GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia

Following on the success of Dawn of Sorrow and Portrait of Ruin the legendary Castlevania series is back in its 3rd installment on the Nintendo DS. This time you play as a member of the Ecclesia, an organization that has sworn to defeat the evil forces of Dracula. Use the brand new Glyph attack system which has more than 100 different combinations to battle Dracula and his minions throughout 20 explorable areas. Take part in side quests and collect items to power up your character in the next great Castlevania game produced by Koji Igarashi.
Average Customer Rating:
8.857
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
0
8 stars
4
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia
Review 1 for Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia
Best Castlevania Game to Date!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/08
TheUltimateYoshi
Ignore the people who constantly get mad because of riddles and all of that, it adds more gameplay, the story is the best so far with many twist i didn't expect, controls are simple and easy to get used too, as well as this game leads quite a challenge, with it's wonderful new sprites, and music, it adds a nice feel to the game, not to mention for the first time ever there is a Over world map. there are over 20 areas to explore as well as extras, and the best part is even with all of this Dracula's castle is still very big, which made me happy, i would recommend this game to everyone i know. Some songs made a triumphant return including 8bit music, instead of songs in the game like Portrait of ruin had this game has all 8bit soundtracks, and more soundtracks then PoR had, i love to listen to the classic whip thrashing music to this new game. So as i said by far the best so far, why aren't you on your way to buy it right now?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia
Another great entry!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/08
Elyk the Dark
After loving Dawn of Sorrow, I expected great things from Ecclesia. I was right, mostly. The game is full of Castlevania goodness, from the spooky enemies to the incredible character sprites. The music is also great, especially with headphones on! However, the game has some flaws. The Glyph system seems to be a poor substitute for the Soul system in previous titles. Also, switching between Glyphs is a pain, and making Glyphs stronger is very time consuming. Bosses no longer give you their powers once defeated, which is a bummer. However, there are quite a few Glyphs to track down, giving the game some replayability. The game is much more challenging than previous titles, but thankfully most bosses can be conquered by learning their attack patterns. The World Map works well enough, I miss exploring one huge castle. (However, the last stage is enormous!) The story is not really that good, but it is fine, considering this is more action-based than its predecessors. Despite its flaws, this is still a very good entry. Like any good Castlevania game, there is plenty to do after you beat the main game. Two new dungeons and a few secret modes await you! So, despite the flaws, this game is well worth your time. Enjoy!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia
Konami Does It Again!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/08
Markski
I love the design of the new Castlevania. The idea of absorbing glyphs reminds me of Soma's ability to absorb enemy powers, but in this instance there isn't as many to collect, however there is a new twist to it: you can now hold two weapons at a time and do either quick 1-2 style hits or you can combine the powers of the glyphs for interesting effects, like ice+sword=icesword or hammer+hammer=big hammer, etc. Classic Symphony of the night type glyphs like transformations and summons are also in the game.I also like the idea that the game is half level based and half symphony of the night style castle exploration based. The level designs are not too complex and not too simple. I HATED the levels in Portrait of Ruin, like 4 levels that weren't anything special, and then bam, you do the exact same 4 again but they're slightly different, horrible idea... although it sorta worked with the upside down castle in symphony of the night, probably because it was big enough to be interesting.The biggest negative I've heard about this game is that its too hard, especially with focus on the boss battles... and this is just not true at all. Many of the bosses went down in a matter of seconds, the trick is, you need to have the right glyphs. Its just like Mega Man, some powers killed the boss in a couple hits, other powers took forever to kill the boss. Pretty much all of the bosses can kill u in a couple of hits, so you need to stay on your toes. I'm on the final stage and so far the only boss that was even remotely challenging was probably the crab, that boss is all maneuvers and I just beat it with the plain old hammer effectively.Next to symphony of the night, the three DS Castlevanias were excellent, and I hope they keep making more, because I will continue to buy and play them. Just please stick to the working 2d formula... we don't need any new 3d stuff, look how well megaman has done, they just released megaman 9, and all in all, the platform formula is still a winner with this gamer.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia
The game is hard but good
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/23/10
Cruiser
Location: Temple, Texas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game is worth buying. It took me 3 weeks to reach the last level and last boss fight. The game is definitely a little too hard for the younger crowd. The game in my opinion is better suited for adults who have been playing a long time. A lot of patience is required. Trial and error in defeating the bosses. Don't make plans on beating the game right away. Very technical game. Again, overall it is good and worth the $10 I paid for it used.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia
Read
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/08
Sagethegamemaster
In my opinion as a gamer, I would have to say that Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia is overall a very good game. Although the weapon, spell, and relic count dropped drastically, the challenge of the game is more than enough to make up for the loss. The game is a little to short, and the storyline isn't the greatest, but I would still highly recommend getting this game. Some of the glyph abilities and unions will blow your mind when you see them. I have to say that Dracula was way to easy to beat, that is if you did it the way I did in 5 attacks at level 52. There are still all kinds of hidden treasures and rooms just like all of the other Castlevania's. Starting off in the game, you may seem disappointed like I was, but progressing through the game will make you think otherwise. That is all I want to say.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia
I'm so looking forward to this one
Posted on:9/14/08
dragontamer272
I'm a huge fan of the Castlevania franchise (Thanks Konami for creating such an amazing series/franchise), I like it because of the mosters, the music, everything. When I heard the confirmed rumors about a third Castlevania game, I was excited, that I went through all the games I own from the series and played them again, I even want to dress up as one of the Belmonts for Halloween. I'm also surprised that in this game, you play as a woman throught the whole game, while most of them you play as a man. Now, another difference in this one is the "Artwork", it's not in Anime Style like the previous Castlevania DS titles. I guess fans complained about it and that they wanted to go back to the Realism Human Gothic Style which I don't mind, but I also did enjoy the Anime Style artwork. Overall, this is still going to be great.
Review 7 for Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia
Castlevania how close you've come to being put in your grave.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/24/08
Arikado or Alucard
Out of all the basic Castlevania games for the DS out there this one is by far one of the worse releases ever. Not only is the story cliche "The main character gets amnesia and is sent on a mission to retrieve something' but everything else is rather pointless. The game goes back to the old adventure days of Simons quest in the fact that you have a main town you can go back to, where you can interact with villagers and buy items, and equipment. However, as for equipment you are never allowed to get real physical weapons. All the weapons in the game are nothing more than magical glyphs that the main character Shanoa can absorb off enemies and find trapped in statues. As compared to previous Castlevania games the amount of weapons has dwindled drastically, usually you would be able to find 30 Swords, 10 Rapiers, a Handful of axes, maybe a gun or two, spears, whips, and shields and such. However, your limited to 3 different versions of each distinctive weapon, 3 Hammers, 3 Swords, 3 Rapiers, 3 Shields, 3 Scythes, and it's rather boring having to use the same weapon over and over. As for magic, you get two forms of every type, 2 Fire, 2 Ice, 2 Light, 2 Dark, etc etc. Although the exploration has seemed to improve by giving you a variation of wooded areas and mountains, which seemed to be reused a few times with different color schemes. The game is basically "let's just get a Castlevania out there for the fans" and nothing more than a sell out game. Of course the sprites are pretty, which are either reused from Portrait of Ruin or Symphony of the Night, or they are new and exciting, but that's that.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia
Finally....a new castlevania!!!!
Posted on:9/22/08
Vampyrekiller29
Having played Castlevania since it came out, i cannot express how much this series has done for me. And now IGA and his awesome design team have made a brand new game to the legendary series. From everything i have seen, this game makes me drool like a thorazine patient. I like how they incorporated a new strategy element into the game (The glyph system), as well as added a world map (reminds me of Curse of Darkness...wicked game). All in all, Order of Ecclesia promises more of what makes Castlevania such a divine pleasure to play....Power to the Slayers!
Review 9 for Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia
Castlevania, once more.
Posted on:8/10/08
SaikoNinja
Castlevania: OoE simply is a game that every Castlevania fan must get. Although this game follows the same mechanics for the most part as it did in Dawn of Sorrow and Portrait of Ruin, the charm still lies with that very detail. Why fix something that's not broken? One of the more interesting aspects of this game is that for the first time, the protagonist of the story is not a male character, but a female one. If you were a fan of or enjoyed the previous Castlevania DS games, this one is also sure not to disappoint.
Review 10 for Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia
Easiest Castlevania (In my opinion ^_^)
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/22/12
Roxas358
Location: Clemmons, NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is the ONLY Castlevania game I have actually played and beaten! I have played other entries (mainly older) and I have never gotten past the first boss ( I know LAME!!!) Anyhoo, if you are a fan of Castlevania you will like this game. It has that old timey Catlevania NES feel, but it's more RPG level up, collect items feel. Also if you beat Dracula at the end you unlock another Character. I haven't really 100% completed everything, but I hope to eventually!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 11 for Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia
OMG AT LAST!
Posted on:7/29/08
TheUltimateYoshi
A huge Castlevnia fan, i've been looking foward to this game before it was anounced, with a similar system to airia and dawn of sorrow, this is gonna be awsome, i've been asking gamestop when it was comming out each week i went, now i have the date and i am as happy as ever, also with the new word map this should extened gameplay a lot which makes me very happy
Review 12 for Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia
Sweet! I love Castlevania
Posted on:10/8/08
Snake-EyesX
Finally, a new Castlevania for the DS sweet! I've been a fan of the Castlevania series since 1988. I can't wait until it's out! Nice job Konami, please make a new one for the PS3 Wii!. This would be great!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.