would not reccommend it at all. I enjoyed the earlier versions of Harry Potter a lot more. Like I said don't waste your money. You will beat it in a couple of days and it is not a challenge.
5 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
harry potter thbp
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/24/09
celtsfan93
this game is not worth the money. it only took me about three or four hours to get through the story part of the game and now im looking for all of the crest that hidden throughout the game and i have about one hundred twenty out of one hundred fifty. this game has much more that is bad about this game than good. the only good part of the game is that the game has these clubs that you can make potions thats the funest part of the game, a dueling club thats ok but to fun, and a flying club thats boring. the flying controls are so much worse than the earlier games in this franchise. the game follows the book and the movie but it has stuff that happened in the book that was not put in the movie. its game that if you really want to buy it wait until it gets cheeaper, buy it used, just dont buy it at full price.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
fun
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/12/11
pvviking2010
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i love this game, but the duels can be a little annoying
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
pretty dumb
Posted on:8/17/08
Anonymous
I am a big potter fan in all ways. Books, movies, and the game series. Now not meaning to be biased or anything, but if you're gonna do a video game on a movie series and book series, you should have the game and movie come out closer together than eight months. I mean seriously. I can have the game beaten in eight months if i want to. And that's not the worst part. The worst part is that Warner Bros. moved the date. That's the whole problem with why the game is off by so much. I think that they should go ahead with the old date and bring the difference down to ten days; not eight months. Now i am hoping that i can get the demo on the PlayStation Store soon because i really wanna see what's coming my way when this gets here. I will wind up buying the game and movie and rereading the book but i wanna compare the book and movie like i did with Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, which is not that bad of a game. It's really not that hard to do. The controls are easy, but the thing that's gonna make me buy this game, is the fact that i can play quidditch. I mean c'mon people. Who doesn't wanna play quidditch. Let's just hope that jack thompson doesn't say that this game is inappropriate for young ages because it emphasizes on mythological experiences. So i don't kno but let's hope EA smartens up and says to Warner Bros. what's your official release date. Tell us now and we will have our game done and ready by then or something, you know. But this is just my opinion.
1 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DaDaveSter
Reading
 
Please wait while more information about DaDaveSter is loaded.
Additional information about DaDaveSter could not be loaded.
Best one i've seen
Posted 4/4/11
i've just finished all the harry potter books and my favorite was the prisoner of azkaban. The Half-Blood Prince game looked awsome with the video and i can't wait to get the game.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)