GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products

Product Reviews

Damnation

For more than 20 years, the Coalition and the Nationalists fought their bloody war. With war comes technology, and it developed at an astonishing pace. The two armies fought each other with ever more powerful weapons, yet neither side gained the advantage. Ultimately, the two sides ran out of funds, willpower, and men. As the armies collapsed leaving the country in anarchy, a new power rose. Sweeping down on the exhausted country, PSI's forces obliterated the remaining armies and began its conquest of the East. Now, the Western territories, mostly unaffected by the civil war, find themselves suddenly defenseless against a new and quickly growing east coast power.
Average Customer Rating:
3.882
3.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
0
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
5
4 out of 1724%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Damnation
Review 1 for Damnation
Cool idea for a third person shooter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/13
nightkid921
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This third person shooter mixed with an action platformer is a new take on this type of game. It can be hard to control at sometimes but is an alright game.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 2 for Damnation
Great game if your into Steam Punk!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/17/11
JackiesGirl
Location: Lake Co. California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Great game if you love Steam Punk don't list to the murderous children that only like PVP content games.
If you like the original Tomb Raider then you will love Damnation, there is a lot of "easy" puzzle type of playing to figure out so that you can advance through each level. We say it like Tomb Raider in a since that you must climb, jump, back flip, swing, jump through windows, climb ladders, climb poles, duck & dodge you way up down & all around to get through each zone. Find hidden secretes, & you do all this in a Steam Punk world. there is lots of gun fights and steam solders out to get you.
Ok now for the bad new, the game graphics us not cutting edge, the gun fighting is a bit tough being the the steam powered solders can kill you in just a few shots and it takes a clip from you to take just one down. The only "One Shot Kill" weapons you have is the Steam Sniper Rifle, and the Rail Road Spike Steam Bolt gun. Unfortunately ammo for these weapons are far & few between so use them wisely.
Co-Op Is a blast my husband & I play together on X-Box live and its true CO-OP Campaign mode. Its Kind of like army of two where you have to help each other out and flank your enemies. always good to have someone draw the attention as the other sneaks behind and catch the Steam solders in a killing box cross fire.
In conclusion; The game play is ok, the graphics are a bit old tech, story is fun, co-op is lots of fun, its a "True Steam Punk Genre" gun play is a bit rough, Lots of climbing, jumping and puzzles to make it intriguing.
~cheers~
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Damnation
Not worth the cash
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:8/10/09
Junior Chico
It just isn't so many other games. The entire thing feels rushed. Outside the storyline/history (which is very cool) the game fails at every stage. Forget the bugs and glitches (and they are plenty). The battle is so disconnected from any story, you just don't care. The motorcycle action makes no sense at all. and viewing enemies around you becomes impossible. (fortunately you have a girl on the back who can't shoot straight) The spirit sight (seeing enemies through walls) is cool but there's even a 'loading' pause before that takes effect. reloading any weapon is a pain, Awful voicework throughout, and if you're looking for "Scaling expansive environments with some parkor or urban exploring" just get prince of persia or prototype (so so) or infamous (PS3) Not worth a purchase.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Damnation
Its Okay
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/28/09
Gamesbynature
An western style steam punk shooter combined with a little "tomb raider style" acrobatics and wall crawling. Not to sure what I expected, but, this game fell kinda short for me. The graphics are not all that great. The game-play is clunky and slow. There is no auto-aiming, some people may like that for the challenge, but the way its set-up makes it harder than it should be. When you are losing health the screen gets progressively blurry making it hard to continuing fighting even in cover. Oh and the cover system, not all that great. Gears of War, Mass Effect and Army of Two have in my opinion great cover systems, but Damnation has a very poor one. I was still getting hit standing (or crouching) behind a column or wall. Which is frustrating during a fire fight. Its also funny because wasn't this a mod of the Unreal engine? You would think it may have retained some essence of Gears, it doesn't at all.The story however is fairly decent not award winning, but, compelling. I would say at best this game is a renter or a buy used and return for credit when done.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 5 for Damnation
Gears + Prince of Persia + Epic Fail = Damnation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/09
Janquin
This game looks like what it tried to do was mix the action style shooting from gears of war with the jumping and finesse from prince of persia, but when they put the two together they got a steamy pile of a waste of $**. To start, the controls are horrible....who would make a third person shooter where you cant take cover behind walls and shoot...the best you can do is just duck down under a ledge. The aiming is extremely clunky and goes all over the screen....the AI is about as advance as an 80 year old blind man going from running around in circles to just standing there, but one of the worse things is when your AI partner gets knocked out it doesnt tell you where they are...you have to go search for him and revive him.The voice acting is also terrible, I will have to rank it right up there with two worlds, and the story for it is even worse. This game was going in the right direction, its just to bad they didnt put enough effort and money into it or they would of got more than 8 people to buy the game. I am so glad I didnt buy this, cause if I did I would be burning it right now.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 6 for Damnation
AVOID AT ALL COST
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/11
Marshal001
DON'T GO NEAR THIS GAME! It is horrible, and i don't know why i even bought it in the first place. DON'T MAKE THAT MISTAKE. NEVER BUY THIS GAME!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
Gears of War
10 out of 10(26)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Damnation
Not as bad as you think
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/09
merlinsworld
The first 10 min of the game is ok all you do is alot of jumping and climbing but soon after the first 10min you really get into the game. At first I was seeing what everyone was talking about this game and I have bought it when it first came out and I didn't open it and was going to take it back and get my money back then I decided I would give it a chance even though alot say it's a worthless game and I disagree. Like most games that sound great and find out there not but I say alot of people spend countless hours making a game and you should give any game a chance like this one and then find out to be a game that you can't put down. I say that if anyone wants to try a different game that this is the one for you. The story line is great and so is everything else about this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Damnation
A Unique And Interesting Premise Is All But Destroyed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/09
G-FRESH
I can most certainly appreciate what new developer Blue Omega was trying to accomplish with their debut title, but once I picked up the controller I was in for a HUGE rude awakening as Damnation has turned out to be one of the very worst games in the 360/PS3 era. I really dug the setting of a steampunk industrialized civil war era but thats ONLY about it as far as positives go. First lets start with the graphics. This is to be the UGLIEST unreal engine game that I have ever seen. I understand that graphics dont make the game...but when its running on the most used and arguably most powerful game engine today the look of this game is INEXCUSABLE. Bland landscapes, weak character designs, muddy/simple textures...everything here is piss poor. The frame rate is also terrible as it would constantly take dips when just moving from one area to the next. Characters feel very stiff with weird animations, and the controls range from passable to annoying at times. Do I really need to HOLD RB and press A EVERY SINGLE time I want to jump off a pole? Really? Voice acting is also pretty terrible, weapons feel as if they barely inflict damage since enemies take a good amount of bullets before dying, multiplayer is practically nonexistent since absolutely NO ONE is playing this online...the list could honestly go on but I think (or at least hope) that I've made my point. If you POSITIVELY MUST play this game I would wait off until the inevitable price drop...and I'm talking about the *** range. Anything higher than that for Damnation is a travesty. It feels broken and rushed from top to bottom.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Damnation
Horrible..........
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:6/2/09
Orracle
My wife and I are advate Co-op gamers and we were dying to play Damnation (The name alone hooked us). We were expecting action along the lines of Darkwatcher with ton of action but unfortunately this game did not live up to it's billing. The acrobates seem to be the highlight of this game because outside of that the game is slow and plotting. You spend 75% of the game climbing walls, jumping from building to build and roaming around, crashing through windows and trying to find routes to the next level. It's a poor man Tomb Raider minus the eye candy, and that's being nice. Fire fights are few and far between and they last all of, LITERALLY 15 secs. The enemies in this game just stand around while you mow them down. The AI is horrible the enemies don't evade fire and they lack any real aggression I just walk up to one and let her rip with no resistance. You catch them from the back and they won't even turn to return fire, This game for me was a waste of money and I'll be trading it in ASAP. I wouldn't even recommend it as a renter. Honestly the game is boring and slow "Buyer Beware". Oh, and the Prescot audio loop that says the same thing over and over gets annoying after a while.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 10 for Damnation
This game is awful
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/24/09
HERDbaseball
Do not buy it or even rent it everything is performed badly and there are bugs everywhere. Read gamespot.com review and game informers they will agree completely with this revew. It happens to have a interesting story but you don't get it from time to time because it tends to jump around a lot. The graphics are not awful but the gameplay graphics do not sure the next gen capability. The coolest thing about this game is the cover. It looks sweet. That is the whole reason I rented the game. So if you are looking for a game to play on the side from all the big titles. I do no recommend this one as being a choice. Better yet not even a consideration. All around I would give this game a 2 out of 10, this game really needs some work. Just get another game, save some money and time.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 11 for Damnation
Horrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/3/09
Alpha Big Mamma Dog
I have to agree with Orracle the gameplay is horrible. I mean seriously all the jumping from building to building is great for a while..but geesh the entire game. The AI is sad...the enemy just stood there. When they did try to attack one shot or punch it was over. The action scenes were so short...a good 15 secs. Between action fight scene you ran around looking for a way out. Damnation didn't have "bosses" or anything to beatdown to get to the next level. I must say the motorcycle was the best part of the game. Scene to scene didn't really change all that much. The title is very deceiving. When you begin to become BORED during the game something is terrible WRONG. The game shouldn't not be that easy to beat on "hardcore"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 12 for Damnation
LOOKS AMAZING!
Posted on:2/25/09
Pr3mium
I can't wait till this game comes out. This game is either a complete success or a rental which to me is a fail. It looks like it'll be like Gears of War which is a game I absolutely love. It seems cooler though because there's no aliens, and fighting through cooler areas like on ropes. You can clime on walls and so much more. I really hope this game is what I'm hoping it'll be. I think that if you are unsure about the game, either wait and rent it right after it comes out or wait for enough reviews to decide. I don't mean one or 2, wait for a good 10 or more and read them all to see good and bad aspects of this game. If you're thinking enough of getting it, just get it. I know I am going to.
Review 13 for Damnation
This Is The Worst Game I Have Ever Played
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/11
TheDudeAbides
Location: Idaho
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Seriously. I love gamerscore, so when I saw this game had plenty to get that is easy, I borrowed it from a friend. I've had my fair share of horrible games, but this one really topped the list. I just beat it on insane (the hardest difficulty) and got 700 gamerscore from it, now I feel it deserves a brutally honest review. Okay.... Ill just explain how bad it is in these catagories:
Gameplay: There IS NO aim assist, which makes shooting terrible. Also, you can only aim with the camera behind your character, so it is very hard to actually aim at enemies. Fortunately, about 70-80% of this game is platforming, which also has quite a few flaws, but isn't as bad as the gunplay. The story is a joke. I didn't even try to follow it after awhile.
Graphics: Half the time this game had terrible framerate issues and bad textures that wouldn't load. When those things weren't happening, the game looked like an Original Xbox game.
Sound: This game has lots of "propaganda" speakers scattered EVERYWHERE. Now, these speakers will loudly repeat the same thing OVER AND OVER AGAIN, which gets very annoying. The music is also constantly repeated and is very generic. The enemies have Half Life sounding radio-like voices which are inaudible. The voice acting in this game is the worst I have ever heard. Ever.
Lasting Appeal: I could BARELY get through one playthrough of this game. The platforming is VERY repetitive and seems like it never ends. By the last chapter, I was almost crying because the game would not end. I didn't even attempt to play the multiplayer, since not one single person plays it anymore.
All in All, this is probably the worst game ever made. Don't buy it. It is BARELY even worth the gamerscore.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Damnation
A Pretty Good Start
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/28/09
dannomandango
First off let me say that I chose to pick this game up without knowing to much about it. I had not read any reviews about the game. The only thing I had read about the game was the piece that was in game informer last year. I am now quite a ways into the story and can honestly say this not a bad game by any means. While the graphics aren't on par with games like gears 2 and killzone 2 they are still well enough that it doesn't take away from the experience. I have to say the gameplay itself is pretty fun. You find yourself hundreds of feet up in the air, as well as riding vehicles too. There are also moments where you find yourself mowing down enemies from a turret. The achievements are pretty fun as well. The achievements are not simply beat this level and then this level. I have tried online as well. The online isn't bad there just isn't much appeal for this game right now so it makes it difficult to find matches. If you pick this game up thinking it is as good as gears of war then you will be disappointed. However, if you take it for what it is worth, which is a nice change of pace from most shooters/adventure games then you will enjoy. I do believe that having this game in high def would make a huge difference. I look forward to getting the chance to play it on my new high def tv. Otherwise, I do recommend the game to those looking for a change of pace. I hope to see you all online.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Damnation
curious
Posted on:2/26/09
baltimore187
This definitely sounds like an awesome game. The backstory sounds great, gotta love futuristic civil wars. The gameplay sounds like its gonna be awesome and the few clips that were in that trailer look like they own up to it. The only thing that worries me a little is the actual shooting aspect of it, it looked a little weak. The only decent 3rd person shooter i can think of is mass effect, but hopefully they improve it. All in all, sounds a little like assasin's creed/prince of persia mixed with a shooter. I'll check it out.
Review 16 for Damnation
Worth $4
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/10
WarIsChaos
Location: Centennial, CO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I picked up the game because it was buy tow, get one free and this was the free one I choose based on the premise. And, the premise is cool. Steampunk in the US. Cool. Too bad the game never really delivers on the premise. You do a lot of running, jumping, riding steam cycles and shooting all from an odd rear view of the character. Makes aiming no fun. If you can get it for $4 or less, give it a try. If not, don't bother.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Damnation
Don't listen to the haters.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/12
LPfor3v3r
Location: Tucson, Arizona
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is honestly not half bad. Yeah, the graphics were poor, and the cut scenes were horrible, but the gameplay was actually pretty fun. It's not bad on achievement points either. If you beat the game in it's entirety (on all 3 difficulty settings), you're bound to get at least 700 G. And for the price, it's almost a steal.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 18 for Damnation
Looks Awesome!
Posted on:5/5/09
PotsandPans
This game looks awesome. What I really like is the futuristic-retro weapons and how they run on steam. I think it will be good. I hope its not like Fracture where the gameplay is ok and online is empty. I hope there will be people actually online playing this. I'll be getting this and playing online. See ya there.
Review 19 for Damnation
This game seems vry interesting
Posted on:9/17/08
shadow_josh
This game seems like it has elements from what darkwatch and call of duty 4 had and also a really good stroyline seems to tie in with this game. I hope this game isn't another falling point (u know almost perfect story but very bad gameplay) but only time will tell so i hope it's good.
Review 20 for Damnation
UNBELIEVABLE
Posted on:5/5/09
Cooter
This looks like an awesome game. The reason it looks good is because it's different. We have all played the classic game of ww2 like cod 5 or something but this has a totaly different storyline. The guns look good, the people look good, and the game looks good. This will be awesome.
1 2 next>>