GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Silent Hill Homecoming

Silent Hill: Homecoming is the latest entry into the Silent Hill franchise. The story follows Alex Shepherd, returning to his hometown of Shepherd's Glen to investigate the sudden disappearance of his brother. From Shepherd's Glen to the foggy streets of Silent Hill, Alex must face the darkest of horrors in order to find his brother. Struggling with his own grip on reality, Alex must unravel the mystery behind his nightmares, discover the truth behind his brother's and father's disappearances, and confront the evil that has taken hold of his own flesh and blood.
Average Customer Rating:
8.113
8.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (78 reviews)
10 stars
24
9 stars
13
8 stars
8
7 stars
5
6 stars
0
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
49 out of 6279%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silent Hill Homecoming
Review 1 for Silent Hill Homecoming
Scariest game I've played NO JOKE !
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/12
nobleteamspartan073
Location: TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I'm a new to the silent hill franchise and I got this game yesterday and I must say this is the creepiest game theres some levels that are over the top freaky lol aaand I'm loving this game I dont know why IGN and fans for the franchise are saying this is a terriable game which its not the case at all this game is scary and creepy I have a 32 inch 1080p HD tv following along with my turtle beach headset and even the slightiest sound will make you jump no joke. I love this game if your stuck on a puzzle look it up on youtube I'm currently in the hotel level which remindes me alittle bit of Condemned: Bloodshot. any way I'm now a fan to the most recongnized horror game known to the video game world I've already have Downpour looking forward to that aswell.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Silent Hill Homecoming
True Horror.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/8/13
LilMister
Location: Missouri, MO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Let me start by saying I am not somebody to take my time writing a review about a videogame... but this game deserves it. This was the first silent hill I ever played and I am hooked on the whole franchise because of it. The story, to this day, was the best story to a game that Ive ever played (besides fallout 3). It continues to keep you wandering what might happen next, and the unexpected always arrives. Although I liked Silent Hill HD collection more, in my opinion, I think every horror fan should definitely buy this. Very, very good.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Silent Hill Homecoming
Least favorite Silent Hill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:8/14/13
MJ330
Location: FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
You would think this game would be great like the rest, but I was wrong. I love Silent Hill games but this one has very little good and a lot of bad. The good is it is pretty scary, the monsters look cool, the bad is the combat is ridiculous, no auto save points so if you die you gotta go way back to where you last saved, barely any ammo hardly, there is one monster you face that blocks bullets and hits so that becomes very frustrating. Sad to say but this is the least favorite Silent Hill game.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 4 for Silent Hill Homecoming
Great for those horror survival gamers.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/16/12
belucci73
Location: Miami Fl
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I very much like the series, this game in particular was good, dificult foes, nice puzzles, diferent endings, hidden weapons, scary places, lots of darkness, melee combat, good plot. I would recomend this game to gamers who take their time and look aroud for ammo, hidden things and get inmerse in game. I played through this one 4 times beginning to end each time with its own rewards: new weapons, new ending, new achievements. I won't recomend it to casual gamers or people with no patience to appreciate a great horror survival game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 5 for Silent Hill Homecoming
horrible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:7/13/12
kdhjkahfkh
Location: nunya
much fewer weapons than origins and same graphics sound was not memorable it was very bad.i cant believe i paid 18 bucks for this terd of a game.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Silent Hill Homecoming
Lovely, but not to the first 4's Standards
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/1/12
TickleHarder
Location: Behind You
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love this game. The Combat is much, much better. So are the graphics. However, it's just not as scary as the first four. Yes, this game has his moments that will make you gasp. but it doesn't make you fear to turn to the next corner afraid of what's gonna be on the other side. I give this game an 8 for gameplay, story, and graphics. but when it comes to horror i give it a six. This game is a MUST play for silent hill fans, however. I enjoyed every minute of it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Silent Hill 4: The Room
7 out of 10(2)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 7 for Silent Hill Homecoming
buy this game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/12
spendawg
Location: texas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this was the best one i played there are special weapons and skins you can get once you beat the game that was awesome and if you like playing silent hill you better get this
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Silent Hill Homecoming
Scariest game i played!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/12
beever14
Location: Pasadena, MD
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I picked up this game a couple days ago because i wanted a game that could creep me out yet keep me interested. I'm familiar with the Silent Hill story but Ive only got my hands on silent hill 2 and 3 until now. I will say this game is a perfect addition to the series although not made by the same developer (doesn't really matter) . Silent Hill is just a scary and creepy as ever. There are newer monsters as long as some of the classic monsters; nurses,smogs,creepers, and pyramid head makes a cameo appearance. The game play is smooth and the graphics are great. The environments themselves can creep you out... The game transitions from a normal world to the dark world the same way it does in the Silent Hill movie (paint peels off walls, lights fall). I will say this game is a little difficult. Combat is hard especially against certain creatures along with the fact that you have to find health kits and such which there isn't many of. The story where im at so far has been really good and it makes you want to keep playing until you figure out the next clue or solve the next puzzle. But sometimes it gets so creepy you just wanna stop playing yet you cant.
I recommend this game to any fans of the series or anybody that likes suspense and like to get scared.
 
My Product Recommendations
Silent Hill 2: Restless Dreams - Used
9 out of 10(2)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Silent Hill Homecoming
don't waste you're money....
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/14/12
Nicole1
I have been a silent hill fan since the first one came out but this installment is by far the worst. What annoys me is that you get at most 2 health drinks or 1 serum(if you can find it)and maybe 2 packs of pistol or shotgun ammo a level.this is extremely frustrating (especially the Scarlet boss) when you have a little more than half health, 5 pistol rounds and no health drinks and this giant lumbering doll comes at you with swing attacks that can be very hard to dodge.Not to mention you have to defeat her TWICE with no health boost. Also dodging is difficult and sometimes very hard to control.The graphics and sound are great but the monsters are way too hard to defeat. It would be nice if you were given more health boosts or ammo but it falls extremely short every level. In short,don't waste you're money on this. This definatly was only a game with good looks and not gameplay.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Silent Hill Homecoming
Good Game!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/11
Moondo75
Location: TN
This game really has a scary atmosphere to it. It is a change in combat and camera view from the previous installments but that doesnt matter to me much. This game is pretty easy to beat, alot of fun, and scary (though the games scariest level in my opinion is the first level). I beat the game three full times, and after doing that, i was about sick of the game and had had enough of it, which is why i didnt make lasting appeal a 10.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Silent Hill Homecoming
Great game.... But also really creepy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/11
Daniboi
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The beginning of the game was really creepy to a point where u just wana turn off ur xbox... Its really amusing and fun to play but when ur playing it u gotta be ready for some creepy stuff in the corners and some creepy sound effects.. u wana get really scared keep ur volume up the whole game and sit in the dark with ur door closed at nighttime and then right a review because all of u that say its not scary most likely have all ur lights on doors open blinds closed hallway light on and now a single dark space in ur room...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Silent Hill Homecoming
amazing
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:8/27/11
dogs1234
Location: New Mexico,NM
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i must addmitt i was skeptical about this game, then i found a used copy at gamestop, boy was gamespot off about this game, i enjoyed every bit of this game, sure graphics aren't suppier to a pc, but i think it isn't all about the graphics, i think its about how you enjoy the game, and take it for what it is made of, instead of going for graphics or errors in the game, take the game for what its worth and don't judge a book by its cover, you have to decided for yourself if you like it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 13 for Silent Hill Homecoming
So far? GOOD!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/31/11
Lavos99z
Location: Chapmanville
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It's my first Silent Hill game, and I really do like it! I don't know if I'll get the rest because I don't really play my PS2 anymore, but this game is good enough I suppose. I enjoy it just as much as I did Resident Evil 4 and 5! So far I've only just gotten past the elevator in the hotel of Silent Hill, and it's been pretty confusing, but fun. I had to do lots of backtracking, which is REALLY annoying. I can deal with it though, but if you're an impatient little kid trying to grow up to fast, please just stick to Mario games or something. There's already enough of them on Halo and all of those multiplayer shooters. Anyway, back to the good stuff. I like the sound and graphics, and the darkness of the game makes things very creepy. You never know what'll pop out of the shadows...The gameplay is a little frustrating because I've had trouble navigating and finding health (I've gotten my butt kicked by those things that shoot out smoke several times) but it isn't anything too bad. Overall, this was worth 20 dollars for sure! I'm glad I got it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Silent Hill Homecoming
Favorite silent hill game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/11
blah206
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This was without a doubt my favorite silent hill game! The best story line of all the games, in my opinion. amazing fighting too! I recomend it, if you like horror games, action games, or of course, silent hill!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Silent Hill Homecoming
Scariest I've seen in years
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/11
nicoissora
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I'm a big time Silent Hill fan, and even though this isn't from the Japanese branch of Konami, I'd say it's worth the play. I mean, how can you not be scared when you shove your arm into a hole in the hole to get a Robbie the Rabbit plush for you little brother? The death scenes vary, but man, are they scary! I don't want to spoil anything but this game, along with the other Silent Hills, is f*cked up. Very awesome game for fans of Resident Evil and Dead Space noobs.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Silent Hill Homecoming
Well well well
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/11
RandomOne
Location: New york, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Silent hill is scary and this one is creepy but not too scary but you will get nightmare and this game is fun but not as much as the original silent hill from japan this silent hill is the american version but its ok
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Silent Hill Homecoming
It's Silent Hill!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/8/11
Julie27
Location: Philadelphia, PA
I found this to be a GREAT addition to the Silent Hill series, the main character Alex isn't like the typical Silent Hill protagonists. In my opinion he's pretty badass! (As a lady I was very happy with this main character! :3) The storyline was great, and definitely added it's twists and turns! The gameplay is good, and you'll be surprised and scared quite a few times!
That being said, if you want this SH to be exactly like the first one, you will be disappointed, (which that isn't the point of continuing a game series to be honest...) but this is a fantastic addition to the Silent Hill family, and DON'T listen to the people hating this game!
If you are a Silent Hill fan you will enjoy this game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Silent Hill Homecoming
hated it. bad story. worse weapons and gameplay.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/23/11
armyof1996
Location: new hampshire, nh
this game is only worth the thousand or so gamer score u get for playing though it. horrible game, absolutely horrible. u want good survival horror play older games or dead space.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Silent Hill Homecoming
Homecoming, the american Silent Hill
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/25/11
xHappyFacesx
Location: Coral Springs, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
As much fun as Homecoming is, It isn't what i was expecting from a Silent Hill game. This sequel was devolved by the american branch of Konami, which in my opinion is okay, but it isn't what hardcore fans of the Silent Hill series want. SI:HC is scary... but not Silent Hill scary. This game is great for introducing more of the western group of gamers to the Silent Hill franchise without weirding them out with the overpowering Japanese horror show images. Its good... Not great... oh and almost no Pyramid Head, oh wait, Bogyman... thats just stupid...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Silent Hill Homecoming
Not like the old ones
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:1/14/11
lucas121
Location: usa
Silent Hill: homecoming is an okay game, but it will never be as good as silent hill 2,3,or 4. Konami took scare to a whole new level in previous silent hills. If the ever want silent hill to be like it used to they need to put incredibly weird and scary things into it. They need to put things that would make their family never talk to them again and thats what Konami did.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>