GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Rock Band 2 - Game Only

12th Annual Interactive Achievement Awards Winner: Outstanding Achievement in SoundtrackHarmonix, developers of the smash hit Guitar Hero and Rock Band franchises, deliver Rock Band 2, the nextstep to the platform that lets audiences of all ages interact with music in an all-new way. Rock Band 2 letsplayers vicariously jam out as some of the best guitarists, bassists, drummers and singers of all time.
Average Customer Rating:
8.977
9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (76 reviews)
10 stars
25
9 stars
9
8 stars
4
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
39 out of 4391%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
Review 1 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
Very Awesome but...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/13
dukeofcheese1
This game is perfect for: party gamers
My only complaint is that it only starts off with like 10 songs. To unlock all free unlock able songs, enter this in the cheat code place which is under extras: Red Yellow Blue Red Yellow Blue Red Red Blue Blue on your guitar. Other than that this game is AWESOME!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
good
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/13/12
TDOGG94
Location: salt lake city ut
This game is perfect for: party gamers
its good but need free song to download fun songs some are just stupid but still fun i play the game with my one of my roommates he likes the game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 3 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
A real step up!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/30/11
AngryLime
Location: Wisconsin
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I believe that this game was WAY over the original Rockband. Rockband 2 added a feature that shows you the diffuculty of the song for each instrument which is outstanding in my opinion and useful. The songs in this game are great and plus you now have over 3,000 songs to choose from to buy online!! A great cheap way to spend with your buddies rocking out to your favorite band? I think YES!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
ONE OF A KIND!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/11
austin246
Location: Albuquerque, NM
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Amazing sound and amazing songs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
Perfect
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/6/11
Butterfly1231242132
Because of this game my sister can play the real guitar and I am an awesome drummer. My dad showed off at singing. We all love this game and play it every now and then. If I hadn't played this game, I wouldn't know how to play drums and would still be listening to music like the Bee Gees. They aren't bad, but now I have a good taste for music.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
ok game, good for get togethers
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/10
dracodadark
Location: Minnesota
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Playing this game solo is one of the more boring experiences in life in all honesty. I mean come on woo hoo I got 100% high five to me. Now if you have a few friends over the game is very entertaining and good family game that everyone can play wether casual or hardcore the game is a good medium for get togethers. if I was rateing multiplayer I would give it a solid 8 if i am rateing it on a solo play I would give it a 4 or 5. The songs are ok you actually have to buy good songs to make it worthwhile as lets face it who wants to play or listen to music they do not like? overall buy if your going to play with friends if you are looking for a good solo mission buy an rpg.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
1 is better
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/13/10
SgtSpud
Location: Denver, Colorado
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Let's just say I rate thaese kind of games on the songs, I mean what's the point in playing a game that you don't like the music. The first has alot better songs and the songs on this one are okay but I only like 6 of them. So I say get GH 2 or 3 ,cause all the other ones suck, or get the first RB. :)
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BigTee4119021
Toledo Ohio
 
Please wait while more information about BigTee4119021 is loaded.
Additional information about BigTee4119021 could not be loaded.
I Beg The Differ
Posted 4/2/11
Yes 1 did have some good songs, But in my opinion the songs in 2 are better then alot of the songs on 1 and also you have the chance to download the songs to Rock Band 2. Avenged Sevenfold, System Of A Down - Chop Suey, Disturbed. There is quite more. Also sometimes you can only play the world tour by yourself, but with 2 you have that option to jam by yourself and still tour. With 1 you cannot do that. Also , I personally like to use a realistic band when i play and just to be able to create one to use in tour mode is one of my favorite aspect of this game. Also Setlists, 1 did not have that. And they can exceed the limit i seen in the guitar heroes. In my opinion one of the best Music base games i every played.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/10
iRevVz
Location: El Paso, Tx
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game will never get boring. The gameplay is great. The graphics are decent, makes you feel like your really on stage. The animations and body movements are realistic unlike guitar hero's. The sound is ok. If you like music games your going to love what rock band 2 has to offer. 84 songs on disc plus over 500 songs to downlaod from xbox live. This is a great deal. BUY IT!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
Let's Rock!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/14/10
GamerDude62
Rock Band 2 is a great game...if you really like music of course. First off, the setlist for the game is actually decent. Not to mention you can download all the songs from the first one with the exception of a few songs. The notes only approved slightly from the first game visual-wise. The charcters playing in the background is pretty awesome, but looks a little too silly at times. Customization for your characters is great, too. Of course, I recommend having xbox live for DLC.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
So Much Fun!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/19/10
dagamster40
Location: Long Island, NY
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Rock Band 2 is the best music game I have ever played. It beats any Guitar Hero game and even manages to improve upon the successful first release in the series! The setlist is varied, but not as varied as say Guitar Hero World Tour's. We get a mix of classic rock from Guns N Roses and The Who to modern artists like Paramore and Modest Mouse. The peripherals are exactly the same as Rock Band 1's so you don't need to worry about having to start from Easy again. Novice players will feel welcomed by simpler songs and hardcore rockers will be able to challenge themselves with incredibly tough solos and tons of great online multiplayer action. The game does have a few flaws though, like loading screens can sometimes be long and occasionally the game needs calibration. But overall, Rock Band 2 will be a lot of fun at parties and on those boring weekends!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
A Clear Improvement!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/30/10
Xander The Ninja Poet
This game is way better than the first one. There's a great combination of classic and modern music and all the songs are more fun to play! The controls are a bit more responsive, which is good. The graphics are about twice as good as in the first game. The game has both a Tour mode and a Challenge mode. Of course, there's also Quickplay and Training. The Tour mode is a lot like the Band Tour mode in the first game, except that it's the same in both Solo and Band mode. Challenge mode is a brand new mode that lets you play setlists on specific instruments and you don't get to choose what songs to play. Despite the restrictions, Challenge mode is really fun! A great improvement over the first game is that, when you make a character, you can use that character on any instrument, in any mode! If you liked the first Rockband, you won't be disappointed!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
Well...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/4/10
Xander The Ninja Poet
This game is awesome! The story mode is like Guitar Hero World Tour, but you don't waste money buying gigs. They open up on their own as you beat other gigs. The gigs are grouped by difficulty like you'd expect. If you actually calibrated your system for Rockband 1, then you don't have to calibrate for RB2. Your profile in the game has been designed for drop in/drop out Co-op, which is good - I hated that you had to make separate files for solo and band play in RB1. This game is incredibly fun. Even the bad songs are a blast to play! I think they actually got all the original artists singing the songs. Yes, I know that wasn't Ozzy Osbourne singing "Paranoid" in RB1. This game is a must buy if you liked the first one and I'm assuming you did - why else would you be reading this??? Plus you get 20 free downloadable songs!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
rockband 1 is better
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/09
Lilgamer911
This game is as challenging as you want it to be and sometimes it is too hard. The graphics are okay but a lot of the characters look weird. You can make your own character but the computers look very weird. The responsiveness is good on the guitar, decent on the mic, and the drums you have to hit it at a certain place and you can't hit them too hard. The sound is very good. The controls are very realistic and good. The song Variety is okay but rockband 1 has better songs. A lot of the songs in rockband 2 are very catchy and very, VERY, annoying. I recommend rockband 1 over rockband 2 but they are both lots of fun it's just that rockband 1 has better songs. This game is lots of fun for parties and sleepovers. Playing with your friends is tons of fun on this game and if you like games with more than one player you will love this. Over all rockband 2 is fun but i recommend rockband 1 over rockband 2.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
I Wanna Rock!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/09
Maul or Nothing
You have come toexpect many things with music games- character creation, DLC, a killer set list, and amazing instuments. Rock Band 2 delivers all that and much more. One of the greatest features in Rock Band 2 is the DLC and the abilit to copy over 90% of the songs from the original Rock Band- for five dollars. So thats another 50 songs on top of the 80 on this disk, making a plentiful 130 song selection. But wait! Harmonix has a code on the back of the manual if you buy the game new. Entering this code in the marketplace with start a download of 20 songs for free! So if 150 songs isnt enough, over 500 more are availible for download. I doubt you won't recognize at least ONE band. The game is so easy to pick up and play.whether its vocals, drums, or guitar, all you do it plug in the instrument and the rest is self explanitory. If you have any trouble at all, open up the interactive tutorial and learn what you need to. Overall, the game is the best music game i have ever played. Harmonix has outdone their previous franchise, Guitar Hero, again. The series is looking at the point of milking (Lego Rock Band) but hopefully it is a one ime thing and we wont have a sequel ever four months a'la Guitar Hero.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
VERY AMAZING GAME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/2/09
metroid444555
This game is a very great game!! The point of the game is for you and your buddy's to just rock your heads off!! I play this game every day and i never stop enjoying this game. The guitars are very easy to use because all of the buttons have a color on them so that if your new to the game you can always look at the colors to know were to put you fingers. The drums are also easy to use! the outside perimeter of the drum pad is color coated so that you know which pad to hit. You are also able to sing. Singing is very enjoyable because if you really enjoy singing songs, YOU get to be the lead singer for all your songs! The best thing about the singing is that it shows you the words at the time you need to sing them so that is you want to sing a song that you don't know very well then you have all the words right their. It will also tell you if your voice needs to be higher or lower so that you can sing the song just right. This game also has a very wide variety of songs ranging from Soft music to heavy metal. Since their are so many band to choose from your are bound to find your favorite band and your favorite sings. Another awesome feature to this game is that you can play with your friends on xbox live so that you can do multiplayer even if your the only one in the room. So no matter what, you are always able to play with your friends on multilayer. this game is definitely a MUST BUY game!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
Best Game Ever!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/19/09
chosen one
First off is I love the Rock Band series. I have it to thank for making me love rock music. Rock Band 2 is way better than the first. The instruments are the greatest improvement. -(challenge) The challenge varies. You can play anywhere from a song you can play without looking to a song you can't even get past the first five seconds. I play on expert for the most part until it starts to get toward the harder songs I have to play on expert, hard, or even medium. Every instrument has it's own difficulty on songs and it tells you this before you start so you have an idea of how hard the song is. -(graphics) The graphics are improved a little from Rock Band 1. It still has the same looks but it's just sharpened a little. -(responsiveness) I had some trouble when I switched tvs from time to time. The timing would sometimes be off. There is an easy way to fix this. You can calibrate the game with the tv to fix any lag. And if that's not good enough, when you buy the RB2 guitar it automatically calibrates the lag for you so you don't have to do anything. -(sound) If your talking about the game's sound is than it is pretty clear. But if your talking about how good the songs sound than it's perfect! -(controls/instruments) Like I said before the instruments are what makes this game. Some people may say the instruments have very little change from RB1, but there wrong. The instruments still look the same but they have significant improvements. All the instruments are compatible with RB1 and other music games. When I had Rock Band 1 I had to take back and get different instruments 3 different times. I have not had any problems with the new instruments so far. Guitar- The guitar is still the fender stratocaster from the first game. It now has a brown sunburst color, making it look more classic. The neck is also brown. The buttons are thicker and squishier making them quieter. The whammy bar doesn't go all the way down to the body as the first one did. The best part about this guitar is: it comes wireless! Drums- This is my favorite thing about this game. The drums are what I enjoy playing the most in this game, and for good reason, too. The drums have the same basic design as the first game. Probably the best improvement that everyone loves is the bass pedal being metal reinforced. My pedal broke twice in the first game. Ever since I got the new drum set I haven't had a single problem. The pads have a dot in the center to give beginners a spot to aim for. They also are a million times softer and bouncier so as a result are quieter and are easy to play. What I love the most about this drum set is the fact that they have 3 ports in the back for cymbals. You can buy up to three RB cymbals for the yellow, blue, and green colors. They don’t come with the drum set but are a blast to use and make it fell more realistic. The drums are also wireless so your other band members wont trip over your cords. And if you don't know how to play there is a drum trainer to teach you. You can also learn beats and fills and play freestyle. Mic- The mic has little changes. But when you already have perfection what else is there to do? Bass- In RB1 to play bass you had to use a guitar controller. Well if you prefer bass over guitar or if you just want to play bass on a real bass and not a guitar, you got the right game. Rock Band 2 offers a bass you can buy separately. This makes it fell more like a band. If you want to know more read my Rock Band Bass guitar review. Note- The bass does not come with the game or the bundle. -(songs) There are a total of 84 songs in this game. That's a lot. There are all kinds of genres of rock in the game. There is rock, classic rock, punk, indie, southern, glam, metal, pop-rock, nu metal. They have almost everything you could ask for. This game has introduced bands never in the series or any music game like AC/DC, Guns 'n Roses, Avenged Sevonfold, Disturbed, and my personal favorite band Linkin Park. An
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
What's New? Not Much- But Still Great!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/09
kmartin12
I guess i'll just go down the ratings and explain them 1. Challenge- as an expert player,i can skip through almost every song with ease. I can get 99% on very song except I can't even survive the first four seconds of the nightmare songs. There is too much of a gap between the nightmare and the rest. 2.Controls- Not much to say here. Standard controls, nothing has changed... 3. Graphics- Not very good but who cares about graphics are you really going to sit there during a song and think ,"geez, that animation could be SO much better." If you are thinking that, play on a higher difficulty. 4.Interface- Good easy to navigate right to what you want to get to. 5. Responsiveness- I experienced no problems with the responsiveness. However my friend bought sound reducing pads and those will almost certainly guarantee you will drop a note here or there. 6. The song variety is excellent. It covers every aspect of rock anyone could think of. My favorite thing to say, as said by xbox magizine: If you can't find something you don't like in here then you're not alive. 7. Sound- Also excellent. Great music, and if you are doing well you can here the crowd singing along. That's just awesome. So since this is a sequel many wonder what is the difference? The new set of songs is great. The new peripherals all expand on what the previous instruments brought. In game there is a bunch of new additions. Solo world tour is great for players who don't have anyone to play with. A great thing with drums is the Drum Trainer, which can be used to improve your skills or even get you ready to move to a real kit. Other then that RB2 doesn't bring a lot more to the table then the first. But hey, it doesn't need to. if you liked the first you'll like the second. At times it can seem like an expansion pack but it's still fun no matter what.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
Keeps getting better and better
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/23/09
Southern Sandman
When i had gotten rock band 2, I didn't know that there would acually be setlists and a storyline of becoming a rolling stone. There was tons of new features to the game like playing in every big city in the world! The only dissappointment was that the setlist on the game could have been better. If you loved the first rock band I strongly recommend that you buy Rock band 2 because it is so much better. Way better than the GH franchise. Graphics in the game had greatly improved as of Rock band 1. And the sound is awsome on surround sound. Another cool thing about the game is that it is long, very long. it is not like Rock band 1 were you just play every song once and then you beat it. On this game you have to play all these big cities and venues throughout, the challenge of the game is not that tough but very time consuming. If you have nothing to do on a saturday night then, you should play rock band 2 because it is so addicting that you won't want to quit!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
A great rhythem game you want to get.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/7/09
Killerandead
I killerandead, a gamer of all types from shooters to rpgs. Have been very excited of the first one. Due to the fact that unlike the old guitar heros, this one included drums. I've always wanted to play drums since i was 3 and thought (Hey lets buy this!) So i did, and to say this is simply amazing. First off lets agree, Harmonix tottaly rocked from the fact that not only they included songs from this decade, but they added old ones for the old generation of oh lets say the red hot chili peppers. Every song i played made my heart thump because of how much songs evolved from all these years. To rock, country, or maybe just a sweet tune. This game is meant to rock out. Now vaguely, playing by yourself gets boring, which xbox live is for. But i really recommend buying this game if you have someone else who wants to jam every day with you(Unless you only play on the weekends.) The fact that this game allows you to customize your character in a whole new way is unbelieveable. First off you can select new faces, new hair, new clothes and new instruments. Harmonix even added bandanas and masks which gave me a idea of a great band. The new challenges and battle of the bands brings that inner rockster inside of you which wants you to win so bad you'd smash your plastic guitars just like The whos. My statement. Buy this game if you like a challenge and music from decades ago, this game is a must have if your into it, even if your not. Give it a try! Don't knock it till you try it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
Rock Band 2 (57/70)
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/08
Anonymous1s
Harmonix has done it again. They have made another music game that includes Guitar, Bass, Vocals, and Drums, but that's about it. They made Rock Band again, and just added a few songs. But as the saying goes, what's not broke don't need fixing. Harmonix was very smart in heeding the advice of the consumers. They fixed and tweaked many things in an effort to perfect them. The Guitar and Bass timing window was made a little looser while the tracks for Guitar were made more difficult. Instead of Rock Band 1's Expert = Guitar Hero 2's Medium, they now have Rock Band 2's Expert = Guitar Hero Series Expert. The guitar controller is a lot better, now with a slight click to you know that you hit it and the frets are much easier to play with. The drums were made a lot better, the drum kit now feels like I can hit it without fear of it breaking in half, and its also a lot quieter. The drum charts were kept at mostly the same difficulty level, maybe even a bit harder. The vocals were cleaned up a lot. The talkie sections were fixed and the microphone was made much better. The interfaces were cleaned up a ton. I particularly like the fact that the Quick play menu now has the album artwork and the difficulty for all instruments. Practice Mode is great, especially with the new Drum Trainer. New cheats, such as No-Fail and Unlock All Songs are great for when I play with my friends who all suck at the game. However, there are a few big problems. My main complaint is the "New" World Tour mode. It is too similar to the original one, and has you jumping around constantly. It feels more like a marathon than a game mode. My other complaint is unlocking the songs. To unlock all 84 songs, you have a few options. Your first option is to enter a cheat and simply activate it in order to gain all the songs. BUT WAIT! Because you did that, you can't save, get achievements, or play online! Your other two options are play through World Tour mode or play through the Challenges. However, with the challenges, you have to go through about 40 useless challenges in order to unlock certain songs to be played, so when I want to play Panic Attack, I have to go through Vocal Challenge ninety-kajillion on Expert to get it, which is the last song, only to fail out on Tangled Up in Blue, which I've had for 5 weeks now. The guitar charts are significantly harder, but there really is no Green Grass and High Tides difficulty song. I passed every song, on expert, first try, and at least four starred everything. The Bass received no love, as all the charts either suck or are too hard for a regular bassist. Other than that, the game is a great game. My recommendation (if you are willing to spend a little money) is to buy Rock Band 2 (game only), buy the Rock Band drum set (from RB1 or RB2), buy Guitar Hero: World Tour (Guitar + Game Version), and buy a third-party microphone (Logitech). If you need a second guitar, buy either a Les Paul or a RB2 Stratocaster.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 2 3 4 next>>