GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Star Ocean: First Departure

Space Date 346: The crew of a Terran Federation ship arrives on the planet Roak. With the help of a stalwart band of local heroes, the crew must work together to unravel a mystery and halt a galactic war. STAR OCEAN: First Departure marks the first time that the initial instalment in the popular STAR OCEAN franchise is available in North America.
Average Customer Rating:
9.25
9.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 888%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Star Ocean: First Departure
Review 1 for Star Ocean: First Departure
At least it wasn't Roddyck.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/09
Tanuki
I've played the original years ago, and I loved it then. Needless to say, I pre-ordered the game the second I found out it was due for a NA-release. It was nice how the story line was expanded and the SO2 engine was used to "make it look prettier". My only problem was the localization. I. Don't. Like. the Name. Changes. I understand "Fear" becoming "Phia"--that is logical. Joshua/Ioshua, sure, have a ball. Iria becoming "Ilia" only upsets me because I know "Ilia" as being a masculine Russian name, but still, I can see it. Making Ronixis--who has been "Ronixis" since the psx SO2--"Ronyx" is low blow. Ratix--orignal Japanese "ra-te-kku-su" (I'd provide the kana but this computer doesn't support it)--to "Roddick" is really... unexpected. I really, really do not like that name. Ratix is the name of the Roakian felpool with blue hair. Well. At least I can change names in-game and cringe through voice overs. At least it wasn't Roddyck.Summing it all up in one word: Classic.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Star Ocean: First Departure
An Excellent Remake...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/9/08
Vol7ron
Ok, first off, this is a REMAKE of Star Ocean that was out for the Super Falcom way back in the day. For the most part, the game was kept to the original framework. What they have done, is taken the original Star Ocean 2 battle system, converted it for the PSP, cleaned it up slightly, and have enhanced the sprites slightly. This has made the game really look beautiful without making it look like a totally new game. They have also done a nice job with the few cut scenes that are in the game. Of the only complaints i have is that i really wish that there had been a few more cut scenes of some of the important points in the story. While yes it is short, i can understand that based upon the format that the game wa originally on. If you are a Star Ocean fan, then you will really enjoy this game. It also opens some details and questions about some of the characters that are in Star Ocean The Second Story (or soon to be Star Ocean Second Evolution)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Star Ocean: First Departure
A must have for RPG lovers!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/7/08
mfrapp20
Some people viewed this game and called it crappy because Square Enix did not use 3D graphics, but let me tell you, this game was amazingly put together. First of all, this game will seem easy at first, but I assure you that you'll need to do a lot of training to beat specific bosses. Also, this game uses the real-time battle system, which made the controls easy to get used to. Now for the voice acting. It is not that bad, although there are sometimes when characters ramble on and don't pause, I can tell they put some work into it. This game isn't just a bunch of 2D graphics. There are certain scenes in the game that are fully animated and fun to watch. SO I ask you, why not buy this game It's fun, easy to get used to, and the storyline is impressive and addictive. Trust me, if you buy this game, you won't regret it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Star Ocean: First Departure
An underlooked gem
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/09
MegaMac
Star Ocean is one of the most addictive games I've played in a long time. Combat seems almost too easy at first but you it picks up and you find you may have to grow a few levels to beat certain enemies or just to survive the random encounters. While random encounters are annoying in most games ,in this game they're not bad at all. I actually usually find myself wanting to fight so I can grow levels. There is also a ton of ways to modify your party. There are 4 characters that you always get, but depending on what you do or say you can get more characters. The combat is 3d with the X button the main attack. L and R control specials and Triangle brings up a menu. It is a simple system but it works and makes the game that much more enjoyable. The game wouldn't need combat though because it is all tied beautifully together with an amazing story. Overall Star Ocean First Departure is a game that all PSP owners should at least try. Any game thats twenty hours upwards and still has you looking forward to a sequel only a month away, is game that deserves to be played.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Star Ocean: First Departure
It's a fun game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/26/11
N1ck
Location: Milton-Freewater, OR
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love this game. RPG based games allow the player to experience things in a different way. This game is perfect for anime lovers.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Star Ocean: First Departure
I Just beat this so I got an good review Coming!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/29/09
animegamer04
The challenge was not bad there was times that i thought it was going to be easy until I got towards the end and I was just about to go crazy. An little training and I did very well... Customization is pretty awesome You can basically customize items, swords, armor, etc. You cannot change the character design but the customization of creating stronger weapons is overall an good experience. Controls related more to the game Star ocean: Second Story, Which to me was an reminder of the good ole day playing the old playstation until 4 a.m. Good times there. I am not an biased gamer when it comes to graphics I can accept the old school look of the game and to me that was an break from all this polygon mayhem that most games seem to go through lately. It is an welcomed change personally and I really enjoyed the anime cut scenes. The interface was good you can basically pick up and go so basically there really is nothing wrong with that. Length... well besides the fact there is two bonus dungeons you could level up until max facing some strong monsters. The replay value speaks for itself. Sound is great!! There was nothing wrong with the sound at all. I also Enjoyed the Rich and deep storyline you experience and they pretty much tied up the loose ends really well. Which to me was very well done... Overall i would recommend this to anyone who love an good classic style RPG and I plan to keep this game forever especially in case I want to play it again!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Star Ocean: First Departure
Hopefully
Posted on:10/14/08
DJlite
This game will be like the original and a little longer. I know the previews for this game state that it will be great, but i'm a true fan of star ocean. I don't know if they are, but anyway, so i hope not too much has been taken away/added to take it away from the original storyline.
Review 8 for Star Ocean: First Departure
Awsome
Posted on:8/3/08
Deathknightleo
Finaly we can all play star ocean one. The one that started it all. It was released first on SNES in Japan, only now it is getting remasterd with cut-scenes and the star ocean 2 battle system. I can't wait for this to hit. The 2nd one will be following close behine on the PSP.
Review 9 for Star Ocean: First Departure
Not as good
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:5/10/11
Banna
Location: MM
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
To be honest this was an ok game. I just don't think its nearly as good as "StarOcean till the end of time" for Ps2. Maybe its because im used to the characters in the Ps2 StarOcean. Either way i do not like this one as much but its still good for killing time.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Star Ocean: First Departure
Been waiting for this!!!
Posted on:10/1/08
orlandor
I have played the entire line of star ocean and was wondering when they were gonna come out with it on psp. I love the mix and hope it runs as great as it sounds. Definitely want it to have all the difficulty levels as till end of time. Can I get a woop-woop.
Review 11 for Star Ocean: First Departure
DivineOverlord (customer)
Posted on:7/30/08
DivineOverlord
wow, I can't wait to get this game!!!!. The thing that makes this game awesome is that this remake has 3 new characters and they're angel-like characters. The real time battle system is also great to have. :D
Review 12 for Star Ocean: First Departure
This is a great game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/19/13
Cleiteln
Location: Utah
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game has a great storyline! I love all the Star Ocean games I have encountered! =-) Highly recommend it!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Star Ocean: First Departure
Looks Great
Posted on:7/26/08
Anonymous
I played Star Ocean Till The End Of Time and loved it. i can't wait until this game comes out.