GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Rock Band 2 - Game Only

12th Annual Interactive Achievement Awards Winner: Outstanding Achievement in SoundtrackHarmonix, developers of the blockbuster Guitar Hero and Rock Band franchises, are delivering Rock Band 2, acontinuation of the Rock Band platform that lets audiences of all ages experience and interact with music in anall-new way. Rock Band 2 lets players vicariously jam out as some of the best guitarists, bassists, drummersand singers of all time.
Average Customer Rating:
10
10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
Review 1 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
Good Game But Could Be Better
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/09
Ultimate Phillies Fan
Rock Band 2 is an excellent buy for the PS2. The graphics are comparable for to the PS3 and 360, and you have a wide variety of songs to play. However, I found with most of the songs in the game, you either like them or you don't, but I feel there are more good then bad songs in it. I also like that you can finally play the tour mode this time around, it really keeps the game from feeling linear. The drum trainer is another great addition too because it can actually teach you how to play the drums. Rock Band 2 is just a good buy for your PS2 plain and simple. However, character customization was once again left out, what's up with that. I don't think PS2 owners are going to get the full experience out of the Rock Band series without, and while I'm on this topic, the default bands they give you are kind of weird looking.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
Rock Band 2 for PS2 rocks!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/08
Blood Raven
After I got the software home, I put it in my PS2 and to my surprise the games opening screen looked far superior to the originals. After setting the lag on the system I went onto create a band and the ease of creating the band was good. Reading the song selections from other sites made me wait with anticipation for the release of it for PS2. All the new cinematics and the songs were beyond what my expectations were. They way that the world tour was presented was totally different from its predecessors. The new challenges in the game made it very hard to put the guitar down. The rest of my band agrees that having something to work towards in this game make it far more interesting. Though it took a long time for them to release the PS2 version, it was well worth the wait.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
well....
Posted on:7/19/08
i still can wait
When I bought rock band for the PS2, I used all the money I got from my birthday and I am only 75% happy with it, because I feel like they rushed the release date. The PS2 version had just about half of the game modes. I bought rock band because in a magazine tips and tricks it said that this multi-platform game would have equal playing modes. For example PS3 you can make your own rocker; PS2 you can't even name individual band members. I hope that they give us all of the info before the launch. I think they should give themselves another month and double the track list. They need to make it up to all of us PS2 gamers.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
A great game for all music genre fans
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/11
bman258
Location: pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Its a great game for all ages and has good songs!! I'm fourteen and im a drummer. Before i knew i could play drums, i learned how to play on rock band 2. If u want to be a drummer or a singer or even a guitarist,get this game, it will teach you everything,timing tempo and even speed. While your learning you are playing along with your friends with music from all genres and over the decedes! Take it from me, im playing in a band now and living the drummers dream. Its all because of rock band. Without it, i will not be playing drums right now.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
hmmm
Posted on:9/5/08
Anonymous
I think this will be a huge letdown for the ps2 again. I don't seem to see a band kit for the ps2 here which is just lazy. In my opinion, buy guitar hero world tour band kit, you still get to create your own character and the drum set is way better. If you don't have a 360, i don't suggest you buy this game.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
I Give Harmonix So Much Credit!
Posted on:10/8/08
Anonymous
Yes, the ps2 versions lack features, but the wildly fun multiplayer still exists! It's phenomenal how you don't have to upgrade your system to get a truly next-gen experience. For someone with a few friends and the will to party, this game is for you.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
Don't Get It!
Posted on:9/6/08
Ycaza
If you only have a PS2 do not buy this game. Save up for a 360, PS3, or Wii, which ever you think best suites you! Think about it. It will in the end be for the best. Sooner or later they will stop making good games for the PS2 because since the PS2 disks have very limited disk space on they the creators will not be able to make the dream of the game come true and if they do the graphics will be bad, it will have a lot less features than the other versions of the game, and you will have less fun. So take it from me, I'm not going to get the game, i might in the future get this or Guitar Hero 4: World Tour. Instead I will get a Xbox 360 and I think I will be glad I did.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
FYI
Posted on:9/17/08
Anonymous
Ok first off if you own a PS2 expect less of a game out of it. You have roughly a quarter the disk space available and the same fraction of graphics capacity as an Xbox/PS3. They give you better options for those systems so hopefully you upgrade to get it. As far as trying to double the amount of songs.... are you serious? It would take about 2-3 disks to do that. I think 84 is a large amount of songs plus any digital downloads you do. Closing statement: You own an out-dated gaming system.... don't be upset when you don't get all the perks the people got that upgraded.
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
Rock Band 2, eh?
Posted on:8/18/08
Sofawall
Well, well, well, Rock Band 2? I've been waiting a while for this one...Now, we all know that the PS2 version of Rock Band was missing some features, due to its limited power compared to suck juggernauts as, say, the 360 or the PS3. Will it happen again for Rock Band 2? Who knows...Anyway, the original Rock Band was very enjoyable, despite the fact i hated the guitar so much I just used my Guitar Hero one instead, the drums were good, the mic good, the gameplay altogether good. The only problem I foresee for RB2 is the wait while all the 360 owners gloat about getting it so much earlier.
Review 10 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
great music game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/12
bman258
Location: pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i wanna keep this short so here is wat i got to say. i find this game for party gamers, hardcore gamers even a family game. you dont have to have skill rhythem in drums or guitar or singing skills. you play an instrument u get up off the couch and you feel the music! you do some head banging you rock out pretty much. you dont have to play a silly controler! i enjoy this game and so do my friends. we had a bday party for my friend and all four of us played it for four straight hours! its lasting, the game is a lot of fun and there is enough music for everyone to enjoy and listen!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
rockband 2
Posted on:7/18/08
uha82bme
I don't understand why this game release will be in november for ps2 and sept for xbox. Why can't they come out at the same time? I'm ready to get this game and can't wait that long.