GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Call of Duty: World at War

Building on the success of Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare for the Nintendo DS, developer n-Space returns with a game that delivers the grittiness and chaos of the American, British, and Russian campaigns into the player's hands as you confront new and relentless enemies across the European and Pacific battlefields. Achieve victory in seven unique minigames, and battle your friends in Deathmatch, Team Deathmatch, Capture the Flag and Hunter/Prey across 11 combat zones.
Average Customer Rating:
8.939
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
10 stars
20
9 stars
16
8 stars
8
7 stars
3
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
47 out of 4996%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Call of Duty: World at War
Review 1 for Call of Duty: World at War
Perfect!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/7/09
Pinkfloydfan
I really don`t think there`s a better game for the DS. I was a huge fan of Call Duty Modern Warfare for the DS.World at War has better graphics than Modern Warfare and you can actually hear what they say. Also you play through three storylines (American, British, Russia), so it`s pretty long. I`m amazed at the responsiveness, they do what you want right away. This isn`t your average WW2 game. Just to warn the people who think all you do is fight the Japanese, you fight Nazis in two out of the three storylines (the British and the Russian storylines). But they make that as entertaining as the Japanese fighting. The storyline is your basic WW2 storyline. I mean it`s interesting and everything, but you kinda have to be a history fan to truly appreciate the storyline. Well to close the review I`ve got to say that this is my 2nd favorite game (Assassin`s Creed Altiar`s Chronicles is my favorite). I would give this game a 10 outta 10, it`s great. Don`t listen to the haters.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Call of Duty: World at War
Buy this game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/09
Mark L.
This game surprised me because of how good it was. I bought Call of Duty 4 for the DS at the same time as I bought this one and I still can't pick a favorite because they are both so good! The controls are easy, even a caveman could do it. It is a little tough and a bit hard to figure out, you will die a few times on every level. It is a little confusing at times, but eventually I figured it out. What I like the most is the amount of health you have. It seems like you can have three bullets in your heart and still be able to continue. It is unreal but it makes it easier, but it is still hard regardless. I would not recommend this to anyone under 10 because of the difficulty. The graphics are probably some of the best DS graphics out there, and I have a DSi and it stretches out the picture a little bit. Anyway buy this game it's good and you'll want to play it again and again.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Call of Duty: World at War
The real deal.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/08
I Own The Protoss!
Ok, so I was a huge Modern Warfare fan on the 360. I bought this game for the DS and didn't have very high expectations...I realize it is a handheld, and shooters usually don't do well on the DS. First off, I was VERY impressed at how good a job they did at making this game look and sound great. It's not 360 quality, but its the best shooter I've seen on the DS (probably the PSP, too). The ONLY thing that holds this game back has to be the controls. It seems like they tried so hard with the controls, that they did more harm than good. I realize there are no analog sticks. Couldn't they have just stuck with using the keypad as the left control and the 4 buttons as the right control? Instead, they used the touch screen as the right control. It's very responsive, but it's hard to get wrapped up in combat when you have a stylus pen in one hand. I would recommend this game to any shooter fan. It's worth the money. Just be ready to spend an hour or so trying to get used to a control scheme that, to me, just doesn't make much sense. Other than that, this game is pretty much spot on and rivals most PSP games that I have seen in graphics and sound.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
28 of 35 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Call of Duty: World at War
One of the best!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/08
TripleBullet187
Okay... a lot of people write reviews about games after they get mad at so people wont buy it for there sake. im going to point out the pros and cons of the game. the bad things about it is that it kind of tires your wrist. you use the touch screen to look around which works and feels great. it doesnt feel wierd so u are fine while you play it but your wrist will get a little tired. But really that is the only bad thing about the game not lien. The graphics are awseome like the exsplosions and muzzle flashes the only things that dont look the best are the other people when they are up close but it doesnt bother you. Storyline is just like a WWII game. so really that is up to you. the sound is great along with the interface. the responsiveness is fine it feels lie a regular controller except its touch screen. I highly recomend this game for all ds players. this is the best game i have ever played. its fun and has online which is a great and fun feature so it a definaite buy!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Call of Duty: World at War
The DS Version Still Kicks Ass
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/09
Ultimate Phillies Fan
I was a little bit skeptical about getting Call of Duty 5 for my DS, but I'm glad I did. The single player campaign is pretty fun, and it goes on for a long time. There is also a challenge mode that requires you to get a certain amount of kills within a given time and other unique challenges. The game also has its own list of achievements in it to, so there is a lot to do in single player mode. The funnest part of this though is the online play, it's has basic competitions like death match and capture the flag, the stages are also simple too. But somehow it is so addicting and fun, that most likely you'll be spending most of your time playing this game online. The controls in the game are awkward at first, but you get use to it fast, and in my opinion it is easier to aim on the ds, than on the other consoles. The graphics are pretty good for a DS game also. CoD 5 is good buy if you get it for your DS, because you're basically getting the same game as the 360, PS3, and Wii version, but at a cheaper price tag.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Call of Duty: World at War
I'm a girl and I like COD..
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/16/09
Shannon8806
Okay so I played this game on PS3, Yes I know that on there it has the best graphics on there, the ppl look real, But if you like COD then it shouldn't matter how you play it or wut you play it on? But my boyfriend has a PS3 and has the COD5 and I just got a DSi and I saw that they had COD5 for mine and I bought it and yes its a little different and the graphics are not the best but its still a fun game.. Even my boyfriend says that its the cod that you can carry on the go and its the same thing just slightly different cause you have to use the touch screen to move your characters head, and you can do other things too like defuse bombs and other things too.. I like it so maybe you will too... Oh and You can play with other ppl cause its an online game its only for 4 ppl but wait until the NEW COD comes out then it will be 6 ppl..! Hope other girls will buy this game, its not just for boys!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Call of Duty: World at War
Pretty Good Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/27/09
de blobby
This game is fun to play in the car or when you are bored, but It gets boring after 45 minutes of playing. The controls take a day or two to get used to and is very confusing. But like I said you get used to it. The sound is good. I don't think it should be rated T because I can't see any blood and there is not much swearing at all! I've had it for 5 or 6 days and I'm still not done with it so it is kind of long. There are added weapons to this game but quite few weapons have been taken away. There are mini- games in it that are fun. You can disable a bomb, fly a plane, control an AA gun, disable a mine, be a medic, and drive a tank. You can play as British, American, or Russian in the main game. Online is ok because you can only go against 2 people on Team Death match. Another bad thing is that you can't pick what mode to play on. (It's all Computer Generated) It would make more sense to buy it used or on sale, because even though it's a great game it's not worth ***. Compared to the Wii it's a 7. (Wii Being 10)
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Call of Duty: World at War
what you need 2 no
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/10
Heelies guru
call of duty world at war is a great game the challenge may be to much on very hard and hard mode however on easy it is still hard but easy so tjhe levels of hardness and easy ness are great! the controls are the best and easy to get around with and the graghics are like 2 steps down from the xbox graphics which is rare on DS the graphics are great for the ds theyu couldve turned out worse butr there great i havent really paid much attenion 2 the interface sorry but the A.I is excellent wen they speak and everything the sound is great loud also the storyline not much 2 it but wen you pass a game your usually dissapointed because theres nothing else 2 do but call of duty WAW ds has wifi online play which wont leave you with endless days of boredom call of duty world at war is a game i highly recommend the best war game on ds lots to do long story mode online play golden trophy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Call of Duty: World at War
Great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/09
FuryLord
Starting off one thing i was mad about was no zombie nazi mode that i loved, but it doesnt really take away from the game it does make less then 10/10. Thos is another world war 2 game but my absolute favorite. Since it is world war 2 u know the story but im telling u anyways u r going into a war against the germans for russian and british side they are against the nazis and for the american side u r going against the japanese. U start out as americansthe go throughout the story u switch with russian and british sides. This game waskind ofdissapointing because of the short campaign wich i had completedquickly but that doesnt mean it isnt a great game. I would highly suggest this game if u have an internet connection because onliine playissome of the best ive played on a handheld console and the only issue is the most amount of players u can have going at once is 4wichwould be the same as having a four player game with freinds there. But besides that the online play is great so if u buy the game and have no internet connectionu will be missing out. Mostly because the online play this is a great game i would reccemond to any fps fans.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Call of Duty: World at War
best game ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/08
The Ill Disease
This is one of the best games I have ever played and thats coming from a guy who has played a lot of video games. The picture and sound is excellent. You might think a call of duty game for DS is crazy it is but in a good way. My favorite thing about this game is the sound it makes you feel like you're really in a war. Everybody might think that it would be better to get it for PS3 or XBOX 360 I have never played the game for 360 or PS3 but I think that if someone buys this game for another game console that isn't a Nintendo DS there missing out on a lot especially if you are a person that likes to blow stuff up and shoot everything. There are many things that are excellent about this game in fact almost everything is great about this game except the controls the controls are okay but not as great as all the other features of the game. If you think I'm lying about how great this game is then go out and buy it and see for yourself.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Call of Duty: World at War
Go and Buy it...NOW!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/09
Gamez r uz
This game is awesome! The graphics for this game is amazing for a DS game. It is also a challenging game going in the Hard game mode. The selection of weapons is very good, on both axis and allies sides. The mutiplayer is solid as well, you could play with a friend, or take the fight online and fight up to 4 players around the world. The responsivness of the controls are amazing. Some games responsiveness is not that good. But, COD:WAW's responsivness is amazing, I never tried to yell at the game because it wouldn't do what I made it do(i.e. Move, Shoot, Crouch). The storyline was very good. You get to be Russians, Americans, and British forces as you battle on the Pacific (Americans) or fight for the motherland( Russians) or take the fight around Europe (British) against the axis powers (Germany and Japan). I am glad I bought this game, so stop reading this reveiw and go buy it!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Call of Duty: World at War
This game is great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/27/09
Dsi_123
This game is a very entertaining ds game. Even when you beat it, it's still fun to play on wifi. Its story mode lasts longer than call of duty 4, too. You should get this one instead of 4, for sure. My brother got 4 the same day I got 5, and he hardly ever plays it anymore because it doesn't give you much to do. I still play mine, though, because wifi never gets old. If you're wanting a ds shooter game, this is the one to get. It gives you the story mode, quick play, wifi, collectables to try and get throughout the game, challenges to complete, and a few different modes to play multiplayer and wifi with. One more thing is the controls. If you're worried about being able to adapt with the controls, worry no more. I had it down in probably a minute. I think the controls are unique and fun to use. So don't worry about whether or not you'll like this game, worry about getting you hands on it as soon as possible!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 13 for Call of Duty: World at War
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/10
Castillo18
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game never gets boring to me. The online play always has me coming back for more and a great story that i loved. This is a game that anyone would love. The only thing that i didnt like was aiming with the stylus but that was a minor set back.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Call of Duty: World at War
Outstanding
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/14/08
Hankbob
Since I didn't get call of duty 4 on the ds, and i'm planning on selling my ds and getting a psp soon, I thought i'd give this game a try. World at War has really made me rethink if I want to sell my ds. I had wondered how they would handle the controls. They did a really good job incorporating the use of the stylus, and the touch pad. It only felt awkward for about the first ten minutes. I recommend playing this game on medium or hard, because although it seems right for the first hour on easy, it starts to get way too easy towards the end. The guns look and sound great. The campaign, to my surprise, was very long. It kept going without losing any steam, and lasted a while. Then when you get tired of the campaign, there are 20 totally separate side missions to do. The multiplayer is pretty fun, but definitely not the highlight of the game. A MUST BUY for anybody with a ds.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Call of Duty: World at War
GET IT!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/10
CODfan113
Location: Baltimore, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is great. Graphics are good for a ds game, and it is so fun. Get it. you won't be sorry. Though you might want it for the xbox 360 or ps3 for the great zombie mode. (great for single/multiplayer) Not for kids though. The wii version is great if you want to have a realistic shooting experience.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Call of Duty: World at War
Good Game Must Read
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/8/09
READ THIS!!!
I had this game for 360, but then sold it to my friend...i wanted it so bad and only had enough for the DS version. I bought it and i liked it alot. The part i liked the most was it goes online...that is fun because i was at a hospital waiting for my friend, and they had WiFi, i used it to play online for 2 hours and it didnt get boring. The graphics are good, great for a 1st person shooter for DS. In CoD 4 Modern Warfare on DS, when you clicked the reload button, your gun just went off the screen, and you heard reloading sounds. In this game, you actually see the reload. A downside is the ppsh-41 weapon only shoots about as slow as the mp40 on the xbox or ps3...when normally the fire rate of that gun is phenomenally high. Another bad thing is NO NAZI ZOMBIES!! yes, there is NO nazi nombies sadly but i still enjoy the game very much 100% recomended
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Call of Duty: World at War
GET IT
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/08
?????????
I was at gamestop the other day and I got COD 5 for the DS. I had COD 4 which was not as good as this one. It is more challenging. There is more to do like fly a plane, drop bombs, shot mortars and more. The graphics are a lot better than the first one. The guns are not as pixelated and the environment looks better. The only reason I took a point of in the graphics was the AIs' faces. They look like someone drew a picture and glued it on. The story line is great and takes you through the jungles and Germany. The controls are just like the last one and after you get used to them they're fine. The sound is great except for the voices. They still sound like robots talking. Over all, the gameplay is great and there a lot more weapons than the first one. They also had a button to press to use the sights. You don't have to double tap the screen any more.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 18 for Call of Duty: World at War
Great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/23/14
rembis44
Location: New Hampshire,NH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Great game had a lot of fun with it graphics are okay but gameplay is still fun and exciting would recomend to hardcore and casual gamers.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Call of Duty: World at War
It's very fun!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/11
Gamerkid00
Location: Wentchee, WA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I thought it was gonna be fun but not this fun. It's a great game for ds. I like the controls. You get some serious bang for your buck. The sound is awesome. It's a great game over all. BUY IT-you won't be sorry.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Call of Duty: World at War
Fun game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/23/11
grantisbeast
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is pretty fun. The gameplay is awesome. The graphics could be better but it's a ds game and there not the best. Overall it's a awesome game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>