GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Need for Speed Undercover

You never thought it would turn out like this - an all-out chase where you're the hunted. And the hunter. Nowyou must get behind the wheel and risk everything to infiltrate a ruthless international crime syndicate andtake them down. The man you're after is a maniac behind the wheel, and he's driving like his life depends onescape, which maybe it does. He's the one with all the answers you need, you will track him down. Needlessto say, that fleet of police cruisers in your rearview mirror won't make things any easier. It will take all of yourexperience - and every ounce of skill - to outrun the law, take down the enemy, and unlock the truth that putsan end to this chase once and for all.
Average Customer Rating:
7.042
7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
10 stars
9
9 stars
1
8 stars
1
7 stars
5
6 stars
1
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
1
15 out of 2462%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Need for Speed Undercover
Review 1 for Need for Speed Undercover
Nothing like all the others
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/08
skyline34
So this NFS game outta all the others that have started from Underground to now Undercover have been pretty good. The best one ever is always going to be Most Wanted. It had a heads up on Undergound 2 with the free roam and all the minorstones to complete in the game. This one I think is a rip off... mainly for the PS2. It felt too much like Pro Street and Carbon all over again. Pro Street with the races not being a challenge and Carbon cause when you win a race and go back you can't get the same amount of money again from the race so you end up having to sell your cars to afford upgrades or new ones. It's always nice to go back and win the same amount of money again to get new things. The tracks, cops, and even other racers in the game were too easy even on hard. The traffic was thin and easy to move in and out of and to lose cops in too fast. All and all I dont think I will be buying anymore NFS, I'll be renting them to try them out.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Need for Speed Undercover
Better than Pro Street
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/09
jbourne
Need For Speed Undercover is a very solid entry into the NFS series. It was very fun to play this game after the very disappointing Pro Street which caught everyone off guard with the closed course competitions. This game features the free roam in a massive city which is what made NFSU2 and NFS Most Wanted fun to play. The story in career mode is certainly one that can be fun to get into. There are a few things though that could have been better. The city looks very cool and it is very detailed but if you've ever played Most Wanted you will notice that the street layout is a mirror image of Palmont City (featured city in NFS Most Wanted). Another pretty noticeable problem is that when free roaming buildings and vehicles will pop up right in plain sight which means the game has some problems with the speed at which the graphics are processed. The cars selection is cool and the cars seem much more affordable than other NFS games but the PS2 version seems to be missing some of the cars in the PS3 and XBOX 360 versions of the game such as the NISSAN GTR the BMW M6 and the Mitsubushi EVO X. Those could have easily been put into the game but it seems as though lately PS2 owners have been getting the short end of the stick as far as features and graphics and content compared to other consoles. The thing that is most fun though is the cop chases. They are much more challenging than Most Wanted or Carbon. The level One cops in this game are hard to shake. This is a very fun game and I think anyone who liked Most Wanted or Carbon will enjoy this game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Need for Speed Undercover
Not what I expeccted
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:2/19/10
congalala
I was so obsessed with getting this game after playing "NFS Most Wanted". When I started playing it, I was very disapointed. The open world is pretty much the same as "most wanted", if you have played "Most Wanted" and are familiar with it's map then you will see the similarity, only in undercover it seems as though there is'nt as much secret places you can find, or secret jumps, actually the map seems a little smaller. The story is very short, I beat it within 4 days only playing an hour or 2 each day. The persuits seem a lot easier, even in heat 5, I can still get away with all my tires popped. The cops seem dumber. When I'm free-roaming I am always speeding, and some of them just whiz on by, going a hundred miles per hour, hitting civilians. Sometimes in persuits they turn around and go the opposit way I am going. The car customization is way better, but thats really the only good thing about this game. If your looking into this game I would strongly recomend you buy Need For Speed Most Wanted, if you don't have it already.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Need for Speed Undercover
Best nfs game ever!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/08
bILLY bOB
The next installment of the nfs series... probably the best. The controls on this game are much better than in the previous nfs games. Also the graphics are much better. The storyline of this one is interesting but fun. The past few nfs games have all been fun but they have been missing something important. Cops. This game brings back the cops which i think makes the game a lot more fun. The cops make the game for me. If you liked nfs underground for the car customization part of it then don't get this. The car customization is lame but there is still a good choice of vehicles. The nos in this game is better than in the previous titles and there is more of it so you get more than 5 seconds of speed boost. Overall i give this game a 9/10 and highly recommend it if you like any of the earlier nfs games.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Need for Speed Undercover
i really like this one
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/10
hondaboy
Location: jackson,ms
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i really like this need for speed,yeah the story mode is a little short,but when u beat the game u can get this car called a konessig ccx,that is awesome!!!,it is sooo fast,i got this game when it came out,and i still think it is one of my favorite need 4 speeds!!,game also has cool music,and insane police chases!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Need for Speed Undercover
grows on you
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/08
btwgamer
I admit, when i first saw the graphics i was disappointed. But the more i played the game the more fun it got. If you're the type that likes a challenge this is a good game. But if you like presentation don't bother getting it. It does seem endless halfway through the game because the variety of races get old. When you have played every race multiple times, it gets old and you may have to take a break from it. But if you stick to it even through the disappointment of the graphics, you will get addicted. Plus if you're not sure you want to buy it, go ahead and get it to see if you like it. If you don't like it just turn it back in for some store credit so you don't get a complete waste. Plus, store credit comes in handy right before christmas time. Oh yeah, it is always sunny it is never rainy, night, cloudy, or foggy and the streets are shiny. That might add to the graphics.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 7 for Need for Speed Undercover
BEST NFS EVER!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/10
abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxy
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Okay guys I play this with my friend It is one of the coolest games ever!
But its so hard but eh don't we all need a challenge. My favorite parts are the heart throbbing chases and the good car customizations.
In all I'd say a good choice but maybe a little expensive but its gonna' come down soon.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Need for Speed Undercover
DADGUM!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/16/11
DarknightGAMER
Location: Bennetsville, SC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a great game. I mean the selection of cars is better than the other NFS's and the free customizations in the game are awsome, you can change and reshape everthing to your liking. Although the maps are closley related to NFS Most Wanted its better than before. The only cons of the game is that the police chases are easier than most wanted and the races are easier, but i would recommend it to anyone and everyone.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Need for Speed Undercover
Expecting more, but not a bad game
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/08
epr1977
I bought this game about two weeks ago, the reason why I bought it was because on the trailers/videos of the game I could see the Nissan 370Z and the Nissan GT-R 2009. But ohh big dissappointment when I finished the game, I could never find those cars (probably on the challenge series or with some kind of code/trick).....I have played some of the latest NFS series (Undergroud 1&2, Most Wanted & Carbon).....The history is kinda boring (actually i've never paid attention to the videos)..... The challenge is minimal, I just had to repeat one race (I don't consider my self a good player, just average); and I was never caught by the police. The quality of the graphics were not 'amazing', but decent (even for PS2). I still think that in general NFS-Most Wanted is still a way better game.I don't remember any of the songs of the game.........But in a good side, they have a few nice muscle cars that we could find on Carbon, like the Camaro SS, Challenger, Cuda, Shelby; Also the most fun part that I had with this game was to actually have a few Police cars (Porche / Lambo.. and another that I don't remember.....)and chase the 'bad guys'....but the fun ends with the lack of challenge.....
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 10 for Need for Speed Undercover
Pretty Good, But not what I was expecting.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/4/09
Arrowhead0006
When I got this game, I was excited about the fact NFS had decided to put a ton of new cars in Undercover, (Audi R8, Buggati Veyron, Corvette Stingray, etc.) But unfortunately, when I got it, it seems that the list of cars was in fact, cut short. Now I have Carbon, (and thank God I only decided to RENT Need for Speed ProStreet!) This felt like Carbon, except new map, actally LESS Cars, more challenging cop chases, and it is daytime. EA did decide to toss in a couple cars we had not yet seen, (Lamborghini Murcielago LP-640, Koensigg CCX, Pagani Zonda F,) Graphics are alright, compared to a lot of other games I have. Overall, thie is a good game, with a confusing storyline. But it feels like sorta a repeat from Carbon. If you have a different gaming system, I would sugest getting it for that.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 11 for Need for Speed Undercover
Need for Speed Undefcover
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/17/09
rocky100
Hi i have to say the truth this game is ok but i have to say it has poor graphics if you compare it to xbox 360 and ps3 and wii but it has a preatty large variation on cars and good customizing but the graphics arent really good if your going to buy this games is not a really good choice to buy it i certantley would not recomend this game this is what i think. Everything else in this game is good the tracks the cars and the challenges are all preatty good. that was really what i liked about this games but noting else. another thing was like in the other game you can make your cars like you like them to be on quickplay on this game you cant make any cars on quickplay i say is not a good game is not really worth of buying this is all i have to say about this game. This is what i think.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Need for Speed Undercover
Great title, but fell well short.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/25/08
Blazedawg87
When i first heard there was a new NFS game i just had to buy it. I thought this would be the best one to date, BUT it fell well short. The number one reason is the graphics. They are absolutely horrible. If the designers would have paid as much attention to the cars and environment as they did the roads the game would be much higher. If you like NFS carbon you may want to rent this game just to give it a shot but do not buy before you try. Controls are very solid and much more sensitive and realistic than those of previous titles. At higher speeds it takes only a slight touch of the stick to send the car into a wall or way off course. The graphics in NFS Pro Street look beyond next generation compared to this game. Im sorry NFS but you lost a very loyal customer, maybe next time.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 13 for Need for Speed Undercover
sick
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/08
fufu
This is the best game ever for the ps2. I love racing games and the nfs games and loved this one the most. It is kinda like most wanted but this time your taking the bad guys down and i guess its like the fast and the furious movies the first to the most. Over all love the game but a little easy but that does not stop it from being a good game. The only thing i don't like about it is the cops will come after you to fast and with so many cars to, but i love the little movies inside the story line. I play it every day. The first few levels are really easy but it gets better. I love how they are bringing real people into the game but the story line even if it is good its kinda cheesy at times. But all on all its a sick game and i suggest every one who loves racing games this one.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 14 for Need for Speed Undercover
race
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/11
alhareth2
Location: michgan mi
This game is perfect for: party gamers
you buy cars you race alot you take down cops and other racers
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Need for Speed Undercover
Coolest game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/17/13
Bdawg444
Location: Idaho falls Idaho
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
On mine I love the cars and I even love getting chased by the cops cause I am known as the cop buster cause no cop can get past me without getting well busted. I have to pay $4,000,000 dollars to the state on the game. Ya know I even have a lot of cars
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 16 for Need for Speed Undercover
Best game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/16/13
Bdawg444
Location: Idaho falls Idaho
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Best game I have ever played from need for speed on mine I have a 1967 gt500 dodge challenger and Porsche 9/11 and the are amazing and I am known as the cop buster cause I need to pay over 4,000,000 dollars to the state
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Need for Speed Undercover
Eh....
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/13
TheAwesomeGamer
Location: Ohio, OH
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I really enjoyed this game a few years ago but when I got it this year, it was worse than I had anticipated. Its probably because I am used to the Cod graphics now a days.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 18 for Need for Speed Undercover
BEST GAME FOR PS2 EVER!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/25/11
CINTREDS10
Location: OHIO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
NEED FOR SPEED WAS ALREADY AWSOME, THEY DIDNT EVEN HAVE TO MAKE A NEW ONE. HOW BLACKBOX MADE THIS GAME WAS AMAZING.CUSTOMATIONS ON THE CARS WERE GOOD, MUSIC AND GRAPHICS WERE ALSO GREAT.I WOULD RECOMEND THIS GAME TO ANYONE LOOKING FOR A REALY GOOD RACING AND ACTION GAME. THE OPTION THAT YOU CAN CALL THE COPS ON YOURSELF ISNT VERY REALISTIC BECAUSE WHAT CRIMINAL WOULD DO THAT, BUT THE UP SIDE ABOUT IT IS YOU DONT HAVE TO GO LOOKING FOR COPS AND HAVE TO WAIT FOREVER. GREAT GAME. I WOULD TOTALY RECOMEND IT.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Need for Speed Undercover
...Awesome?
Posted on:10/21/08
Cal81985
I give kudos to EA for branching out and trying something different with their Need for Speed franchise, but it's getting a bit old now. Need for Speed has been going downhill little by little since NFSU2, which is what I consider the most fun I've ever had playing a racing game. Most Wanted and Carbon were okay and definitely on par with with the original Underground, but how many times can you be chased by the cops before it just gets boring? I really hope they pick up the slack with this one and innovate a bit to make it a truly original experience, unlike the rehashed storylines from Most Wanted and Carbon.
Review 20 for Need for Speed Undercover
Can't Wait
Posted on:9/15/08
Brian K. Martin
I'm the biggest fan of Need For Speed games EVER. I've played and beat multiple times every game they have ever made, and always can't wait till the next one comes out. Need For Speed "Undercover" looks as though it will be a lot like "Most Wanted" and MORE, which I have always said they should come out with a "Most Wanted 2". I haven't played a demo, but would love to play/test demos. Can't wait.
1 2 next>>