GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Vampire Rain: Altered Species

Vampire Rain: Altered Species is an intense game that takes place during a dreary night in a suburban, west coast city in the US. For some time now, mankind has been battling the ferocious and terrifying Nightwalkers, a race of superhuman vampires who crave human blood. People have been disappearing at night; the lucky ones are found dead, but those less fortunate are reborn as Nightwalkers, and are bound by instinct to forcefully recruit unwitting victims into the Nightwalker army. Gamers take the role of John Lloyd, a member of a US special government unit created to defeat the Nightwalkers, and the only human to ever survive a physical encounter with them.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333
4.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
2 out of 633%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vampire Rain: Altered Species
Review 1 for Vampire Rain: Altered Species
Good game for the right players
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:12/5/09
Renoben
I bought this game last night and played though about half of it. The controls were good and the weapons interface was excellent. However, the storyline and the actor voice overs were horrible. When your group leader talks, you want to put one in your head... its awful. Players who liked Splinter Cell will appreciate the game mechanics because it is very similar. The object of the gameplay is misdirection and stealth rather than full frontal assault. If you try to take one of these vampires head on... nine times out of ten you're gonna eat it. They are too fast and strong and if they see you, you're dead. So, on a reality scale, if these creatures did exist, it would probably be spot on with the ripping you a new one. I would not recommend this to anyone unless you can handle bad voice overs and a crappy storyline, however, the gameplay is very decent.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vampire Rain: Altered Species
dont care what u say its awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/21/08
SNO ZAD3R
This is the best vampire game ever made. Yeah the graphics have the format of Metal Gear Solid 2 but it has the looks of the next generation technology. If your unaware you really have no way of surviving in this game which is what makes the game more fun than ever. Play it at 11:00 at night to make the suspense rise as well as your heartbeat. Turn off all your lights at 11:00 to enter the games atmosphere and make this C-D become reality. But if you're a kinda guy who's a run-n-gun then you might not like this game as much. You can run-n-gun if you want but it will only get you killed. But if your Rob the manager your gonna die anyway so why go out silent. No, do it with a bang and make everybody remember the name which would be your name by the way. So just try it for yourself and don't listen to what other people say you might enjoy the gripping fear.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vampire Rain: Altered Species
Game sucks!!!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:10/6/08
TheTruth101
This game is horrible! Don't waste your time and money on this game. Everything is a copy off of Metal Gear Solid and Splinter Cell. All you do is try to sneak past vampires, and once you get spotted it takes 2 hits from them and you're dead. Sure you have weapons and you can run but the game makes it so that you can never escape from the enemies and the weapons are useless. The voice and conversations between the vampires are lifeless and boring and it goes something like this:Vampire 1: The rain has not stopped....Vampire 2: I like the rain....Vampire 1: The rain makes me thirsty...Vampire 2: The rain brings life...The graphics are horrible and it makes you wonder why this game didn't release on the PS2. The main character looks like a mix between Snake and Sam Fisher. This game doesn't even come close to horror and the missions are really easy and don't require the use of your brain, almost like the game was designed for little kids, and you won't be fighting any boss until the 12th mission. The controls aren't too bad and actually respond well, but the shoot button is so far away (R2 button). Bottom line is that this game was poorly made and makes you wonder why this game wasn't rated for everyone instead of for mature. Someone thought that by making a game which plays and looks like Metal Gear Solid by making the main character look like Snake, throw in some poor graphics and gameplay, would make some quick money. If you want to play a horror/action game buy something else, not this, but if you want to enjoy the worst out of all PS3 games or get a good laugh then this is your perfect game.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vampire Rain: Altered Species
Disappointed
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:1/20/11
Bruinsfan
Location: Midland, MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I first got this game, I thought I was getting a game similar to Resident Evil, but with vampires instead of zombies... I was wrong. The graphics are the worst I've ever seen on a PS3 game, and the dialogue is horrendous. There's no rhythm or real conversations in the game. The "Nightwalkers" were the worst. No one or thing would ever have the kind of conversations the nightwalkers had. I spent $15 on the game used and thought it was a good deal, but I was wrong. If you liked Splinter Cell, you might like this game, but no promises. I honestly don't know if I have the patience to finish the entire game. Perhaps the one good thing is the variety in the missions. There is no repetitive play, it all focuses on several different, realistic missions.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vampire Rain: Altered Species
Typical, typical
Posted on:8/22/08
The Warner (and I don't mean Brothers)
Is there a point to this game? Vampire Rain for the XBOX 360 was wretched. Sickeningly linear, ridiculously difficult. Almost impossible to play. This being ported to the PS3 is just another example of bad 360 games being re-treaded for a new generation of suckers. STAY AWAY AT ALL COSTS!
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vampire Rain: Altered Species
i dont think so
Posted on:7/8/08
pwnzorz
No, i dont think so, i dont care what they added or what they call it, it was a flop on the 360 and i dont see this being any better on the ps3, maybe some thing with the sixaxis and thats about it, but who knows it might surprise us all. Deffinate rental or used purchase.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vampire Rain: Altered Species
RENT BEFORE YOU BUY
Posted on:8/11/08
Infamouz
To start off i will just say that if it is anything like the Xbox 360 version then i feel sorry for anybody who just went out and bought it because, in the Xbox 360 version it was just about impossible to kill a vampire or zombie what ever it is. I killed one vampire the very first one i saw and it was the only time i could every other time it killed me and i was already playing on easy. But then again, if your the type of player that enjoys a sneaking game and pretty much sneaking only then i would recommend this game to you.
Review 8 for Vampire Rain: Altered Species
Well uh....
Posted on:8/17/08
SCHNE1DER
on 360 its a "decent" game. Put it this way: this game is metal gear meets resident evil, except normal guns won't kill the dang vampires. Basically you're screwed if you can't either stab them with the UV knife or sneak around them. It's fun only if you're REALLY patient. Maybe the ps3 version is diffrent, who knows. The 360 version isn't called altered species. But yeah, if you're not sure i'd just rent it first.
Review 9 for Vampire Rain: Altered Species
only if
Posted on:8/2/08
Anonymous
Why can't anybody make a game for the ps3 that you can choose if you want to be the vampire or the human? Like in blood omen you could be kain. Even for the graphics for a ps2 game, that game was sweet. They should also add a little free roam in more games as well. This game would probably be like a 3 or 4 star.
Review 10 for Vampire Rain: Altered Species
this is a really bad game
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/13/12
ramkimgs
Location: blackwood,nj
i play this game for 6 hour and this game suck so bad i still have nightmares since the day i got it ps2 graphics sound sucks and game play is suck plz if u want to try this game rent it or something but dont buy it
psn game tag ramkimgs
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vampire Rain: Altered Species
Looks pretty good
Posted on:7/27/08
surge
I'll definitely give this game a try, looks like it will be loads of fun. I can't wait to play it. The price is also a huge plus for me. I hope it will be one of the best shooters out for the ps3.
Review 12 for Vampire Rain: Altered Species
just beastly game!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/12
hamsterman452
Location: butte montana
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i can see how people can argue with this games but i had no troubles with this gsme and i found this game to be absoulutely awesome!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10