GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Rise of the Argonauts

As the King of Iolcus, Jason had everything - a prosperous kingdom, the respect of his peers, and a beautiful fiancé. When she was killed on their wedding day, he vowed to do anything to restore her life. Now, in order to accomplish this heroic feat Jason must seek out the Golden Fleece, and with the help of some of Greek mythology's greatest heroes, Jason will set sail on the most epic voyage of all time.
Average Customer Rating:
6.75
6.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
5
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
11 out of 1669%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rise of the Argonauts
Review 1 for Rise of the Argonauts
Critic reviews unfair
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/08
BKWar
I was skeptical of this game after reading the reviews on sites like ign and gamespot. However, having bought the game anyway and finishing playing it, I have to both agree and disagree. ROTA could definitely use a bit more polish. There are bugs and the graphics are not the best I have ever seen. The facial animations are especially lacking. Having said all this however, there is a lot to love. The reviews paint the combat as overly simple, but there is a lot more than meets the eye. The dialogue system and character customization are easily accessible and add a lot to the story. This game definitely went for substance over raw action. This is not God of War. The best comparison would be to bioware games like kotor, jade empire, and mass effect. If any of this sounds like your kind of game then I suggest getting it. You will not be disappointed.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rise of the Argonauts
For Anyone Who Likes MythologyThis game Is a MUST GET
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/15/10
Raul76
Rise of the Argonauts is a great game. Really the only negative thing about it is that you stop to talk Alot. But this game has a fantastic storyline. This is a great game for everybody who likes mythology, or just wants a good game. You are King Jason and you partner up with Hercules, Achilles, Pan, and other Greek heros. You search for the golden fleece and visit the oracle along the way. Also you take place in many arena battles. You also get favor points when ever you do something to please Apollo,Ares, Hermes, and Athena. You can use favor points to buy new powers, like slowing time and healing other Argonauts. Also there are secondary missions you can do, by talking to people. You also fight or fight with centaurs, minotaurs, black tongues(which are the assassins that killed Jason's wife)and other mythological creatures. This game is a great buy, especially if you like mythology!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rise of the Argonauts
Rise Of The Awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/09
Dark Reign
Rise Of The Argonauts is a great game. There is so much action, fighting, and cool boss battles. It's about a guy named Jason who is about to marry his wife but she gets assassinated. So Jason goes to all thes cool places to find the Golden Fleece to bring his wife back to life. Along the way you will fight these evil wizards called Blacktounges, soldiers, and multiple bosses including Medusa and others. Your main weapons are a sword, spear, shield, and mace. The are special moves you can do with each of them. For example, with the sword you can slice someone in half. And with the mace you can smash someones head off. And all of these cool moves have a slo-mo effect. Blood and guts in slo-mo! NICE!!! This game is very long and took me about 5 to 6 weeks to beat. You really don't customize your character that much except for armour, weapons, and god powers. The controls are easy to learn and the graphics are great. This game is very challenging and you will find yourself getting killed a lot, but if you just keep on playing you will beat it. Overall I give this game a 9 out of 10 and I say this game is a must buy.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rise of the Argonauts
rise of the argonauts more like fall(sort of)
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/18/08
Kim W.
I actually liked this game but it could have been a lot better. The storyline was good. The weapons and armor upgrades were nice as well. The fact that you can talk to just about anyone is cool as well. You get to decide how to respond to people based on what your four patron gods would expect you to say. I feel like the graphics could have been better and the game was too short. Apart of the reason it was too short was becasue it was too easy. There were really only two or three big challenges in the game. However, if you're a fan of greek mythology I think you would really like this game. Even though my headline for this review is kind of harsh it was still an enjoyable game. I think it could have been better but its okay. Coming from the people that brought us the amazing God of War you would just expect more. I have mixed opinions about the game but like I said I did like it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Rise of the Argonauts
just great
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/14
boyboy
i wish i could give a -1 it was horrible i wish i had a rewind button it was not worth the money do not buy ever
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 6 for Rise of the Argonauts
Short but sweet.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/08
Lenneth0
The game has a soild KotoR feel to it. However for the hard core gaming fan it may not be a good choice for you. The game is fairly easy, even on the highest difficulty it's almost a challange to get yourself killed. Additionaly the game is too short for a powergamer (10-20 hours) The storyline is wonderful and the game focuses on storyline elements rather than combat. This is not god of war expect at least 30 mins of talking to people/running around for every 5 you are engaged with foes. The interface is wonderful for a game of this type. That is, there is no interface by default. Since dieing is a non-issue once you've gotten used to the combat system you don't really need to see your HP and the lack of a HUD makes it feel just that much more immersive. Unfortunatly even though the customization is there in the form of skill trees and armors and weapons that have unique effects rather than "4 stam 4 strength leather belt" the way you play the game really won't change much regardless of how you spec or gear so replay value isn't vey high. I recomend this game highly for people who enjoy greek lore and story driven action/RPGs.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 7 for Rise of the Argonauts
Save Your Money
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/09
Firebird3107
I read the reviews on here and I decided to get this game. When I put it in my PS3 I was hoping for a game where I could build a character like Oblivion or Fallout 3. After playing for about a half hour I decided the game wasn't what I wanted to spend my money on so I returned it to gamestop. The thing that I didn't like at all is that the game just seemed to be a button masher type. You hit square for attack and triangle for power attack. With the sword and using power attack it made the character cut the other person in half EVERY time. It would be ok if it was every once in awhile but for it to happen every time just bugged me. Also when going through the world it takes awhile to load the next screen. Instead of just going through a door like in games ive played on ps3 it has delays until the next screen loads.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rise of the Argonauts
Amazing if you like fighting mythological RPGs
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/4/11
Yodo
Location: Chicago, il
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It has a decent story line and pretty good fighting system. Its similar to the god of war playing style but its more short and sweet. I'd recommend this to anyone who enjoys bloody fights and quests guided by Greek gods.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rise of the Argonauts
Very bad
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/10
<<<loves rpgs
Rise of the agronauts is a waste of money. It has ps2 graphics. The game is very easy. Combat system is just lame. Same finishing attacks all the time. All you have to do is press triangle to win basicly. Whenever i press triangle i chop a guy in half the same way over and over again. This game gets boring after a short time. Story is not so bad but still pretty boring. The whole game looks like a cartoon. It has tons of glitches. Characters just disappear. I have no idea why its in the RPG genre, its a action/ adventure game. King jason is very corny in this game. If you are a dedicated gamer you will finish this game in less than 3 days. If your looking for a good rpg game this isint it. But if your into hack and slash games with bad graphics this is the game for you.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rise of the Argonauts
Average, But not Great
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/09
Rett
The game was all right, I was excited about playing this game because when I read about it, I imagined a free world roaming type of game. But I was wrong, there is not to much fighting in the game, its more of a movie and doing little quest for people and upgrading your powers. The storyline was pretty good if you like greek mythology. There is a lot of names you cant even pronounce but, just stick with it and it gets easy. The graphics were not bad, its good but nothing you have never seen before. The storyline is the strongest part of the game. Some cool weapons are available. Spears, swords, hammers... Simple game. Not very hard, would recommend the game to like young teenagers, to learn about the gods. And its easy enough for a young gamer to beat and get through.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 11 for Rise of the Argonauts
This game get a 9 provisionally....here's why
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/08
Tyronne
I was expecting a God of War type of game. If you are too....do NOT buy this game. However, if you want a beautifully detailed, storyline driven game which has a deceptively detailed fighting structure combined with a most interesting character interface system, then this game is for you. To start with I love the ancient mythologies so I'm more predisposed to like this type of game. I'm also a mature gamer and want more than just a hack n slash. Does this game deliver. The graphics and sound are just bang on perfect. The load times can be just a touch annoying, especially when starting a new section of the game. I didn't find the game all that short but then again, I love playing a game and exploring everything and doing the side quests and finding all the hidden goodies, etc. The fighting system is more in-depth than I anticipated and I was very pleasantly surprised by that. Each weapon having different combos and granting different attributes as you go deeper and deeper into the game was great. Although you can button mash this, you really don't get to see the wonderful combat movement and dances if you master the various weapons and believe me, there are some beautiful moves to be pulled in this game. However, the most unique aspect of this game is how you interact with the other characters. In a nutshell you are presented with 4 possible interactions, each action attributable to one of your patron gods. This has a direct effect on the game play and the way the game flows, which I think is a wonderful touch to this game. Will you be the kick-ass type of player, the wise-ass, the compassionate and understanding player or the fair but stringent individual or a combination of the above.....the choice is yours. So, this game gets a 9 out of 10 because I love the indepth storyline, even though it's not a God of War type game.....It's Jason and the Argonaughts! Enjoy.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rise of the Argonauts
It was all there but a few things missing.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/12
crucialshot
Location: eastern,Or
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Honestly i really loved this game when i first played it. Now I look back and think there are just a few things missing that were crucial to us gamers for instance the graphics were good but not great the sounds and characters voices and ambiances are all what i expected and really enjoyed but the gameplay was short and the story wasn't as epic I honestly think that whoever developed this game should make some references to other games like god of war, warriors legends of troy, and spartan total warrior, all in all this was a good game and obviously there was something that appealed to everyone who bought it otherwise we wouldnt have bought it just saying.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Rise of the Argonauts
Disappointing offering
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/08
Ico
I waited many months for this release and had watched every trailer and/or sneak-peek video I could get my hands on. One video I watched was a 10-minute presentation from the actual developer who spoke of the different worlds and different characters to play and showed battles and cut scenes that never made it to the final game (apparently) and he spoke about returning to each continent and re-exploring, new things to find, etc. NONE of which is in this game. All that aside, the storyline is wonderful. But then again, it’s straight out of Greek mythology - no creative points there. The graphics are nice but average at best – the dungeon graphics were terrible – reminded me of some of the PS1 dungeon crawlers from 10 years ago. The character development (or RPG aspects) is mute. At the end of each area, you get the better sword, spear or mace. You get the better armor, etc – no need to ever change equipment even though the ability to do so is there in the game. Why? I could not tell you. The conversation choices don’t mean anything as you get the same result regardless. This game had a lot of potential and I am sorry to say that “someone” decided to rush this for a Christmas 2008 release. I beat the game in 1 day. I did enjoy playing it, I just expected more and it could have been sooooo great. Rent it, play it, enjoy it, then go read some Greek mythology.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for Rise of the Argonauts
oh man, hello!
Posted on:8/10/08
Anonymous
I can't wait for this game it's going to be so good. Codemasters know how to rock and this ps3 exclusive will sell systems. I just hope they stay truthful to the story arc created and (fingers crossed) maybe we will see Kratos make an appearance or be an unlockable. I will definitely pick this up after playing through RE5 which comes out just a week earlier!! What a great week for gaming, enjoy it everyone!!
Review 15 for Rise of the Argonauts
Can't Wait
Posted on:9/21/08
Argonaut
I'm really looking forward to this game. To any other readers, don't believe what the other guy wrote. First off, this is not a PS3 exclusive, secondly, Codemasters wouldn't put Kratos in their game because they are their own developer and not owned by Sony. Why would they wanna say "Hey, our game is kinda like God of War". Buy, play, and beat our game and you get to see Kratos as a hidden character!!"
Review 16 for Rise of the Argonauts
YEAH! greek mythology in games
Posted on:11/25/08
frenchKung-fu
I can't wait till i play this game. The graphics look good but one major thing is the story is all wrong. I don't have anything against the game but the order of everything happening is wrong! Hercules looks weird but whatever. Those are my only cons on the game so i give it an 8 out of 10. Overall a great game!
Review 17 for Rise of the Argonauts
looks so bloody cool
Posted on:11/26/08
pak17
This looks awesome, huge monsters and great graphics plus i see some pictures with other human characters in it except the main guy and girl, which means its better than shadow of colossus. It looks kinda similar to shadow of colossus but better doesn't it?
Review 18 for Rise of the Argonauts
Great Story
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/18/11
Yodo
Location: Chicago, il
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you enjoy any of the KOTORs, its very similar in the way the game i set up. It has great game play/ story but it was a fairly quick game that after playing it once, you might not choose to play it again.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 19 for Rise of the Argonauts
love rpg
Posted on:11/29/08
Anonymous
I am a big fan of mythic based RPG games, loved boulders gate im hoping you can change armor,weps,ect. And it better have a long story line and lots of action, really looking forward to its release.
Review 20 for Rise of the Argonauts
So Horrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/1/11
AllAboutGraphics
Location: New York, NY
Worst game ever made. I really cant say anything more except dont waste your money its just really horrible.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>