GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NHL 09

12th Annual Interactive Achievement Awards Winner: Sports Game of the YearWelcome to the future of sports video gaming with NHL 09. With all-new Be A Pro mode, step onto the ice and play an entire career as yourself through a dynamic camera angle in two compelling game modes. As a single player, earn your own hockey card as you progress from the AHL to the NHL, or be the first to play the first true console sports massive multiplayer online game, allowing you to assemble a team with up to 50 friends in the new EA SPORTS Hockey League. Playing with 11 live players online or storming the ice on your own, evolve your game and have a legendary career with NHL 09.
Average Customer Rating:
8.5
8.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
10 stars
19
9 stars
6
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
27 out of 3284%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NHL 09
Review 1 for NHL 09
cool and strange hockey game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/10
aac1
Location: CA
It is a good game for hockey fans or sports fan. great gameplay and graphics are good. I like the old controls from nhl 04. I don't like the new controls. The strange thing of the game is there is a girl named Sabrina Ladha and she is goalkeeper and she is 99 ovr
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NHL 09
awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/09
DangerousRazor
First off I don't know what to say about this game other than....GREAT! If you're a big fan of legend mode in The NCAA Football...Then this is the game for you...Be a pro mode actually puts you in the game of your created character...Yeah you have to start on the ahl first and then work your way up but hey what fun is it if you just start out in the nhl ya know? As for the graphics...The best I have seen yet. as for the dynasty mode I can't really tell you about it because I'm not a really big fan of it. But I have played a regular game of the hockey and it's actually not that bad. I haven't experienced any glitches with this game other than probably some calls for penalties that where not there but who cares right? So all in all...This is the best hockey game I have played yet.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NHL 09
A Really Good Hockey Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/09
danf
I'll start off by saying I am not a huge hockey fan. However, this is one of the best sports games I have ever played. I felt obligated to write this review after the bad reviews I have seen others write. Pro's - The dekes are really fun, and you can learn new moves to try every day This is really fun to play with 2 people, especially when you get good with two people (you'll see what I mean) Amazing Graphics. The online play is great, I can't get enough of it. Con's - I find slap shots very rarely go in, unless they are deflected off of a player standing by the net. The fighting is really bad, and you have to initiate it they don't just happen. Checking/hitting is the same button as shooting/one timer's, resulting in a ton of interference penalties There are too many interference penalties, especially when you try to get a rebound and tap the shot in. The "be a pro" mode is not good at all. You literally sit on the bench with your player during line changes and can't do anything, its really not fun, do not buy the game for the be a pro mode I have not experienced any serious glitches (sometimes passes do actually seem as if they go through people, but not often). I have played over 100 games online and there are no big glitches. Honestly, if you have live, this game is 100 percent worth it, and it will be a ton of fun. It is one of the best hockey games I ever played, but it still has it's downfalls. Even if you don't have live, I would absolutely recommend this game to anyone. Don't let the few downfalls turn you away 9.2/10
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for NHL 09
So Over-rated
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/09
King Clusk
I'll get right to it. NHL 09 is one of the worst video games, if not the worst game ever made. Honestly, it is that bad. I don't know how anybody can recommend this to someone or play it. Its not fun at all, you can only score the same way every time. Glitch goaling? Wow...goalies, terrible, CPU D, terrible. It just isn't fun at all, its all the same goals every time. Penatly calls are bad too. Online, its the same stuff. Everybody 'glitch' goals and passes across since that's the only way you can score. It seems like when they made this game they didn't even bother to fix the bugs in it. Pucks slide under goalies so easily, and they are always off the post on wrap-arounds. I played NHL 98 the other day on PS1, and its better than this game. I and my friends have been playing that at my house instead of NHL 09 online. This game is bad, so bad. Worst game I've ever bought.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NHL 09
NHL minus the rules, with the cheat!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:1/28/09
Scubastevie
First off, I love NHL, but by far this is the most ridiculous game I have ever played. Not only does this NHL game not follow NHL rules, it allows people to cheat the game by scoring certain goals over and over again. Pros: -Graphics are great! I feel like I'm really watching NHL hockey! -The controls are great but I find myself controlling the guy stuck behind the net when I need to stop a goal. I think they need to fix how to select the player. -The game has everything for hours and hours of game play.Cons: -Doesn't even follow NHL rules. 1. Penalties go straight to the opposing teams zone, this does not happen. How can one simple rule not change, especially since it isn't something that special. 2. The hooking/ lifting stick is crazy. You rarely get a penalty and it doesn't hurt for people just to hit the A button constantly throughout the game. Probably one of the worst features in this game. 3. Finally, the cheap goals are probably worse then ever before. You have to play manual goalie to have a chance to stop them with your goalie. The player just wraps around and then you end up with a slap shot and a goal.I would recommend this game without online play, because when you get online its a constant battle finding a game that someone doesn't cheat or use the features of this game to ruin NHL game play. If I wanted to play a hard hitting cheap shot game, I would go pick up NHL hits.This game is probably the only hockey game for years to come and we're stuck with it, but hopefully somebody can pick up an NHL rule book next time they program this game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NHL 09
Best NHL game on Xbox 360
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/09
Pennsy Man
I've been a hockey fan all my life. I've enjoyed the EA hockey series since NHL 93 on the PC. I have NHL 07 for the PC. The game play has gotten too easy for me and there wasn't much more I could crank up on the game to make it more challenging. In NHL 09 for the Xbox 360, there are many levels of skill to set: Rookie, Pro, All Star, and Superstar. I'm finding the Pro with a slight reduction in particular settings to be challenging but enjoyable for me - so there's plenty more challenge left ahead for me! The game has the expected user profiles, season/career mode, GM mode, on-line play, and with an Internet connection, updated rosters. The Be a Pro modes are new and a great change of pace. You can do much more than create a player and stick him in a lineup. You can actually be that player where you do not have control over the team, line-ups, etc. and really feel like you're playing hockey as you. You can tweak all the typical features and then start out in the AHL. Play well and you are moved up into higher lines, play bad and you get demoted. You can eventually get called up to the pros and you keep going from there. The gameplay has improved with the ability to control the forecheck styles (like 1-2-2 or 2-1-2, etc.) and using your stick to block passes and lift other players' sticks. The fighting is still something to be desired but I'd much rather have the gameplay be better than the fighting! Register the game and you get access to the third jerseys. If you like playing hockey, then this is definitely the game for you. Plenty to do, much to tweak to keep it challenging, and the game play keeps getting closer to the real thing.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for NHL 09
GREAT!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/08
Best hockey game ever
I just got an xbox 360 and i wanted a hockey game and i was going to get nhl 08 around june. Im hapy i waited out to get nhl 09 because it is the best game i have ever played. Even though if you play on beginer you can score as easley as you want it has a great online and you can chose from a bunch of game types. I especially love the online team play because it can go six on six and i love being the goalie and it has really easy controls so anyone can be goalie. But be careful becasue they put a girl in it who is a 98 overall for make a wish foundation and she can screw up your be a pro or dynasty. But if you get the game you have to make sure to do be a pro. Its the best gameplay ever and i can play it all day. Im in my second year and i won every award i could with the wing. Get the game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NHL 09
Better Than Last Year
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/08
Crusader93
This game is a great game for hockey fans and people new to the Nhl franchise. The game features a new Be a Pro mode which is cool at first, but gets a little boring after a while. The thing to look at that is different from last year's game is the realism of the gameplay. It may still not be perfect, but the gameplay has greatly improved providing an unparalleled to an other sports game on the market. The online play has also greatly improved with the new cool EA Sports Hockey League and is worth trying. Only cons I would give this game is yes again the gameplay isn't perfect and the dynasty mode is still pretty weak compared to other sports games made be EA, however it is a great game to buy and can provide hours of fun whether you are a hockey fan of not and is arguably the best sports game out there.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for NHL 09
Must have for sports fans. go hawks
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/17/08
CHICAGOBEARSRULE
Definitely a very fun game! Updated, and better graphics. New fighting techniques and harder, more realistic checks into the boards. The controls are pretty easy and are easy to concept after a game or so. Announcing isn't the best, but what can you do? Be a pro mode is very fun and exciting. The dynasty is great also. NHL 09 is a must have for sports fans of any kind, but will especially appeal to the hockey lovers out there reading this. There's also new stick movements with 360 degree stick and puck control. This makes it all the more realistic also. The new fighting part in the game is a bit unrealistic because it takes like two punches to take someone out, but will probably improve as the years go on. Go to gametop and get this game today!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NHL 09
NHL09 is a must for hockey fans.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/29/08
RaBBiteARss2314
NHL09 is possibly one of the best out of the series. It brings hockey games back into the realm of next gen gaming. With the Be A Pro mode, players are able to take their character from an amateur in the AHL to stardom in the NHL. You can easily track your player's progress both off and online. I gave this game's graphics and animation score a perfect 10. I gave them this due to the pregame animations in Be A Pro mode. You have an in depth look at your player and team inside the tunnel, very impressive. My favorite feature is the ability to take the puck one handed and deek out anybody. Three downfalls to this game are the "innovative" defensive stick which from what I can tell is nothing more than it was last year but a different way to access the same moves. The camera in Be a Pro mode can sometimes be facing you in an awkward position, it's due to your person facing that way but it's hard to put the ice in perspective, and finally the game speed. I had heard many complaints about the default game speed of NHL08 and people would turn it up to play me, but I would refuse. I like to play a game the way it was meant to be played and that means on default settings. The game speed is the same as 08 maybe even a little slower to me. All in all this is a great and addictive game. All you sports fans with the dream to be a star, this is your chance to take the ice in the NHL.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hockeycrazy3
Plano TX
 
Please wait while more information about Hockeycrazy3 is loaded.
Additional information about Hockeycrazy3 could not be loaded.
Worst game ever made
Posted 3/31/11
This game is probably the worst hockey game I've palyed in my life. I play real hockey. In real hockey if you need a quick boost you can get it. In normal hockey you won't have to take a hundred shots before you can score. This game also has some of the worst controls I've ever used and just like me you'll regret buying it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for NHL 09
Awesome Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/08
Go Ottawa!
This is a great game, the Be a Pro mode is very fun and challenging and they pulled it off very well, starting off in the AHL and working your way up isnt exactly fast, it does take some time which makes the game last longer and its funner at least in my opinion, the controls feel a little more precise than last year, and the computer seems to be a little smart to on defense and setting up plays, i found this years a little more challenging than last years at times, the online is tons of fun, where you can play with lots of people, especially if you have lots of friends that play online to, but it takes practice cause it can be challenging, each year this game gets better and better, I wish i could say the same for Madden franchise, which sucks
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for NHL 09
GREAT GAME
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/08
Xgamer1993
I got this game last week and i can't stop playing be a pro mode. It's simply too much fun because you get to start off in the minors and gradually end up in the nhl which is awesome to see your character rise up to fame! The graphics have been tweaked and improved. And the goalies have been fixed up a lot because they don't allow stupid glitchy goals anymore. The game itself is much difficult than previous games of nhl series because now they've updated the defensive skill stick so know you can stop a pass being made or lift your opponents stick to lose control of the puck, so eventually they had to make the bots a bit more challenging than the other games! This game is a definite buy if you follow the series or just want to start playing a hockey game, great graphics, amazing gameplay but the worst commentators of all time.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for NHL 09
improved!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/08
jpawn
this game is better than NHL 08 from the gameplay, graphics, skill, teamplay and indepth. i have NHL 07 08 09 and i have to say this one is the best. the new BE a Pro is a great new assist to the franchise series. the graphics and controls have also been improved since the last models. the controls are similar while new in depth team play is flawless. however some problems include the camera angle for be a a pro mode, dynasty mode is still the same, headshots of the hockey players are the same, and they should add a new mode!!! overall this game is rated probably a 8.8-9.0!! if you enjoy the hockey game series and have played the 2k series, NHL 09 delievers again on another succesful game. the game also has great realism and sweet stadiums!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for NHL 09
Amazing...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/08
Clay S.
I'm not usually a huge hockey fan, but I do love hockey games. This game is absolutely incredible. The Be-A-Pro mode is so great. I thought that they were just going to have AHL stuff, such as jerseys, stadiums, etc., just basic since it is AHL, but they really went all out. I am playing for my local team at a local stadium that I drive by a few times a week. The only bad thing I have seen is, during one of my actual games, there were cones everywhere as if I were doing an agility drill, type, thing. But I wasn't. So I spent the whole game skating through and around cones. It was kind of weird. I think the jerseys look great, the player movements and controls are awesome. I really am glad that I got this game. The whole aspect of not only earning your line spot, but having to earn a spot on the NHL team is fun. Most games, like Madden, you are just on that team and you start. On this game you need to get to the first line on an AHL team before you can even be considered for the NHL team. You are able to add skill points to get your rating up based on exp. that you earned from playing well. The way they made this game mode is really fun and I enjoy it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for NHL 09
NHL09 Builds Upon Success from the Past
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/08
Dallas Stars Fan
The controls are amazing. EA essentially took what worked from NHL08 and cranked it up a notch with the addition of the defensive skill stick, stick lifts, and puck protection. The defensive skill stick gives players more incentive to try playing a defenseman instead of focusing on forwards (who the original skill stick innovation was geared towards). Stick lifts add another weapon to the arsenal that can be use to interrupt passes and force transitions and turnovers. However, my favorite new feature is the ability to protect the puck. It's great for power forwards to be able to skate in deep to the zone and drive to the net while fending off the opposition. Be-A-Pro Mode is amazing. Now you don't have to feel guilty about creating yourself as a player and focusing on racking up your points, because now you're actually in the game. The season does seem to wear on, but its great that you can't just fly through it; that adds an element of depth to it. You also gain ability points based on play which, when built up high enough, can be traded to improve different attributes of your player. Online BAP is different though, so any improvements made offline will not transfer to online play. EA Sports Hockey League is a great new addition. The ability to have a large group of players together in a "Club" and the ability to play 6 vs. 6 online against other Clubs is awesome. There is an issue with the EASHL at the moment though as the game is still very new. The servers have had problems where users have been unable to connect to games, many Clubs do not have their stats updated, and in fact many stats have completely disappeared from the Clubs where they were previously listed. When the EASHL is running smoothly, however, it is immensely fun. Overall, I'd give the game a 9/10 until these bugs are fixed.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 16 for NHL 09
Here is help with dirty disc message
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/08
SneakWarrior
Just a heads up — the dirty disc message is due to the xbox 360 and not the disc. All you have to do is empty the cache memory. Go to last tab and click on memory. Press Y for device options: Then press: x, x, LB, RB, x, x, and this clears your cache. You will have no more problems and the game will play perfect! Have fun! This game rocks! As for a review - I just have to say that Be A Pro is an amazing option, and is the first time I actually think I want to play the game itself, instead of just online. The checking system, so far, as I am still getting use to it, is ok... Why ok you may ask? I fell the board checking is not as good as last year, due to the checking system being all about pushing your stick forward with both hands. This could be premature, and I will take this statement back in a few days. Otherwise - I love it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for NHL 09
Blows 2k9 out of the game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/08
NYYfan51
I was ready to get nhl 09 until I was told by a salesman the 2k9 was way better so I bought it and was completely pissed off because it absolutely blew. 2k9 is quite possibly the worst sports game out there hands down. Now I got rid of it and went with my original choice and was absolutely impressed. The game has its faults but all together a great and fun game. I have had no problems with freezing or anything like that u must have gotten a bad batch. I recommend it. The be a pro mode is sick and dynasty is good too. Now the gameplay is a little sluggish at time but over all pretty good and the controls are fun and challenging. Im not a hokey fan but after playing this game I think ill catch a few games this year. I should have gone with my instincts on this one or I wouldn't be out 40 bucks because of the dreadful nhl 2k9.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for NHL 09
NO SHARK HEAD!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/08
ozzman101
First off I loved hockey for a little more than 10 years and the be a pro mode is putting me right in the game. Starting from a minor league team and moving up to an NHL team. The game is challenging at first but it took me a day or so to get comfortable. After that period it just gets easier and easier. The graphics are really good except one thing when you have been playing for a while the ice never gets scratched. The ice is if the zamboni has just refreshed it. It would be nice if the ice wore down just a little but it doesn't. Other than that the graphics are awesome. I live in the North bay in Calif. And I am a hardcore sharks fan. When I first played the sharks vs the ducks I noticed that when the players are coming from the locker room to the ice they just enter the ice. NO SHARK HEAD. I would be so much happier if the players could enter through the head. Other than that everything is great. I really enjoyed playing this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for NHL 09
NHL 09 Simply Put is Outstanding
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/08
Michael Kozick
The 2009 installment of NHL Franchise is an amazing game in almost all aspects. Lets start with the newer features that will grab you and keep you hooked. The new Be a Pro Mode is outstanding you only play your line and your position the coach grades on every aspect of your play style while on the ice. You also increase you stats and attributes play playing well. Your start of in the AHL and work your way to the NHL. Some of the other exciting features include club creation where you control your player online with your online team of friends or whoever. The Controls and visuals are improved from last years especially the defensive skill stick this year. Along with the one handed dekes and protect the puck features. They have also added another 5-6 world hockey leagues to play as. Btw for the guy that said the Lowell devils are horrible I'm 5-1-0 your just bad. Overall NHL is a must by this year pick it up you wont regret it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for NHL 09
Great Hockey Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/08
hcanes06
One of the best hockey games I have ever played. They just keep getting better every year. The Madden development team needs to learn from the NHL Team on what new features are, and how to make a fresh game every year. They didn't just re-coat the ice in this one. The be a pro mode is awesome, if you're not the athletic type this your chance to fulfill that dream of being a professional hockey player. It shows your player in the tunnel just before they skate out onto the ice. You even get a view from the bench and the penalty box. You can also play the goalie in this years edition. You are evaluated on your performance after each game and you can move up from the AHL to the NHL if you perform well enough. Or you can just start out as an NHL player. The skill stick controls are still the best especially with the new defensive skills added. You can even upload your videos to EA Sports World to show off your skills. Presentation is top notch, another thing that could be taught to the Madden team. The game is fun to play and very addicting. Another great effort by the NHL development team.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 next>>