GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Guitar Hero World Tour - Game Only

Guitar Hero World Tour is comprised entirely of master recordings from some of the greatest classic and modern rock bands of all-time including Van Halen, Linkin Park, The Eagles, Sublime and many more. Additionally, the game will offer significantly more localized downloadable music than ever before on all of the next-generation consoles. Budding rock stars will also be given creative license to fully customize everything from their characters' appearance and instruments to their band's logo and album covers.
Average Customer Rating:
8.385
8.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
3
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
11 out of 1385%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Guitar Hero World Tour - Game Only
Review 1 for Guitar Hero World Tour - Game Only
Fun Forever!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/11
Schaghticokekid
Location: New Milford CT
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Right, i'm gonna say this right off the bat; I'm a HUGE Tool fan, and it's all because of this game. I bought the GH: World tour guitar pack a few years back and loved it. Since then I've killed both the disc and the guitar. Just the fact that i bought this TWICE should be a pretty big signal that it rocks (pun intended). The music selection and graphics are a bit dated. Then again, if you were looking for up-to-date song selection and graphics, you wouldn't be looking at a WII game from 2008, now would you? Regardless of their age, the Music choices here arre exceptional (The best of any GH game in my opinion). It's fun for everyone, and anyone can pick up and play! I highly recommend this game to both GH newbies and veterans alike . Just one thing: If you don't like Tool and their imagery, you might not like this game. It comes up a lot.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Rock out to this while you try to figure out why you don't have this game yet.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Guitar Hero World Tour - Game Only
Good Enough
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/18/08
xHaLFx
Guitar Hero World Tour was a big step for Activision/Neversoft. They tried something yet, they failed at it. Overall though this game is quite not the game we had expected. We were hoping challenging and fun. They did a good job on the fun part of this game. For me the guitar was and has always been the best part because they always do a good job at the guitar part. The drums not so great as i heard from some reviews, there are slight problems with it. Due to earlier manufacturing. But later on in the year or next year the drums will become better. Although it is still pretty good now. And the mic doesnt have that well of reading as Rock Band 2. But overall this game is fun. For Wii owners out there, I recommend that you get at least the guitar and game. Oh and one more thing..This game is also the first Guitar Hero game on Wii to support downloadable content. Thats a huge step. So go out and get your copy because this game is very good. But get Rock Band 2 too because they also have downloadable content for Wii.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Guitar Hero World Tour - Game Only
Let's not get too heavy
Posted on:8/24/08
gamergirly
Sure everyone appreciates a couple metal songs as in the previous guitar hero titles but i'm sure that the good rock anthems and such that include good classic and hard core guitar solos are fine and will be even better with all the new features of guitar hero world tour, not to mention the fact that you will be able to create your own song that falls under whatever genre you want with world tour's song creator. Although personally i would love to rock out some newer up to date songs by today's top artists even if they don't exactly classify themselves as rock songs because some of today's good pop and alternative songs have some excellent guitar and drum parts that would fit in well with guitar hero world tour's new selection of instruments and control features. Either way and no matter what happens, i am going crazy waiting for it to be released, and i can't wait to play it! It's going to be awesome!
Review 4 for Guitar Hero World Tour - Game Only
All I can say...is "WOW".
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/28/08
Travis-ty
Guitar Hero has revolutionized the music game genre (if you want to call it that). I passed on Guitar Hero 1 & 2, but I finally gave in and got Guitar Hero 3 Legends of Rock. I was VERY IMPRESSED. Now Guitar Hero World Tour comes out, and takes it to another level. The game gets you excited like no other. What could be better than jamming to your favorite tunes, with you being the star of the show? The controls for the Wii are superb. You wouldn't think the guitar peripheral can't keep up with what's being shown on screen, but it does, and then some. The graphics are on the low side, but we all knew that going in. The sound is clear and crisp. The list of tracks will always draw criticism from gamers, but there's a nice assortment to satisfy everyone. Bottom line is, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this game to anyone whose a fan of the genre. Definitely worth your purchase.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Guitar Hero World Tour - Game Only
WOW! A great game with a couple flaws.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/08
solidus snake
This is a truly amazing game. the song veriety is a new fresh feel. the charicter creator is great, song creator is great (unless your not to good at it then it may be a little tricky). Lets talk about the overall game: I must say this game was a little over-hyped than every one thought it was. The gameplay has the same old feel to the past guitar hero games so no need to adjust. the band mode is a little odd because if one fails, you all fail. now the graphics: Sure the grapics are a little grainy and chopy (the ps2 version has the same graphics) but the gameplay is what we mainly point out. The game is VERY smooth. almost 60 frames per second it looks like. Sound: The sound is good but not great. the soung creator has good quality sound but it could be beter though. Wifi/Music store: perfect. it still uses friend codes, but who cares? you can choose between many online modes from 1 on 1 guitar battles, to band vs band. there is also band quickplay. The music store is perfect. the songs can be saved onto a SD card and the game reads the songs off the SD card so no moving songs over to the wii. Mii Freestyle: Its great if your bored. but its a cool feture on the wii though. This is a outstanding game. The previous guitar controllers work on this game. sliding parts become fret button taping parts witch make this harder. so i recomend geting the new guitar with this.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Guitar Hero World Tour - Game Only
Really fun game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/27/09
guitarmaster3000
This is actually a very fun game! Ther is an OK challenge but because it's so easy, I beat songs on expert with like 99% of the notes hit. The graphics are OK. They're not as good as Legends of Rock or Aerosmith, but they're still not horrible. The responsiveness is great. I've never had a problem with it. The sound is pretty good and the controls are excellent also. The interface is great. The song variety in so awesome because there is over 80 songs to play. I like creating my characters because you can make them look funny. I made a Michael Jacksn character and he is hilarious. The Wi-Fi on this is OK, because I can never find anyone to play with online which stinks because then I'm bored and alone. I'm happy the Rock Band microphne works on it, but the Rock Band drums don't. That's really the only bad part about this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 7 for Guitar Hero World Tour - Game Only
Perty good!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/11
Daftendirekted
Location: Lancaster, CA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I would've never bought a guitar hero game (i got this one for free) because I thought they were stupid and repetitive. BOY WAS I WRONG!!! THIS GAME IS SO FUN! It has really cool songs, and It is ALOT easier than playing a real guitar (which Im also pretty good at XD)
I like the customization you can do too. But I've never bothered to go on wifi. I figure by now not many people still play it, so...
Fun game for you and your friends.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Guitar Hero World Tour - Game Only
good songs
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:2/15/11
zeldahero
it has awesome songs and is fun to play well i moved on cuz all u do is play songs but i gess battling with a friend is fun to...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Guitar Hero World Tour - Game Only
It is so cool and it has really awsome songs!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/11
ShepShep
Location: Provo Utah, PU
This game is perfect for: party gamers
it is so cool and it has really awsome songs on it. you can do a multiplayer mode and one player mode.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Guitar Hero World Tour - Game Only
Rock Band + Customization
Posted on:8/27/08
Kilin
Well, let's see...Guitar Hero and Rock Band have always been rivals in their little music party game world. When Rock Band came out, it was a huge hit with more instruments, and now Guitar Hero makes its comeback. I mean where else are you going to go, right? They followed Rock Band's lead here and added a few more instruments, but made them a bit better. The drums now have cymbals, for one. Another fun feature is your ability to customize your characters and guitars, not to mention create and distribute your own songs. That in itself is the best part. Too bad vocals aren't available in the custom songs. I believe they've replaced that with Lead/Bass/Rhythm/Drums all at once. That would be pretty cool. This is definitely a game to look forward to.
Review 11 for Guitar Hero World Tour - Game Only
not the best one yet...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/09
pokemonlegoanimation
i am a big fan of guitar hero and tthis game was my first game for the home console of mine of gh. i had a lot of fun playing with a buddy with fun songs and the challenge is tough (still stuck in satch boogie) and not very good because all you want is to play the songs and unlock everything. the sound is perfect, and its harder to pass the game since all instruments have a separate way of going and you have to go through career mode to get the songs, which took me in boredom since i wanted to play one and went a lot through, the song variety is great, but after you get all songs the fun just starts.the music studio for making songs is good, but you have a limit of songs to make and a limit of time for each song and limit for notes (a total for 1,200 notes not enough activison!) 3 minutes is the longest for your songs and limit yourself to solos because of the lack of notes you csn enter to them. overall, the game is fun, has a variety on everything, the music store frustrates you enough because of the downloads and cant download them in the background like in the ps3, all modes are fun except for career and musci studio, this game is one of the best ones, but new hits in the series like gh5 are better than this. but this game is a must have for any gh fan.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Guitar Hero World Tour - Game Only
Sorry To Say This Isn't The Best Guitar Hero Yet...
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/08
atticus1259
As a huge fan of the Guitar Hero series I had alot of expectation for this one, being able to play in a band, making your own songs, and finally being able to create a character, however as soon as I started playing it...it proved very quickly to be a flop. I'll start off with the positives, but it's not going to be long. The nice thing is GHWT gives you alot of options, creating a character, which is really well done, but nothing compared to Rock Band. Its also the first GH where you can play Drums and Sing, which is really nice when your playing with friends. What's really nice is your finally able to download songs to the Wii and add on, however there's not a whole lot of song to choose from and the band veriety is pretty limited. Playing online is another great thing. If one friend is a bass guy and the other is a drums guy, you can still play along together online. And finally when you pause, you can enter your song with a small pause to get ready again for the song. Now Guitar Hero maybe have it's ups, however, even the ups come with flaws. The first thing you'll notice in GHWT is the response. The game dosent repsond nearly as well as Guitar Hero III, making it yes, hard which is an up, but not hard as in challenging, more like frusterating b/c you know you hit the note right. Even pressing pause sometimes dosent work as quickly as you'd like it to. Pressing fret notes and the new fret notes the don't require you to strum at all are easy to hit...but not as responsive as GHIII. What really let me down is the challenge, when you begin songs even on expert are easy to play and b/c more boring than ennoying. The song selection aswell really let me down. I was happy to see some stuff, but songs by Fleetwood Mac, No Doubt and Willy Nelson shouldent have been in the game. Alot of the songs are repedative and don't bring much challenge as well as how loud and quiet some songs are. While you play throughout the game some songs will become super loud or quiet which gets really ennoying after time. Overall the games just not too challenging and is pretty easy to beat in a day if you really wanted to. Graphics aswell let me down alot, and seeing Guitar Hero tried alot to be like Rock Band, it really effected any watchers around. Overall I'm really dissapointed with GHWT and hope Activision can pick this game up after such a huge fall.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Guitar Hero World Tour - Game Only
Get Heavy
Posted on:7/10/08
posterboy
These games are good but you know what they need some METAL! Some good old rockin heavy metal to juice up the game play. Cause like on gh3 they have like 2 metal songs and those are pretty much the best ones to play. Alot of the songs are the same genre and METAL is the way to go. I love METAL. Get some immortal, dethklok, pantera, slipknot (the old stuff), some slayer, bullet for my vallentine, damageplan, more megadeth and jeez theres plenty of METAL for everyone! oh Yeah and CKY dang they rock. i know the big companies arent going to read this but i think its a friggin awsome idea.
Review 14 for Guitar Hero World Tour - Game Only
10/26 A new Guitar Hero era
Posted on:10/22/08
bubbaStapes
I can't wait for this game. I'm going to the midnight launch to pick up the full band game, and going to be walking home with it. Anyway, I picked the Wii version over the 360 version mainly because of Wii freestyle (who needs graphics for guitar hero?). Thankfully, it will have downloadable content. I am pumped for this game, cannot wait to make songs and download others' creations.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Guitar Hero World Tour - Game Only
This one looks to be the best yet!
Posted on:5/23/08
ereadfan
This game is exactly what Wii needs, the real Rock Band on Wii! Not only does this game have a more accurate drum set and accessories, but Activision is putting download content on the Wii version! One of the best things about Rock Band is the DLC, and its absent on the Wii which is bullcrap! Guitar Hero all the way!
Review 16 for Guitar Hero World Tour - Game Only
Fun but not the best
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/5/11
jurassicparkfan500
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This edition of guitar hero can be really fun and has a good song selection. But if you are looking to get a good guitar hero game then this would not be the best choice. The games Guitar Hero II and Guitar Hero III are much better.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 17 for Guitar Hero World Tour - Game Only
I Have Nothing to Say, It was Bad
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:7/29/11
Infernape48
Location: Annapolis, MD
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Horrible. That's it. I have nothing else to say...
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Guitar Hero World Tour - Game Only
Great Game-Biggest Flaw =Drum pads
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/31/08
xX_BURST1NG_P0T4T0_Xx
Ok. We all know Guitar Hero World Tour was one of the most anticipated games of '08. I reserved the game as soon as I got the issue of GameInformer with this game on the cover. Plus, with all the hype, it had to be good. CON'S: I'll start out by saying that when I was reading the GameInformer article and I saw drums I said, "Please don't let them screw up the drums..." Well...the drums were just as I expected....great. EXCEPT: The red and green pads don't really register the hits! When I played Crazy Train by Ozzy (Whoo!) the intro had many blue and green hits. I hit as hard as I could, but still, no green showed up! Then what really pissed me off, is when i went to the music studio, i hit it half-decently hard and bam! I have solved this setback by pushing the faulty drum pads down and taping them down. Other things: I don't like the microphone being corded, but the guitar has no problems. Also, sometimes on the guitar and bass note charts, the notes disappear right before they get to the button lines. It makes you miss a few notes you normally wouldn't have. It does this especially on the Expert difficulty. Sadly, the DLC (Down loadable Content) is not much to be proud of, versus RB2's DLC. Finally, the few Spanish songs in the list are annoying. Unfortunately, I haven't done the music studio yet and I have no feedback for you in that area. PRO'S: Overall, this is a great game. In my opinion, it beats Rock Band 2 any day. The new touch pad mechanic on the guitar is good, but takes a while to get used to. The singing is much more fun than I expected, and after finishing the guitar and drum careers, I hope to get my hands on a mic stand and do bass and singing. The drums deliver a fun experience although, as I stated earlier, they are hardly responsive when it comes to the red and green pads. The character creator is very in depth, and I took an hour to make my person, because i scrolled through about half of the possibilities. The drum/guitar creator has probably 1000 options combined. Thats not combinations, just options. The wonderful 86-track set list is great. Plenty of variety, while delivering to everyone. The gameplay offers hours of fun, and new guitar note features, such as doing separate notes wile a long note is going on, and sliding your fingers over the touch strip instead of whammying, are great. Overall, the game delivered, but was a little over hyped. Better drum pads would be a Godsend, but the game deserves a 10/10.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10