GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Stoked

Head into the backcountry and experience Stoked, the open-world snowboarding gamethat lets you choose where, when and in what conditions you want to ride as you workyour way up the ranks of the sports to become the hottest rider in the world! Everysingle inch of five huge mountains can be explored, complete with dynamic weatherconditions that change how and where you can ride. Set a trend with Style Crafting asother riders on the mountain adapt to mimic how you ride and how you dress.
Average Customer Rating:
7.333
7.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
3
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
3
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 967%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stoked
Review 1 for Stoked
Decent Game...but Not the Best
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/10
Edic22
I have bought many snowboarding games before, but none like this one. I can say one thing, it is unique. The controls are questionable at best. The freedom in the game was great and I loved the idea. However it is not possible until you beat multiple high scores, very high scores. This was quite a challenge, and is not equal to the reward, that being that you are then able to put yourself anywhere that you want on the mountain. The challenges are sometimes nearly impossible. And they are necessary to being able to pass the mountain. The graphics and physics are great, but this is sadly some of the only good things about the game. The interface is not very good, but the music is good. The fact that this game does not have a multiplayer available is one of the worst if not the worst fact about it. Any sports game should have a multiplayer mode. That's one of the best points about sports games, that you can play with your friends.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stoked
im not sure
Posted on:1/20/09
cheif22
i definetly will get this game because it is very cheap for a game nowadays. anyway, it is dissapointing that there is only country side non-trailed mountains but, i think that at somepoint they may realize that people want terrain parks and stuff so i hope that they make downloadable content for a new mountain with a terrain park and stuff. In conclusion, as a snowboarder ithink that this game looks good. also i thought it came out today!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stoked
Awesome game for the price!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/27/09
Tracy B
To start don't expect SSX or Shaun White, this is better than both. I am an extreme SSX fan, and this game tops it for me. The only thing missing would be extreme park setups, half pipes, etc. This game is certainly worth a purchase. I would have liked to seen more customization options, but it still has enough to make your character different. The controls which are vital,are actually pretty good, I'm still early in the game but it seems pretty responsive. Great game, great price, buy it. Welcome Bongfish and Destineer to the snowboarding world. I haven't tried the online yet so it's to early for me to pass judgement there. Load times are good, graphics are average like say Tony Hawk quality. Sound you can do custom playlists very nice edition.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Stoked
Great Snowboarding Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/09
Mbergman
Coming from a real life snowboarder and surfer, I can tell you this game is amazing. There are many flaws, but I'm hoping those will be covered in the new update or so. The controls are great. Coming from Skate 2, there was almost no learning curve for me for the controls. But, the controls can kind of stick sometimes, mostly because of their physics system. There are a few sliding (grind) bugs and just turning bugs. Slide tricks are extremely hard to get points on, mostly because of the control set-up for doing slides are a little hard to execute even after playing for a long time. Interface is fairly simple, but easy and smooth to use. You can see forecasts, switch between mountains, change your clothes, etc etc in the main menu. The cellphone is pretty handy in-game, it lets you take pictures, set rally points (like session markers) and switch between music with one button, it also has all your objectives listed, your grab bible (confusing at first how to use), and a couple other extras. The only mistake with the grab bible (i know it says "grab") is that it doesnt include slides, so you have no clue how to do most the slides in the game. Sound is excellent, I love it. Coming from a metal guy, I can tell you that this game has really made me appreciate indie and electronica music; its relaxing to say the least. When you snowboard over rocks, ice, etc, it all has different sound effects so you know what surface your on. Graphics are fine, but animation needs some patches. I downloaded the game to my harddrive what did fix the framerate, but some of the animations are not smooth. When going down in the middle of a steep, narrow valley, your snowboarder will go crazy with framerate and animation issues. Realism is good too, but it wasn't exactly made to be realistic. You can go styler (realistic) or hucker (unrealistic), what makes a nice touch. Once again, there are a few problems with the realism in the game, but it is mostly because of the physics engine they use and also affected by some animation problems. In my opinion, this game--with all the problems--is still a 9 or 10. I love it and cant stop playing it because it is so great. It can get extremely tough at times, but its worth it in the end.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stoked
Looks to be great
Posted on:11/23/08
§ИΩ §ӴяΣđ
I did play the Shaun white game the day it came out and i did really like it. I think it got underated but i would like to point out that it has its problems. For that i would recommend not buying it (try renting to determine) and get this stoked game when it comes out. For its price and what i have seen on it, it should be a great game. I have seen tons of footage from it, and millions of footage leaks on it, and i have determined that i will get this, as a snowboarder i think stoked will be more like being on the mountain, rather than shaun whites. Also everyone made such a big deal about shaun whites having multi player but stoked has it too and better weather and more realism. save your money and get STOKED!
Review 6 for Stoked
Only for gamers who shred...
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/09
skunkape
I don't write reviews for many games at all. This is a good game. That's all. Not great, amazing or incredible. I'll save those adjectives for Fallout 3 or Street Fighter IV. This game, at best is good for someone who is VERY familiar with the sport, including Absinthe Films, Travis Rice and company. If you don't know both of those names, go check out Resident Evil 5 or Fallout 3. It is a good game, however, if you're into snowboarding. The collision detection is messed up, the animations are clunky, but it's fun. It's also not exceptionally easy. If you plan on working your way through the game, plan on devoting some time. I'm not trying to knock this game, I really wanted it to be great. I really, really wanted it to be better than Shaun White's garbage game. It has a whole lot of things to do in the game, but nothing to really pull your money away from other games. The price is right for a game of this caliber. If you've stayed with me this far, I'd say check it out. If you're kind of on the fence, save your money and pick up Resident Evil 5 next week. I'd love to say it was better, but it is simply a completely average game. Snowboarding needs a game like Skate to come along, but if you're looking here, you're looking in the wrong place. Only snowboard fanatics need apply.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stoked
Im not so sure about this game.
Posted on:1/18/09
FRANKIEC
I have shaun white snowboarding. I actually enjoy it for the most part. This game seems to look cool too. One of my favorite things about shaun white is the boxs and terrain parks. A downside to stoked is that it is only backcountry. I think that will get played out. For the price i am porbaly going to buy this. I coundnt say if i will like it as much as shaun white but a good part about this game is thefact you can use real snowbarders. I really think thats cool and that you can drive the helicopter. Im not so sure about this game but i think since i love snowboarding so much im gonna buy it.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stoked
For Fans of Amped and Skate
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/6/12
StokedRider
This is a snowboarding games that takes realism to the next level. Add in the realistic aspects of Amped and Amped 2 for the Xbox, then sprinkle on complex but intuitive controls from the Skate series, which comes together to form a snowboarding experience for fans of the sport. Shaun White's game disappointed. The latest SSX didn't live up to the hype. However, Stoked is everything a boarder could want and more. This is one heck of a game. For an even better experience, check out the more refined version called Stoked: Big Air Edition.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for Stoked
no demo, no buy
Posted on:2/22/09
Winston Fagelhimer
If they don't release a demo buy the release date, i might shy away from this game. I've never heard of the people that are making this (don't know what their capable of) and who knows what get out of a *** game. This looks like it will be a game that i rent once in the summer when i want the feeling of being on the slopes and ill never touch it again.
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stoked
The Alternative
Posted on:11/17/08
Doktor ?M
According to Metacritic and Game Rankings, Shaun White, which I was very much looking forward to, is simply not stacking up very well. Sad to see that, but at least if you own an Xbox 360, there seems to be an alternative in Stoked. Geared more towards giving fans of snowboarding a realistic take on the sport, Stoked appears to be set to be the spiritual successor to the Amped series (at least successor to Amped 1 & 2; sadly, Amped 3 went in a disappointingly different direction). Previews of Stoked have thus far been very positive, many previews going on about all the cool new features Stoked is bringing to the genre. And looking at aggregate review scores Shaun White, it's not going to be too terribly hard to make a better snowboarding experience. Finally, realizing they do not have the marketing clout of a giant like Ubisoft, publisher Destineer is selling Stoked a full $** less than Shaun White. At the end of the day, I have little doubt that Shaun White, with it's multi-million dollar ad campaign, is going to sell a whole lot of copies. Judging by the reviews however, that is going to equal up to a whole lot of disappointed gamers/snowboarding fans. And while reviews have yet to surface for Stoked, the road seems paved for developer Bongfish GMBH and partner Absinthe Films, to make names for themselves in the video gaming arena, by potentially creating the definitive interactive, snowboarding experience of this generation that Shaun White was supposed to be.
Review 11 for Stoked
The snowboarding of "skate"
Posted on:11/26/08
Afro fan
This game is going to be the more realistic and enjoyable snowboarding game. I usually am correct when i make an educated guess on how a game will do and i think this game will get about a 7.2 or something. In my mind that is very good for a boarding game. I don't think it will be as realistic as skate, but it will be close. In comparison snowboarding games are probably harder to make realistic than skating games. I hope this game will be good because i am looking forward for this game to come out.
Review 12 for Stoked
good game but wont last long and AWFUL music
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/12/13
Slay3r33123
Location: los angles, California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
its a great snowboard game but there's not much to do after you skate all the mountains. The music selection is the worst I've heard in any of the games I've played. Its all indie and foreign bands and it does not fit into any part of the game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 13 for Stoked
Better Than Shaun White?
Posted on:11/19/08
NitroSnowboarder69
If this game is anything like amped 2, except with better graphics and features, I will most likely buy it. But this time i'm checking the reviews it gets because if its anything like Amped 3 or Shaun White Snowboarding with there 5 out of 10, there's no way i'm buying it. Good price too, I don't think Shaun white snowboarding is a bad game, but I wouldn't recommend buying it for over $**.
Review 14 for Stoked
I am so stoked.
Posted on:11/6/08
Avid Snowboarder
Shaun White Snowboarding = Tony Hawk Pro Skater. Stoked = Skate. That's they way I see it by reading the reviews for both games. If you have xbox live and suck at video games I would buy SWS but Stoked is for real snowboarders. I plan on getting this game for down days and injured days when I am off the mountain. You can be Travis Rice and Gigi Ruf in Stoked, so forget the flying tomato.
Review 15 for Stoked
Boring compared to Amped 3 and SSX
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:9/24/12
ShaunWhiteHimself
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I played all the snowboarding games on XBOX 360 (SSX, Amped 3, Shaun White) and this is THE WORST game ever! The gameplay is boring and is built around performing these precise button combos to perform precise tricks, THERE'S NO ROOM FOR ERROR, THERE'S NO GOOD OLD BUTTON-MASH. If I wanna learn real snowboarding, I'll just go to real snow resort.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stoked
Sounds good...
Posted on:12/10/08
Anonymous
I've always wanted a good snowboarding game. Since i am a snowboarder, i wanna have the feeling of it during the summer and all other times when i can't go out and snowboard. This will probably be the game i buy since to me it has better reviews than the shaun white one. Thx for the reviews guys.
Review 17 for Stoked
If it will be like skate i'll get it
Posted on:1/8/09
AlucardXX2009
I hope this game will be like skate because if it's like the shaun white game then that won't be any good. Its great it's coming out at the price of $$.$$ instead of other new games that are usually $$.$$. Even if this is not as good as ssx was then i'll still get this game.
Review 18 for Stoked
Iddddkk kinda like AMPED 3
Posted on:10/27/08
Antwannnn
Don't think it will measure up. Its nice to have all these snowboarding games coming out though.Just goes to show how big this sport really is growing internationally. I love it. I will definitely get shawn white's game though.
Review 19 for Stoked
sweet
Posted on:11/25/08
skatebananarocker123
I think this game is going to be way better than shaun white game his game is fun and all but not good enough for the price so hopefully this game is going to be so sick i hope it has boards like lib tech rome and capita.
Review 20 for Stoked
I'm stoked to finally have "Stoked"
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/09
timothyjf
Shaun who? That's the question I asked after about an hour in front of "Stoked." Nothing against Shaun White snowboarding, which actually, to be honest, is pretty fun in a more casual way, but "Stoked" better captures the feel of really being on the mountain- the only thing missing are chapped lips and a sore tailbone. The graphics are unbelievable, so unbelievable in fact, that I found myself forgiving the producers for some sketchy little blips, blinks, and glitches. The music selection is fantastic, and very diverse, and the gameplay itself seems, in my early impression, to be quite good. On this, Bongfish' maiden voyage into snowboard gaming, they did an admirable job of getting it right. It is not quite at the level of EA's "Skate" series, but for 40 bucks, it's a heck of a first effort. The game does suffer from a sort of "achievement clog." This seems to be an epidemic in the gaming industry. Ya know, big-time game producers, not everyone wants to have to play through every nook and cranny to unlock tiny morsels. Some of us would be just fine with you simply giving us all the mountains up front, after all we did pay for them. You could even make it a selection in the opening screen- "earn your way" or "get it all now". I for one, would prefer to have a number of mountains and gear choices to choose from right out of the package. Your most critical audience, in this case "real" snowboarders, would probably rather spend less time unlocking and achieving, and more time tearing up the digital backcountry. I can't be more clear on "Stoked" though. I bought it on a Friday night, I played as much as time would allow all weekend, and here on Monday, I'm still daydreaming about hitting the mountain again. "Stoked" is gonna be one of those games you're gonna play, walk away from, and then come back to every now and again until "Stoked part deux" comes out down the road. At ** *****, it's a good time at a good price.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 next>>