GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

FIFA Soccer 2009

Step onto the pitch and play professional soccer your way in FIFA Soccer 09. Experience the most authentic soccer simulation EA SPORTS has delivered as you live the fantasy of playing as a professional player and customize the game to suit your style and ability.
Average Customer Rating:
9.444
9.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FIFA Soccer 2009
Review 1 for FIFA Soccer 2009
Best Sport Game Ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/08
mysterious ???
Hi, I got this game two days ago, and i am in love with it. First of all, i have to say that the graphics are the big PLUS to the game. They are soooooooo realistic and makes you feel like you are in the game. Another big PLUS to the game is the camera angle because you could see more of the game. Also the controls are big PLUS to the game b cause they are more sensible and easy to use. They also help you actually "feel" like being the soccer player. you see, i had FIFA 05 in soccer, and the graphics were horrible, everyone looked the same, and the controls were basic, it didnt make you do anything. Also when you play by yourself againest the computer, they would always beat you, LOL. Now in this game you feel like ur playing and it makes the game sooo much funner. this helped because i acually beat the computer now. Also it makes me play it again and again. I love this game it makes me part of the action and that you could play at night or day. So i recommendf this game to everyone who loves soccer cause it actually feels like your playing soccer.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FIFA Soccer 2009
FIFA 09= SICK
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/16/08
bearsfinest18
I've been buying FIFA games since i was a little kid, about 11 years running now. I got the new FIFA the day it came out, and this year's FIFA is by far the best soccer game by EA sports i've played. I'm not a huge fan of the PES series, but I can honestly say that i no longer even need to try it, due to the realism provided by this soccer simulator by EA sports. The pace of play can be changed at your will to your liking, from slow buildup play like Manchester United to fast counter attack soccer like the Italians. FIFA 09 is a great game with a ton of game modes that offer variety and keep you entertained. Like all games, there are a few flaws. I feel like the jukes and fakes, such as stepovers, don't always work as well as you would like, but outside of that tiny flaw, this is the best soccer game I have played to date, and I would highly recommend any fan of soccer to go out and buy this game, because you will be blown away by its realism.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for FIFA Soccer 2009
As a fan of both PES and FIFA franchises . . .
Posted on:9/26/08
A Customer
As a gamer in my early 20's, I have gone through 3 generations of gaming with football games. Whether or not that makes my opinion viable or credible, I will leave to the descrection of the reader. Simple and short, FIFA 09 is a simulation game that is updated in its own right. PES has become outdated by sticking to its formula to a fault. In its earlier years, I played and enjoyed the PES (known then as Winning Eleven) very much. EA's FIFA began to make noticeable strides. Graphics and animations were two of the strongest points. Gameplay was slowly coming up to par, and eventually surpassed PES in the current gen, due in my opinion, to Konami not making an effort to improve thier toy-like animations of player's movement and poor avatars of those same players. Now FIFA has a greater control of players, more fluid animations, goalkeeper movement and placing improvement, splendid sound, playmaking options, and online capabilities that surpass the previous PES installments. I look forward to playing this year's PES counterpart, knowing that they have a lot to go up against.
Review 4 for FIFA Soccer 2009
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/18/11
heatfan
Location: Dania Beach, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got this game around 2 months ago for $13 that is a great deal for everything that is is in it. I love how you can practice while your game is loading. Graphics arent bad with some minor glitches. Overall i reccomend this game to anybody.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FIFA Soccer 2009
best fifa ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/7/12
MetalG
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i played fifa 08 then 09 after playing 09 fifa 08 and 10 seemed bad, fifa 09 is the best fifa yet, the music is great, commentary is excellent, this game is just and all around great experience. After playing 09 i didnt want to get 11 or 12 because how can uou possively top fifa 09.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FIFA Soccer 2009
BRILLIANT!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/08
Ernie
Ok, here it goes. FIFA 09 is the best soccer game in the market right now, believe me, I'm not kidding. The realism in the game brings emotions to you in a matter of seconds. The tackling, the shooting and the dribbling were the most that impressed me. The best mode yet FIFA has launched has been the legendary player campaign, allowing you to start with a created player or a pro and start your way from the reserve team and make your way up in four years. It's very exciting and challenging. There may be flaws in the game but it will be the best soccer game for this year, i guarantee you that mates. When i first heard the launch in Europe i was crazy to have it, it took like 3 more weeks where i live so i could buy the game, very exciting when i first got it, its unbelievable!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for FIFA Soccer 2009
FANTASTIC!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/08
FIFAfan
I've been a fan of the Fifa series for as long as I can remember, over the years they've become increasingly better. And FIFA 2009 is no exception, everything that was in FIFA08 has been upped to the next level in 09. To a soccer fan who has played the FIFA series quite a bit you will notice little things that maybe a newcomer to the series wouldn't see, for instance in 08 getting a goal from outside the 18 was as easy as anything, but in 09 that all changes; shots that you take no longer go straight, but curve away from you like they would in a real game. And crossing in 08 was impossible especially scoring from a cross, in 09 it is much easier to cross and to score from the crosses. Also the Be A Pro, which they introduced last year, has had a full makeover. You start out in the reserves(unlike 08) and you work your way up to the first time and eventually to be called up by your nation, they have also added the be a pro camera which is terrific, it takes you right into the thick of the action. One last thing that for some reason I was obsessed with, was the nets. When you score a goal the ball doesn't bounce around the net as if it were on a trampoline, but the net absorbs the ball(it is exactly what would happen in a real goal). As you can see I gave challenge a 10, this is the most challenging fifa game I have played to date, the goalkeepers are world class, whether there the man united goalie or a little division 1 goalie, they all seem to make fantastic saves. I have had the game several weeks now and have only found one error, that is the red cards. In two days of playing 09 I had received four red cards, even if you don't play soccer you know that's bad. The refs hand out red cards for the slightest of touches, and yet when the last defender takes your legs out, injuring your player, there isn't even a yellow card shown. Bottom line, other than the red cards, this is as life like as you're going to get to the "beautiful game".
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FIFA Soccer 2009
Im not buying it!
Posted on:10/10/08
computer89
After FIFA 08 I am not buying another FIFA game in my life. Ive been playing FIFA since 98 when I was like 10 tears old and this new game play is the worst Ive played. I downloaded the demo for FIFA 09 and its very similar to FIFA 08. You cannot come near the goalkeeper because he can push you no matter what, at least in FIFA 08 you still remained on your feet but now you go down very easily. Graphics a re better but when you look closely but with a panoramic view it looks like a PSP game. Their clothes are size XX small which makes the players look really thin. Well, at least you have more light in the filed than in FIFA 08. Anyway, download the demo from the PS store and check it for yourself before you buy it.
Review 9 for FIFA Soccer 2009
Well on its Way to Perfection
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/08
A Delightful Footballer
Of course like ALL video games, FIFA 2009 has its limitations and its flaws. However, that being said, FIFA 2009 is one of the best sports titles that has ever been made. That graphics are wonderful and the controls are superb. The options are deep and the feel of the game (sound, atmosphere etc.) are spot on. the highlight of the game is the Be A Pro mode, which is veri addicting. The big plus in this mode as opposed to last years version is the ability to gain attributes much quicker. It no longer takes an enternity to create a world class athlete. You can literally turn your created player into a star within one season. the only downfall to the mode is the length. Only four seasons. I do hope future titles will allow a player to start his career and play for a decade or so. That is my only big complaint. The only other minor drawback is the camera angle in this mode, at least the default camera. I found it much more enjoyable when switching to the broadcast view in Be A Pro. Overall, this is a great game with tons of options. It is not quite up to the level of NHL 2009, but it is worth every penny spent. I hope all can answer the question, Do You Fifa with a loud and positive,"Yes I do." I Fifa and I can see no reason why we all cannot appreciate the beautiful game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for FIFA Soccer 2009
GOOD game but some minor problems
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/17/08
excaliburkillz
FIFA 09 is a really good game. I still prefer it over the PES series but it did have its problems. In some aspects FIFA 08 was better and in others FIFA 09 was. 09 Lacks good ball control. its kind of hard to explain but when the player has the ball it seems like its stuck to him but once the ball is a little out of his way its really loose. 08 had better control in that aspect of ball control and balancing it. Also when a player shoots the ball it cruises in the air and slowly dips down, bad: because anyone can is capable of letting a powerful shot go and score and the ball doesn’t curve realistically. It pretty much just stays straight even on a finesse shot. Another thing was that when a player has the ball the run seems more robots like than smooth-realistic. When u changes the direction on the run the player moves at a 45 degree angle rather than the gradual shifting in 08. Another thing was that when a player is tackled via slide they fly around. Even the big players fly. It’s a pretty good game overall with better graphics and new animations and cool celebration control. Oh and another thing. The goalkeeper is still pretty lame. Now sometimes he wont even dive for the ball, he just stands there like "oh I got beat o well" and wont even attempt a dive at it. And they also can catch almost any shot which I didn’t like. Because most of the time a keeper deflects the ball in real games but it’s the game he has like super grip, and it’s not just on the good keepers it applies to any keeper. Is has its bad and good but I still like it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for FIFA Soccer 2009
Can't Wait for IT!!
Posted on:7/26/08
Haris: The Terror!
Over 250 improvements? Already loving it. New Collision System? Awesome! Exclusive mode for PS3? Yes, it finally pays off to own a PS3! My take: FIFA 09 is going to be the next big thing. And of course the best soccer game of all time. You can also change the weather, like turn off the rain. My most favorite part about FIFA 09 is that you actually get to celebrate the goal you or your teammate just made! Like UEFA 2008.
Review 12 for FIFA Soccer 2009
FIFA 09
Posted on:6/28/08
Anonymous
I think this game will be awesome for Wii. 08 was a bit of a disappointment having no manager mode and skipping out on some of the major tournaments. I hope in 09 they add more international teams, e.g the Netherlands (the real team), Israel, and Ghana. Regardless, I will truly be buying the newest installment in the FIFA series.
Review 13 for FIFA Soccer 2009
I ACTUALLY PLAYED IT-READ HERE
Posted on:9/24/08
CR7RunsdaGame
I actually played the demo for this game, and let me just tell you. I felt like I was playing a PS2 game. Graphics from up close are a little bit better, but from far away at gameplay mode, is like Euro 2008/PES. Boring, boring, boring gameplay. They took all the fun out of the game. I am throughly disappointed with EA Sports.
Review 14 for FIFA Soccer 2009
A Success Hopefully
Posted on:9/14/08
FIFA KID
The game sounds great, hopefully it will have more tournaments and will have a little bit more better graphics than 08. I do hope it keeps the part when it's downloading and you get to do that one on one thing with Rolandhnio. I cant wait to play it on my PS3.
Review 15 for FIFA Soccer 2009
FIFA: For the Committed
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/08
holy-mob
FIFA has been the premier football game for many years now, and for good reason. Now, more than ever I believe that their sales have depended on the number of leagues more than anything, although the Argentine first division would ideally be the next league to be added other than some garbage Norse league. With the release of FIFA 08, I fell out of love with this game. I at first thought it was something to awe at to see real life physics on my favorite players, but then quickly realized that the controls were sluggish and unresponsive at times and at other times, too sensitive. To be frank, I thought this new gaming engine was awful. I was hoping for a gaming reform in this new installment, but much to my dismay, these controls seem as unresponsive and lagging as FIFA 08. Shots lag too much in the build up of power behind the ball, shot accuracy leaves something to be desired, and it seems your team, no matter what you do, cannot string together a coherent set of passes without one going astray or behind the target. It's no wonder everyone calls Pro Evolution Soccer the best football simulation on the market. FIFA needs to find a balance between physics and game play now, but to achieve such a task for the team at EA is beyond their grasp and seems so for the immediate future. I dearly wish for a gaming engine reform for the next installments in FIFA. I wish for the game play to mesh together well, and it don't even have to be a perfection, or else FIFA will find themselves with at least one less patron in the future. I seriously want to like this game, but how can I when frankly, the game play doesn't play, and your constantly left feeling like your two second late on a play, or not like your playing at all, and trudging through ninety minutes of some kind of terrible. On a side note... a BIG side note, I have yet to play online, but I would have relatively liked the online team modes if it were not for the god awful camera that kept panning between you and the ball and kept you wondering where you are on the field and on the play. I would also like to mention that although I gave the user interface, graphics, and statistics good ratings, you have to remember, one, EA have had more than ten years to get it right. Two, that with next-gen systems, good graphics are something that can relatively be taken for granted. I would lastly like to acknowledge that player stats and diversity are good because its what you expect from a sports game, otherwise its an arcade game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10