GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Disgaea 3: Absence of Justice

With high-definition graphics, including beautiful high-res 2D sprite art and stunningspell effects, one of the most highly-acclaimed and beloved strategy RPG series ismaking the jump to the next generation of gaming with Disgaea 3: Absence of Justicefor PLAYSTATION®3. Re-enter the world of Disgaea and experience all of the humor,zany characters, thrilling action, and unmatched excitement in this all-new 100+ houradventure!
Average Customer Rating:
8.792
8.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
10 stars
16
9 stars
3
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
22 out of 2492%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Disgaea 3: Absence of Justice
Review 1 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Justice
d00d!
Posted on:8/11/08
SaikoNinja
It's been something all Disgaea fans have been waiting for! The advent of Disgaea 3! It's hard to say that it'll be show-stopping good, because all in all, it's the same gameplay ever since the beginning. No matter how many things are added with each installment in the series, it all comes down to the fact that it's a strategy RPG with lots of grinding to level up. -- But! With that said, this game is still sure to please, especially with fans of anime and Japanese RPGs. The storyline is sure to humor the gamer and the gameplay is sure to settle in with those who are perfectionists. With a good soundtrack to boot (the OST comes with a purchase when you reserve it), and downloadable content for the game, this game is sure to be a good RPG to add to your PS3 library. Unfortunately, this game is only for the PS3. What boggles my mind is how certain RPGs will only go for this or that system, but I digress. Again, this game is worth the money; but only if you are into this type of RPG genre.
Review 2 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Justice
A must play.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/08
Gamer V
Ok so with out ever even reading a review I got this game. I’m a huge fan of the Disgaea series. Yes the game is a bit on the childish side but over all this game is packed with everything we gamers want in a RPG, I do feel that yet again the story was a bit sluggish but I can look past that. The visual effects are great and the battles can get intense.When I was playing the 2nd game in this series I logged a personal gaming record of 3days straight gaming. Lol I won’t be doing that again but Disgaea 3 is exactly what I have come to expect from the series. It is a MUST have for any RPG fan.Once you get going in this game there is no stopping it. The battles will pick your brain as well as your patience. The visuals will be as appealing as ever for your eyes. If you're into putting out a massive amount of damage to your opponent then this is the game for you. There is a point and time where you're going to be doing well over a million damage every attack.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 3 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Justice
Nice SRPG that keeps you playing for hours.
Posted on:6/20/08
disgaea.wikia.com
This game has changed from the previous Disgaeas. Gone is the weapon mastery and the automatic learning of the skills and spells (you must spend mana to learn them from a shop). Also gone is the "Winged Slayer" and "Big Bang" skills, and they have been replaced by new skills by unique characters. Two new monster classes and two new human classes are in the game. The bonus gauge fills up much quicker than in previous games. There are new skills. Characters can now walk on top of another character to form a tower. There is now Reverse Pirating of an Item World and a new Academy World where you can raise character attributes. Geoblocks give a new dimension, as they are stackable and can give multiples of a certain negative or positive effect. You can now form your own committees in the dark assembly to unlock bills. Eventually there will be additional content that can be downloaded on the Playstation Network but no further details have been released.
Review 4 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Justice
GET THIS GAME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/10
Prinny Kurtis
When I first got my PS3, it came with free rentals for games. When I was browsing, I came to Disgaea 3. Never having heard of Disgaea before, I read the box. After debating, I rented the game for a few weeks. I was amazed at the game. The box barely covered anything about the game, but the game itself was amazing. And just today, I bought this game while it was on sale. This game gives you every bit of your money's worth, and more. In fact, I loved it so much, that I bought the original Disgaea for the PSP. I'm not going to say "you won't be disappointed", but if you love RPGs, then try getting this game. And remember, that the box doesn't explain any of the best things about the game. Here's a short list.Awesome story,Funny Characters/Story,Great Character CustomizationLarge selection of Character Classes, Weapons, Upgradeable attacks.Multiple EndingsGood use for "Mana"Voting for Unlockable Worlds, Characters, Items, etc.Teamwork includes Tower Attacks, Throwing to reach farther places, Healing, Team Combo attacksLevel up Items in the "Item World"Cool and Upgradeable Signature AttacksAnd much more. So if you love RPGs, or any of the above, at least try this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Justice
WOW
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/08
Coolclimate0
I have to say I was very sketchy about buying this game, I had heard it was hit or miss... boy am I glad I bought it! This game is bar far one the coolest games I have ever played... you have to have a sense of humor, or you WILL hate this game. There is just so much to do in this game, I'm logged about 10 hours and I'm lv 20... lv goes up to 9999... get the feeling this is a long, long game. As far as graphics go... i wasn't expecting graphics... games aren't about that... games are about story and this game has plenty of that... if you like FF:tactics you will most likely enjoy this game, it's the same general idea... but with a lot more advanced options for you to play around with... If you're not very intelligent you wont like it either, sometimes you have to sit and think about how you are going to go about fighting BEFORE you start bashing faces... this is the ultimate strategy game and requires serious debate before action. i would definitely recommend this to anyone who is leaning towards buying it, and if you enjoy strategy and long thinking game.... FOR YOU.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Justice
good game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/20/09
Samanoske Akeshi
Is a great game if you like Final Fantasy Tactics most of the game involves battles on square-grid maps where the player moves their characters to destroy all the enemy characters. The story line is cool and weird but awsome .The game takes place in a Netherworld school called the Maritsu Evil Academy. In this demon school, a good student is one who engages in delinquent activities such as ditching classes, or not doing homework. The student who participates the most in these kind of activities is known as the Honor Student, while demons who arrive to class early and do their homework are known as delinquents. Mao, son of the chairman (possibly a reference to Chairman Mao), has not once attended class since the beginning of school. His ambition is to overthrow his father, who also happens to be an Overlord, and take his title. After reading a few volumes in his manga, Mao comes to the conclusion that "heroes are the ones who defeat devils". From that point on, Mao resolves to become a hero, convinced it will help him achieve his goal.I would say that you have to be a RPG fan to like this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Justice
Incredible
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/9/09
jcushman
When I first heard of this game i was kinda iffy about getting it mostly cause of the graphics, but after i heard from my friends how good it was I went and got it. I was amazed at how great the gameplay was and the cartoony graphics only add to its charm. With its 100+ hours of gameplay and so many customizable characters you can play the game over and over with different characters and classes, and the roster is growing more almost every week on the playstation network . The story follows Mao an evil genius of the nether world bent on destroying his father the evil overlord because he destroyed he precious games and gaming system. He then hears word of a hero that has entered the netherworld and quickly goes and finds him then makes him his slave to help him defeat his father. This is an incredible game with an incredible story that will keep you coming back for more.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Justice
So-So
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/08
mgs4_domination
its an ok game with sub par graphics but in general it is a rpg game for the ages, could be better graphically, in my opinion id only get this game if you are a true fan of this series otherwise you may be disinterested with the graphics. in my opinion if your considering this game id read the reviews and if your still not convinced then id wait for the next final fantasy which should be coming out soon. only true thing about this game that appeals to me is the longevity and original role playing action. you get some good spells and can effectively use them against your opponents. on an average i'd rate this game roughly a 8 out of 10 for its creativity and ingenuity of origianl role playing format. again could it compare to the final fantasy series? NO! nothing can compare to that series but if you need a break from FF then disgaea is the way to go!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Justice
Best JSRPG
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/10
xLaharlx
listen This is the best JRPG out for the PS3 if you never played any of the disgaea games but our familiar with the FF-Tactics game this is that same game but injected with steroids and coated with all the sugary goodness for wiliwankas factory! Huge character customization possibilities you can mix as many classes together as you want! it is the ultimate Tactical JRPG out and the 4th one is due out later this year *2010* i cant wait for disgaea 4 i have currently over 130+hours of game time into this game! the main story should take you about from 30-60 hours depending on how novice you are to tactical RPGS especially the disgaea series because this game is hard! REAL HARD! The story is awesome! Funny adult humor with some sexual themes but its nothing to over board. one the actual main story is over then there is the real challenge of getting to 9999 and defeating the extra boss who is incredibly hard and the only way to beat him is if you spend an extra 120+ hours gearing and doing all the extra challenges to get strong enough to whoop him! If your looking for a challenge this is the game! unlike FFXIII this is not linear by any means and you can explore a lot of things! the random dungeons are the best late game! i Recomend this to any of my friends who own a PS3 its a must have! i still play this title today!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Justice
THE BEST!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/26/08
Yizzle
I just recently purchased this game and all I have to say is that it lives up to the two previous titles. I'm not too far into the game but as usual. You are drawn into the game and its plot. I know I will spend countless hours leveling up my characters and unlocking every little bit of thing there is to unlock in this great game. For those of you new and old to this game. This is a MUST BUY! I mean level 9999, hidden characters, 1,000,000,000 + damage, customization, and many more. What else can you not do in this game? The possibilities are endless. This game will drain hours of your life and thats in a good way. The reply value for this game is like the other two. As soon as you beat the game you will start over or continue you your current file and keep playing to unlock all the goodies. Must buy for people who likes strategy and is a fan of this game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Justice
3rd tittle and they still got it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/27/08
Leeoden
Great game...nothing really to say if you have played the other two...great story, sound, the talking in it is really good and as always it is now your drug for the next couple of months if not longer...everything in this game is bad ass but the graphics have a downfall.. dosent look to much diff from the ps2 version really.. but when cut sense come into it they show off graphics but while playing not the best when everyone is standing around...might be just me with a big ass LCD screen... but other than than get it get it get it...what else could you ask for? or here is one, first come out price $edit so they even throw a good price at you for a ps3 game...but if you like anime, comic books, you will love this even if not played the other two.. I am shear the other char will be in it but you dont have to play the others for the story. ... gotta get!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Justice
real fun game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/9/10
i-pAnda
disgaea 3 is a reallly fun game but i think some things on the game can be better like the camra angle it kinda sucks. as for the challange its pretty difficult the controls are really easy to get use to the graphics is pretty cool and the story line is very weird but funny and the sound is also great and its easy to customize your characters the length of the game to me is pretty long and its really fun. to me its kinda like final fantasy mix with checkers cuse you can move your characters around to fight wich is awesome and the thing that is really cool about this game is that you can have at least five or more characters to fight with you.and another thins that is really cool to is that you can make up your own character"s name accept for the main characters. but if you like games like this i have to say you should go pick it up cuse its fun.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Justice
Fun but HARD!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/10
Kenjin22
When i bought Disgaea 3, i was exspecting it to be almost the same as the others. To my suprise it was not. In fact, It was much harder than the others. Just a warning, you wont be just walking trough this one. I am varry happy with this game and all it has to offer. On another note, anyone who has never played a Disgaea game should know that when thay say 100+ hours of game play, Thay mean it! Disgeae 3 is most serteny worth adding to your colection and i would recomend it to anyone looking for a challenge. Overall game 10/10 Disgaea 3 is a SJRPG that offers 100+ hours of gameplay and has a Varry High replay value. Disgaea 3 also offers a varry chalenging exsperence that will test your wits from time to time. Audio overall can be a tad odd at times given the day and age of videogames. Vishualy, for PS3, it feels lesser but is classic to Nis.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 14 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Justice
The game is GREAT!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/31/08
Kymera
I'm not the biggest fan of Disgea but i do enjoy the series. That said, #3 is the best of the bunch! The story/humor is some of the best in the series and the cameos from some of the older characters in the series is a welcome addition!The graphics aren't the best and i wonder why they went this route but other than that the rest of the game is top notch! There are tons of items, skills and ways to customize your characters so you have lots of ways to make the game your own. The music is also some of the best i've heard from the series!Overall if you're a fan of these types of games i suggest you give it a shot, it's a genre that is for dedicated fans and not everyone will like it. The amount of time you can sink into this game is just amazing, i can't wait to get further into it. So far i'm 6 hours into it and can't stop playing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Justice
Warning: Aimed at a specific audience
Posted on:6/22/08
CAVE
Like all the disgaea games, it's a turned based jrpg/strategy experience, similar to fire emblem or advanced wars. It is a very deep one at that. This is a game for those specific, hardcore gamers as the game requires you to level-grind for experience and actually think. However, a major turn-off to the average joe gamer is perhaps the use of 2D sprites for the characters. To make a long description short, Disgaea 3 offers deep gameplay and customization options, quirky anime humor, unbelievable stats and enough content that could possibly keep you playing forever, with dlc along the road. Just watch the trailer or check out the older games if I'm not being all that clear. If you're really itching for a jrpg or similar experience on ps3 and don't mind the use of 2d sprites, chances are you will like this game.
Review 16 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Justice
A must have for an RPG fan
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/11
MinatoKun
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is without a doubt one of the best PS3 games I've played, I'm a HUGE Disgaea fan, and I've been playing since Afternoon of Darkness, which I put well over 100 hours into, and the same goes for Cursed Memories. Disgaea 3 was not my personal favorite of the Disgaea games (that goes to Cursed Memories). I've put 45 hours into this game, and i'm on the last few levels, but normally you could beat this game in i'd say 20hours, I just play slow and do a ton of level grinding to make sure i'm ready for the next level. And the fact I listed this as hardcore is because it takes so long to play. Now here comes the categories that I'm supposed to touch on. Gameplay-Pretty good, the levels took some skill to really get how to defuse the Geo blocks, and how to take down the high level enemies. Graphics-They were average for a Disgaea game, I had no complaints on them, but they could have been better. Sound-The BGM tracks (Back Ground Music) sounded pretty good, would I put it on my iPod? Ehh maybe. All I have to say is that the voice acting was AWESOME and the game sounded great through my headset. Lasting Appeal-You could break 100 Hours on this game easy, you have the item world to explore after the main story, and the secret levels to beat, and New Game +, the fun is endless. If you are an RPG player, the bottom line is that this game is a must have.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Justice
Wow....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/29/08
Sindeon
Everything that was loved and amazing in the first few games is back with new upgrades and tweaks and some graphic improvement over the previous titles. The sound and story are top notch and some of the new game mechanics are great at adding more depth and adding in special elements to make the strategy of the game deeper. An amazing title if you any love of strategy or any of a fun loving game you need to go get this now. NIS has done it again with this amazing title. The story is definitely more inline with the first title with the Disgaea name which is a huge plus. The other subtle tweaks in the game serve to not over complicate it but to add a great deal of depth and replay for the player. This game does an awesome job of delivering great story and game play.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Justice
Never played this game?
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/1/08
Bobmon
I'm a real big fan of turn based rpg games. I've never played this game before. I've actually read reviews off of gamestop.com and went by those and It actually sounded decent. I'm 24 years old. I look for a good story line with a good game play. Story line would be great for 10 year olds(just because its a cartoon). Game play is repetitive after 10 minutes. I let my little cousin play this. He is 9 years old and loves turn based rpg games and anime. A kid that loves video games. Stop playing this after 15 minutes and said he didn't like this game. I didn't persuade him in anyway to say that. Never played this game? I wouldn't recommend it for that price. Guaranteed large price drop in a month. I give this game a 2 out of 10. Not a game i would play ever again.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Justice
Disgaea 3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/30/08
Baron
I would highly recommend this to anyone who loves a good challenge and a good laugh as quickly as i would recommend this game to any fan of this series. Disgaea 3 takes all the laughs you could get from the first one, and rolls it into a new person, Mao. If you love Disgaea and Makia Kingdom, then pick this game up. Its short one liners, to the odd but humorous weapon names and descriptions, from the zombies and prism rangers to the "Delinquent" Students, it gets funnier and funnier as Lord Mao gains more and more from being stuck with the title of hero. We can't forget all the loyal Prinnies out there, so to the and to all the fans i say, Pick this up Dood!! It honestly deserves a very high score for all the points and challenges there are in this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Disgaea 3: Absence of Justice
This belongs on a portable.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/10
DRXB0X423Z
Location: Lebanon, NH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I'm old school, I love Shining Force, I love Final Fantasy Tactics, I love Final Fantasy 1-6, I love Luna.
So it's 2010, and this game puts me back to the 90s.
The game is hard to play with a PS3 controller, the cursor moves to fast. its hard to see spaces between characters, the only High Def graphics are the fonts. This game belongs on a DS or a PSP. The games graphics look horrendous on my sony bravia 40" at 1080P HDMI. If I had this on a DS or a PSP id play till the end, But on a ps3, I will not spend endless hours staring at sega genesis graphics.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 44 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>