GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NHL 09

12th Annual Interactive Achievement Awards Winner: Sports Game of the YearWelcome to the future of sports video gaming with NHL 09. With all-new Be A Pro mode, step onto the ice and play an entire career as yourself through a dynamic camera angle in two compelling game modes. As a single player, earn your own hockey card as you progress from the AHL to the NHL, or be the first to play the first true console sports massive multiplayer online game, allowing you to assemble a team with up to 50 friends in the new EA SPORTS Hockey League. Playing with 11 live players online or storming the ice on your own, evolve your game and have a legendary career with NHL 09.
Average Customer Rating:
8.5
8.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
10 stars
19
9 stars
6
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
27 out of 3284%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NHL 09
Review 1 for NHL 09
awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/09
DangerousRazor
First off I don't know what to say about this game other than....GREAT! If you're a big fan of legend mode in The NCAA Football...Then this is the game for you...Be a pro mode actually puts you in the game of your created character...Yeah you have to start on the ahl first and then work your way up but hey what fun is it if you just start out in the nhl ya know? As for the graphics...The best I have seen yet. as for the dynasty mode I can't really tell you about it because I'm not a really big fan of it. But I have played a regular game of the hockey and it's actually not that bad. I haven't experienced any glitches with this game other than probably some calls for penalties that where not there but who cares right? So all in all...This is the best hockey game I have played yet.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NHL 09
NO SHARK HEAD!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/08
ozzman101
First off I loved hockey for a little more than 10 years and the be a pro mode is putting me right in the game. Starting from a minor league team and moving up to an NHL team. The game is challenging at first but it took me a day or so to get comfortable. After that period it just gets easier and easier. The graphics are really good except one thing when you have been playing for a while the ice never gets scratched. The ice is if the zamboni has just refreshed it. It would be nice if the ice wore down just a little but it doesn't. Other than that the graphics are awesome. I live in the North bay in Calif. And I am a hardcore sharks fan. When I first played the sharks vs the ducks I noticed that when the players are coming from the locker room to the ice they just enter the ice. NO SHARK HEAD. I would be so much happier if the players could enter through the head. Other than that everything is great. I really enjoyed playing this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for NHL 09
NHL 09 Simply Put is Outstanding
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/08
Michael Kozick
The 2009 installment of NHL Franchise is an amazing game in almost all aspects. Lets start with the newer features that will grab you and keep you hooked. The new Be a Pro Mode is outstanding you only play your line and your position the coach grades on every aspect of your play style while on the ice. You also increase you stats and attributes play playing well. Your start of in the AHL and work your way to the NHL. Some of the other exciting features include club creation where you control your player online with your online team of friends or whoever. The Controls and visuals are improved from last years especially the defensive skill stick this year. Along with the one handed dekes and protect the puck features. They have also added another 5-6 world hockey leagues to play as. Btw for the guy that said the Lowell devils are horrible I'm 5-1-0 your just bad. Overall NHL is a must by this year pick it up you wont regret it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for NHL 09
Best Hockey Game Ever Made
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/08
Zim9354
This is by far the best hockey game ever made graphics are great and the new view of when u come out onto the ice is awesome especially in be a pro where u can see your created player skate out onto the ice as the lights hit him and music is blaring and the crowd is going nuts no other game gives u that feeling.You can also save highlights and replays like in madden 09 which is a welcome addition especially when u deke and make a goalie look stupid now you can show that off to your friends and the protect a puck feature is great by pressing a button you can dangle the puck behind you then deke around the goalie for the sweetest goal ever seen and there are so many possibilities when it comes to scoring this year and the checking is amazing its what u would see in real life if you hit a man into the boards the boards shake the crowd goes crazy and he goes down painfully to the ice. SO WHAT R U WAITING FOR GO BUY NHL 09 NOW!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for NHL 09
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/08
Zikro
The demo is absolutely stunning with even better graphics than before (can you say best graphics ever?) and a great deal of new features that takes gameplay to the next level in excitement and challenge. The last review obviously has no clue what he is talking about as EA does have an online franchise system where you make your own team, invite anyone you want to be on it, and play against other user made teams for the online cup (the EA league). New and better animations make the game funner to watch and play and the new fighting system makes starting fights worth it. Include the awesome new hit system, which adds a new level of challenge to the game as you can't just lock in and home onto a player, you actually have to skate up next to them and then you can level them out in hundreds of manners. Add in the Be a Pro mode with it's 3rd person camera and you got yourself quite possibly, the greatest sports game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for NHL 09
I am quakers for this game!
Posted on:8/9/08
Anonymous
This game is going to be the best sports game yet! I think it's going to make Madden and NCAA look like garbage I mean have seen some of the goalie animations, they are just perfect. Although I haven't heard about the sound yet I am sure that it won't disappoint but, I mean it's made by EA and hopefully they'll do almost as good as they did in Battlefield: Bad Company. I am glad that in be a pro and online people are going to finally be forced to use the rest of the team and not just boost to the other end, shoot the puck and get the rebound anymore. I told my friend about this game and he has saved his money up for a while so he was about to get the three sixty but he got the ps3 instead because online was free and he was looking forward to the online modes. When I go online I hope I pass for a good goalie. I think it's cool that you can get prizes if you or your team is really good. I wonder what they are?
Review 7 for NHL 09
Must have for sports fans. go hawks
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/17/08
CHICAGOBEARSRULE
Definitely a very fun game! Updated, and better graphics. New fighting techniques and harder, more realistic checks into the boards. The controls are pretty easy and are easy to concept after a game or so. Announcing isn't the best, but what can you do? Be a pro mode is very fun and exciting. The dynasty is great also. NHL 09 is a must have for sports fans of any kind, but will especially appeal to the hockey lovers out there reading this. There's also new stick movements with 360 degree stick and puck control. This makes it all the more realistic also. The new fighting part in the game is a bit unrealistic because it takes like two punches to take someone out, but will probably improve as the years go on. Go to gametop and get this game today!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NHL 09
Great Hockey Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/08
hcanes06
One of the best hockey games I have ever played. They just keep getting better every year. The Madden development team needs to learn from the NHL Team on what new features are, and how to make a fresh game every year. They didn't just re-coat the ice in this one. The be a pro mode is awesome, if you're not the athletic type this your chance to fulfill that dream of being a professional hockey player. It shows your player in the tunnel just before they skate out onto the ice. You even get a view from the bench and the penalty box. You can also play the goalie in this years edition. You are evaluated on your performance after each game and you can move up from the AHL to the NHL if you perform well enough. Or you can just start out as an NHL player. The skill stick controls are still the best especially with the new defensive skills added. You can even upload your videos to EA Sports World to show off your skills. Presentation is top notch, another thing that could be taught to the Madden team. The game is fun to play and very addicting. Another great effort by the NHL development team.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for NHL 09
So Over-rated
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/09
King Clusk
I'll get right to it. NHL 09 is one of the worst video games, if not the worst game ever made. Honestly, it is that bad. I don't know how anybody can recommend this to someone or play it. Its not fun at all, you can only score the same way every time. Glitch goaling? Wow...goalies, terrible, CPU D, terrible. It just isn't fun at all, its all the same goals every time. Penatly calls are bad too. Online, its the same stuff. Everybody 'glitch' goals and passes across since that's the only way you can score. It seems like when they made this game they didn't even bother to fix the bugs in it. Pucks slide under goalies so easily, and they are always off the post on wrap-arounds. I played NHL 98 the other day on PS1, and its better than this game. I and my friends have been playing that at my house instead of NHL 09 online. This game is bad, so bad. Worst game I've ever bought.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NHL 09
cool and strange hockey game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/10
aac1
Location: CA
It is a good game for hockey fans or sports fan. great gameplay and graphics are good. I like the old controls from nhl 04. I don't like the new controls. The strange thing of the game is there is a girl named Sabrina Ladha and she is goalkeeper and she is 99 ovr
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NHL 09
They deliver again!
Posted on:9/8/08
Travis Cox
EA sports delivered again in NHL 2009 with a new mode Be A Pro. I just got done playing it like 13 times and came to the conclusion that no other hockey game is like this. You feel like your really a part of the team instead of controlling every player and act like more of a coach, your just one guy. At first i thought this would be stupid, i thought all the CPU's are gonna suck they wont pass good, and ill have to score all by myself. But it turns out that the CPU's are really responsive and actually score on there own. I actually saw one cpu PROTECT PASS to get into the slot then 1 timed it to a guy at the hash marks. I was blown away. the report card thing actually works to. The more teamwork passing,shooting,defending. The better grade you get. And don't even get me started on the MMO leagues. I could talk forever, See you on the ice!
Review 12 for NHL 09
NHL 09 Is THE SPORTS GAME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/11/08
Funnyguy1985
I picked up my copy of NHL 09 last night and WOW! It is as good as they've said it will be. Graphics are awesome as per usual. The controls have changed a little, but the new Defensive stick has made the game that much harder for the offense to score. I love the Be A Pro Mode, I haven't stopped to play anything else since playing this mode. It makes you understand the game and the position so much better, and i love the addition of the "position arrow" that tells you where to be. This game is better than last year, and last year's game was incredible! This will win many sports awards and gaming awards! Only downfall of this game is the Main Menu area, I sometimes get lost in it trying to find a certain activity, but when you get more stuff put into a game, the more options there will be. THIS IS A MUST BUY FOR ANY HOCKEY FAN! MUST BUY!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 13 for NHL 09
Here is help with dirty disc message
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/08
SneakWarrior
Just a heads up — the dirty disc message is due to the xbox 360 and not the disc. All you have to do is empty the cache memory. Go to last tab and click on memory. Press Y for device options: Then press: x, x, LB, RB, x, x, and this clears your cache. You will have no more problems and the game will play perfect! Have fun! This game rocks! As for a review - I just have to say that Be A Pro is an amazing option, and is the first time I actually think I want to play the game itself, instead of just online. The checking system, so far, as I am still getting use to it, is ok... Why ok you may ask? I fell the board checking is not as good as last year, due to the checking system being all about pushing your stick forward with both hands. This could be premature, and I will take this statement back in a few days. Otherwise - I love it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for NHL 09
If you liked 08, prepare to hate 09
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/08
2P
NHL 09 is being touted as the best sports game of all time, but I suggest playing it before committing to this statement. NHL 08 was fast, raw and had some of the best hits I've ever seen in a video game, but my big gripe with NHL 09 is the checking system. Why is every check a cross-checking style hit? (That's both arms out in front with the stick in your player's hands.) It doesn't even make sense, this isn't how all the hitting in the NHL, nor any other hockey league is. Everytime i line up a guy looking to crush him with a huge check, the opponent seemingly weaves around my guy who's merely holding his arms out, as if to dance instead of burying him. The be a pro mode is alright, but who wants to lose every game? Either I have the worst luck or the Lowell Devils are terrible because right now we're 3-13-0-2. Not fun. Playing online is a bummer because everyone's the Penguins (and guess what guys: THEY DIDN'T WIN THE STANLEY CUP! THEY'RE NOT THE BEST TEAM IN THE LEAGUE!) All in all this game had terrific potential, but after playing this frustrating mess missing check after check I'm about to go try out 2k9. Yeah I said it, 2k9. terrible.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 15 for NHL 09
GREAT GAME
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/08
Xgamer1993
I got this game last week and i can't stop playing be a pro mode. It's simply too much fun because you get to start off in the minors and gradually end up in the nhl which is awesome to see your character rise up to fame! The graphics have been tweaked and improved. And the goalies have been fixed up a lot because they don't allow stupid glitchy goals anymore. The game itself is much difficult than previous games of nhl series because now they've updated the defensive skill stick so know you can stop a pass being made or lift your opponents stick to lose control of the puck, so eventually they had to make the bots a bit more challenging than the other games! This game is a definite buy if you follow the series or just want to start playing a hockey game, great graphics, amazing gameplay but the worst commentators of all time.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for NHL 09
Blows 2k9 out of the game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/08
NYYfan51
I was ready to get nhl 09 until I was told by a salesman the 2k9 was way better so I bought it and was completely pissed off because it absolutely blew. 2k9 is quite possibly the worst sports game out there hands down. Now I got rid of it and went with my original choice and was absolutely impressed. The game has its faults but all together a great and fun game. I have had no problems with freezing or anything like that u must have gotten a bad batch. I recommend it. The be a pro mode is sick and dynasty is good too. Now the gameplay is a little sluggish at time but over all pretty good and the controls are fun and challenging. Im not a hokey fan but after playing this game I think ill catch a few games this year. I should have gone with my instincts on this one or I wouldn't be out 40 bucks because of the dreadful nhl 2k9.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for NHL 09
Amazing...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/08
Clay S.
I'm not usually a huge hockey fan, but I do love hockey games. This game is absolutely incredible. The Be-A-Pro mode is so great. I thought that they were just going to have AHL stuff, such as jerseys, stadiums, etc., just basic since it is AHL, but they really went all out. I am playing for my local team at a local stadium that I drive by a few times a week. The only bad thing I have seen is, during one of my actual games, there were cones everywhere as if I were doing an agility drill, type, thing. But I wasn't. So I spent the whole game skating through and around cones. It was kind of weird. I think the jerseys look great, the player movements and controls are awesome. I really am glad that I got this game. The whole aspect of not only earning your line spot, but having to earn a spot on the NHL team is fun. Most games, like Madden, you are just on that team and you start. On this game you need to get to the first line on an AHL team before you can even be considered for the NHL team. You are able to add skill points to get your rating up based on exp. that you earned from playing well. The way they made this game mode is really fun and I enjoy it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for NHL 09
09 addition remains at the top...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/08
Rob Moses
NHL 09 improves on last years awesome installment with some good additions as well as some problems. The addition of the "Be a Pro" feature is classic, well done and alot of fun. The gameplay remains essentially the same as last year with a few nice additions. Unfortunately, those who like to use the classic controller config can use them, namely the lift a stick feature. Another gripe is why have the option of customizing your controller, but not allow you to reassign any buttons, etc? Am I missing something. Other then this, the game still plays as good as last year. EA also improves on the XBOX Live feature by making it easier to find friends to play, as well as bring your created pro and use him online. Good job EA on improving an otherwise near perfect game. Just fix that controller for none skill stick players.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for NHL 09
Better Than Last Year
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/08
Crusader93
This game is a great game for hockey fans and people new to the Nhl franchise. The game features a new Be a Pro mode which is cool at first, but gets a little boring after a while. The thing to look at that is different from last year's game is the realism of the gameplay. It may still not be perfect, but the gameplay has greatly improved providing an unparalleled to an other sports game on the market. The online play has also greatly improved with the new cool EA Sports Hockey League and is worth trying. Only cons I would give this game is yes again the gameplay isn't perfect and the dynasty mode is still pretty weak compared to other sports games made be EA, however it is a great game to buy and can provide hours of fun whether you are a hockey fan of not and is arguably the best sports game out there.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for NHL 09
EA knows how to make a hockey game
Posted on:8/2/08
Zikro
NHL 2008 was quite simply, the greatest sports game on the market. The gameplay was fun and addictive but ran smoothly (other than some online bugs that happened every once in a while) and the graphics were amazing. Went to a buddy's once and played NHL 2008 on his big HDTV in 1080p and he and his father would not stop talking about the graphics the entire day. It just blew them out of the water. With the new incoming features, defense will be a lot more fun and useful and seemingly goalies will have more variety to step up to the plate with. The Be a Pro mode is an amazing addition to an already great game and along with the online league this game will be an absolute knock-out. Haven't played it yet (since it isn't out) but if it has any slight improvements over NHL 2008, it deserves a 10/10 for sure.
1 2 3 next>>