GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NHL 2K9

Do you long for the days when hockey video games didn't require an engineering degree to master?2K Sports has listened to the masses by bringing the fun back to hockey video games with an intuitivecontrol scheme, hard-hitting action and by announcing the debut of NHL® 2K9 on the Wii console. Developed byaward-winning Visual Concepts studios, NHL 2K9 brings a totally rebuilt NHL experience to life with a brand-newin-game presentation system, as well as fresh player animations and controls that you will enjoy from the momentyou play your first game, until well after, as you become a seasoned veteran. New for Next-Gen consoles and furtheradding to an unmatched level of fun are an all-new Zamboni mini-game, playoff beards, a new fighting engineand more! Complete with new commentary, a user-friendly franchise mode and upgraded online features, NHL2K9 brings the fun back to your game console on 9.9.08!
Average Customer Rating:
7.667
7.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (6 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
4 out of 667%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NHL 2K9
Review 1 for NHL 2K9
Awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/10
nails
Location: beloit, wi
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
awesome game but cant start a fight. u can make your own team and player. I wonder if there is a cheat code for it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NHL 2K9
Wrote a disscusion but i think a little different know
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/10/08
AlucardXX2009
GREAT GAME! I would play this in 2012 even 2014 maybe. I don't know but this game blew my mind when I started playing it more. The camera angle is awesome because you get to put it closer in or further out.The controls are great except for the passing witch sometime you just dump the puck instead. I like how everything sounds especially the effects when your play and hitting. The graphics are great but what's weird is that mostly all the players have a mullet witch is very, very weird (especially if you know that the player is bald lol). I like how you can make your own player like other games. The challenge is normal like other games but when I play on rookie I score non-stop but when I play on pro I score a goal not even once during a period but it must be that i'm not good. This game is really worth a little more but the price here is a deal for me (definitely).Overall: Even though there are some falls I think it deserves a 10/10.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for NHL 2K9
awesome game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/08
hockey fan33
i picked this game up a few weeks ago and i have no complaints. It was a really fun game and i can't stop playing it. The graphics are not that great but gameplay is awesome and NHL 2K9 has improved so much from last years game. The rosters are up to date and so aren't the overalls. The fighting isn't like 2K8 2K8, you can fight basically anytime u want in this game fights are really rare and i haven't had to many fights but when i get into fights it is so fun. NHL 2K9 fighting differs so much from EA sports NHL 09. NHL 09 fights are very short and slow in this game the fights are fast passed and they last quit a while compared to NHL 09. Another thing i notices is difficulty. In NHL 2K8 the difficulty was poor. U could basically come up with another teammate one time it and u can basically guarantee its will go in. This game i one time it ans the goalies stop a portion of the shots . But basically if you're looking for a really fun game pick up this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NHL 2K9
Many pros and cons with this game
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/2/08
Scrappy40
I picked this one up a couple of weeks ago, and waited till now to write this review, as to really try and get the full pros/cons of this game. Let me tell ya, this game does have its fair share of both. Starting off with graphics, this game is PS1 at best. EVERY player has a mullett hair cut, no matter if they even have hair in real life. The player's sticks sometimes look much taller than they are, almost cartoonish. The ice never gets chewed up like it does in a real game. The line changing system is downright bad. If you leave it on auto changes, you can end up playing a whole game with only two lines. If you use manual line changes, it is so hard to execute a change, you can be stuck with the same line all period. They have taken out fighting in this years game. Even though they have the controls in the manual, THERE IS NO FIGHTING IN THE PS2 VERSION!!!!!!!!!!! Now, there are many good points to this game mind ya. The goalies are down right tough to score on, and yours do not give up the "weak" goals that can frustrate you to no end. How the players move is fairly realistic. (except for their sticks mind ya) Also, the vast amount of historic teams you can unlock make up for so much of the games downfalls. There is nothing like playing the 80 USA/USSR game once again. I do like this game, but what I can say, as someone who grew up playing hockey his whole life, this is more of a video game representation of hockey, and less simulation. I think the replay value is high, but not like it could be.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NHL 2K9
still a backwards step from 2K7
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/18/08
hockey for life
NHL 2K9 contains most the of the same glitches as 2K8. The pass button works about 75% of the time (an improvement from about 60% for 2K8.) I think it's fair to say that anytime the pass button works less than 99% of the time the game shouldn't even be released. To be fair most of the time you can now pass out of your defensive end into the neutral zone (unlike 2K8,) but passing in the slot is hit or miss (I don't mean that it's hard to do. I mean that when you press the pass button literaley nothing happens. This was the same in 2K8. I thought maybe my copy was messed up or scratched but obviously not since it's the same in 2K9.) Also, once again taking slap shots from the high slot is a no go this year. When attempting to do this your player freaks out and lets off the puck. To take a slap shot you have to move outside towards the boards which lowers your chances of scoring. Shootouts again this year are a joke as you cycle trough the roster trying to score. I guess that's to be expected since you can't shoot from the slot your player just goes barreling into the goaltender. To end this review on a posative note at least the sound track is alright (it has Mastadon,) but definately save your money for EA 2009. The glory days of 2K6 - 7 are long gone. I never understood why they switched out that platform for one that doesn't even function correctly.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NHL 2K9
Best Hockey game on the PS2
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/08
Travis Zugay
Well, NHL 2k9 is a spitting image of NHL 2k8, except for a few minor features and glitch fixes. The gameplay this year is a lot smoother and the puck has a realistic feel to it, flipping in the air over the goalie's head for instance. The skill stick can be used by moving the right analog with L1 held down on offense, and defense it's the same too. You can protect the puck with just right analog by itself on offense as well. AI is more intelligent this year, games will go to over time, and if you feel it;s too easy there are plenty of gameplay sliders to adjust making the game customizable to you're liking. The only problem I have so far with NHL 2k9 is.... THERE ARE NO IN GAME STATS, no windows pop up at all through the game, not even after a goal, not a penalty, nothing. Kinda like you are really at the game. And the announcers can be kinda of corny saying the exact same phrases the last announcers did on NHL 2k4-2k8.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.