GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NHL 09

12th Annual Interactive Achievement Awards Winner: Sports Game of the YearWelcome to the future of sports gaming with NHL®09. With all-new Be A Pro mode, step onto the ice and play an entire career as yourself through a dynamic camera angle that brings you closer to the action than ever before. For rookie players, an easy-to-use game control system evens the playing field, allowing newcomers to challenge more experienced players as soon as the puck drops. Playing with the confidence of an All-Star, storm the European front by playing out a Dynasty career in some of the most prominent leagues in Europe. Whether you're a proven veteran or picking up the game for the first time, strive to Be a Pro and become a legend with NHL 09.
Average Customer Rating:
8.273
8.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
4
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 1191%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NHL 09
Review 1 for NHL 09
great game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/10
ginobili2010
As a hockey fan I bought this game thinking it was going to be so much better then nhl 08,and in someways it is. There's updated logos and uniforms in the game, it has russian,ahl,and a whole lot more teams so you'll never run out of teams to play against. The only things I hate are that the game's cut scenes after the whistle get old really quickly,it's really hard to score one on one with the goalie,like in shootouts,and if you want to score alot of goals and win,the game makes it real easy to get a one-timer past some goalies. You can't really see the player's faces during gameplay, but when they show them, they look deformed, EA could have done a better job with that, but what can you expect with an outdated system like the ps2, right? The ice during gameplay gets scratched up and faded like in real life which is a part I liked. Overall,this game rules,smooth handling on the ice and tons of options,it's the best sports game for hockey fans, definitley worth the extra bucks than buying nhl 08!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NHL 09
good but not incredibly good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/08
seanton bomb
nhl 09 is a pretty good game but does not really have any defining features that i feel newer games should have. i just got the game today, and after a couple of hours, i found the game quite entertaining. the be-a-pro mode definitely lacks a little, but for a ps2 i didnt expect alot from it. i have found so far that the be-a-pro mode and the gameplay that comes with it,is captivating enough to keep you playing evey game of the season for a good while. i am not a die hard hockey gamer, but i am a die hard sports gamer. i have found that playing every game of the season in games like fifa,nba live, and other ea sports games, is extremely hard for me. i dont know if its just me but, i love how the game keeps moving. but i kinda have a problem with the player faces. they dont seem real enough to satisfy me. all in all this game is a good buying choice. i find the game realistic which matters alot to me in a game. the skill stick is kinda hard to work with in my opinion (though im guessing you need to get used to it). if you like hockey or their video games, buy this game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NHL 09
Its a great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/16/12
BruinsFan2012
Location: West springfield,MA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought it last year(2011) and played it everyday for at least 4 months and i still play it today. Many of the players look like they they do in real life.The fights are fun and easy t start just hit the down button.The controlls are great you can play the easy way and also the hard way witch is that hard anyway,I recomend the pro or hard way because it gives you more options of what to do to score,pass.The season mode is awesome im 51 and 0 so far and in pro mode i have 52 goals and 43 assists in only 45 so i average at least 2.111 repeating precent so, on easy its not that hard to score. playoff are also fun. only thing i dont like is that easy is too easy and medium is to far apart im in the middle i cant win on meduim but on easy i can kill a team 12 -0 most of the player are there for this season I have all the bruins and only had to create 2 palyer who were pretty new and overall it is amzing.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NHL 09
A lot of fun.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/17/10
AnonymouslyConfused
I am not a hockey fan but when I saw this had a non complex control scheme as an option it was a quick decision maker. The only sports I am really a fan of are MLB and the NFL. But even with that being said it is still fun to have a hockey game in my collection. For being a PS2 game the graphics are still pretty good. The announcers do an excellent job. The game also has a good soundtrack. While this game is lacking online like I have seen its past iterations it does not hurt my overall fun factor as it has my favorite mode in any EA game and that is there phenomenal Dynasty Mode. I also started playing the Be A Pro mode as well and it is pretty cool. Some other nice features is you get Season Mode and some other stuff. I also like that you can create a team much like you can in other EA games. The create a player is standard fair but is fun to play with nonetheless. One nice thing about the create a player is you can assign a first name to be said by the announcers which is a lot better than hearing the game constantly say Player 1 as it is so often been done in other sports titles. This is my first NHL game by EA and I am overly impressed with the attentions to not only the player models but as well with the arenas looking great. I know a lot of people do not like EA but I find them consistent with the quality of their sports titles and thats why I buy their games. This game provides a nice break from my baseball and football games and it is a lot of fun. Awesome !
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NHL 09
This game is fantastic!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/10
flamey
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game has good graphics. The shootout periods are very dramatizing and very exciting. The game is very realistic. I really like this game. Get it for ps2 if you don't have a ps3 or xbox 360.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NHL 09
NHL 09
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/10/09
#9
Hello, What a great game if you love hockey! This is a great buy! It 's really like watching the game on TV. When I buy a sports game I look for all the special details. I want a game that has real life action. NHL 09 does. It keeps you in the game. I always look for the little things. One example I have, which I have more then I would like to type is, when you rock someone into the boards, if thier helmet/stick gets knocked off, it stays on the ice until the play is blow dead. Another great feature is the way the players skates scratch the ice up. More or less, I enjoy the wear and tear of the ice. The game is amazing! I am currently playing a regulation NHL season. Let me tell you, I am loving it. I must play about four games a week. Thats alot of hockey! Just a great game. The only negative I have is there is no sign of the zamboni, also not to mention the Devils play in Newark, not East Rutherford anymore. There is one or two more glitches in the game, however not enough to hate on it. No one is perfect, if I was I would be playing MLB! I look for all the little things as you can tell. Being a former college baseball player, I look for the quality of all sports games. The bigest thing I look for is the real life experience! I cant justify that enough! I give this game a 9 out of ten. I am very hard to please. I wish all sports games were like this one! Buy the game. I would write more however I am tired! Good Luck!! #9
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NHL 09
Best NHL game on PS2
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/3/11
nickm99
Location: Vermont
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
very good graphics are great fans need improvement and EA takled that in NHL 10 unfortunitly last EA NHL game on PS2 :( but still a classic
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NHL 09
it's just like NHL 07 (longgggggggg review!)
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/17/11
BlueDUDE7
Location: Canada
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is cool and all, but there's nothing really new, it's just like NHL 07 which I also have for PS2, really still enjoy these ones though. I mean the entrance is the same, I'M TALKING THE EXACT SAME at the start of a match, as far as the guys who summarize the game go, few minor changes to the script there, and I found you can barely hear the music at the start as well, oh ya, and it's still the same guys talking about the game as in 07!!!! Still do that cheesy move were you skate up the ice along the boards the curve in just as you enter the line behind the net and skate right past the goalie back handing it in, works almost every time!!!!!! Just so you know this review was all about the 'not so good' stuff in this one, still there's EPIC create a pro mode and new to that year stuff, new control system that was put in NHL 10 NHL 11 and soon to come NHL 12, make the game fast more skilled and way more action packed, great stuff, so you cant be sure you have the perfect NHL every time, but this one is like my third fav. NHL game so far, but i'd say we got NHL 11( Xbox 360) in the lead then NHL 07(PS2) and then this guy, fact is thats the only NHL games I have so............? I would recommend this to a friend, who wants an easy going fast passed action hockey game, but just keep in mind that 07 & 09 are the same, not sure about 08, must not be seeing that 09 is 2 whole years of amazing hockey LATER, but then again PS2 is starting to fall into the shadows, still play my PS2 allot, and have had and still have great games for it, I would select Xbox 360 over any other console though. any NHL rules so If you don't have one go pick one up,...... well you know.... not the 48 cents ones like NHL 05.... or 03!!! man don't know what you would get out of that or if it's a real game just guessing, so If anyone really reads this review, guessing not to many because it's PS2 NHL 09 couple years old there, but ya, overall it's a pretty ROCK'IN.......yes a truly ROCK'IN game!!!!!! OH ya if your wondering about my game picks, those are kind of jokes, so just say'in that right now, and not in a way that's like they suck, just like there really old so you look at them and go, who would still play that title, ROCK ON PEOPLE WHO PLAY THOSE TITLES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
NHL 2001
5.7 out of 10(3)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NHL 09
Best Hockey Game!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/1/09
BillsFan10
This game is amazing!!!! This has to be the best hockey game that has come out so far. The Be a Pro mode is awesome! The franchise mode is great to! Everything is great about this game!!! If you live in a smalltown that only has an AHL team you can play as them and have the full team roster! With this game you will have hours of entertainment! I don't know what else to say. I mean when I got this game I didnt expect much since they dont put much effort into sports games on the PS2 now a days but I was pleasantly surprised! Hockey player, hockey fan, not a hockey fan you will enjoy this game! If you are a hockey fan this is an absolute must need!!!!! Even if you are not a hockey fan get this game an you will become a hockey fan!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for NHL 09
horrible graphics!!!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/29/11
avhop567
Location: Orlando, Florida
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is horrible if you don't have it for the xbox 360 and ps3. the graphics are just plain horrible. the goalie doesn't make any cool saves. This game is not worth the money and I would give this game 3.0 rating!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NHL 09
Good Game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/12/11
Steve123456781949u2
Location: Framingham, MA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This a good game it lasts for a long time. I have been playing it for about a year now.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10