GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World

Set two years after the events of the award-winning Tales of Symphonia for the Nintendo GameCube, Dawn of the New World follows the journey of two new young heroes, Emil Castagnier and Marta Lualdi, as they seek to uncover the mystery of why their world has fallen into ruin. In their quest, their paths will cross with the original cast of Tales of Symphonia including Lloyd and Colette, as well as a summon spirit known as Ratatosk who claims to be the lord of all monsters.
Average Customer Rating:
8.491
8.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (77 reviews)
10 stars
30
9 stars
10
8 stars
8
7 stars
2
6 stars
2
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
49 out of 5983%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World
Review 1 for Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World
AWESOME GAME FOR FANS OF TOS but can be annoying
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/10
PhoenixFlare
Location: Bronx, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i have played the gamescube version (part 1) and this one. it can be VERY VERY ANNNOYYING!!! due to the very long long cutscenes. but overall its a very good game. gameplay is awesome. graphics is great but not as great as Final fantasy i can assure you. storyline is AMAZING! best for those who lovesss role-play games with love n drama. just one bad thing bout is, is the gameplay of it is very short unless u wanna play the added quest they have but the quest only takes a few mins. so no point.IF U HAVE PATIENCE! I SAY PLAY IT BUT FIRST PLAY THE GAMECUBE VERSION TO UNDERSTAND. ITLL GET CONFUSION ON WHAT THEY SAY !!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/15/08
Brian14
I was definitely long anticipating this game coming out. As soon as I started the game, I was impressed with it. The character was kind of soft at the beginning. However, I got over this, as soon as he got an amazing upgrade. The music was pretty good to. Yes, a lot of it was remixed from the old game, but it is still pretty good and the music doesn't affect the game play right? The story is pretty good too. The animal taming portion of this game is nice also. Yes it does remind some of us of Pokemon, but nonetheless, this feature has a nice effect on the battle system. I also think the Artes(magic) have improved greatly. For original ToS players, Emil will seem like another Lloyd in the beginning. However, as you progress in the game, Emil gets a few magical toys himself. Also, for people who have never played the original game can still enjoy this installment in the series because of the recap this game gives you. Overall, I would definitely suggest this to any RPG fan out there.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World
Could have been alot better
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/11
Anonymous
Location: New York, Ny
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
First off, I am a tales fan and i was saddened by this game. This is because the game wasn't complete and the story made me want to throw it out the window. Emil and Marta were basically the whole game in a nut shell, everything surrounded them and their "relationship". Marta was very annoying and I felt bad for Emil because i feel he was forced into the relationship just to get her to be quiet. Most tales games don't really go into depth of a characters relationship with another, and i like that fact. Tales of Vesperia had no romance in it and i was very happy because it was just about friendship and not having a girlfriend in the end. The gameplay was great for the game, the graphics weren't so bad though it could have been better and the sound was alright too. It was just the story line and how you can't use other tales characters and the fact you can't have costumes and the last battle against ratatosk just wasn't epic. Namco could have done better but chose not to, i hope they learn from this game like sega did with Sonic 06.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World
Must grab it!
Posted on:8/1/08
Keira
This game is a must have, no doubt. The original game was so beautifully done, the battle system completely unique and entirely effective. I have never fought on such a clever battle system, as proudly done by the Tales series. Dawn of the New World is also a much better title than the original Japanese "Knight of Ratatosk". Anybody remotely familiar with Norse mythology (which a lot of the first game was based off of) will know that Ratatosk is a useless squirrel that sits on the tree Yggdrassil. The end. Incorporating it as a summoning spirit in this game is great though, if somewhat humourous. The new characters are awesome, people will fall in love with them as they did the original cast. Not to mention the fact that great storytelling is the very soul of the game, making this an epic RPG with so much inner conflict and character development that it will become an instant classic. Nintendo was lucky to snatch this one. Of all the games to get, this one should be on the top of your list.
Review 5 for Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World
Fantastic!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/13/08
gnookergi
Bought this at a local Gamestop this morning and have been playing all day long. I love the story and the characters -- maybe even more so than the original Symphonia cast. The main character does tend to get on your nerves at the beginning, but he eventually grows out of it -- more or less -- when the game really begins to unfold. Game play is very similar to the first Symphonia, but they added the ability to tame monsters who can fight, level, and evolve beside you in battle -- and no, they're not Pokemon. The Wii motion controls work well, and while they aren't used so much in the battles, the game makes good use of during dungeons and other mini game type of scenarios. I was a bit worried about what the voice acting would be like based on other reviews, but I have found it to be quite enjoyable. There are some parts where the voice pitch doesn't go with the atmosphere of the conversion, but it's seldom and barely noticeable. This game passes all my expectations and then some. 10 out of 10.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World
Good, but...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/11
Galcion
Location: Boyertown, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I will not deny that this was a good game. However, for those of you who played the the original may be disappointed. The story was good and clever enough, the new characters worked well with the story and the returning characters were great to see. However. It pales in comparison to the first. The first took me probably 80 some hours on my first play through. This took me 36. I beat the game in less than a week. There really could be a lot more substance for the game. They also took the fun of travelling away. I know that when you travel and have to fight all the time it can get annoying, but thats where you level up between stages. Granted it really didn't matter that much, but there we times when I had a hard time because I felt unprepared because I was a such a low level for where I am in the game. All in all it was a decent game and a good game to show fans of the first one whats been happening after you beat the first game. So I recommend playing the first and then this as a sort of epilogue.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 7 for Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World
Overall amazing game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/12
clayton2243
Location: Allen,TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
the game has an azing soundtrack, story and graphis. some would disagree abou the graphics but you have to remember, it is a wii game and the wii mas released in 2006 so graphics today are overall better on gaming systems. rfom the start the game hadme hooked.i have played the game 3 times and plan on playing it again!!!!! if your reading my review i say that you should by this game, especially if your a fan of the tales games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World
It was overall a fantastic game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/12
rickyd
Location: Westerly, RI
I personally loved this game! I read some of these reviews and they leave a bad impression. I actually was always interested with the storyline, found gameplay to be excellent, the graphics were good but, I will admit there was room for improvement, and it's an overall fantastic game. I understand some of the complaints. One was too much romance, I personally didn't care that there was tons of romance, it added intrest into the storyline. Also some people said it wasn't as good as the other tales games. I thought this game was just as good as any of the other tales games (including the first one). Also I found some people didn't like the storyline in genaral. I was shocked, I found the storyline was fantastic and I cant imagine how anyone could say otherwise... Well all in all this was an amazing game and would recommend it to anyone.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World
Ever played the 1st one?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/10
xXAngelXx
My 1st Tales game was Tales of Symphonia and when i heard that the sequel was coming out soon, i was so excited. To tell you the truth, it wasn't what I expected it to be. If you've never played the 1st one before, then I think you would enjoy this game a lot, but if you have played the 1st one, then this game will disappoint you a bit. They've made a few changes that weren't very satisfying. You may get angry at first, but you learn to live with it. Other than the changes, I loved the new characters and I loved the story, it was wonderful. The story is a bit short though, and it wasn't that much of a challenge either, i beat the game in 3 days, but it was probably because i was so addicted. Oh, and another thing, this is my opinion though, I didn't find the voices very pleasing.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World
big disapointment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/2/11
HmmCheese
to me this game was absolutely boring, the only 2 things that went on my mind during the game was (1- who is emil, 2- when will i get to play as lloyed) Gameplay: to me the battle system felt like a combination from tales of the abyss and pokemon. i cant say its bad, but i was greatly disappointed with it. ///////////// Graphics:: was very nice... thts all i like about the game,/////////////////////////// Story line:: i seriously wanted to kill my self, aside from being too short, it was very.....not thought through. if there was an ending where i can pick to kill off the 2 main characters, i would. They are like an even whinier version of luke from toa/////////// Truthfully, if you are a tales fan do not get this game, the only reason i would recommend this to a tales fan is if they wanted to know what happens after tales of symphonia 1 . As for new people who are trying out the tales serious. DO not get this game as your first tales game.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World
Great game, may dissapoint some...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:8/10/11
Izzy02
Location: Westerville, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I will admit that this game is a pretty good game. The graphics are well done, it has a pretty good storyline, and very funny moments. However, some Tales fans may be dissapointed. If this is your first Tales game, you may think that this is a really good game, but keep in mind that this is a sequel to Tales of Symphonia. I honestly liked the first game better, but this was a pretty good game too. I did have several pet peeves about this game:
-the voices actors werent the same as they were in the first game
-some of the funny moments were too cheesy
-why the heck does Emil have to stutter alot?
-Ginnungagap was a really stupid name...
-Emil and Marta are the only ones that can level up (apart from the monsters) in your party, and you cant change anything about the others, like their titles, weapons, armor, etc.
Other than all that, there were some things that were helpful. I liked how when you're in battle, you can move around rather than you can only move front to back. Over all, this is a pretty good game, but to all fans of the first Tales of Symphonia, I feel your frustrations toward this game..
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World
best game for the wii
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/7/08
TOS fan
This game is a very exciting and fun wii rpg. The story line is good, there is some comedy, there are great action sequences. It is also very fun to watch emil and Marta with their relationship problems and flirting. The story line is fun, but can get a bit confusing. There are also many hard "puzzles" and some secret details that aren't in the guidebook. It also takes a while to level up to the max, but that is what makes a great game. Because you can take the time in trying to beat it and leveling up. There are also 200 monsters making the game a lot more interesting than Tales of Symphonia. all of the characters are back including some new ones such as Alice and Decus. As well as some new villains such as Richter Albend, Alice, Decus, and the Vanguard. There are 3 endings one where emil and Marta stay together as a couple and everything is happy, one where they never see each other again, and one where emil dies. There is also a big twist. Emil thinks he is a human, but he is actually the great tree's summon spirit Ratatosk. all and all it is a great game! Buy it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World
Underated
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/10/09
lightfang953
Personally, unlike many people I actually enjoyed the second Tales of Symphonia more than the first. Yes, I understand the first one was highly impressive, and I would give it a 10 out of 10. But, this game topped that I thought. I would say they are equal on most level however, the first was lacking in multiplayer camera, and it just got repetitive a lot. Sure this game has overdone humor, but it didn't seem to draw on and on like the first towards the ending. This game got me interested right away. The camera and fighting system made it perfect for multiplayer, and the monster diversity was great for when you didn't have a full party. I wish you could level up the characters from the first game, but it didn't really bother me towards the end of the game where all the levels are about the same. Also, the background music in the second didn't get boring within the first 10 minutes. Both, games had great features, but I would say the improvements in this one just topped the first. For those who enjoy a long, and rare, multiplayer I reccomend both games, and certainly Dawn of a New World as well.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/11
Disciplelicious
Location: Spokane, WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is definitely a Tales of Symphonia game, with its great music, hilarious and deep dialogue and original fighting style. The monster system was great! I enjoyed very much being able to stand back and watch my monsters demolish the final boss! It made me feel like a good parent.
The only drawbacks are that you can't level up the characters from the original and it didn't follow the storyline of the original as much as I'd hoped.
So I only beat this one twice instead of five times. :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World
Same old feeling but still good.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/27/09
AnonymouslyConfused
Like just about every Tales game before you have a good albeit strong combat system in this addition to the Tales series. Graphically this could have been done easily on the GC but thats ok. Story is pretty much there but not anything to enthralling. I do like capturing the monsters letting them level up and evolve. Its a nice take but if you played any other Tales games on the PS2 or the GC Tales of Symphonia you will feel right at home. The game is not the most challenging RPG I have ever played but it is fairly lenghty for the most part. Katz Guild quests are pretty lame and a big downfall for me b/c they do not offer any particular variety. How many times can you deliver medicine to a sick monster. You can also compete in the arena again. The controls work fine and are easy to pick up and play. This game does make you feel like its lacking in some areas. Instead of traveling the world on foot and adventuring you just get a map and boom your there, now that did not bother me in the least. Overall this is just a 'good' game that is held back on a few fronts but, the discounted price will help ease your mind because when its all said and done this is a good purchase for the Wii. Presentation - 7 Gameplay -8 Story - 7 Graphics - 7 Replayability - 7 Overall - 7.2 out of 10
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World
Does not live up to the original
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/12
chuckiemon
Location: austin, tx
Pros: Emil is a really cool name. It's based on the original ToS. It ages Genis and Presea well. The baddies are interesting... How they suddenly appeared after two years is baffling, but they have interesting personalities. Cons: This game not only has a horrid plot, but it screws with the storyline of the original... a lot. In the original, there's a side quest where you can go into nifleheim and destroy it, but in this one they're scared of what might happen if the door to it opens. The voice acting is awful. They changed the pronunciation of a few things. They randomly use monsters as if they were pokemon. The "New World" is the old world with bigger dungeons and few random changes such as a nonexistent overworld. The graphics are somehow worse than the original.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World
Perfect for female RPG players...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/11
RoxyRPG
Location: California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I had never played the first Tales of Symphonia, but while gamestop had a 2 for 1 deal I picked this game last minute and I am GLAD I did. The only thing that gets kind of annoying is the dialouge every 5 minutes. Make sure to save any chance you get so you don't have to sit through all the scenes of talking again. But if they didn't have that much dialouge I probably wouldn't have understood half of what was going on. Plus wayyy too much romance going on for even my taste. But other than that the fighting style is awesome, the bosses were just tough enough without being too easy or near to impossible, equipment is fun to tweak with, the attacks are legit, you can make pacts with monsters to get them on your team, etc. Awesome AWESOME game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Neonissuchamonsta
USA
 
Please wait while more information about Neonissuchamonsta is loaded.
Additional information about Neonissuchamonsta could not be loaded.
Awesome GAME!!
Posted 8/18/12
This game is Awesome I highly recommend it to any tales fan
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World
This game...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/10
Smexiitofu
Location: California
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Was this game good? Yes. Was this game better than the first? Maybe not. Would I recommend to an average gamer? Yeah! Would I recommend it to a hardcore tales of fan? You bet! This game extremely fun! The gameplay is your typical Tales of game, with you deciding if you want to fight the monster or not and going around solving puzzles while beating intense boss battles with your artes. The graphics were GREAT for a Wii game. I say Wii game because to be honest, the graphics of the Wii suck to it's other counterparts. But the amazing detail and complexion of each area and character, truly stunning. The sound of this game was fantastic. You have your typical Tales of sound effects and it's background music. What I really want to talk about is the voice acting. The voice acting was absolutely amazing. The new character's voices add to the character's personality and you find yourself either loving them or pounding your head against the TV trying to tell them to shut up. I, of course am the former. Johnny Yong Bosch does amazing work all the time, and I am definitely a big fan of his. The game really sinks when it comes to hours of play and replayability. The game alone takes about 30 hours to complete, and that includes all the skits, and all the cutscenes. The game itself is about 18-25 hours depending on your luck at the puzzles and your knowledge of Tales of games, and that's not long at all. The only replayability you get out of this is backtracking to get all the items, level Emil and Marta to level 100, and Mania and Unknown mode. However, to end this, I must tell you I had an amazing time with this game and it was truly an honest and fun experience.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World
Not what I expected...
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/11/09
Xero
Truth is... this game was a total disappointment when I finished playing it. I actually love the "Tales" family and when I first played Tales of Symphonia, I simply fell in love with it and couldn't wait like the rest of the fans for Dawn. So I bought it and played it and everything was going well. Just when it gets to the interesting part I was like "This can't be near the ending now would it?" but it ends too fast and I got my heart broken. I was at least expecting more from it but all I got was a 30 hour gameplay. For all you fans out there, this is a good game but expect a fast ending. For me, it felt like they rushed the ending a little too fast. So yeah, #1 was always better. If you are to play this game, focus on leveling real high and finish like every quest just to extend the gameplay for yourself. Otherwise, you might get heart broken like me.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World
Just Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/30/11
Coyote123
Location: Tempe AZ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I had looked at this game in store numerous times when I had bought my Wii and thought to myself it looks dumb. But after checking the reviews for the Xbox 360 version of Tales of Vesperia, I decided to purchase the Tales of Vesperia for the Xbox. I played Tales of Vesperia and enjoyed it thoroughly so I caved in and bought Tales of Symphonia for Wii without even looking at the reviews, and for me to buy a game without looking to see what others thought of it is saying something. Both games have such humor in it to make me laugh and want to continue to play the game untill the game was finished. Just an overall Awesome game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>