GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Pokemon Ranger: Shadows of Almia

In Pokémon Ranger: Shadows of Almia, you once again play as a Pokémon Ranger, working to help people, Pokémon and nature in a new area called the Almia Region. Starting out as a Student Ranger, you quickly earn the title of a full-fledged Pokémon Ranger. As you succeed in more and more missions, you will aspire to become the highest Ranger rank: Top Ranger. Along the way you meet and capture all kinds of different Pokémon.
Average Customer Rating:
6.943
6.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
10 stars
10
9 stars
8
8 stars
4
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
4
23 out of 3566%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pokemon Ranger: Shadows of Almia
Review 1 for Pokemon Ranger: Shadows of Almia
SO AWESOME!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/22/09
Bioniclefan!!!!!!!!!!!!
This game is really good. I got it for Christmas and i've played it so much. I like the new capture styler and the way of capturing pokemon. I also like that there are seventeen partners to choose from. The bosses are a bit hard, but if you practice you'll beat them. The storyline is very, very good it is long and takes many unexpected turns. The online missions are fun and I like that you can transfer pokemon to diamond or pearl. I wish there was a multiplayer, but there isn't really anything you could do. You couldn't battle, and trading wouldn't be that good. The graphics aren't as good as diamond's, but they are pretty good. Occasionally, i noticed a few pixils. I like the ranger's new outfit a lot. It is much better, same with the hair style. I like the new capture system, how you dont have to keep the stylus on the screen the whole time. I like all of the new pokemon, such as Lucario and Heatran. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who likes pokemon or RPGs. It is a great deal for the price.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pokemon Ranger: Shadows of Almia
Pretty decent adventure game...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/09
Dragonball Z Dude
I got Pokemon Ranger: Shadows of Almia for Christmas. This game is nice and it kind of is a little boring at first doing the little missions, but when you do the big missions then this game get good. The challenge of this game is pretty good, some pokemon are easy and some are difficult. The controls are simple all you need to know is how to is draw a circle around the pokemon to catch it. The interface is great to play with. The sound or music is just like something you would hear on the show pokemon, it's ok I guess. The character Customization is well, at the beginning of the game you have on a school uniform, but when you graduate from the Ranger School you get your sweet official Pokemon Ranger uniform. The length of this game is good enough not too long or too short. The storyline is excellent because you just became a ranger and you do all these missions that take you to different places in the Almia region. So I would recommend this game to anyone who likes Pokemon, you should get this game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Pokemon Ranger: Shadows of Almia
Bad overall
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/14
SadisticDude
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
The game was a waste of money. It takes the thrill out of pokemon. If you want a better side game buy the mystery dungeon series.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 4 for Pokemon Ranger: Shadows of Almia
okay
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/12
EJBD
Location: Nebraska
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
its my first pokemon ranger game. i must say, before i bought it, i've heard a lot of reviews about how horrible it is, and i must say almost everything they complained about was wrong. the sound was good, the storyline kept you guessing and was interesting. the only thing is that it's a little too easy. either that or i loved it so much that i could hardly put it down and i completed it quickly. once you get practiced at it, you'll easily be a master
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pokemon Ranger: Shadows of Almia
Impressed
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/15/11
Snivee
I played this game for three weeks and I still hadn't beet this epic game. Anyway you play as a pokemon ranger and you have to save the Almina regin by capturing Pokemon and using them in boss caputres and and in target clears.You also get to pick your Partner pokemon unlike the other 2 games.This game is just amasing and amusing to any fan of pokemon.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pokemon Ranger: Shadows of Almia
This one is a real stinker
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:5/2/09
TropicalGhost
I was extremely dissapointed by this game the storyline was really boring and pointless, and the charcters are anoying and talk endlessly ( the dialog is soooo cheesy too and almost painful to read). It has limited pokemon action so its easy to forget that your even playing a pokemon game. The graphics are horriable, it was like they went back to GBA all over again (most of the charcters look the same). I could hardly tolerate the music for more than ten minutes. The thing I was looking forward to the most was the missions and quests but they turned out to be easy and proved to be more of a nuisance than anything else. The most stimulating part of this game was the lame sequence to capture the pokemon and making them your temporary partner after mindlessly making circular motions on your touch screen and avoiding the pitiful attacks of the pokemon. In conclusion safe your self the misery and don't buy this game it was brutal.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pokemon Ranger: Shadows of Almia
The Pokemon Company did it again!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/4/09
SuperLuigi
When I got this game Christmas morning I immediately opened it and started playing it was a little boring at first because you have go to Ranger school. But when you get out of ranger school you get to start completing missions and quests. I think this pokemon ranger is way better than the first because there are many more pokemon and quests. Some of the pokemon bosses may be hard but if you have the right pokemon and poke assists you can accomplish the mission. Another thing that really got me going was that I got to ride on duduoI may be 13 years old but I still enjoy Pokemon Ranger: Shadows of Almia. I would recommend this game to. Anyone who loves pokemon, mario, and other nintendo games. I think this is one of the best pokemon games they have ever made.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pokemon Ranger: Shadows of Almia
Perfect for people who want a easy game to beat.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/20/14
pokekid1
Location: Ithaca, NewYork
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I believe the game was excellent with many different parts. it gets annoying at times when you have to save and get pokemon to get through obstacles. Other times there are exciting twists. Many different people to meet. In my opinion the most exciting part was able to go to pokemon ranger school. It also lacks the ability to speak though. You rarely get a chance to speak. It was a excellent game otherwise.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Pokemon Ranger: Shadows of Almia
Ok if you like pokemon
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/09
Issamn
This game is for pokemon lovers. The graphics were good and it was pretty long with all the collecting but the only downfall is you can really customize your character unless you find stuff and then it just equips automatically. The sound was good but the music is slighty annoying and the story line was good and easy to follow along with. The game would be so much better if it had real battles. The battles were only spinning a stylus. If you didnt have a long stick (lol) it starts to hurt your hand. The boss battles were few but challanging and took forever. Its cool that you can use the pokemons abilities to boost your own power but if you use them the pokemon that you captured will run away. Its a game worth picking up if you thinks its cool but if you get the used game it will save you some money if you dont like it but then again you could just bring it back.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pokemon Ranger: Shadows of Almia
To buy or not buy???
Posted on:9/26/08
menotu
I wasn't very big on the first pokemon ranger but i wanted manaphy so i borrowed it from my brother that hardly ever played it and it wasn't allt that but again i did it for manaphy.Now the real question is will this game hold a rare pokemon as well? The awnser to that is yes.Pokemon ranger 2 will have 3 special missions, I believe u get via events but i am not 100% sure.The first mission another manaphy egg, yes manaphy is obtainable in this one also,2nd riolu with moves such as aura sphere and shadow claw,3rd the very rare and sought after DARKRAI yes darkrai i am unaware of the details of how these special missions are unlocked, all i no is that i read on a site that those 3 pokemon will be able to be sent to your pokemon diamond/pearl game.i wll probly but just so i can get darkrai but thats just me. i hope i did not spoil anything for anyone but i thought i would just let yall now
Review 11 for Pokemon Ranger: Shadows of Almia
2nd best pokemon game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/11
Animalcrossing101
Location: Florida
it was my first ds game ever and my first video game ever. love it
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pokemon Ranger: Shadows of Almia
Amazing!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/14/11
Shadowthehedgehog
Location: Wisconsin, WI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I got got this game I was excited! I knew I was in for a great game. I was playing this game for a hour and I thought "This is the best game ever!" The gameplay was so much better than pokemon ranger. The friendship gauge was soooooooooooooooo much better than than the amount of loops in pokemon ranger. This is a must have game you cant miss it!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pokemon Ranger: Shadows of Almia
Pokemon Ranger Shadow of Almia rocks !
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/17/08
LEOSKY
Although I didn't buy the first Pokemon Ranger, this second Ranger game is great! The game starts off in the Ranger school for you to learn all the capturing moves. The storyline is good and you have to chase after the storyline by completing a number of quiz and missions, some are fun and some are hard. The entire story is good, with good challenges in between. Even after finishing the main storyline, you get to continue to complete your Pokedex and all other missed quests, and reveal a new arena for capturing some rare pokemon. Overall I think this game is more challenging than DP, you have to use your stylus well and choose your poke assist wisely when needed. One drawback for this game is without multi-play games, you can't really play with your friends wireless or online. Get this game if you are a serious Pokemon fan, you won't be disappointed.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for Pokemon Ranger: Shadows of Almia
no
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/11
catdude
Location: somewhere
I thought it may have been like the other pokemon games (RPG's). But it wasn't, it was kinda adventure-ish. This game was pretty addicting at the beginning but after a while it just got very boring. I was drawing circles forever it seemed like. That was pretty much the only thing you do with a few exceptions of using your pokemon skills which takes forever to recharge, so basically you can use your pokemon every 10 minutes. This game is very boring and if you like this game, you probably will like geometry, because all you do is draw circles over and over. I ESSPECIALLY hated how the characters try to be funny, but FAIL terrerbly. Overall this game is too overrated, i thought it would be good but apparently i was wrong. Skip this one
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Halo Reach Noble Map Pack - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 800 Points
8.5 out of 10(13)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
3 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pokemon Ranger: Shadows of Almia
Pokemon Ranger new and improved.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/11/11
Ranger6
Location: Washington
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The new Pokemon Ranger game was worth the money. In the game, your characters goal is to travel around the Almia region and protect people and Pokemon from a group of people with sinister goals. This game is perfect for anybody who likes adventure, suspense, and Pokemon. You also get the chance to catch many legendary Pokemon, such as Cresselia, Darkrai, Celebi, and Regigigas. You also have the option to transfer over some Pokemon to your Diamond, Pearl, Platinum, Heartgold, or Soulsilver game. Unfortunatley, there is not that many multiplayer missions available. I would recomend this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pokemon Ranger: Shadows of Almia
dont buy this game
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/10
poke attic
don't buy this game it totally stinks i mean the graphics suck the story line sucks and most of all there wasn't even any challenge to the game all you do is draw loops for the whole game. at first i was like aw this is a awesome game but once i got through the academy {that's a part of the game} i realized that the game sucks. the game is about you playing as a ranger. you go to the academy and that and then you go to a ranger group where they boss you around and the only way you can do your own mission is to go on quests which my i add that the quests are stupid. and they try to act funny but they can not be funny. so once i beat the whole game i traded the game in a heartbeat. so i highly recommend that you do not buy this game ever and if you do you'll be dissapointed
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pokemon Ranger: Shadows of Almia
Easy game to play
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/08
jaimetheskater
This game was pretty easy. At first it seemed interesting but then it got boring. I have the first pokemon ranger game that came out and i think it's way better than pokemon ranger shadows of almia. I got the game about 2 weeks ago and i finished it 2 days ago. The extra missions that you can do are easy. Like the the Manaphy egg one. You don't rescue the egg you just take the egg away from some happiny. I think the pokemon company can make a better game than that. They should make a game with more memory than that. This game is not the most harder game that i have ever played that was about pokemon. The most challengy game of pokemon that I have would be pokemon Diamond or Pokemon Fire Red. I also hope that they make a game about Jotho instead of pokemon gold or silver for the ds. An easy game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 18 for Pokemon Ranger: Shadows of Almia
Best Ranger Game Ever
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/11
Fawful
The first was to hard and the other was just a stupid book and copy cat. This game was so good I could get another copy of this game. Great job overal!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pokemon Ranger: Shadows of Almia
Hmm....
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/13/08
Aquaman
Well, i actually haven't played the first pokemon rangers and had no idea how this one was going to be like. I thought it may have been like the other pokemon games (RPG's). But it wasn't, it was kinda adventure-ish. This game was pretty addicting at the beginning but after a while it just got very boring. I was drawing circles forever it seemed like. That was pretty much the only thing you do with a few exceptions of using your pokemon skills which takes forever to recharge, so basically you can use your pokemon every 10 minutes. This game is very boring and if you like this game, you probably will like geometry, because all you do is draw circles over and over. Overall this game is too overrated, i thought it would be good but apparently i was wrong. Skip this one.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pokemon Ranger: Shadows of Almia
'Stamp of Approval?' Nope.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/09
~GamerGirl~
You really do need to play this game with an open mind. This game may have been easy, but it was resonably fun. I really did have fun playing this game though. The things that I didn't approve of where that it was beyond easy at a few points and it was way past hard at other times. It was like it went from one extreme to another. This game really didn't give you much options, which, if it had, would have made it more fun. this game also didn't last me very long. Though that isn't saying much because I finish most games within a day unless they are like Animal Crossing games that don't really end. But this game really was quick to finish and it was very easy. In conclution, this game did not get my 'Stamp of Approval' because of how quick it was over.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>