GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Rise of the Argonauts

As the King of Iolcus, Jason had everything - a prosperous kingdom, the respect of his peers, and a beautiful fiancé. When she was killed on their wedding day, he vowed to do anything to restore her life. Now, in order to accomplish this heroic feat Jason must seek out the Golden Fleece, and with the help of some of Greek mythology's greatest heroes, Jason will set sail on the most epic voyage of all time.
Average Customer Rating:
8.038
8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
10 stars
10
9 stars
7
8 stars
1
7 stars
2
6 stars
2
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
20 out of 2677%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rise of the Argonauts
Review 1 for Rise of the Argonauts
Surprisingly good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/17/13
XxMEGGAxX
Location: Los Angeles
For 6 bucks this hack and slash has both storytelling and in depth characters. Build your team and travel to hades itself. The complex upgrade system based on the gods of greek mythology may be to much for younger gamers or stupid people to grasp. If you know the history join the fight you won't be disappointed.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Ryse: Son of Rome
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 2 for Rise of the Argonauts
great greek mythology game!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/13
sonnycorleone
Location: SPRING HILL,FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I was pretty hesitant about buying this game because I am not really a fan of rpg games.but, I bought it and tried it anyway.i like it a lot.its actually fun and has a very good story to it and the gameplay is good too. overall great game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Rise of the Argonauts
Underrated but awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/12
SLHolmes
Location: staten island new york
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I didnt expect much from this game, however once I played the game engrossed me into its world characters and story, the combat can be really fun the only complaint I really have is that the graphics can be buggy here and there and theres alot of backtracking, also if you prefer story over gameplay then this is the game for you
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Rise of the Argonauts
rise of argonauts
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/12
odingamer
Location: jacksonville, fla
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
with the famous characters' of greek mythology, a great storyline, also a enjoyable experience this is a great game just not for the hardcore gamers' my first review was longer and came from my experince of the game but i messed up sorry
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
just a enjoyable game with flaws'
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rise of the Argonauts
most underrated game ever.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/11
ibeamy
Location: michigan
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
simply put, beautiful, imaginative, and cut from a different block than all of the generic over-done fodder on the market. the voice acting, design, and story telling is fantastic and blew me away.
if you are interested in *opening chests* and getting new armor, and completing random little quests, you will be disappointed. the BEST thing about this game is that is is very simple in gameplay. it is VERY good at being what it is.
the only fault imo is that it is too short. :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rise of the Argonauts
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/27/11
BloodofWinter
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This was a great game. End of story. It had fantastic graphics, great combat, it ha personalized decision making based upon the aspect of a god or goddess, and it was fairly in depth. It is a short game, and to replay it you must start over, but i played this game 4 to 5 times and never got sick of it. If you aren't a super hardcore gamer then you would like this game, because there is a set plot and it has the ability to change difficulties, very easy to moderately hard (based on what i found the lowest and highest difficulties to be) It is a great game if you like storyline play with an aspect of roleplaying decision making. The voices were also good for this game, and Jason, your character had the perfect voice, strong but not overpowering, kind but stern. The voice of a leader. The voices in a game can really make or break the game. But this was great. So again, great game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rise of the Argonauts
ok game but to short
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:1/31/11
donwolfani
Location: Middleton, TN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
the graphics were awesome, and the story quite well worth buying it used, so too was the sound worth it but this game just dont last its good for a weekend rental if your gonna play it nonstop.
i have restarted this game several times since i got my xbox and this around wednesday last week, its monday now and last night at like 1 am, ok this morning but still i did the first bit of the game (iolcus, the first time your tyhere, and most of mycenae) then all day today after i woke up sat and played through everything else till getting baclk on iolcus and now only have to make it in the room where your dead wife is to save her, this game took no time at all to beat.
however the centaur boss was tough the first time i fought him, so far he is the toughest boss ingame, and that includes being tougher than he was in the underworld in my second battle with him.
simply put, coulda been a great game but to much running around talkin, not enough action, and no real replay ability other than wanting to get all the god powers to try once and the story is so short that its hardly as good as it should have or could have been
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rise of the Argonauts
games rock
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/14/11
jasonandtheargronauts
Location: tacoma,wa
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
awesome games ROCK just like cod and halo reach but this game rocks
 
My Product Recommendations
Rise of the Argonauts
8 out of 10(11)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rise of the Argonauts
Solid Rental
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/29/09
Psyker
Rise of the Argonauts is a compelling Action-RPG that takes artistic liberty with the classic story of Jason and the Argonauts in order to achieve an engaging storyline. The entire premise involves Jason pursuing the Golden Fleece in order to resurrect his lost love, Alceme, who is assassinated in the opening minutes by a member of the Blacktongues, followers of the fallen titaness Hecate. The game takes Jason & The Argonauts from Iolcus, to the Oracle at Delphi and onward to Mycenae (Kingdom of Ares), Saria (A jungle wilderness of centaurs and satyrs), and Kythra (City of Athene), as well as Tartarus itself. The game plays akin to any hack & slash action game, and you work through the game wielding three basic weapon types - the sword, the spear, and the mace. Combat is very basic, with usage of heavy attacks, fast attacks, dodges, counters, blocking, and use of powers granted to you by the Gods. Enemy types consist of enemies with shields, enemies without shields (fast movers), and magic user types. Each weapon type lends different characteristics, such as the mace being incredibly powerful for smashing an enemy's shield, while the spear is useful for all-around combat, and the sword is useful for intense, fast combat. It is not a necessity to switch between the weapons depending on enemy. The controls are very responsive, but do not expect any extravagant combo system such as The Force Unleashed or others - this game makes no mistake about it being heavily storyline-driven. Customization of Jason takes place in the form of equipped items and worship of 4 specific Gods. Throughout the game, weapons and armor can be found/won and are interchangeable either on the Argos itself, or instantly after acquisition. All weapons and armor have 1-2 additional effects, some replicating a trait of the Gods or something unique entirely (increased health, knockback, etc). The Gods aspect of customization takes place with devoting deeds to one of the four storyline Gods - Ares, Apollo, Hermes, and Athena. Each God has a specialty, with Ares corresponding to brute combat and the mace, Hermes to graceful roguish combat and the sword, Athene to the element of lightning and the spear, and Apollo to defense, either through healing abilities or various shielding powers. As the player commits deeds within the world via the mainquest or various sidequests, these deeds will be added to the Gods' screen and you can dedicate each deed to whichever God you want. Each deed dedicated rewards experience onto a radial dial, and when filled you receive a point to put into 7 or so tiers of skills. Within one playthrough, it's possible to reach the final tier of 2 Gods, possibly 3. There is no interface. Or rather, the interface is generally hidden. In combat, a health bar will pop up and an icon is beside it to show which weapon is currently equipped, but generally speaking, there is no interface. This is, in my opinion, a flaw of the game - without any overmap or waypoint system, the player will find themselves pausing many times to look at the map/objectives to get their bearings. This could've been simply averted with the addition of a compass and small overmap on the core UI. This is, honestly, my largest gripe with the game. The sound and graphics are absolutely stellar. Graphics are higher end for this generation, and stunning. The use of shadow, bright colors, and inventing imagery works to reinforce the mood of the storyline. The sound is constantly looping, background music that sets the mood for each area wonderfully. The game is inverted in its difficulty. While there are difficulty levels to select from, the hardest is locked until after a playthrough. Further, due to the character customization setup, the game is actually vastly harder at the beginning than it is at the end. After a grasp of the mechanics of the game and your power-ups, the game is downright easy when you're closer to finishing simply because you've figured out how
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rise of the Argonauts
solid game plagued by technical issues
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/5/09
arkhams.finest80
I loosely followed this game before the release and it slipped by me at release but I recently corrected that oversight. only to be left greatly disappointed. The game itself is quite solid in my opinion: * good storyline that pulls you in that doesn't totally hijack the well known tale * abundance of side quests to keep you busy * the ability to make options & win favor of multiple Greek Gods. * enjoyable combat system * friendly AI rarely gets in your way * constellation system is quite fun... I wish more games would try to incorporate this aspect somehow. Gave me the sense I was actually accomplishing something throughout the game. In fact the only real downsides of the actual game is: * no matter how many options you get there are not multiple endings. * whole lot of talking way too little action for the majority of the game. Now to the disappointing part of the game... it's all in the programming & coding: * frame rate drops for no reason at all. * animation is poor for next gen * needs a mini map or objective marker on screen. * Map clearly shows areas that appear to be reachable but are not so I kept getting the feeling I was leaving something undone. * Game audio is horribly unreliable & out of sync (assuming it even decides to play, turn on the subtitles for your own good) * Save system is pointless... you'll save & the game basically makes a duplicate of the last autosave with a new time stamp. nothing that was done since the last autosave is actually saved. Even skill placements have to be redone. * Game actually runs 10x times better playing it from the disc. Apparently the game has many issues with freezing for no reason with many people. I automatically install games to my 360's HDD to let them run smoother & load quicker and I was always having my game freeze. The only thing worse than having your game freeze just after a boss battle is it freeze during an autosave & you lose 2.5 hours of grind missions b/c the game freezes DURING an autosave & we all know what happens if you interrupt a saving process... it gets corrupted & you gotta scrap that & pray that you;re not set back too far if not have to restart everything over again. Overall it was a good game & I enjoyed playing it. If you like Jade Empire or Mass effect I recommend this game to you if you can deal with the technical issues.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rise of the Argonauts
Terrible, waste of money and time.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/09
jokericon00
Introduction: This game had some good previews when you watch videos on different websites, but these previews were just like a movie. Yes, the previews will be good but when you buy the product sometimes it is terrible. This was one of those terrible games. Cons: The graphics were terrible and for this game to be for the PS3, I expected better. It took forever just to get to fighting a bad guy and when you did get into combat it was very weak. I was expecting something like 300 and all I got was weak sword fights and a bunch of running around with a witch. It felt like I was playing a first generation PS one game. I will go as far to say that other console games in the past had better graphics and game play then this video game. Also when I buy a video game that is suppose to be an action game I expect action. What I don't expect is a bunch of talking and walking around just to hear about witches and town people with anger management issues. Pro: Good deceiving preview. Overall: I would not recommend this junk at all and I would recommend people to save their money. I would go as far to say i wouldn't recommend even renting this video game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rise of the Argonauts
The Reviews are in and Rise of the Argonauts is the winnner.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/09
VIKING!
I don't know where to begin. I truly don't. I'll start off with the negatives and then go to the important stuff. The one major negative is historical accuracy. I really don't know if it is historically accurate. I have heard of two versions of Jason's journey for the fleece. One is where he must defeat the cylops in order to get the fleece, and the other is where he had to travel to Tartarus. But really who cares, because it is about time they used the EXTREMELY IMPORTANT Greek Mythology in a video game. There needs to be another Ancient Greek oriented video game like this. A good idea would be The Trojan War, or the many adventures that demigods such as Theseus or Hercules went on. But anyway back to the video game. So in Rise of the Argonauts you play as Jason, King of Iolcus. To be quick and to the point, your love Alceme is killed on her wedding day by Blacktongues and you must travel to Tartarus to retrieve the Golden Fleece and save her. Blacktongues are evil worshipers of the Titan Hecate, but she is also a minor god in other Greek Mythology, but really who cares besides me. No one, heck I barely do. So to more important things like gameplay. This is a role playing game in which your decisions affect what gods you are favored by and what your character will do. It is awesome despite bad reviews from those critics who now use Assassin's Creed basically as a guide to grade every game from here on out. The game is original, filled with fighting, and actual changes and unique god powers that you can use to bring your foes down. What more can you ask out of a video game?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Rise of the Argonauts
Greek Mythology as an RPG-Sweet!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/09
Cpl.Mike
Finally someone took ancient Greek mythology(or tales of Greek heroes doing excellent deeds),added some adventure than usual (fighting Achilles in the Arena-that was awesome!!) and what do you get- a game filled with excitement,plenty of action and finding Allies who join you on your epic quest to search for the ever-elusive Golden Fleece. Your allies include Medea-Hercules-Argos-Pan-Achilles-Atlanta and many others during your search for the fleece. The combat is outstanding! During my 3 trials of combat against the Ionian mercenaries,I used my mace many times over and just loved every minute when it went into slow-motion when I killed off my opponents(it looked like I hit them so hard-they went flying into the next week!). There were times that I used the sword as well (loved it when I used the right trigger and the x or y button-then they were sliced in half) and for a few moments of the opening part of the game,I used the spear a little.I have yet to acquire some god powers and play the full part of the game,I have played at least 20-30% of the game right now.I would highly recommend this game to anyone would like to play an RPG that is different and has something that is based on Greek mythology.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Rise of the Argonauts
One for the Ages...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/09
Mysticmaniacal
Wow. I don't know where to begin. This game is absolutely amazing. Seriously. I generally go spot on with Game Informer, but not this time. They only gave it a 6. I know they are critics, but it should've at least gotten an 8 from them. Me, being a gamer and loving this style of game is why I gave it a 10.Ok. I will start with a couple of negatives, believe me, nothing that should sway you from not participating in this epic adventure. I like games, where you can explore, pick up items/weapons and investigate everything i.e., Mass Effect and Oblivion...RotA sadly, does not offer that. Your weapons and armor are "pre-destined" meaning you earn them by completing tasks. They are generally gifts from NPCs. So like I said you earn them, but I find fulfillment in finding awesome things. Oh well, not a big deal.Sadly, there really isn't a lot of open exploration, most of the areas are linear and there are some invisible walls. It's not a go anywhere, do anything type of game, but that is one of it's strengths too. It sticks to it's guns, you don't get lost roaming on a side mission and totally for get the main plot line, which happens to me all the time in mass effect and oblivion. The story of RotA is so strong I am glad you don't have the opportunity to get lost.My main argument with this game, that frustrated me to no end though is this: there is no on-screen map! You have to pause the game constantly and try to see what way you are heading. And the map in the pause menu is not that great either, there is this strange icon that represents you, rather than just a simple arrow showing which way you are heading, that would help, because it is possible to get turned around a lot. I know I said there isn't really any open exploration, but the areas are fairly big, and an on-screen map would have been beneficial. Sometimes in combat the camera can get quirky.I know that sounds like a lot of bad, and if you got this far I want you to know, that those are very minor issues in comparison to the good this game has to offer. My beef with all of the reviews I have heard is "Jason talks more than he fights". Yes, discussion is a HUGE part of this game, like any good RPG. I don't understand why that is a bad thing. I am glad it is heavy on dialogue, because every other game, just focuses on action only. This is an epic tale, where you get to know your characters and feel for them. The reviews that say the dialogue and animations are bad, well believe me they are completely inaccurate. This game looks and sounds great!The length is decent, not up to Mass Effect, Oblivion, or Fallout...but I'd say it was about 17-20 hours...I beat it in a week. But I started a new game. Unfortunately when you start a new game, you don't keep the rewards you received the first time through, but that again is a minor flaw. At every sitting while playing this game, at one point I was blown away and said to myself "This game is amazing, I can't believe it got the bad reviews it did." The storyline is mind numbing. The locales are great. The attention to detail of Greek mythology is spot on, the combat and leveling up is stellar and innovative.By accomplishing certain achievements, you complete deeds, these deeds you sacrifice to the gods. In return, once you have obtained a level, you earn an aspect and can assign that to different abilities, that god in particular has to offer. Each god has an entire hierarchy. Some skills make you stronger, faster, more durable and so on and so forth. Others however are different god powers. My favorite, I think it was called, speed of the messenger, forgive me if I am wrong. It is a Hermes power, that slows down time. I know what you are thinking, been there, done that, but no, it seriously works, had I not had that power, I don't think I would've beaten a couple of bosses.The combat is very impressive, if you like gory games like Beowulf, Viking and Conan, you will love this game's combat. One of th
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 15 for Rise of the Argonauts
This game is truely unique!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/10/09
Sage Raziel
I just bought Rise of the Argonauts yesterday, and completed it this morning. So, as you can see the length of the game was extremely disappointing, though the graphics, story, and characterization certainly made up for it. I'd say this is among the best story-lines I've ever seen. The battle system is fun and easy to use, though it may get old toward the end of the game due to its simplicity. Every single character in the game is unique - From the clothes they wear, to the voice they have, to their facial expressions and attitudes. The main characters all have their own personalities and special skills. You'll really become close to each character as you are immersed in the world around you. I'd say the coolest thing about this game is the dialog. You get on screen choices for nearly ever aspect of the game, and your choices effect the outcome of what happens and how the Gods see you. One small issue I had with the game was that it lags slightly when you enter a new area, and I had one freeze toward the middle of the game. Other than that it played fine on my Xbox360. Now onto the downsides of the game...As I've mentioned above the length of the game was a huge let down. You visit six or seven places throughout the entire game...All of the areas are small islands which take about two-three hours of game play to complete. Also many of the reviews brag about the countless amour and weapons to collect along the journey, well...You receive three weapons within the first five minute of the game - a sword, a spear, and a mace. From there on you just get different spears, maces, and swords. Armor is the same way. Thus, if you're into customizing your character this game lacks. Over all the game is certainly worth buying, and will capture anyone who plays it and transport them to ancient Greece. In the end I'm happy with the game, only thing that I could really say that disappoints me is the length of the game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
matthewjackconti223
altheroth
 
Please wait while more information about matthewjackconti223 is loaded.
Additional information about matthewjackconti223 could not be loaded.
awsomeee!!!!
Posted 8/18/11
this game was so cool i mean it was great!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Rise of the Argonauts
I can't stop playing this game!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/09
melendez0611
I am extremely impressed with the overall performance, graphics, and play of this game. I usually select shooter type games but this game caught my attention before it was released. I haven't played an RPG game since Knights of the Old Republic. This is a game to have and hold on to and continue to play it over and over again. The graphics are outstanding. Codemasters put a lot of thought and time in the graphics with precise detail and realistic coverage throughout the game. The fight scenes are my favorite. Being able to choose different weapons and combination of moves give you the feeling that you are part of the fight, especially when you perform your special attack and watch your results in slow-motion. The story-telling is superb with great detail of Greek mythology which includes all the great characters of the past. You can tell that the people at codemasters took their time and maximized their resources and talents to produce an epic video game. If there is one thing that will sum up how great this game is, i stopped playing Gears of Wars 2 half way through so I can only play this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Rise of the Argonauts
Almost done and Loving every minute
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/09
Warriors Legacy
I got this game and my first thought when I saw it was I'm in for a great adventure, and thats what its been. To the delicate graphics and the fierce battles to an extraordinary storyline I am dumbfounded. I've seen so many bad reviews of this game from non RPGers who haven't beaten the game or attempted to go far. I have beaten every game RPG I've played from Knights of the Old Republic to Mass Effect, and The Shadow of colossus. So I think my review is more creditable for you people who are wishing to buy this game. This games storyline is well written. It has its own rumor, sad , heroic , dark ,and joyful times. The controls are easy to maneuver with and make the game more enjoyable without having to worry about making a mistake. The difficulty for each difficulty setting is unique. Instead of throwing more mindless enemies at you the enemies get smarter and tougher. The graphics and length and the same. They both took a great time and consideration in making. Playing this game is a real great feeling the only bad part of this game is that like everything it has an ending something I wish I will never see. So thank you for taking time in reading my review and hopefully if you have the money you could pick up a copy of this Epic RPG. Good luck and Have fun.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for Rise of the Argonauts
Mass Effect meets Ancient Greece
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/08
Bazooka_Joe_25
This game was truly a great one. I've noticed a lot of people do not like the idea of walking around and communicating with other characters, but one thing you gotta realize is this isn't action adventure, so remember that. Though the fighting definitely makes up for the time spent running around talking to people. I got a lot of Mass Effect out of this game, much like the amount of communication with other people, the way you talk to them, and how you get to have 2 members of your entire fleet join you in your missions, who also communicate with people. Things I did not enjoy about this game were that its a little glitchy at times, the story is a little short, and when ever you do your finishing attack (pressing Y when an enemy is weak) it always goes in slow motion, which gets kind of annoying when you're in the middle of a huge battle. Things I greatly enjoyed were the amazing graphics, good dialogue, choices you make that effect the outcome of the game, the including of many well-known Greek gods and many mythological beings and places, the story is really good, and the fighting is great, and I'd highly suggest this game for people who enjoy RPGs.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Rise of the Argonauts
Great all around
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/08
Warriors Legacy
ROTA: Is a great all around game.Graphics and other aspects of the game complement each other.The stroy line takes you to a mythilogical greek era where you find answers to the assasination of your wife.Many paths are available but only one is yours.May it favor the gods or not your destiny is your to shape. In this game you will be challenged to make creative choices in order to beat the game.Similar to KOTOR(knights of the old republic) and Mass Effect you will be able to have partners help you in your quests and missions. BEing active and doing side missions will be key to shapeing what type of person you will be and in which shapes what type of armour and weapons you will get. Being wise will give you Apollo armour sturdy and gold. Being pridefull and mereless will give you red and fierce armour and weapons. So every move must be deliberate.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for Rise of the Argonauts
Could have been better
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/25/08
2loud4u
Well the first flaw that ive noticed will have to be the glitches that occur in the game while running or talking with someone. The game is to short especially relating to greek mythology. They could have put way more thought using all mythology. Your partners help a good amount in case your in trouble which you wont be cause its to easy. the only boss in the game that actually takes some strategy/skill is the final boss and even hes not to long. there is no health bar for you so you dont even know when you are going to die. the story line could have more thought. the whole thing is your fiancee gets killed on your wedding day and you seek the golden fleece to bring her back to life. no real cut scenes to get you into the game. fighting style is easy but fun. execution attacks are nice. best thing is the sound. if you have a surround sound its awesome. overall it was a good game but could of took more time to think about.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 next>>