GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Rock Band 2 - Game Only

12th Annual Interactive Achievement Awards Winner: Outstanding Achievement in SoundtrackHarmonix, developers of the smash hit Guitar Hero and Rock Band franchises, deliver Rock Band 2, the nextstep to the platform that lets audiences of all ages interact with music in an all-new way. Rock Band 2 letsplayers vicariously jam out as some of the best guitarists, bassists, drummers and singers of all time.
Average Customer Rating:
8.857
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
3
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 786%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
Review 1 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
A MUST HAVE for music lovers
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/24/08
Michael Thorp
This game rocks (not a cheap plug in). Challenge wise it does tend to get hard off and on and sometimes not really. So I gave that a 8/10. Graphics/Animation I gave that a 10/10 because they just look really cool all around (even though when you do a song that a chick sings, and you have your lead singer a guy it messes you up because it is out right funny). For the Responsiveness I was a little hard on this part because there are alot of times that me and my wife will place this together and when we hit the key it wouldn't read it and I have been playing guitar since I was 8 years old. So I gave it a 6/10. Now for the Sound I gave it a 9/10 rating because it wasn't that bad. For the Controls I gave it a 7/10 because it tends to get a little rocky. Interface was a 8/10. Now for the Song Variety I gave that a 9/10. They really needed to put more songs on there that are really cool (Kid Rock, Metallica, Lynryd Skynyrd, and more). Now as far as me recommending Rock Band 2 to people I would give it a 9/10. So pick it up today. P.S. Hope that they do a Rock Band 3
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
Rock Band 2 is a really well done sequel
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/08
JoeE
Rock Band 2 is a good sequel to a really good game. The user interface, graphics, song choices, and over all gameplay has been improved. Now you can make custom setlists in quickplay and have your single band member play all of the instruments instead of just one. The very well done World Tour Mode has come back and they have made some minor, but welcome changes. One is the ability to customize your band more. There is an enhanced band logo making options. Also, in the venues have are better than in the first game. Some are bigger and more proffesional looking. One of my favorite new features in World tour mode would have to be the addition of Music Videos. Even though it isn't for very many songs yet, it is a feature that i hope will grow to be on a lot more songs. I recomend that anybody who has played and loved the first one to get Rock Band 2. It is a very good sequel. Even though they didn't change much, it is ok because so many parts of the first one was good. So weither you are a first time buyer or somebody who just wants to play new songs, Rockband 2 is a must have.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
rockband 2= best set list ever
Posted on:9/10/08
I Am The Walrus
Rockband 2 truly shows that Harmonix obviously has good relations with many heavy hitters in the music industry. Judas Priest, Tenacious D, The Who, the return of Megadeth, Mastodon, and FINALLY Dream Theater. The song list is reason enough to buy it. I mean, you get about 100 songs for ** bucks... and for the most part all of which are really good. The song list in Rockband 1 did have some holes in it but between all the DLC's... well it made up for what it was originally missing. And Rockband 2 doesn't really have a lot missing, some Iron Maiden would be nice to see, and possibly even some Deep Purple, Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin, or Queen (but who know's... maybe they couldn't get the licensing rights). All in all, this game looks like it'll be better than GH:WT with the exception of the "Make your own track" feature. I say its a definite buy if you love music and rock and roll.
Review 4 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
Poppy, Rocking, and Brutal as F**k
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/08
the St00pid M0nkey
This game is fun as all hell. To start off, there is a huge selection of songs and genres in this game, from the popish music of Bon Jovi, to Speed Metal of Testament (awesome band), from southern rock of The Allman Brothers Band to the brutal death metal of Abnormality (awesome band). It doesn't matter what genre you like, you will find a song for yourself (not like the first one which didn't have as much variety as this one). The graphics aren't that good, but guitar hero and rock band aren't supposed to be awesome graphics games like Resistance 2, Dead Space, Metal Gear Solid 4 or the upcoming God Of War 3 (check out the trailer. Graphics look better than real life). As always, its very challenging and there are 4 difficulty levels in case you aren't that good at the game, like myself. However, one thing I didn't like is that the responsiveness was a little off sometimes, and also you cant hit the drums too hard or else they "Short Circuit" and turn off. Then you have to flick the switch off and on again to get it to work and you lose many points. It gets annoying quite quickly, but other than that, its very fun.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
Harmonix has done it again.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/21/08
cardinalfan22
Wow. Just wow. That's the only word I can think of to describe this true sequel to the original Rock Band. I don't even know where to start on this review. I think I'll start with the amazing soundtrack. There are A TON of great songs in this list. This game truly has something for everyone. You can rock out to the classic rock bands or you can even play modern songs. There have also been many additions to Rock Band 2 such as the Drum Trainer, which allows you to free style to any song of your choice from your ipod/mp3 player and the very useful "No-fail mode". This sets the game so that even if you aren't even playing the song, you cannot fail which comes in handy if you're playing at a party with some inexperienced band mates. Overall if you're a fan of the previous Rock Band and just a rock lover period, you WILL NOT be disappointed with this masterpiece. I highly recommend this game. It is without a doubt the best music game to date. Songs:10/10 Graphics: 10/10 Challenge 10/10(For me it gives me a challenge and I'm an experienced Guitar Hero/Rock Band guitarist.) Overall 9.85/10 (When you first turn it on, you'll have to calibrate your TV with Rock Band which took me about 3 hours. But it was well worth it in the end when I got to jam out.)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
ITS GONAA BE SWEEET!!!!!!
Posted on:8/11/08
Scooty
rockband 2 is gonna be sooooo sweet that i might not even have to get guitar hero world tour. the setlist was just ok for the first rockband. but this setlist is great. the only thing im worried about is how the online does. it wasnt great in the first one. if your just playing by yourself it gets really boring really fast. so i think that they should make the online better but thats it. i cant wait for white wedding and journey. too bad there isnt any foriegner or r.e.o. speedwagon or styx or def lepard then it would be really great. and a better guns and roses song like sweet child o' mine or paradise city or welcome to the jungle or knockin on heavens door.
Review 7 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
Rock Band is back!
Posted on:7/28/08
Andrew 3-21
i just recently bought this game in the bundle and I feel it is very good. I am slowly losing my interest in the drums; I'm more of a guitar guy. I love the guitar and mic. I have played the guitar in this game every day since I got it and its awesome mic too. I'm not at all impressed with the song list. Last year nirvana was my favorite band and now they are so played out due to RB and GH, and I'm disappointed to see they are still putting them in these games because now everyone is a huge fan. I will only buy this game because pearl jam is in it and they are my favorite band EVER! Not crazy about it, but still will get it.
Review 8 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
Can't Wait
Posted on:8/8/08
Anonymous
As an avid player of the original Rock Band since the first day of release, this sequel sounds like it fixes many flaws the original game had, as well as adding new features. The backward compatibility with old Rock Band on-disk and DLC songs is also a nice feature. I pre-ordered this, and I hope to reserve a copy of Guitar Hero World Tour as well. They both seem like they will be amazing games, each in their own unique-yet-similar way. If Harmonix delivers as well on this as they did the first one, it's a sure fire hit.
Review 9 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
What a bunch of stupid songs.
Posted on:7/18/08
rockband 2, the crappiest since rockband 1
In the whole song list i see 4 songs tops that I would even want to play. They put in their own stupid made-up bands and try their horrid songs. I was disappointed with rock band 1, and I'm not even gonna waist my breath on crock band 2. They don't put any fun songs, just a bunch of crap bands I don't want to play. I'm scared at a disco either, instead I'd rather have good stuff. But no, let's put the jerks in it. Definitely not gonna buy it. It has crap songs.
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
cool but rockband3 is cooler
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/10
PS3forLIFEbutRESPECT360
Location: texas
This game is perfect for: party gamers
this game is awesome but i would recommend rock band 3 more in this game they censer the bad words in the songs like on down with the sickness on rock band 3 they don't
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
Rock Band 1 is still better.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/17/13
Annonymous19
Honestly, with the way Rock Band 1 was set up, I was a little disappointed in how this was set up. The songs on Rock Band 1 were more fun to play and they were just more catchy. They could've done a much better job with the song choice and the overall setup, and they could add more clothes to the character building because it's all the same. The original game is the best one.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
Very Impressed
Posted on:7/25/08
Anonymous
I really didn't like the songlist in the first Rock Band. Way too much popular stuff for my liking. This time around they managed to add some cool bands. Never thought I would see L7 or Mastodon on there. Motorhead was also a great addition I wish they had more of their stuff in there. I will be buying this one when it comes out. Hopefully they continue this trend of giving great lesser known guitar oriented bands a chance on Rock Band
Review 13 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/21/12
biggie321
Location: florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this games awesome,my first rockband was the beatles rock band and i really really liked it but on the beatles rock band i was garunteed to like every song this not so much.There are some good songs like pretend we're dead,float on,hungry like the wolf and a few more but all in all there are some bad songs but overall a good game and for 5 $ used totally worth it!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
Hmm?
Posted on:9/6/08
Woden
Although there are a dozen or more great classic rock and 80's pop songs on here, I can't say the setlist is as good as the original Rockband. I was a real strong supporter of Rock band over GH3, but they can do better..... GH:WT setlist is far stronger. Just my 2 cents..and obviously personal preference.
Review 15 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
Where's the good music???
Posted on:7/20/08
dencowboy1
I may not be in the punk, head-banging, no rhythm crowd, but would like to see more music from my era, such as maybe groups from the 70's and 80's where there was actually a song and tune and a band that you could understand and pronounce the name. Hey, how about some country songs also.
Review 16 for Rock Band 2 - Game Only
Fun Stuff!
Posted on:7/20/08
Anonymous
Really got to give it to Rockband for putting in decent music from a lot of variety! There are a lot of songs on this game that I'm not so familiar with, but after a few weeks of playing; I'll be humming them in my sleep! Can't wait until it's released.