GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

SOCOM: Confrontation - Game Only

Following its success as the number one online PlayStation®2 franchise, SOCOM: U.S. Navy SEALs breaches onto the PLAYSTATION®3 (PS3) computer entertainment system this fall with SOCOM: U.S. Navy SEALs Confrontation. This highly anticipated title promises to deliver the ultimate next-generation online combat experience, featuring intense, modern combat action.
Average Customer Rating:
6.754
6.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (81 reviews)
10 stars
24
9 stars
10
8 stars
7
7 stars
3
6 stars
4
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
15
46 out of 6967%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SOCOM: Confrontation - Game Only
Review 1 for SOCOM: Confrontation - Game Only
TRUE SOCOM FAN ONLY
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/19/11
Jerms
Location: Houston,Tx
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I was a little disappointed in Socom Confrontation.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Spread the Word: Torabytt
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SOCOM: Confrontation - Game Only
This game is terrible
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/10
Wiz Khalifa
I'm usually not one to hate any game, but I definatley hate this game. I don't even know where to begin on the flaws.. For starters, the controls are terrible. I mean pressing R3 to reload? WTH?! Honestly if your going to make a good game at least use controls gamers will be familiar with. Next, it takes no skill to play this game. I have played 5 full games of socom, and already have a 5:2 kill ratio. next you can't even aim down the sight on a weapon. you have to press up on the directional pad and it zooms in on your guy.. But the last 2 things that tic me off the most are : 1. No story mode 2. In order to talk to people you have to press L2 down on your controller, as if your talking through a walkie talkie or some kind of CB radio. I felt like a trucker talking in this game. This game is a complete waste of time, and even if you can find somewhere for 50 cents, I wouldn't buy this game. I would probably pay someone to take this game off my hands... So long story short, this game is garbage.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SOCOM: Confrontation - Game Only
REAL REVIEW
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/08
The chili guy
I'm new to the socom Franchise, I played the beta which was a terrible experience..But i did read the first reviews with all the bugs/opening weekend server issues. I played the game all day sunday and was EXTREMELY IMPRESSED. This game is a solid online Multiplayer. I would recommend this game to all. Minus the server issues this is a GREAT online game. If you're going to be playing with a group of friends i highly recommend this game. 9/10 I give it (missing 1 point for the server issues). The graphics and sound are amazing. There are a ton of weapons. The maps on the game are big. You could easily get lost the first time you play this game, but you will get around and learn the new maps. Overall i do recommend buying this game. There are a lot of games coming out over the next few months, so it's tough to pick and choose. Just forget about the bad reviews you read about this game (most are to due with opening weekend server issues.) and pick up this game. You won't regret it. Plus it's only **$ GET IT.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for SOCOM: Confrontation - Game Only
Team Work Required
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/10
TXShooter
Location: Dallas, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
only skill and teamwork wins, sometimes luck. alot of people dont like the game cause its slow paced tactical and more real than a arcade shooter like Call of duty
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
MAG
8.3 out of 10(563)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SOCOM: Confrontation - Game Only
UNLESS YOU NEED A HEADSET DON"T WASTE YOUR MONEY
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:10/16/08
Gunther45
No Trophy Support at Release - few weeks untill patch when better games will be out Install was a pain and very long - first you run an installer that takes a long time and really doesn't give you any progress until it actually installs which is some time later,after that you can start the game only to find that there is another update, after that installs. you can play the game except your game save is corrupted even though you never got to play a single game. Delete game save and then start again. It is up and running good it works after over 1/2 hour. Took a while to get into a server , game play was OK not great. Some have said they didn't have the calendar feature , I don't know as I never tried to use it. Basically it seams they rushed this out to get a jump on Resistance 2 and the new COD. The head set seems nice and should work 100% unlock some other BT headsets with the PS3 but unless you need a headset , stay away from this one.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 6 for SOCOM: Confrontation - Game Only
Very Underrated by Players
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/08
RedRunner
I was very skeptical about getting this game after seeing all the negative comments of people, but i can honestly say that it's one very great game. It Plays just enough like old Socom, but has enough new things that make people say, "wow this is really cool", or " I'm glad they have this now". The default controls are a little poor at first, but every control can be customized the way you want it, so its no big problem . The graphics, animations, and sound effects are SPOT on. Everything is very beautiful the way it's laid out. The maps are very memorable, and people will remember this game for the awesome maps. So far, games have been a little laggy, stats don't really record yet, and a lot of the community featured aren't up and running. Even with those things disabled, the game is addicting as hell. I think the best choice is to wait a week or two while the bugs are steamrolled out. Then enjoy one of the best online games in years!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for SOCOM: Confrontation - Game Only
Best Strategy Game Out There!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/11
EliteSkills
Location: Arizona
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have seen so many bad reviews on this game, but I think it's because people do not know how to play it. Socom: Confrontation is a TEAM game, you can't just go run and start killing people like in Call of Duty. Anyways. This game is a 10/10 in maps, I totally love ALL the maps! Plus you can get the cold front add on for like $10. Graphics is a 10/10, The details in this game is amazing! Sound is a 10/10, You can hear guns in the background and other awesome stuff! All in all this game is a PERFECT 10/10! Ok so there's no story mode, but comon who plays that anyway! Ok maybe for 2 days but then the rest of time owning it, you play online... GET THIS GAME!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SocomBeatsCODandBF
Manhatton, NY
 
Please wait while more information about SocomBeatsCODandBF is loaded.
Additional information about SocomBeatsCODandBF could not be loaded.
MY OPINION BEST PS3 SHOOTER OF ALL TIME
Posted 8/19/11
This aint a Competition... Call of Duty wouldnt beat this game even if they were to combine Battlefield with it. SOCOM has always been the original SHOOTER Game for PS, so why would call of duty beat this?! Call of Duty doesnt even make snow or wind look real. The Snow in Blizzard is so real and when you run you actually lose breath... THATS Real! Call of Duty is only good if your bored and Battlefield is good for using vehicles
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for SOCOM: Confrontation - Game Only
Installation Problem
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/08
GUNMAN62/wolfgotcha
My story is pretty much the same as the others. I played Socom: Combined Assault, which was a pretty solid game, it had a offline story mode, and great online play. Anyway, I installed the game, which took a ridiculous long 30 minutes. After I installed a game i had to install a big update which took about 10 minutes. After all that waiting I finally got to start the game but when I tried to login it said that my data had somehow got corrupted, and that I had to delete the data and install again. When I tried to install the the game again, it didn't do anything, I waited an hour and still nothing. I think this somehow has to do with pre-ordering the game, because all of my friends that had went out and bought the game at retail had no problems with the game, but all my other friends that had pre-ordered had the same problem as me. The review scale above is not actually what I think of the game, it's just that I couldn't play the game so I couldn't properly rate it. I'll write a proper review when I buy the game again, hopefully then it won't be as bad.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 9 for SOCOM: Confrontation - Game Only
Socom is a great online game w/ no story mode
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/09
KPPX-BTTR
Socom confrontation is a game i originally rented because i couldn't find any other one. At first i was highly disappointed by the fact that they had no story line. But once i got into the game i was very impressed and literally couldn't stop playing it. The only reason that i gave this game a 10 is because to someone like me i find story mode a equally as important part. This game was VERY impressive when it comes to interactions online everyone has a microphone and how you communicate is something that u hardly ever see. People actually communicate in ways to help you beat the other team and ways that help everyone on your team. As i said in the beginning originally i rented it well i now bought the game mainly because it had a low price for such a excellent game. I would recommend getting this game 1 for its cost and 2 because its a great online play. IF YOU DONT BELIEVE ME RENT IT FIRST or trust me and just buy it
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for SOCOM: Confrontation - Game Only
best TPS out there
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/08
Socom vet
This game has a very unique game play unlike other third person shooters out there. The game had issues at the launch date but the 1.30 upcoming patch is coming very soon. There is almost no more lag issues because of patches that have been downloaded. Socom is an online only game with no storyline but the online is pretty solid. Since its tactical, you need to think ahead as you only get one life per round. The community is very good because of the fact that people call out enemy locations almost always. The sounds, controls, and graphics are pretty good. Sound issues are virtually gone and lag issues are 90% gone. I would recommend this game because its an all around great game. At times there are some issues in the game such as lag, but that shouldn't prevent you from purchasing this game.Overall, the sound quality, graphics, controls, game play, and the online community are good. Possibly rent the game after the patch 1.30 comes out in roughly a week to make a judgment on it. It does not bring back that feeling of classic Socom 2, but it is still addicting.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for SOCOM: Confrontation - Game Only
GREAT GAME overall !!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/08
DonEdHardy2009
I played the beta version of SOCOM confrontation the day it was released and was not very surprised. It was an ok online shooter but i saw quite a few problems. My cousin bought the game for me and i was like OMG what a waste of money but after i installed the game on my system and got the update installed i began playing this game. IT BLEW MY MIND! The controls are great and the graphics are bad ass. I've been a fan since the old games but this one DEFINITELY takes the cake. I love the online 16v16 games especially with no respawn. I would definitely recommend this game to any fan of a shooting game. Its a great online experience with the best clan support in any game i've played thus far. The fact that u get specific weapons depending on what region you make your clan from and the rank up system all make for a great game. Even though there are a few server issues its a great game overall 8.5/10.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for SOCOM: Confrontation - Game Only
Disappointing
Posted on:10/6/08
sealsavage
As an avid socom player i have to say my views of this game are disappointing. I loved socom 1, 2, and even 3 but i guess what they say about after so many sequels a game or movie finally hits its end. I would have to say that i miss the so-so graphics of the former socoms and the easiness of gameplay. The controls on this socom are ridiculously set no matter what layout you choose. They tried to put too much content into the game and didn't stick to the old simplicity of the other socoms. Slant six has butchered the socom franchise in my opinion and zipper has made a mistake not developing it. Don't get me wrong the new socom is decent but don't expect something similar to former socoms or something even better. The bugs dont bother me but the gameplay just isn't the same so i guess that's what disgusted me the most. Feel free to judge it for yourself this is just my personal opinion.
Review 13 for SOCOM: Confrontation - Game Only
LAME!!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/17/13
SlayerOfEvil
Location: Earth, Milky Way
I played this game way back when and loved it. When I found it at GameStop for $1.99 I bought it without hesitation. But nobody plays now, and that sux.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 14 for SOCOM: Confrontation - Game Only
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/20/08
AceJock
This is one of the best SOCOM games I have played; very awesome. Online cannot come close to competing with CoD 4 but still wow it is amazing! The teamwork part is just amazing because you require teamwork to make amazing flanks. And then the reward is feeling good because you made that 1 in a million shot. Night vision can come in very handy if you are trying to hunt for someone in the dark. What sucks is you can't run with it; that's a very bad thing. I like the weapons a lot because there are so many. A lot of weapons, you can dominate with which is awesome. There is everything from machine guns to sniper rifles. You can play how you want and your teammates will usually tell you enemy positions via the headset. That is another cool feature, the cross-com within the team. Wow, if i started counting the amazingness of this game one by one I could make a list from here to China.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for SOCOM: Confrontation - Game Only
Much Better Than What People Say
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/6/09
Playstation Steve
I asked some people about this game, and they told me not to get it. I'm glad I didn't listen to them. I know that in the beginning, this game had a lot of problems, but they seem to have been fixed now. I have never run into any lagging, bugs or anything of that nature. The game is great. First, it's really fun to customize your character and then go into battle. When you first start out, the controls are very hard to learn, but after practicing in respawn games for awhile it gets easier to maneuver(yes, this game requires a lot of skill). Once in battle, it takes teamwork to win, you can't win by yourself (and most of the people have mics, so matches can get very competitive. The graphics are gorgeous, especially the level designs. There are only seven, but they’re very large and incredibly addicting to play on. And one of the best parts is the sound. I don't have surround sound but it still sounds incredibly realistic and amazing. There is also deep clan support and a tournament system. Sure, I wish there was s story mode, but it's not a full game anyway. It's just to hold you over until SOCOM 4 comes out I guess. So if you’re looking for an incredibly fun online game but don't feel like paying for a full game, SOCOM: Confrontation is the game for you.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
lawrencesuperhero
Ks
 
Please wait while more information about lawrencesuperhero is loaded.
Additional information about lawrencesuperhero could not be loaded.
NO GO
Posted 1/22/14
There is no servers for this game anymore so its not worth anything.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for SOCOM: Confrontation - Game Only
This game is good but not that great.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/15/13
meloboy2001
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is good but not great. I would recommend this game to a friend. Also it is not something you would want to play that much.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 17 for SOCOM: Confrontation - Game Only
Had mixed feelings about it...not anymore
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/16/12
BizerkeauxBLAZE
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have always been a fan of Socom, but I had mixed feelings about this game since it was online only, so I skipped this one to get Socom 4 and I love it, but 2 weeks ago I bought this one and kicked Socom 4 to the curb since then
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SOCOM: Confrontation - Game Only
under rated way under rated
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/28/10
hypeman
Location: milford,ct
i feel people do not give this game a far chance they probably pick it up die every round and bring it back u have to get used to the game to be good you will die a lot but once you get the hang of things the games amazing i've been playing since socom 1 and its been my fav series since because everytime you play its always a hard team work is a must if u plan on run and gunning doing ur own thing u will die this isn't mw2 where u can take out a whole team with 1 person so with all that being said give the game a chance at least 20 hours then u can say what ever u want about the game please give it a chance the games 12.99 and map pack with snow level have came out and most bugs have been fixed
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
SOCOM II: U.S. Navy Seals
8.9 out of 10(8)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SOCOM: Confrontation - Game Only
Server Issues
Posted on:10/8/08
Anonymous
Some people like it, some people hate it, but the big deciding factor is the server issues. The server issues are something that I have been frustrated with. Granted, some people are pointing out that you always have this problem in every beta, but come on, this is not Socom 1, it's Socom 5 or 6. Can't anyone leverage previous design solutions for bandwidth and servers? The problem isn't just lag for example, it's when there is lag and someone has designed a pop-up notification which results in this pop-up notification coming up every 1-2 minutes during a game. It just seems silly to me that they have not thought out what could result from some of the patches. I will buy it and hope to play it, but still keeping my fingers crossed. Things have been fixed quickly, but the results have been up and down with one fix making it better and the next making it a bit worse.
Review 20 for SOCOM: Confrontation - Game Only
Best Shooting Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/17/11
Shiiesty
Location: Rhode Island
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It's not for everyone. Is a great game if you give it a chance. Its way diffrent from Battlefield ,COD, MAG ,Socom4 ( Socom4 isn't like the old Socoms )
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>