GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Street Fighter IV

Street Fighter IV brings the legendary fighting series back to its roots by taking the beloved fighting moves and techniques of the original Street Fighter II, and infusing them with Capcom's latest advancements in next generation technology to create a truly extraordinary experience that will re-introduce the world to the time-honored art of virtual martial arts.
Average Customer Rating:
7.943
7.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (88 reviews)
10 stars
31
9 stars
14
8 stars
9
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
5
54 out of 7077%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Street Fighter IV
Review 1 for Street Fighter IV
I love Street Fighter
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/11/12
sunwish81
Location: Oklahoma
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love street fight back in the day on the super Nintendo. And I knew that they had remake them for the PS2 but never gave it much chance. Didnt want to play it. Was worried about them missing it up. I was so glad when I got it for my PS3. And I played it. I was very glad they stayed true to the original. And the 3d effect on the background was cool. And some of the same fighters and plus new ones. And online play. I had to turn that off so I can play arcade without letting me finished or save while I fight anther person.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Street Fighter IV
good game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/19/12
Anonymous
Location: redondo beach, ca
This game is perfect for: party gamers
speilal moves different then other stronger moves the best team you can have is ryu and ken there moves are so strong
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Street Fighter IV
One Good Fighting Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/12
lightwarrior2012
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you're looking a good solid fighting game with good interesting characters, a good storyline, a vasty variety of fighting moves and special combos, awesome colorful graphics then this is the fighting game for you. The only bad thing I have to say about this game is it is sometimes way too hard and difficult to execute and pull off some each of the character's fighting moves and special combos which makes one what to throw their controller at the televison screen at times. However, this a very solid game that will keep one staying up and playing for hours.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Street Fighter IV
awsome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/14/12
astranot
Location: ny
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is a epic between fighters and hard core fighter.the beast thing about this is the ultra move like ken or ruy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Street Fighter IV
sucks
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/12
TrueDat
Sound is aweful,gameplay is slugish,needs more characters and it's not any better then the other Street Fighter games
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Street Fighter IV
Really Good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/10/11
Spidey
Location: IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is amazing. sometimes your enemy keeps using powerful and/or same moves but its good. online is really awesome though.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Street Fighter IV
A Street Fighter Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/11
Rage202
Location: East Brunswick, NJ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Street Fighter IV isn't significantly different from most of the franchise. The graphics are good, though. I have to admit that. Although this probably isn't the games fault, the sound is pretty bad. However, this can be applied to most fighting games, which is sad. They made awkward noises whenever they do anything. Anyways, this game is great for passing the time in my opinion,and if your a street fighter fan, there is no question, you should have this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Street Fighter IV
Street Trash
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/11
grady
Location: mobile, alabama
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I had very high hopes for this game after seeing the ign review, and was very displeased when actually playing. The opening is really really good, and somehow pumps you up when playing, but the game is really hard. This game has so many difficulty levels, and who ever seen a fighting game with about 6 or 7 difficulty settings. The story is stupid and why did they even bother trying to make a anime cutsenes for each charater. I'm a really big fan of anime, but Street Fighter 4's anime cutsenes dont make any sense. There are a few charaters that make the game less fun and to hard to play, like characters like Abel, Zangreif, and Seth. They are really fun to play as, but playing against them is miserable. Abel constanly tosses you, Zangrief is constantly slamming you, and Seth constanly teleports{ and that is the most annoying.} If you want to get really good at this game, you will just have to be commited, and practice ALOT!!!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Street Fighter IV
AWESOME
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/6/11
Cradon11
Location: union city, nj
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is awesome. An extremely good fighting, action packed game. Perfect for action lovers, and graphics are awesome, plus the characters look great, and the combos, and specials look epic. This game is perfect for those martial arts lovers, and people who love action games.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Street Fighter IV
Street Fighter's Back
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/11
bryantfan24
Location: Salt Lake, UT
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Street Fighter IV is amazing. It brings back the old Street Fighter in it and the music is fun to listen to. The Graphics are well done and the gameplay is good, too. I can't recomend this enough.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Street Fighter IV
I love street fighter!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/14/10
DOmiNicanBoy21
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've been playing street fighter ever since the dream cast, and they were all good. Ans this one did not dissapoint. I really loved the improvement on the graphics and the overall visuals, but I thought that the amount characters are just a fail. I mean they did create a super street fighter 4, but I don't know how they go from having a game with like 40 characters to only having about 15. They did fix this by making a new game but I am not willing to pay another $40 for it. I may be wrong, maybe it is worth it, but i just don't think it's fair for them to make us spend more money on it. I love street fighter and this one was a great addition to the family, but I just think that they should've fixed the problem with the characters a long time ago. Also I thought that the amount of combos per character is very limited.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Street Fighter IV
No Longer MIA
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/10
STreetFlGHTER
Picked the game up on launch and I have to say,it feels good to be back.In fact just recently I celebrated its launch by playing it all week.Simply put,the best fighter out there now.Tekken,Virtua Fighter,Soulcalibur, and mortal Kombat got NOTHING on street fighter 4.Lets talk about Graphics.Beautiful,everything is fluid and well built,the challenge varies but upon unlocking all characters(i played on easiest to speed it up)i noticed the CPU is very cheap when playing against zangief,seth,abel,and others.Special moves are a joy thanks to the simple controls,yes it is a shame that most characters have similar movesets but its a pick up and play(yet hardcore)game.Story is stupid but ok, the sound is well done,except for lack of classic music and some bad voices.Unlockables will keep you busy as will challenges and survival.Street fighter 4 lives up to the hype
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Street Fighter IV
Great but with flaws
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/10
Zazn
I know people have complained that this Street Fighter IV's CPU uses too much special moves (or the same special moves). It was not much different in the older Street Fighter II - Remember whenever you jumped at Guile and he would just Flash Kick you out of nowhere everytime! The difference is that this one has been remade so a lot of the moves are a bit different and have different priorities. For example, the aerial moves are not as strong as the ground moves anymore. Great ground priority moves that deals a lot of damage such as Balrog can really take one everyone. It takes some practice and knowing of moves (and move patterns apparently if you want to beat the CPU) to "enjoy" this game. If you are expecting to be able to smash random buttons and beat the game on easy to medium, then you should be playing tekken/soul calibur/virtual fighter. This game is more about knowing movesets, priorities, and timing them as compared to other fighting games such as tekken where you need to know tactics (knowing a big combo or special move sets won't cut it here) and have reaction time. Being a fan of many different types of fighting games -tekken, blue calamity, marvel vs capcom, soul calibur, street fighter, king of fighters, etc. - I can say this one does do very well for a fighting game. The biggest flaw (as mentioned by many others) is the online system. Like many other figthting games with online feature, it needs to be reworked.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Street Fighter IV
No Good
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/09
RelaxedGamer
First off I want to say i was looking forward to this game. The first game i ever played was street fighters 2 for the Sega genesis system and I loved it. Now thinking about how street fighter has been in the past I thought this game was going to be a lock in as a great game. Far from it in fact. I started playing on medium and enjoyed the fact that I didn't walk to victory with out knowing any moves (which every character has 8 moves and that's it). From there it turn to me running into characters like Seth, Able, Zangief, and Rufus which would only use one or two moves even when the shouldn't be able. In my first fight against Able I couldn't hit him cause he repeatedly threw me with the same move. Even if i was mid punch/kick it didn't matter. So i tried out other difficulties and the same problem persisted. Then I noticed when i used my special move it did a little under a third life bar of damage while when the computer used its special it did about half a life bar damage. The game is 0 fun about ten minutes after you start playing. I received this game as a gift three days ago and played it for about an hour total. I now will be returning it and I regret losing that hour from my life and I hope anyone who reads this dose not make the mistake of buying this pathetic excuse for a game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Street Fighter IV
A must by for fighting game fans
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/09
Roy Bromwell
With all the acclaim out there, there isn't much more I can say that will do this game justice. For all the reviews that gave this game a 9 or more, they were right. I Loved it. Can’t wait to play Super Street Fighter IV this coming spring. The game also let's you prioritize whether or not you want it to look for the most stable connection for those jump in matches, which makes the online great. In the end, great job Capcom. As you get into the game. It's it truly worth the money, I can't up it down. If you like Street Fighter or fighting games in general, get this game. Even if you don't care for the series or the genre, this time around, you are more than likely to find something you like about this game that will make invest serious hours into it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Street Fighter IV
Why bother?
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/14/09
Sevorne
I played this game just recently and completed most of it all by myself and I have to say it's making me regret purchasing the game because of the excessive use of special move by the computer on the difficulties. Another flaw I found is if you perform a ultra combo it has a chance to be countered by these computer opponents that shouldn't be able to like an example would be I would be playing as sakura and in the middle of my ultra someone that would have the shuryuken move or flying uppercut special move would cancel it out by doing when I am closer to them it seems unfair but it happens to me a lot and I have played for hours just because the cpu knows how to counter any powerful move the isn't ranged. The next thing is that if this game claims to be balanced then why is it that at least five characters have extremely similar moves the only difference would maybe one or two attacks and then their ultra combo or their super combo. Let me say if you think that I like the Street Fighter series let me say that because of this game I no longer do and now I as write this I am gathering my Street Fighter IV game to trade in for store credit or another game. Oh and I almost forgot I never have played the alpha series because I am slightly poorer than most gamers so I only played two and three and maybe the second alpha. And the last thing is that I would prefer to play the entire Tekken series than play SF4 ever again and the reason I said that was that I love the Soulcalibur series because of this game.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Street Fighter IV
Highly addictive and exhilarating
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/31/09
strider975
First of all, let me state that I am a huge fan of Street Fighter and think almost ALL of them are fantastic, and this game is on exception. Many Street Fighter veterans will enjoy this game because it resurrects many classic characters and special moves that reek of nostalgia. This is also a great game for new fans of the series because the gameplay is extremely smooth and the special moves are easier to pull off. SFIV introduces 2 new systems into the game called "Ultra Attacks", an extremely devastating attack which can be activated once you get damaged enough, and "Focus Attacks", which can be unblockable and can absorb any attack once. Both these new moves change the flow of the game, and can easily turn the tide of fights. While this game brings back many fan favorites like Guile, Fei Long, Chun Li, Akuma, and Ryu, it also introduces a new set of characters like El Fuerte, a chef and luchador, Rufus, a chubby, while surprisingly fast martial artist, and Abel, a french brawler whose purpose is to figure out his past. SFIV features an online mode, where you can choose from 3 variations: Ranked Match, a mode that will either decrease or increase your battle points depending if you win or lose, Player Match, a mode where you and another person can duke it out without fear of losing or gaining any battle points, and Championship Mode, where you fight your way through leaderboards for the top score. Once you finish this game once, you cannot help but keep playing and playing again. There is A LOT of replay value in this game, like unlocking all the trophies and unlocking every character, to name a few. The sound is fantastic, each stage has their own unique theme, and the Menu Screen theme is enough to get the adrenaline rushing. Another cool feature is that, after finishing the game, you can actually CHOOSE which character to change to Japanese voice, for example you can change Ryu and Ken's voices to Japanese, but keep Guile and Chun Li's voices as English. One of the cool thing about this is that they made Gouken, a once-was April Fool's joke, into an actual character. The graphics also look fantastic and improve on the look, without making the game feel different. To sum it up, this game has great and improved graphics and sound, fantastic new characters, and is a great game for anyone new to the series.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Street Fighter IV
sf4 is hotttttttttt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/09
drag0nsl4y3r
sf4 is a must have for the fighters out there. its a really fun game for yourself, your friend, and ur family. the controls are kinda weird tho. but you'll get use to it. well u might get some blisters if u use the directional buttons, but using the d pad is hard for ryu and ken but really good for balrog and blanka. everything improved. the online is really fun if u have a good online connection at home. its a pretty fun for one player too cause u can change the difficulty lvl and have a blast trying to beat the cpu. the only thing is is kinda bad is unlocking the sub cloths.. you need to fight so many online people and if u have a bad internet signal at home like me that would really really suck. well i love this game anyway cause my cousin and his brother in law come to my house to fight me in sf4.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Street Fighter IV
Great SF Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/29/09
SS-Paipai
Graphics: Excellent, characters are very detailed and animation is very smooth. Very nice even in big screen HDTVs. Controls: Takes getting used to for the default console controller, difficult but not impossible especially for Higher level combos. I've been playing this game using my ps3 controller since this game came out, the more I play the more I want to get a joystick. Challenge: versus the AI, it can get frustrating at first especially if you expect the AI to behave like a human being, plain and simple it does not. The AI is only good for practicing your moves and reaction. With some practice you should be able to finish the hardest mode without issues. Online will give a variety of challenge. Unlockables: Overall Fair. Extra Characters are always good. There is no unlockable extra constumes, just alternate colors which is lame. There are also unlockable additional taunts which is ok. And finally unlockable titles which can be used to customize your profile which is really worthless. I wish there were extra unlockable costumes built in the game instead of having to pay for it online store. Character Balance: Fair. I still find it easier to use some characters than others. Some characters still has advantage over other characters, some have very effective special moves while others have useless moves. Easier to pulloff combos for some characters than the rest. Pretty much the same old street fighter. Why do you think there are so many Ken, Ryu, Akuma type players online? I haven't played with anyone who used Rufus or Dhalsim. Sound is great, I like the theme song and the commentary during game. Sound effects are pretty good too. Special Moves. Great. This is what makes it Street Fighter although again some moves are only for show. Introduction of EX moves is great and make the SF experience better Story line. Not much here really. It's always bits and pieces of story here and there just enough to give you an idea of what's happening. Nothing really special. Same as old SF versions. Overall great game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Street Fighter IV
Another great game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/25/09
PS3luver
The Street Fighter fundamentals have remained consistent over the years; your job is to knock out the other guy or gal. All 12 of the classic world warriors--Ryu, Ken, Chun-Li, Blanka, E. Honda, Zangief, Guile, Dhalsim, Balrog, Vega, Sagat, and M. Bison--are back and playable from the outset, and they're joined by six brand-new and diverse characters. Abel, a mixed martial arts grapple-style character; Crimson Viper a female fighter with sweeping, airborne fire attacks; Rufus, a rotund fighter whose body makes him a bit of a sight gag despite his deceptive speed; and El Fuerte, a pro wrestler whose rushes and air throws make him a slippery foe. Ryu and Ken's sensei, Gouken, also makes his playable-character debut in Street Fighter IV. Naturally, he didn't teach the boys everything he knows, so when they meet again he has a few tricks up his sleeves, including a horizontal and vertical fireball EX move. The game's new end boss, Seth, fills the last spot and joins the list once you've unlocked everyone else. Character balance is absolutely spot-on across the entire roster, and as a result, you should never feel that you can't compete simply because you've chosen one character over another. You'll need to finish the game multiple times and in special ways to unlock the complete character list. Doing so will make fan favourites Cammy, Sakura, Akuma, Fei Long, Rose, Gen, and Dan playable. Like previous games in the series, Street Fighter IV lets you perform powerful super combos, but it has removed air blocking and parrying completely. Developers Capcom and Dimps have added a completely new gameplay system: focus attacks, a new multipurpose offensive and defensive ability that can be charged to one of three levels by pressing and holding the medium punch and kick buttons simultaneously. There's no onscreen bar to show how charged your attack is, so you'll need to rely on the progressively darkening ink splashes surrounding your character model. Each character features a unique focus animation, so you shouldn't have any trouble working it out after a few rounds with each. Focus attacks make you vulnerable to damage because you need to be standing still to charge them (though you can dash forward or backward to cancel them), but the trade-off is that you'll absorb the first hit without the penalty of an animation reset, allowing for an instant counterattack if you land it. They can also act as armour-breaking moves, shutting down more-powerful attacks. Successfully landing a fully charged focus attack will deal damage and crumple your opponent to the ground, giving you the chance to follow up with an unblockable hit as he or she falls. Overall this game is great!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 next>>