GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

FIFA Soccer 2009

Step onto the pitch and play professional soccer your way in FIFA Soccer 09. Experience the most authentic soccer simulation EA SPORTS has delivered as you live the fantasy of playing as a professional player and customize the game to suit your style and ability.
Average Customer Rating:
8.929
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
10 stars
8
9 stars
4
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 out of 1493%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FIFA Soccer 2009
Review 1 for FIFA Soccer 2009
My first fifa ever and LOVED it
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/13/11
TechxN9nexNinja
Location: Gastonia,NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I picked this game up about 3 months ago and I always wait to write reviews b/c everyone typically loves the game or product for about a month. Like I said I picked this game up and this being my first fifa ever I was extremely pleased! I'm not a soccer fan not do I watch soccer but I absolutely love this game, it gives you the competition such as madden and nba but without all the madden freaks ruining your experiance. It's in my opinion if you've never played this game please pick it up esp considering the price and give it a shot. Wonderful game and graphics for it's year and online competition is amazing!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FIFA Soccer 2009
FIFA 09 Xbox 360
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/11
SKATEBOARD12345
Location: Shelburne,VT.
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Great Game especially tournament mode. Also exhibition mode is good.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for FIFA Soccer 2009
Fun
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/15/10
maximushyrule
Location: chicago
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
its really fun and is one of the most beautiful sports franchises out there
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FIFA Soccer 2009
NICE !!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/16/09
jason clotter
I honestly feel that this is one of the best games I have ever played on my XBOX 360. The contols are great, graphics are realistic, and I find myself playing this game for hours and hours. The only improvement they could make is with the announce team. I just don't think the announcers do a good job with the MLS games. Outside of that, I don't see a flaw in the gameplay or presentation. I like the loading screen feature, where you can play soccer while the game is loading. This feature is very entertaining, and awesome!!!!! Everything in Fifa 2009 feels realistic to the point that I feel like I'm watching an actual game. The season / manager mode is great. It puts you in the shoes of a manager of a team, which is great!!!!! Every soccer fan should go out and buy this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FIFA Soccer 2009
Fifa 2009 is AWESOME!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/09
Jessica Gridiron
I honestly feel that this is one of the best games I have ever played on my XBOX 360. The contols are great, graphics are realistic, and I find myself playing this game for hours and hours. The only improvement they could make is with the announce team. I just don't think the announcers do a good job with the MLS games. Outside of that, I don't see a flaw in the gameplay or presentation. I like the loading screen feature, where you can play soccer while the game is loading. This feature is very entertaining, and awesome!!!!! Everything in Fifa 2009 feels realistic to the point that I feel like I'm watching an actual game. The season / manager mode is great. It puts you in the shoes of a manager of a team, which is great!!!!! Every soccer fan should go out and buy this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 6 for FIFA Soccer 2009
Fifa '09 is one of the best games ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/09
TbGrCallofDuty
Fifa '09 is one of the best games ever!!! This game is so good. It is amazing. If the United States was a country that loved soccer like countries in Europe and South America this game would be a best seller. This game could compete with Halo 3, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare and other top sellers. The graphics are amazing, so good you can even see the grass move as the players take a kick. The sound is good with the announcer always saying stuff and he is never behind the game, I hate it when I play a sports game and the announcer says something 30 seconds to late. Manchester United is the Best team in the game by far. This game is so awesome, I paly this game and Call of Duty: World at War constantly on my Xbox 360. Not much more to say other than this game is absolutely amazing.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 7 for FIFA Soccer 2009
best so far
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/09
Skions
fifa 09 is definitly a game to buy if you are a soccer fan, or like me, just someone who likes playing soccer video games. i don't really know much about players and teams, but fifa 09 made me a fan. overall the game is extremely good. the graphics are crystal, you can get player statistic upgrades depending on how they're doing in real life, and you can control the players perfectly with the control. but enough with the technical stuff. the gameplay itself is wonderful and when you pull a rainbow over the defender then hit it upper 90's, there's nothing quite like it. make sure though that you have the difficulty set at a challenging rate for you. it may be fun to ride up the score 10 to 0 in the first 20 minutes, but it gets repetitive and boring after a while. keep challenging yourself in this game. there is only one thing that i would watch out for. after you've played the game for a while, if you don't know much about soccer, the dif teams and players may start to mesh in your mind. but for avid soccer fans, you will be able to notice each individual players slite differences. overall, fifa 09 is a must buy for extreme soccer fans, and just gamers looking for a new game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for FIFA Soccer 2009
Best Soccer game eva!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/09
guardado
this is the game for all those soccer fanatics! I have never dreamed of playing a game like this! Its so challenging yet fun at the same time. Its one of those games that you have to work on in order to become really good at it. The graphics are just amazing and you can even notice the fine detail like how a player kicks a penalty and even notice the grass move from the kick, or even the sound of when a player blasts the ball into the net. The physics on this game are just amazing as if the real thing! For all those who play soccer and/or watch it, they will truly respect this game because soccer is a challenging sport where you need to be smart about what your going to do and also of the dedication it takes to become a good player. Trust me if you love soccer, you will love this game due to its reality it brings to the t.v.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FIFA Soccer 2009
The best fifa ever!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/09
icebox
The best fifa yet! So many teams, players, game modes, challenges, how can you not love it?? This game has it all. From the advanced arena, to the sweet realistic part of the game and my fave, GOAL CELEBRATIONS!!! i love to play a quick game or get into an intense season with my favorite team, Arsenal. Another amazing asset is the create a player. you can make the player look exactly like you or completely wacky! This game also has authenticity, with the sheer quality of C Ronaldo's rabona free kick or the way Stevie G. takes his crucial penalty. It even shows the teeny beads of sweat on Iker Casillas's face after an intense save from V. Nisterlooy. This game is also beast because of the BAP seasons mode. I am on that 2/3 of the time now because it is so fun! Now you don't have to sit there and scratch your head thinking, how am I supposed to make my players better? Ill tell u what, there are no cheats for this game. They have also made over 200 adjustments, including 50 new skills moves, which i love to do!! :) This game is a must have even for you halo and CoD lovers, you will all get into it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FIFA Soccer 2009
What a waste
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/09
bbake516
Fifa has to be the most bioring and lame game I have ever played. I did not get one minute of enjoyment out of this game. I have a 50" tv and the players are like 1/4" tall on the screen and are hard to see. The gameplay is very very slow and it's practically impossible to score a goal. Seriously if you're going to try and do a game to compete with Madden and such, you may want to at least try and make the game halfway decent. They just keep recycling the same garbage FIFA has done year after year and just slap a new date on it. But many people buy into it for some reason. Are all the other soccer games that bad that this one looks so much better? Honestly I just do not see the fun in this thing. I will stick to playing Madden because FIFA just lacks in every area, no fun, poor graphics, lousy sound = lousy game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FIFA Soccer 2009
Best Fifa Yet!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/27/09
excon95
Fifa soccer is an amazing game where it never gets old if you keep playing it over and over again. First, I'll start out with the graphics. I've never seen anything like it. It looks like you're actually watch a soccer game that you can control. I love the player and team variety. You can be manchester united, AC Milan, Lazio, and much more of you're favorite teams. EA definitely did a better job on this game than what they did with NCAA Basketball 09. It has a good challenging edge to it that isn't too easy like other sports games, but isn't extremely difficult that you can't even play it. Online it's extremely fun because you get to choose any team you want and play others to really see how good you are at this game. Everyone who loves soccer and/or loves sports games should own Fifa 09!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for FIFA Soccer 2009
Impressive
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/10/09
Bigadam1007
I am a soccer player and I'm shocked at how realistic this game really is. The career mode is very cool and I enjoy playing as an all the different teams of the world. But the best part of this game is the be a pro mode. You can make a player resembling yourself and play as him and only him in four seasons of games on your club and international squad. You can play game and gain experience to add to your guys attributes to make him the next Ronaldinho or Messi. I can't get enough of the amazing graphics and the unlimited celebrations you can preform after you score. The only thing that is a little annoying is the announcers often times repeat the same lines over and over again, and it becomes a little annoying hear Andy Gray say, "Could he get a yellow card?" after every foul. Other than that it's a top ten best game I've ever played.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 13 for FIFA Soccer 2009
A breakthrough...even for FIFA
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/5/08
xXSalkinXx
This has got to be the most fun and exciting FIFA game so far. All of FIFA's games were exciting, but this is just plain amazing, incredible, ingenious! For starters, the graphics in the game are top-notch, first class. The detail levels are great and the players are well animated. The controls are also great, they are similar to the other FIFA games, a little different, but nearly the exact same. There might be a button or two that control something different from the 08 FIFA, but that's the biggest change. Something really incredible, is the large range of tricks it's possible to do. I played FIFA 08, and you could do some crazy passing or footwork, but in this game, there are some really cool tricks. I mean....BICYCLE FLIPS....that's awesome. When you're playing, the game camera is the same side view as always. This gives you the best view, and you can change it around whenever you want to. The team variety is also great. All teams and players big and small are here for you to use. Basically, it's a must-get for soccer fans who want more of the best sport in the world!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for FIFA Soccer 2009
The best Fifa ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/2/08
Jose Bec
Ok guys this games is the best Fifa edition ever played in my entire Fifa life, the graphics are amazing, the controls are very smooth, the animations are just wao! I mean the whole games is great, I try the PES demo, and was expecting something good... But I was wrong, but any way for all the Soccer lovers this is the game you must to buy, I guess this Fifa will Knock out PES 2009 is no compression, are less in my opinion, and definitely you must try be a pro season, the thing is you can made your own players or choose one and try to be the best player ever on the History of your club, and the goal is be call by your national team, is just addictive this new game mode, also the 10 vs 10 online is crazy! A lot of fun in this game , also the passing system is a lot better then 08, the control of the ball works ok, shooting is awesome... so dont waist your time with other soccer games this is the game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for FIFA Soccer 2009
Amazing
Posted on:10/13/08
Arsenal4life
This game is AWESOME! For those of you who loved FIFA 08 after playing the Demo on Xbox 360 Fifa 09 blows the previous ones out of the water. They finally started paying attention to the little details. Graphics are amazing and control is great. They finally fixed the goalkeepers so that they'll come out sooner and get up faster after a save. Remember how flawed the card system was? Like if you tackled someone the ref didn't immediately make a call; your player was off the hook, well that's fixed. Calling a "play on" will now allow the play to develop and then when the ball goes out or play is stopped the ref will come back and card the player who committed the infraction. Passing through balls seems to be improved. And defense seems to be better all around. PES did a good job at getting the game play closer to real soccer, but does not have enough money to polish it off add the graphics it needs and the team licensees. FIFA 09 is a combination of the two games FIFAs dynasty mode graphics and better gameplay and PES's knowledge of how the game is supposed to be played.
Review 16 for FIFA Soccer 2009
FIFA 09 The BEST
Posted on:10/9/08
Gopic
FIRST OFF... 1. More people play EA Games Online. 2. Fifa 08 was amazing, graphics were great (And about the graphics....Isn't your camera angle far? I mean most of the time I would think so you can see the length of the field so does it really matter? NO). 3. Played Fifa 09 and let me say that I cannot wait. 4. I play 5-6 games of FIFA 08 online on XBOX and it's the best. I play it over madden 09.
Review 17 for FIFA Soccer 2009
wow
Posted on:10/9/08
Anonymous
Anyone who thinks pes last year was better then fifa 08 is either out of their minds or enjoy a more arcadish soccer. Up until 2008, i was able to enjoy both fifa and PES. They were both good in their own way, Fifa was more authentic and realistic (which is perfect for european soccer lovers) and PES was just fun to play (which gets old real quick). First 10 mins of playing PES 2008, I realized how sloppy the game was, the players' actions and reactions, ball and player movement. I don't know about anybody else but when i see those PES players running around the pitch it gets me mad. Nobody runs like that. Whoever said before PES is better graphically, I'd ask you to reconsider and look again. Finally, I know many people like to say who cares about authenticity, as long as the game is fun it's good... Realism and Authenticity means anything and everything to most players. That's why we go out and buy a $2000 HDTV and play on a system like Xbox360 or PS3, because we want everything to feel and look real. If we wanted to only have fun and not care about graphics we'd still be playing nintendo 64.
Review 18 for FIFA Soccer 2009
amazing
Posted on:10/5/08
brice bishop
Fifa 09 is absolutely amazing. I played the demo on xbox live it was freakin awesome. I love it. The graphics are good. The goalie isnt sometimes bad and sometimes amazing. He's the same all the way through its amazing.
Review 19 for FIFA Soccer 2009
This is the best soccer game ever
Posted on:10/1/08
Jay D
I have played both games last year and by far FIFA was better. I don't care what the graphics are like I care about how real the game is and how much fun I have. PES was horrible to me, it didn't feel realistic. On the other hand FIFA is difficult and realistic. Does it matter who is on the cover? I just wanted to know cause somebody was crying about that. If you play soccer and want a real challenge, and want to feel like your playing soccer, get FIFA.
Review 20 for FIFA Soccer 2009
OK If You Like Mediocrity
Posted on:9/28/08
Anonymous
I say save you money and buy Pro Evolution Soccer Instead. PES is way better graphically, and gameplay wise, plus PES puts the best soccer player in the world, Christiano Ronaldo on the cover instead of EA that puts overrated people who used to be good like ronaldhino EA is loosing it in the sports market they just can't cut it anymore
1 2 next>>