GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Rise of the Argonauts

As the King of Iolcus, Jason had everything - a prosperous kingdom, the respect of his peers, and a beautiful fiancé. When she was killed on their wedding day, he vowed to do anything to restore her life. Now, in order to accomplish this heroic feat Jason must seek out the Golden Fleece, and with the help of some of Greek mythology's greatest heroes, Jason will set sail on the most epic voyage of all time.
Average Customer Rating:
7.778
7.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
10 stars
10
9 stars
7
8 stars
1
7 stars
2
6 stars
2
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
20 out of 2774%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rise of the Argonauts
Review 1 for Rise of the Argonauts
rise of argonauts
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/12
odingamer
Location: jacksonville, fla
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
with the famous characters' of greek mythology, a great storyline, also a enjoyable experience this is a great game just not for the hardcore gamers' my first review was longer and came from my experince of the game but i messed up sorry
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
just a enjoyable game with flaws'
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rise of the Argonauts
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/27/11
BloodofWinter
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This was a great game. End of story. It had fantastic graphics, great combat, it ha personalized decision making based upon the aspect of a god or goddess, and it was fairly in depth. It is a short game, and to replay it you must start over, but i played this game 4 to 5 times and never got sick of it. If you aren't a super hardcore gamer then you would like this game, because there is a set plot and it has the ability to change difficulties, very easy to moderately hard (based on what i found the lowest and highest difficulties to be) It is a great game if you like storyline play with an aspect of roleplaying decision making. The voices were also good for this game, and Jason, your character had the perfect voice, strong but not overpowering, kind but stern. The voice of a leader. The voices in a game can really make or break the game. But this was great. So again, great game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rise of the Argonauts
A Darn Shame
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/08
A Fat Balding 16 Yearold
I played this game at a friends house and after an hour I got the the first island and ran back an forth for like 20 minutes and then went back to the store to get a better game. This game is a low budget game that scraps together characteristics of other games and somehow makes everything look like crap. The voice acting is boring and slow, while the combat is just and embarrassment compared to games that actually spend time making different systems of fighting and specific fighting moves. Futhermore even though the fighting is a small beacon of light on this dark game with no hope of ever shining like a good game, the character you play spends more time running around doing next to nothing and talking to citizens, that somehow know more than a citizen should. The weapons and finishing moves are slightly cool and the initial story seems alright but when it comes down to it don't buy this game----unless of course you are a greek mythology buff and don't have a PS2 to buy "Shadow of Colosus."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 4 for Rise of the Argonauts
Could have been better
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/25/08
2loud4u
Well the first flaw that ive noticed will have to be the glitches that occur in the game while running or talking with someone. The game is to short especially relating to greek mythology. They could have put way more thought using all mythology. Your partners help a good amount in case your in trouble which you wont be cause its to easy. the only boss in the game that actually takes some strategy/skill is the final boss and even hes not to long. there is no health bar for you so you dont even know when you are going to die. the story line could have more thought. the whole thing is your fiancee gets killed on your wedding day and you seek the golden fleece to bring her back to life. no real cut scenes to get you into the game. fighting style is easy but fun. execution attacks are nice. best thing is the sound. if you have a surround sound its awesome. overall it was a good game but could of took more time to think about.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Rise of the Argonauts
most underrated game ever.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/11
ibeamy
Location: michigan
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
simply put, beautiful, imaginative, and cut from a different block than all of the generic over-done fodder on the market. the voice acting, design, and story telling is fantastic and blew me away.
if you are interested in *opening chests* and getting new armor, and completing random little quests, you will be disappointed. the BEST thing about this game is that is is very simple in gameplay. it is VERY good at being what it is.
the only fault imo is that it is too short. :)
 
My Product Recommendations
Morrowind Game of the Year Edition
9.3 out of 10(9)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rise of the Argonauts
Mass Effect meets Ancient Greece
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/08
Bazooka_Joe_25
This game was truly a great one. I've noticed a lot of people do not like the idea of walking around and communicating with other characters, but one thing you gotta realize is this isn't action adventure, so remember that. Though the fighting definitely makes up for the time spent running around talking to people. I got a lot of Mass Effect out of this game, much like the amount of communication with other people, the way you talk to them, and how you get to have 2 members of your entire fleet join you in your missions, who also communicate with people. Things I did not enjoy about this game were that its a little glitchy at times, the story is a little short, and when ever you do your finishing attack (pressing Y when an enemy is weak) it always goes in slow motion, which gets kind of annoying when you're in the middle of a huge battle. Things I greatly enjoyed were the amazing graphics, good dialogue, choices you make that effect the outcome of the game, the including of many well-known Greek gods and many mythological beings and places, the story is really good, and the fighting is great, and I'd highly suggest this game for people who enjoy RPGs.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rise of the Argonauts
Extremely broken system
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/22/14
LesPaulPanhead025
Location: Upstate New York
It was a fun little pick up. Good story and fun gameplay. BUT I got two hours in and manually saved the powered then 360 down. Came back the next day and tried to load the game. It wasn't there. I thought I'd done something wrong do I tried again. But when I save it says "Saving" but doesn't save the game at all. I did research and I'm not the only person, not by a long shot, dealing with this. I tried several solutions listed online but none work. The games enjoyable but it's save system is non existent. That alone makes it not worth getting unless you plan on running through it in one setting.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 8 for Rise of the Argonauts
First Impressions
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/17/08
yippy
First off let me say i have not played this game all the way through in fact i'm not very far into the game at the moment. But right off the bat i can tell whether or not the rpg im playing is gonna be good and this has not given me that impression. The dialogue is klunky and very very dry with not substance. And unlike games like Mass Effect or Fable i don't feel like my decisions will effect the outcome. The combat is hack n slash and its fun to literlly cut people in half but i feel like as the game progresses there is not going to be any real challenge to the combat. I already all i do is spam X then Y and i win so no challenge at all. I dont know maybe later on it will give me some challenge but right now im not impressed overall with the game. I would recommend waiting til it comes down in price. There are much better RPGs out there like Mass Effect, Fallout 3, and Fable.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 9 for Rise of the Argonauts
I can't stop playing this game!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/09
melendez0611
I am extremely impressed with the overall performance, graphics, and play of this game. I usually select shooter type games but this game caught my attention before it was released. I haven't played an RPG game since Knights of the Old Republic. This is a game to have and hold on to and continue to play it over and over again. The graphics are outstanding. Codemasters put a lot of thought and time in the graphics with precise detail and realistic coverage throughout the game. The fight scenes are my favorite. Being able to choose different weapons and combination of moves give you the feeling that you are part of the fight, especially when you perform your special attack and watch your results in slow-motion. The story-telling is superb with great detail of Greek mythology which includes all the great characters of the past. You can tell that the people at codemasters took their time and maximized their resources and talents to produce an epic video game. If there is one thing that will sum up how great this game is, i stopped playing Gears of Wars 2 half way through so I can only play this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Rise of the Argonauts
Rise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/19/08
InsanePlayer
I really thought this game would be awesome, but right now I am pretty dissapointed. I've been playing for a while and it seems like I spend 90% of the time walking back and forth, which is really anoying. The story line is slow and also their are a bunch of glitches and it gets so boring when all you do is....well pretty much nothing! The conversations are slow and boring and I find myself just pressing the skip button. The fighting is the only good thing in this game except, where is your health??????? You don't know if your about to die or if you can take some risk! Hopefully this game gets better the farther you go along, but right now I wouldn't recommened it to anyone and if it doesn't get any better soon I'm just gonna get rid of it. What's kind of funny is that the main character looks movement and weapons are all a cheap copy of the movie "300"!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Rise of the Argonauts
ok game but to short
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:1/31/11
donwolfani
Location: Middleton, TN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
the graphics were awesome, and the story quite well worth buying it used, so too was the sound worth it but this game just dont last its good for a weekend rental if your gonna play it nonstop.
i have restarted this game several times since i got my xbox and this around wednesday last week, its monday now and last night at like 1 am, ok this morning but still i did the first bit of the game (iolcus, the first time your tyhere, and most of mycenae) then all day today after i woke up sat and played through everything else till getting baclk on iolcus and now only have to make it in the room where your dead wife is to save her, this game took no time at all to beat.
however the centaur boss was tough the first time i fought him, so far he is the toughest boss ingame, and that includes being tougher than he was in the underworld in my second battle with him.
simply put, coulda been a great game but to much running around talkin, not enough action, and no real replay ability other than wanting to get all the god powers to try once and the story is so short that its hardly as good as it should have or could have been
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rise of the Argonauts
Great all around
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/08
Warriors Legacy
ROTA: Is a great all around game.Graphics and other aspects of the game complement each other.The stroy line takes you to a mythilogical greek era where you find answers to the assasination of your wife.Many paths are available but only one is yours.May it favor the gods or not your destiny is your to shape. In this game you will be challenged to make creative choices in order to beat the game.Similar to KOTOR(knights of the old republic) and Mass Effect you will be able to have partners help you in your quests and missions. BEing active and doing side missions will be key to shapeing what type of person you will be and in which shapes what type of armour and weapons you will get. Being wise will give you Apollo armour sturdy and gold. Being pridefull and mereless will give you red and fierce armour and weapons. So every move must be deliberate.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 13 for Rise of the Argonauts
Terrible, waste of money and time.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/09
jokericon00
Introduction: This game had some good previews when you watch videos on different websites, but these previews were just like a movie. Yes, the previews will be good but when you buy the product sometimes it is terrible. This was one of those terrible games. Cons: The graphics were terrible and for this game to be for the PS3, I expected better. It took forever just to get to fighting a bad guy and when you did get into combat it was very weak. I was expecting something like 300 and all I got was weak sword fights and a bunch of running around with a witch. It felt like I was playing a first generation PS one game. I will go as far to say that other console games in the past had better graphics and game play then this video game. Also when I buy a video game that is suppose to be an action game I expect action. What I don't expect is a bunch of talking and walking around just to hear about witches and town people with anger management issues. Pro: Good deceiving preview. Overall: I would not recommend this junk at all and I would recommend people to save their money. I would go as far to say i wouldn't recommend even renting this video game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Rise of the Argonauts
Stop Hating on the Argonauts
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/25/08
GhOsTy 31
Ok, to start this review off for the people that are complaining about the walking around and talking to people thats what a ROLE PLAYING game, this isn't an action adventure game where all you do is fight. Ok the storyline is really exciting and well thought. It is based on the old movie Jason and the Aronauts, but Codemasters spiced it up a bit. Your wife gets killed and you search for the golden fleece to bring her back to life. Oh and on the way you battle some of the most feared and famous creatures in Greek Mythology. I didn't think it was that short, but then again i didn't rush through it like most people probably did, If you don't rush through games they won't seem as short. The controls are nice and simple, there easy to remember and not complicated like most other role playing games. The sound is pretty good during battles and such. One thing I dont like is during the cut scenes the AI looks very poor but its not awful. Customization is pretty good, although you can't change Jason's physical features you can aquire diffferent weps and armour. In my opinion this is a very good role playing game and I reccommend it to any gamer.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for Rise of the Argonauts
Greek Mythology as an RPG-Sweet!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/09
Cpl.Mike
Finally someone took ancient Greek mythology(or tales of Greek heroes doing excellent deeds),added some adventure than usual (fighting Achilles in the Arena-that was awesome!!) and what do you get- a game filled with excitement,plenty of action and finding Allies who join you on your epic quest to search for the ever-elusive Golden Fleece. Your allies include Medea-Hercules-Argos-Pan-Achilles-Atlanta and many others during your search for the fleece. The combat is outstanding! During my 3 trials of combat against the Ionian mercenaries,I used my mace many times over and just loved every minute when it went into slow-motion when I killed off my opponents(it looked like I hit them so hard-they went flying into the next week!). There were times that I used the sword as well (loved it when I used the right trigger and the x or y button-then they were sliced in half) and for a few moments of the opening part of the game,I used the spear a little.I have yet to acquire some god powers and play the full part of the game,I have played at least 20-30% of the game right now.I would highly recommend this game to anyone would like to play an RPG that is different and has something that is based on Greek mythology.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Rise of the Argonauts
Great All Around.
Posted on:12/6/08
Warriors Legacy
This game is a RPG that takes you into a mythological world similar to the greek era. The graphic and gameplay quality are beautiful and very complementary to the story which is in fact very unique.This is a game that i recommend to dedicated gamers,this is not a pick and play game. You must be very into taking your time to make the choices you want in order to follow your own path in this epic RPG. Tho it looks like it will be a great game it is still very risky.It looks like a RPG but it also plays like a hack n slash sometimes. But in its core its both. So for those who wish to see a great world and choose and fight threw there own path of either mischief,wisdom,or love pick up a copy of this epic RPG and get ready for a true Adventure.
Review 17 for Rise of the Argonauts
Going to be a great RPG
Posted on:9/20/08
GhOsTy 31
This game is definitely going to be a great game. From watching preview videos and reading up on the game the story is going to be nice and long. To anyone who doesn't know what this game is about, you are the main character Jason and once your fiance dies on you're wedding day you go for vengeance. You can bring two argonauts along with you such as Hercules, Atlanta , etc. Then there are 4 gods that you can lean towards. Ares, Hermes, Athena, and Apollo. If you lean towards Ares you're mainly going to use your mace a lot. If you lean towards Hermes you are going to be faster and use your sword a lot more. If you choose Athena you will use the spear in combat and if you choose Apollo then you will most likely be skilled with the shield.
Review 18 for Rise of the Argonauts
Good, but not for the monosalavic
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/08
Deboe
Well, this game was not meant for the average player in mind. The controls are simple but can offer complex combos. Also, I like the AI characters in the game, which allow different reponses. The execution attacks are great I even like the debating option which is base on different virtues from the greek gods. Quite a bit of philosophy has been added in some the cutscene. The conversations can be more detailed than some RPGs, but it is different from the normal hack and slash games that required no thought. The story was great, some fact are not correct, however atleast the story does take longer than FABLE II. I hope more games are developed with more challenging quest, rather games with no clear storyline and horrible AI interaction.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 19 for Rise of the Argonauts
Almost done and Loving every minute
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/09
Warriors Legacy
I got this game and my first thought when I saw it was I'm in for a great adventure, and thats what its been. To the delicate graphics and the fierce battles to an extraordinary storyline I am dumbfounded. I've seen so many bad reviews of this game from non RPGers who haven't beaten the game or attempted to go far. I have beaten every game RPG I've played from Knights of the Old Republic to Mass Effect, and The Shadow of colossus. So I think my review is more creditable for you people who are wishing to buy this game. This games storyline is well written. It has its own rumor, sad , heroic , dark ,and joyful times. The controls are easy to maneuver with and make the game more enjoyable without having to worry about making a mistake. The difficulty for each difficulty setting is unique. Instead of throwing more mindless enemies at you the enemies get smarter and tougher. The graphics and length and the same. They both took a great time and consideration in making. Playing this game is a real great feeling the only bad part of this game is that like everything it has an ending something I wish I will never see. So thank you for taking time in reading my review and hopefully if you have the money you could pick up a copy of this Epic RPG. Good luck and Have fun.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for Rise of the Argonauts
Solid Rental
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/29/09
Psyker
Rise of the Argonauts is a compelling Action-RPG that takes artistic liberty with the classic story of Jason and the Argonauts in order to achieve an engaging storyline. The entire premise involves Jason pursuing the Golden Fleece in order to resurrect his lost love, Alceme, who is assassinated in the opening minutes by a member of the Blacktongues, followers of the fallen titaness Hecate. The game takes Jason & The Argonauts from Iolcus, to the Oracle at Delphi and onward to Mycenae (Kingdom of Ares), Saria (A jungle wilderness of centaurs and satyrs), and Kythra (City of Athene), as well as Tartarus itself. The game plays akin to any hack & slash action game, and you work through the game wielding three basic weapon types - the sword, the spear, and the mace. Combat is very basic, with usage of heavy attacks, fast attacks, dodges, counters, blocking, and use of powers granted to you by the Gods. Enemy types consist of enemies with shields, enemies without shields (fast movers), and magic user types. Each weapon type lends different characteristics, such as the mace being incredibly powerful for smashing an enemy's shield, while the spear is useful for all-around combat, and the sword is useful for intense, fast combat. It is not a necessity to switch between the weapons depending on enemy. The controls are very responsive, but do not expect any extravagant combo system such as The Force Unleashed or others - this game makes no mistake about it being heavily storyline-driven. Customization of Jason takes place in the form of equipped items and worship of 4 specific Gods. Throughout the game, weapons and armor can be found/won and are interchangeable either on the Argos itself, or instantly after acquisition. All weapons and armor have 1-2 additional effects, some replicating a trait of the Gods or something unique entirely (increased health, knockback, etc). The Gods aspect of customization takes place with devoting deeds to one of the four storyline Gods - Ares, Apollo, Hermes, and Athena. Each God has a specialty, with Ares corresponding to brute combat and the mace, Hermes to graceful roguish combat and the sword, Athene to the element of lightning and the spear, and Apollo to defense, either through healing abilities or various shielding powers. As the player commits deeds within the world via the mainquest or various sidequests, these deeds will be added to the Gods' screen and you can dedicate each deed to whichever God you want. Each deed dedicated rewards experience onto a radial dial, and when filled you receive a point to put into 7 or so tiers of skills. Within one playthrough, it's possible to reach the final tier of 2 Gods, possibly 3. There is no interface. Or rather, the interface is generally hidden. In combat, a health bar will pop up and an icon is beside it to show which weapon is currently equipped, but generally speaking, there is no interface. This is, in my opinion, a flaw of the game - without any overmap or waypoint system, the player will find themselves pausing many times to look at the map/objectives to get their bearings. This could've been simply averted with the addition of a compass and small overmap on the core UI. This is, honestly, my largest gripe with the game. The sound and graphics are absolutely stellar. Graphics are higher end for this generation, and stunning. The use of shadow, bright colors, and inventing imagery works to reinforce the mood of the storyline. The sound is constantly looping, background music that sets the mood for each area wonderfully. The game is inverted in its difficulty. While there are difficulty levels to select from, the hardest is locked until after a playthrough. Further, due to the character customization setup, the game is actually vastly harder at the beginning than it is at the end. After a grasp of the mechanics of the game and your power-ups, the game is downright easy when you're closer to finishing simply because you've figured out how
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>