GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NBA 2K9

The undisputed NBA franchise is back for its 10th season. Last year NBA 2K8 was the top selling basketball game on Xbox 360, and the NBA 2K series has been the #1 rated NBA simulation for six years running across all platforms. NBA 2K9 is for gamers and basketball fans everywhere who want to play the most fun, stylistic, and feature-rich NBA simulation on the market. With wholesale improvement across the board - from gameplay to graphics, presentation and online features - NBA 2K9 is the complete package and is poised to remain the category leader in next-gen sports gaming.
Average Customer Rating:
8.333
8.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
3
8 stars
1
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 989%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NBA 2K9
Review 1 for NBA 2K9
not bad
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/12
stevo26
Location: Boston, MA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
this game isnt that good it is very boring and there arent that many mini games like dunk contests or anything the soundtrack is also terrible
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NBA 2K9
iNCREDIBLE!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/3/09
#1 2kFAN
AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME!!! This game is INCREDIBLE. The graphics are impeccable the commentary is AWESOME and controls are EASY to remember.I bought NBA LIVE 2005 a while back and was so dissapointed that I didn't buy another game until 2K9 and it has exceeded my expectations infinitely. I have some friends who said that they were disappointed because the players always lay it up instead of slamming it home. but that problem is solved for me I found it out in no time, On the PS2, or PS3 you push L2, R1, X &/or the right analog stick. That will help you swing the momentum of any game in your favor. There's all kinds of other things with isomotion that's a little confusing at first but that's another momentum swinger that you absolutely need to drive the lane and either slam it in their face or draw the foul and get the free throws
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NBA 2K9
Exactly like 2K8
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/2/09
goodlookingsportsplayer
It's a lot like 2K8, other than a few different moves that they added in. The player graphics are extremely good, but it's impossible to jump off one foot to dunk or lay it in. Marv Albert and Mark Jackson are the commentators, and theyy added almost everything for Marv Albert, but Mark Jackson doesn't say "Mama, there goes that man," so it's really disappointing and he's missing some other great lines he likes to say. The player ratings are very good. The team ratings are kind of questionable, but good enough. The Oklahoma City Thunder aren't there, but it's ok for me because I don't like that team anyway. You can pretty much do anything with the rules, make fouls happen less from charges to blocking fouls exc. There's a street mode where you can have 1 on 1, or however many players you want from any team, and they have some celebrities in there, so it's cool. The music is SO much better than last years, but still not superb. All in all, if you like other sports games like this, you will like this one too.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NBA 2K9
this is good game for any people
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/09
notachance4571
I've gotta admit 2k games have good graphics,and this game has awesome gameplay,the controls are really easy and quick to learn,but the thing i hate is the lay-ups is the complete disappointment, i played this game a lot of time the first time i bought it, and once you go for a fast break with like people that are supposed to make layups like for example: chris paul, its a high chance of missing, thats the thing 2k has to change.this game is the same exact thing as 2k8,but updated rosters,and once you update the rosters yourself,and play with updated rosters they keep on going to the bench(substituted),and its kinda of challenging to make 3's with the good shooters,but overall this game is good and easy to play, the graphics are the best for an nba game,and this no doubt has the best gameplay for and nba game.If you are new to playing an nba game or you want to buy an nba game,then i recommend this game for starters,and experienced players.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NBA 2K9
2K9 same as 2K6
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/09
webjeff2002
If you could view 2K9 and 2K6 side by side you notice little difference in the two, the graphic is a little better on 2K9 than it is on 2K6. The reason I am comparing the two is I have 2K7 and 2K8 on the xbox 360 and my xbox 360 is not working right now but my PS2 is. So I rented the 2K9 one weekend and its not worst the money just for the update roster. I have not play 2K7 or 2K8 for the PS2 but I thing it also basically the same as 2K6. Only thing is different in the the color menu and the update roster, the crowd entering the stadium are the same, crowds shot, time outs when player going to the bench, player going to the bench when substitutions,all the same as 2K6! Player seem to step out of bound more offend, and hit the side or the back board resulting in a turnover, blowing wide open break away lay ups(THE WORST PLAYER SHOULD MAKE THAT). I think the people at 2K sports spend all the time working on PS3 or the xbox360 games when its came time work on PS2 the just do small touch ups and they really do care. The best thing to do if you have a PS2 is save your money buy a large pizza and a cold drink then update the roster yourself. Now if 2K9 for the PS2 is your first game then you might like.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 6 for NBA 2K9
its ok
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/10/09
#1sportsfan
When I bought this game I thought it would be better than NBA 2k7 and NBA 2k8. But when I played it was basically the same thing except for updated rosters. When I went to create a player mode it was the same thing. The shoe's are the same and the features are the same. I say NBA live 09 is good for create a player. The create a team is good but it can have some work on it. When I played the game it was the same thing. The commentator is the same and the preview is the same. The gameplay is the same and it bad. I can dunk with Nate Robinson from the free throw line. Its also hard to shoot 3's with some of the best shooters. You still miss lay-ups. There is no variety compared to NBA live 09. There is no all star weekend festivities compared to NBA live 09. There is also no Oklahoma Thunder. The free throws is kind of hard but practice will make it perfect. The graphics are way better than NBA live 09. I would recommend this to sports gamers if you're looking for easy game and graphics.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 7 for NBA 2K9
its good but where is the team?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/09
gamerunleahed
Now I loved the game but only one thing in my opinion is missing. Ok a couple of things. First, what happened to all of the rookies? I see that Sonny Weems isn't on there. I see Derrick Rose is on their but please! I thought there were way more then somewhat 16 rookies in the NBA right now. This really disappointed me. Second, I thought they had a new team in the NBA. Isn't the Oklahoma City Thunder part of the NBA now? This was also something I looked forward to, but as I said, it disappointed me to find out that Oklahoma City wasn't on the game. Other than the game was awesome. I really loved it. I got the game for Christmas and I was really excited when I saw it in a package of mine. I love the graphics, I love the lay-ups because they are a lot more tougher to make. I really recommend this game to a sports, video game, or NBA basketball lover.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NBA 2K9
COOL GAME!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/08
Kdawg
Even though this game has flaws its still a good game. Bad stuff poor free-throw shooting. Free-Throw shooting is kind of hard to master but few hours should be ok. I picked up the game up a few weeks ago and has been pretty good. Another bad thing is the crossover and shooting button. You can shoot with the right analog stick or O button which makes it kind of funny. Every good game has flaws but it'll be alight.!!!! I would love to do a side by side comparison with this and NBA Live 09 since they are two great games. The only hard part about having sport video games is that you keep up with stats and everything in between. This game does a good deal of making sure the stats are up to par. Other than that this an excellent game that u might want to rent first before buying!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for NBA 2K9
Its an OKay Game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/08
2K9
When I bought this game yesterday I was so geeked to play it, I played it for about 2 minutes after you make a point they have the same scenes from 2k7 and 2k8. U better off buying either one. I see that Richard Hamilton still have braids he doesn't have braids anymore they should have change that in 2k8. Please make this game better. Also 2K took off half of the half time report. You have one good thing about 2K9 we finally have better signature dunks. And the defense has gotten even harder. I actually kind of like the trivia questions the ask you while the game is loading to play. 2k needs to make better jerseys for your created teams, better faces for created players, and Newer shoes there's plenty of shoes out here to put in the game, its shoes in that game thats about 2 years old. 2k I will give you some props for this game!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10