GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NHL 2K9

Do you long for the days when hockey video games didn't require an engineering degree to master?2K Sports has listened to the masses by bringing the fun back to hockey video games with an intuitivecontrol scheme, hard-hitting action and by announcing the debut of NHL® 2K9 on the Wii console. Developed byaward-winning Visual Concepts studios, NHL 2K9 brings a totally rebuilt NHL experience to life with a brand-newin-game presentation system, as well as fresh player animations and controls that you will enjoy from the momentyou play your first game, until well after, as you become a seasoned veteran. New for Next-Gen consoles and furtheradding to an unmatched level of fun are an all-new Zamboni mini-game, playoff beards, a new fighting engineand more! Complete with new commentary, a user-friendly franchise mode and upgraded online features, NHL2K9 brings the fun back to your game console on 9.9.08!
Average Customer Rating:
6.467
6.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
2
8 stars
2
7 stars
3
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 out of 1560%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NHL 2K9
Review 1 for NHL 2K9
ok game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/5/08
Black suit Spidey
When I found out this game was coming out, I was so excited. Then when I got it, it wasn't exactly what I expected it to be. The camera angle is pretty similar to the other NHL games. It shows a camera from the side and a little bit on top. The controls look hard to understand but are easy to get used to. The menu is okay. It could look better, but I can live with it. The challenge is okay as well; not too hard but not too easy, so in the middle. The graphics and sound are okay. The music is not that great, and the graphics, well, let's just say almost every player looks the same (with slight differences). The team and player variety is obviously huge, because they use the real players, so as many players are in the hockey league are also in this game. Overall, this game is okay, but if you want to play, I recommend you rent it first, and if you like it, then buy it.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NHL 2K9
Why is it rated bad?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/20/12
2234dude
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is awesome the gameplay is fantastic and the graphics are great BUT the music is stupid and anoying everyones face looks the same and you cant create your teams stadium. I recomend this game for anyone who likes hockey i dont get why everyone hates it its super good
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NHL 2K9
Okay 2k9 Game!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/7/11
Goosegeesegoosegoogoegoo
Location: Canada
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This 2k9 game has vary bad graphics I thought, the gameplay is good but you never get penalty's if you check a guy when he is not on the puck, It's weird because you check a guy to his knees, and the ref who looks like a monkey by the way does nothing!!! The video trailer for this game shown with the game above makes the game look amazing because the guys are all happy and stuff swinging the remote, but it's okay, not the best it's mostly the choppy gameplay a terrible graphics!!!!!!!!!!!!!! go PS2 and Xbox 360, also wii sports resort rocks pretty good, I have NHL 07 PS2 and it is the best because it's graphics a perfect, not in a clear way there just cool, monkey ref's in NHL 12? NO WAY!!!!!!!! NHL 11 for the Xbox 360 was awesome and I enjoyed it as well as this one but not as much cool games theses days!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
NHL 07
8.4 out of 10(5)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NHL 2K9
I'm not a huge hockey fan but I loved it!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/11
bburitto
Location: Ridgefield, CT
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This was my first time playing a hockey video game. I'm not a huge hockey fan but I tried it out and I loved it! It was hard to play at first but I got a hang of it. The commentators sometimes say stuff that didn't really happen but it is just a piece of electronics.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NHL 2K9
Not the best Wii game but not that bad.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/09
Shaboodles
well with this game being the first NHL game on the Wii, you can't really expect it to be top notch. The game reminded me of NHL 2002 for ps2 which isn't a bad game at all its actually a lot of fun. The graphics are pretty terrible but this isn't ps3 or 360 so you can't really expect that type of quality. I had no idea what to do when I first started playing but once I got the controls down it was pretty simple and became more fun as i kept playing. This game isn't good but its not bad either, its just fun, which is why video games were made in the first place, to have fun with your friends and family playing them. The only thing that bothers me is when you are trying to pass the puck up but if you don't have the remote facing at that player, you end up way off mark, but i eventually got hang of it. If you're looking for some simple and fun hockey game for the Wii, then I would get this one or you can wait until 2k10 comes out because that could be better.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 6 for NHL 2K9
This is the worst NHL game I have ever played!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/25/09
Ronnoc
When I saw this game coming out I was so exited! Then I got it for christmas, and it SUCKED! One of the most, if not the most, worst game for the wii! How ever it has a few good things. Here are the good and bads about this game. Good: -It has diffrent game modes, such as shootout, training, and even pond hockey! -You can control the goalie, as you make him do butterflys, and dives -New fake shot, allowing you trick your opponents goalie Bad: -The camera angles are so bad! They are way far away from the game! -If you thought the motion would be cool, you guessed wrong. The motion is way off. To pass, you hold A and wiggle thee remote. How stupid is that! -The cpu are so hard to beat! Wanna know why? The camera and controls thats what! -Everytime you load a game, A stuipid NHL Q AND A quiz thing pops up and you have to anwser. It is so annoying! I just want to play! Over all this game wins 2 awards. The worst Hockey game of all time and The worst wii game of all time I strongly HATE this game
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Goosegeesegoosegoogoegoo
Canada
 
Please wait while more information about Goosegeesegoosegoogoegoo is loaded.
Additional information about Goosegeesegoosegoogoegoo could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Wow
Posted 12/12/10
Wow. It is not a big deal to have to answer a question, and you don't even have to answer if you don't want to. My brother really likes this game. It is good.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for NHL 2K9
Fun game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/1/09
Packers4212
This is the first hockey game available for the wii. I had high expectations for this game, and they were met. People are complaining about the graphics. A problem for me was that my tv settings were too bright, and then they were pretty good, but not xbox 360 ps3 good. But that's not the best part of the game, what makes this game so much fun is all the features and controls. It makes checking fun, all you do is swing the nunchuck. You swing the remote to take a shot, and hold down B for a slap shot. You can also get into fights and you get to use the wii remote like you're boxing. Shoot-outs are very fun because when your goalie you move the remote and nunchuck to move the goalie to block the shot. Also you can play 2 v 2 which is a lot of fun if you like a lot of hitting. Also between periods you can drive the zamboni, which I think is the hardest part of the game. Plus at the end you can watch clips of the big hits, goals and the top three players. It's actually fun to watch. Overall, the graphics aren't amazing, but it does a great job of using the wii controls to make a very fun game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 8 for NHL 2K9
Totally bummed
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/16/09
PensFan79
Being it's the only hockey game for the WII, you don't really have a choice if you want a hockey game for the system. The graphics are ok, except for the players. May as well be blank faces. Stat keeping is horrible, no online, and the rules are a bit off. Rosters are missing players, mostly just rookies. Controls are easy to figure out, interesting when you figure them out. But seriously overrated. Plenty of teams to choose from, whether it's international, historic teams, or current teams. The mini games within the game are cool, mini rink, pond hockey, and driving the zamboni. I never was too impressed with 2k sports games to begin with. But this is the only hockey game for the WII, so I guess if you really want a hockey game to play and the WII is your only game system, buy it. But if you are patient to hope next year's version will be better, just wait. Or buy another system for hockey.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 9 for NHL 2K9
He shoots, and he SCORES!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/08
FlyersFan
Here's another title I wanted as soon as I saw it. The first NHL game on the Wii features every NHL team, every player, but yet in my opinion didn't take advantage of the Wii's capabilities to make us hockey fans who keep good stock of their rosters. No online updates to current rosters via online connectivity meant that the Philadelphia Flyers roster was out of date mere games after the 08-09 season started. Yet, the small things aside, NHL 2K9 takes good control from the Wii's motion sensing which makes it COMPLETELY beat the 360 and PS3 versions. Come on, who doesn't want to swing at that other team's agitator in the middle of an intense match? Passing is better than ever with a point and pass system, which to some, is hard to manage 2 players at once, but as in the NHL, practice makes perfect, and you don't really need fancy plays to win games. Plus the fact that has the Flyers new goal horn (absent in the last NHL game for a Nintendo system, NHL 06).
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NHL 2K9
A Good Game For A True Hockey Fan
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/08
BluesFan24/7
NHL 2K9 is really a cool game really good for the true hockey fans, even though the graphics could look a little better and have online play but other than that it is really a fun game to play.Franchise is really good too even without online play.The sound is great when you hear the crowd cheering, and chanting that teams name makes you feel like you are actually there.The controls are fairly easy, with great deke moves and controlling your favorite goalie is also great.The hits are pretty good too the defender would never know it was coming.Overall this is a good game it is really worth it to buy.But if you are someone that are stuck up with graphics this is not your game,don't get me wrong good graphics are great but for those who are this is not one you would want to pick up.But you might like it if you are a real hockey fan give it a try.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 11 for NHL 2K9
No Online....very big let down.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/22/08
Iceman1984
This game is a pretty good game. The controls bring a fun twist to NHL games. The graphics are not the best....but probably the best that the Wii can do. The biggest let down is that there is no online play...and you can't update the roster like you can on NHL 2009 for the PS3 and XBox 360, although the roster is updated to a point (other than McCabe still playing for the Leafs) With NHL 2K9 not able to go online I kind of wish that EA brought NHL 2009 out for the Wii too. Another let down is when you create a player...not many options for what the player looks like, and if you create a goalie you can change the color of his mask....or I can't. But besides no online gaming and the suckage of creating players, NHL 2K9 is an average hockey game with a twist in the controls that only the Wii can do. I still play it.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 12 for NHL 2K9
Pretty good game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/16/08
parker55
Nhl 2k9 is a very fun hockey game for wii..i like the controls because it kinda seems like your really playing hockey at some points. Graphics are typical 2k graphics for hockey..there not so great but still doesn't make it not a fun game or a reason not to buy it. The franchise mode is fun its sometimes challenging but sometimes easy! Just depends what level you have it on..if you really like hockey like me then you should buy nhl 2k9...especially for nintendo wii because it seems like your actually really taking a slap shot, or wrister.. So i recommend you to buy this game..but not if you don't really like hockey and you have always gone with ea games...then i don't recommend it to you..but anyone else out there that like hockey enough to watch it, and play it and buy a hockey game every year then go for it buy NHL 2K9...I LOVE THIS GAME IT KEEPS ME ENTERTAINED WHILE HOCKEY SEASON HASN'T STARTED YET!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 13 for NHL 2K9
bad graphics, good gameplay
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/08
rangersfan6894
pros-good game play, updated rosters, and franchise mode cons- bad graphics, no online, you cant or at least i cant figure out how to change the controls to what i want overall i like the game despite the bad graphics but i can get over them, i would recommend this game to anyone who is looking for a good hockey game and who doesn't care what it looks like there are a lot of things they can improve on but for a first time around i think its a pretty good game i have always been a EA fan and i really hope EA makes a hockey game next year to have some competition for the developers.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for NHL 2K9
Major Let Down
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/08
Salami
What a major let down! Every aspect of the game is poor. The sound is distorted, it is too difficult to check, the camera angles are horrible, and the announcing is ridiculous. The best part of the game is the Zamboni driving and fighting! The absolute worst part -- song soundtracks continue to play while the game is going on! What's that all about? Kudos for trying to include championship teams of the past, but why not spend the extra bucks to secure licensing rights to the players names? It just seems that this game was rushed so that it could be released on the same day as EA Sports 09. This game was touted for weeks on nhl with a real-time countdown. Figures that the league would tie themselves into another loser. Very, very dissapointing.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 15 for NHL 2K9
WARNING DO NOT BUY
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/08
Extremely Disappointed...
This has to be one of the worst NHL games that I have ever played. I felt like I purchased a time machine and it took me back to when I used to play NHL 2K2 and NHL 2K3. The graphics are horrendous. Why can't third party developers ever deliver when it comes to graphics? Why? The Wii is very capable of producing great graphics, ie... Super Mario Galaxy, Metroid Prime, The Conduit (unreleased), just to name a few. I know that the Wii is supposed to be about gameplay and not graphics but even the gameplay is mediocre at best. The frame rate is awful, it runs around 20-30 frames per second, which makes it seem very choppy and unpolished. This is a huge disappointment from 2K Sports. A PS2 port would have been better. This is more like a PS1 port. There is no create-a-player. Online mode is also non-existent. This game isn't even worth the rental. Save your money and wait until next year. Hopefully EA will step up and bring some competition so 2K actually has to put forth a valiant effort to create a good hockey game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 16 for NHL 2K9
Finally!!!!!! : D
Posted on:8/30/08
P1nP0InT
You don't know how long I have been waiting for an actual hockey game to come out for the Wii. I have watched videos about this game and it looked awesome. They said that they are going to have more classic controls and not as much advanced controls. One thing I hope for is that you can control the goalie in this game. I really can't wait for it any longer.
Review 17 for NHL 2K9
Best
Posted on:7/4/08
Anonymous
Yes. this game is going to be the best. The wiimote, as the stick, will be the best. I heard they might make a hockey stick for wii. It will be just like skill stick on Xbox but 10 times better.