GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Call of Duty: World at War

Call of Duty: World at War completely changes the rules of engagement by redefining WWII gaming and thrusting players into the final tension-filled, unforgiving battles against a new ferocious enemy in the most dangerous and suspenseful action ever seen in WWII. Powered by Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare technology, Call of Duty: World at War brings an uncensored edge to combat, as soldiers face the most harrowing and climatic European and Pacific battles in which an enemy, who knows no surrender and no retreat, will fight to the last breath, unleashing an arsenal of lethal surprising tactics. Peril and danger lurk throughout the battlefield as players combat the unknown risk of the new chaos of battle.
Average Customer Rating:
8.552
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (767 reviews)
10 stars
243
9 stars
117
8 stars
41
7 stars
25
6 stars
17
5 stars
17
4 stars
5
3 stars
13
2 stars
7
1 star
13
422 out of 49885%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Call of Duty: World at War
Review 1 for Call of Duty: World at War
My cure for COD4
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/08
TagsxA
I bought COD4 the day it came out and have put in well over 15 days worth of online play. I can't remember a game I have played so intensely for such a long period of time. Knowing that, however, I was still very eager to get into the Beta for COD:WaW (Call of Duty: World at War) since I was one of the few (seemingly) to really like COD3. After playing the Beta, I was reassured that reserving this game was a very good idea! To start things off, here are my likes and dislikes about COD:WaW: Likes: · Fun gameplay mechanics · Gorgeous graphics · Intense campaign mode · Flamethrower is hella-fun · AI is smart and adaptive · Some very clever level design Dislikes: · You don't care about the characters in campaign mode · Split screen is kind of a weird setup · Flamethrower is overused · The story just kind of throws you from scene to scene without much storyline I have now put in about 5 hours into the campaign mode and can safely say that it's a complete blast to play. I was a little disappointed in the fact that if you play 2-player split-screen, only player 1 will be able to use the flame thrower, but it was still alot of fun. A few things to note on the campaign mode are: · You can play split-screen with 2 people on the same system · You can play 4-player over live · You can play co-operative or competitive · After you beat the campaign mode, you unlock a zombie mode! Now even though the campaign can hold its own, this game wouldn't be nearly as attractive without the online multiplayer portion. This is the real reason I needed this game. Here are 4 reasons why I think this game will surpass COD4 as the online game of choice for the Xbox 360: 1. Level Design You would think that a game that uses the same engine as COD4 would control and feel identical to that game. Fortunately, it does not. Some of the reasons for this is because of the level design. The levels they offer in COD:WaW are so far ahead of the levels in COD4 that you wonder why nothing like them were in COD4. My favorite example of level design superiority is the night-time beach level (Makin). There are so many different types of areas here. There are a few high points, some great hidden areas, and a few wide open spaces to carry out a great strafe fight. The other two levels are equally as varied, but the glow of the moon on the ocean and how it bathes the objects on this particular level is just mind blowing. Not the most colorful level, but it's the one I get the most kills on. 2. Weapons I know many gamers grumbled when they found out that the new COD game would be set in the WWII era again, but I love the guns of that era. They seem to demand more skill in aiming and require you to do less run-n-gun, and a little more strategic positioning. Now, it's not so much so that it nullifies your ability to run-n-gun, but it seems to reward you for being a bit more patient. It might be because of the type of weapons I like (rifles), but one thing's for sure, the guns completely change the way you look at this game, compared to COD4. So far, my favorite gun is my suppressed MP40. I haven't even gotten close to playing with every gun in the game yet, but after playing 10 rounds of free for all with that bad boy, I can safely say it's the best gun for the job. 3. Perk(s) Are the perks completely different, you ask? No, not really. Well are they a lot better than in COD4, you ask? Not quite. Then what?!?! Well, I'll tell you... There is one perk that makes the whole perk system shine, and that is the 2nd chance perk. Yeah, it's almost identical in every way, to COD4's last stand perk, but this one is actually 2 great perks in one. It not only gives you the ability to whip out your pistol, after being downed by an enemy, in a last attempt to get the last laugh. No, it also gives you the ability to revive a downed teammate that is currently in the 2nd Chance stance. I know many gamers disliked COD3, but be
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
99 of 113 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
robotb
los angles
 
Please wait while more information about robotb is loaded.
Additional information about robotb could not be loaded.
nice
Posted 11/11/11
i never played it but it will make a good game
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Call of Duty: World at War
its great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/14/13
Al121212
Location: New York NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is the best call of duty by far i still play it even today to me it is the best game ever. i love it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Call of Duty: World at War
One of the best Fps Shooters!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/13
TOMMYguy12
Location: fort worth,tx
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ya ik this game has great graphics especially for time just great zombie gameplay and most of all wonderful multiplayer gameplay if you are any fan of FPS shooters GRAB THIS GAME!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Call of Duty: World at War
Not for those who don't like a challenge....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/13
Anonymous
Location: Delaware
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This was probably the hardest game, especially near the ending, I've ever played.
It can be very frustrating at times, but don't give up.
I had played all the other CoD games (including the Black Ops I & II), and this was the last of the pack for me.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Call of Duty: World at War
not bad not good
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/23/13
minecraftfan562
campaign was good. so were the zombies but the problem is that there are some hackers.when i played with them i didnt feel like playing it anymore
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Call of Duty: World at War
The Best World War II Game Ever.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/13
Nateman3000
Location: Chicago, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is the COD that came out after the fantastic COD4. This is a gritty, gory World War 2 game. The campaign is dirty and feels like we're there in the War. Multiplayer is fun with friends and the famous Zombies. Zombie mode was BEST here. The maps are scary and great for solo or Co-op. This is a great COD. One of the Best...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Call of Duty: World at War
pretty good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/11/13
Nickswen98
Location: Pittsburgh PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
honestly the story line was average zombies were fun but that was really online was ehhh so overall pretty good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 8 for Call of Duty: World at War
Really good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/13
Nelsonian
Location: Chi
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is fun, you should get it. I am 5th perstiege and I have been playing this game for a while, and there are tanks so play this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Call of Duty: World at War
GREAT GAME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/13
Chillidog28
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got this game for my birthday I loved it its really fun and cool you get to play as the Russian Red Army and the American marines. You go on a campaign though different islands in the pacific as the marines. As the Russian Red army you will fight in Europe. The graphics are great there is lots of blood and gore and there is some bad language but I love this game. Xbox live is fun too there are some things I dont like about Xbox live on the game but all in all its a great game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Call of Duty: World at War
where does the time go?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/13
dodgeball555
Location: over the rainbow
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
in my opinion,i think this is the best COD game to singlehandley with the campain and zombies and multiplayer, to win my heart over to it.it is fun but please note parents:this game isnt for people below 15 due to gore and strong language but anyways lets go to campain. you play as a us marine pvt miller (it doesnt say his first name) and you fight the japanese imperial army AND you play as a russian soldiier Dmitri Petrenko alongside Reznovs army as you fight the germans if i had one word for the campain its this...... WOW!!! alright now for zombies zombies for WAW is classic you play as one of four charactors Tank Dempsey,Nikolai,Takio,and german docter Rictofen my fave map is Der Reise and my fave weapon is the ray gun,Ppsh 41 Browning or the MG42 also the PTRS-41,alright now its time for multiplayer please note that if you dont like invulnerable modders please dont bother playing multiplayer i mean yeah there are a few modders but they are annoying... you play as a soldier for the Carlsons marines,the Red army Imperail amy, or the wermacht, you can rank up classes and you can unlock guns and different attachments to them. you also unlock perks. there are about 4 different map packs for this game my fave gun is of course the MP-40,PTRS-41 M1A1 carbine the gewher 43. there are tons of game modes like SAD war team deathmatch free for all hardcore team deathmatch. With maps like Banzai,Airfield,Sup-Pens-Nightfire-Upheavel-Seelow and my favorite the ASYLUM here are the pistols in the game:M1911 Colt,Nambu,Tokerav,Walther P-38 and the MAGNUM!!!! after this were the COD went downhill a little black ops was fun but it got annoying,MW3 WAS SO BAD, and Black ops 2 looks fun. so if you like WWII games or COD games than definatly get this one
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Call of Duty: World at War
Good, but hackers.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/13
Sprow
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game was better then the new COD's it did have a major problem though the hackers were outrageous. Every multiplayer match had at least one hacker in it. The only thing you can do is hope hes on your team. The Zombie mode was a major factor in the game and the most fun in my opinion. The Campaign made me feel like a american and Russian soldier. They dont even try to ban the hackers and only care about there top 3 newest games.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for Call of Duty: World at War
Best CoD in Franchise
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/13
LiveForTheCreed
Location: Jacksonville, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Black Ops 2. Modern Warfare 3. Black Ops. Modern Warfare 2... None of those titles I just listed can even come close to this game. The three main aspects in this game are 1: the campaign, 2: multiplayer, and 3: zombie mode. First let's talk about the campaign. In World at War, gore effects we're introduced into the CoD series. This adds a war-like feel to the game. Also in the WaW campaign, there are VERY realistic situations throughout it. The campaign is much more challenging in this Call of Duty, which makes it all that much more enjoyable... Now onto the multiplayer. There's a major downfall in multiplayer gameplay as of lately. There are many people called "hackers" online... Basically they find ways to cheat to their advantage, and it really makes the game un-enjoyable... But before you don't buy it because of that, let me tell you if you can find a match without any hackers in it, you are in for the ride of a lifetime. The multiplayer gameplay in this game is hands-down better than any other Call of Duty. Absolutely superb! Lastly, I'll talk about Zombies. Many of you may have played Zombies in Black Ops. Zombies in Black Ops is alright, but nothing like it is in WaW. The maps, the guns, and the gameplay itself is hands down way better than Black Ops' zombie gameplay. I hope this review helped anybody who read it! WaW is a must buy for any CoD lover, and any FPS lover!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 13 for Call of Duty: World at War
WAYbetter than MW3!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/12
VaultBoy1013
Location: Alabama
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This COD is alot better than some of the titles that have followed after it such as MW3 MW2 and black ops. It actualy contains historical battles and storylines and not some stuff that could never happen like in MW3.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 14 for Call of Duty: World at War
Best of the best!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/12
spino
Location: new york ,ny
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This the best cod game that has ever been made. Better than black ops and mws. i thoucht that black ops would be better
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 15 for Call of Duty: World at War
hella fun
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/12
Anonymous
Location: san jose
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
it is simply the best call of duty game. a variety of nice maps, best quality sound, amazingly real guns,and zombies :]
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Call of Duty: World at War
best cod so far
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/12
jeffjd
Location: ct
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i have played every cod and not one of them can compare to this one. the campaign is challening, long, intense, and just awesome and is definetely better than any of infinity wards.The multiplayer is great. The maps are perfect the guns are balanced and just awesome, and the greatest gametype in cod is in this game which is war and it is the most fun gametype i have ever played until it got hacked. But then you cant forget zombies. Even though black ops zombies maps were better the zombies in this game was still awesome and the guns are soooo much better in this game to. so basically this is the best cod up to date with mw3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
dodgeball555
over the rainbow
 
Please wait while more information about dodgeball555 is loaded.
Additional information about dodgeball555 could not be loaded.
MW3?
Posted 3/10/13
No. dont say mw3 was good It Sucked so much but thats in my opinion
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Call of Duty: World at War
Great.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/24/12
LovelyThickLady111
Location: wilmington, nc
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This was not the first COD i've played. The reason why people buy COD games is mainly because of the online gameplay. The maps are much bigger than the newer COD's and feel much more realistic. The guns are limited but feel much more realistic.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 18 for Call of Duty: World at War
Awesome shooting game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/22/12
GamerKid12
Location: Merriville,IN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
My friend wanted me to play this game so I was like sure and when I played it the game was awesome .
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Call of Duty: World at War
Not the Best Call of Duty
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/12
Narcal
Location: Yuba City, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game has an amazing story, very fun zombies mode, but the multiplayer is filled with hackers that kind of ruin it for everyone.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Call of Duty: World at War
Modders ruin it, but it can still be fun
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/14/12
IrishBandGeek
Location: Everett
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game would be perfect if not for all the modders. Seriously, 8/10 of the rounds you play on live will have them, on a good day. But still its fun enough to be kind of worth it anyways, just report the worst ones and hope they get banned.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 39 next>>