GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Stormrise

The first truly 3D real-time strategy (RTS) game, Stormrise puts players in the heart of the action with anall-new third-person camera perspective. No other RTS game combines the unprecedented level of immersionand emotional intensity with the scale and depth that The Creative Assembly (Total War series) hasbecome famous for. Stormrise breaks tradition with the genre's typical top-down viewpoint, allowing playersto explore and track enemies in multi-dimensional areas, including everything from high-rise rooftopsto underground caverns. With revolutionary controls designed specifically for consoles, players will leadtheir troops from the front in the midst of explosive battles to put an end to years of bloody conflict betweenthe Sai and the Echelon races.
Average Customer Rating:
5.7
5.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
5 out of 1050%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stormrise
Review 1 for Stormrise
Good, but challenging for some
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/09
RTS-rotc
This game is a very good attempt at a console RTS. I say attempt because RTS's are, first and foremost, PC games. The button layout and controls will take a while to learn for anybody, even veterans. However, to make up for this, it has excellent graphics and sound, as well as being one of few rts's to not be in Top-down view. It also has the most intuitive unit selection system (for those who can understand it) of any console RTS game. The downsides- Way, way, way, way, too challenging of controls for some new to rts games on consoles. Plain and simply put, a worthless resource system. No counter units for the opposite faction? What the heck? That makes no sense, as well as the factions having only what, 8 unique units? There is very little variety to the units, and so many look very similar it is easy for those who aren't paying very close attention to get units confused. In short, great graphics and sound, mediocre gameplay and controls.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stormrise
Mutants in my house?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/19/10
Kasrkinbrad
Now the Campaign is VERY HARD.The enemy sends waves after waves of troops and vehicles,but that is what makes it good!A hard gamer like me wants a challange not a game you can beat in 2 hours(alot of them are like that for me).So if you want a very hard game this is right for you.The units are AWSOME the Sai have giant crabs and floating worms with a leader almost like a witch.The humans are very reliant on technology but are as powerful as the Sai(they have Strength and will power).Humans have these big mech kind of things which look very good and the leaders are im giant suits which (look like the tau commander from Dawn of War).The controls are very hard at first but if you get used to it you'll do fine.The Eclipse (Hover Ship not space ship) is the main unit for the humans.The Sai have Sirens(witch kind of people).With this game you can hav a bunch of one unit or it will be a bloodbath for you so its alot more chalengeing for Multiplayer.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Stormrise
True Innovation - Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/27/09
xxPONDERxx
The best way to simply explain this game is that it is like playing Gears of War as an RTS. The game provides two innovations to the RTS genre. First, the WHIP Select controls allows for quick movement across the map or from units right next to one another. However, there is a steep learning curve on how to efficiently use WHIP Select. In fact, after a few hours of game play I am still working out how to best use the new control scheme. I highly recommend spending time reading the manual on all the different methods to move troops via WHIP Select. The second innovation is line of sight only in a true 3-D environment. Using a third person view the camera only allows the player to see what his selected unit sees. Because of this design it is critical to place a sniper team on top of buildings to direct your troops from there. Problems with the game include issues with the camera, especially when zoomed in on larger units. The AI pathing makes some poor decision (both friendly AI and enemy AI). Despite the few problems, I would recommend this game to any RTS fan as well as to any hardcore gamer that has some patience. Spending time learning the intricacies of this game will be well worth your time.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stormrise
GREAT idea, poor execution
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/10
seprehab
When I heard about Stormrise and its over the shoulder view, I was exited. I am a long time fan of the RTS genre, and was exited when I heard about this new type of RTS because most RTSs are similar. Now to the game its self... it was a little less then i expected, the over the shoulder view is restrictive and the whip select is unwieldy. the units look similar (both factions) and can sometimes (only for the Sai) blend in with the surroundings. The controls are a bit funky and a little hard to get used to...really hard. The storyline is a little bit weird but thats ok. However the lines were awful. The main characters were using these awful one liners that did not make sense I ligamently tried to push through the difficulties and could not do it. This game is for someone willing to take the time to push though the difficulties and see the good through the bad.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stormrise
Good idea - Bad outcome
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/09
Braza
First thing you should know about this is that the online is extreamly laggy, and for the most part most people online do not understand how to play. The story line idea is odd and some missions seamlingly impossible. The whip system works nicely except the one deatail that made it all horrible. There is no attack button! Your units engage at free will and will normaly try and chase them down making it horribly confusing. Not only that but there are only 2 factions in the game itself making online seem like a waste in general. Though I will say the graphics are good and the sound along with it. Though in general this game would seem like a waste of time and money. I would only recommend this game to someone who is an EXTREAMLY huge rts fan. The idea I enjoy the most was were instead of fog of war you use your surrounding as your intel. Meaning strategy comes into play. Though yet again that stupid "I have no way of controling what my units do" comes back to haunt you....oh and the part were I said most people online have no idea what to do....well I had this guy come into the game and ask "Is this a first person shooter?" erm....ya....(by the way this is not an fps).....
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stormrise
Impossible to control
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/11
Vulcon3
Location: North Carolina
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Once I started playing I quickly realized that this game is riddled with flaws. While the view is interesting along with whip select, they are both restrictive. Whip select becomes unwieldy when you have more units and it's easy to select the wrong one. Also, there is no attack command. Therefore, my units would move in and get shred to pieces as they just stood there forming up. I tried a skirmish battle and sent a massive unit (The Rage) against the enemy. He just stood there. And when he finally did attack it was hard to tell what he was attacking. The game kept telling me to use the tactical map. However, the camera angles on it made it impossible to get a good view of anything. I wanted to and tried really hard to like this game but it just didn't work.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stormrise
Almost Perfect
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/19/10
Tragic
Location: Memphis, TN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Now being fairly new to the RTS genre, I was floored by Stormrise. Only RTS I have played prior to this is Halo Wars, so excuse me if I may seem biased towards something different. First, I done my homework on researching this game before I picked it up. I read many reviews on Stormrise before getting it. Almost all reviews were very negative toward this game and I simply cannot fathom why. No, it is not perfect but it is far from terrible. The campaign is great. It is a primer for skirmish/multiplayer that still grabs the gamer's attention for the sake of story. You can play between two sides in skirmish, each having their own principal strengths and weaknesses. There are really no counter-designated units, so as player you have what you have and some units work well more than others. There is a learning curve to this game. How steep the curve is depends on one's patience. I was thoroughly impressed by Stormrise's Whip Select feature, allowing the player to jump from unit to unit very rapidly. The only flaw with it is that it gets progressively difficult and cumbersome to use the more units one has and how many units one keeps together. I love the line of sight, the what you see is what you get philosophy as opposed to the Fog of War. I also love how battles can take place on rooftops as well as on the ground, which gives this game is 3D atmosphere. Being a gamer who has been craving a challenge and starting to immerse himself into a new genre, I must say I am excited about Stormrise and looking forward to playing it a while. Well worth the twenty dollars. Bottom line: If you are into RTS and want a challenge, grab it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stormrise
what fail is this?
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/22/12
NuckinFuts212
Location: California, CA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
seriously....i cant even comprehend how horribly redundant of a game this is....the wipselect is terrifyingly horrible and will end up making you lose many men, not just to an army but even to one squad can kill everyone in your army, i have played many games of strategy, i mean...I PLAY STARCRAFT AND SUPREME COMMANDER, THOSE ARE REAL STRATEGY GAMES, this...........NOT WORTH A PENNY
horrible camera, i found tom clancies end war, and many others more worth it then this garbage
bottom of the line, DO NOT BUY
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 9 for Stormrise
Substandard
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/11
Banefull
I was lucky to have purchased this game at a really low price, and mannaged to get most of my money back on this terrible game.Broken controls, terrible control scheme, ham acting, this games flaws keep this game as one that should be forgotten and used only as something to start a campfire or something like this. Enough said don't buy this broken game
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stormrise
Looks pretty good
Posted on:2/25/09
Slimjim147
I've been watching a few gameplay videos, and from what i've seen this game looks like it might be worth it. However, I'm a bit skeptical about RTS's on consoles because of previous letdowns (Sup Com and Universe at War). If a demo is released i might give that a try. I've been a fan of the Total War series so i'll give this game a shot.
Review 11 for Stormrise
Gonna be great
Posted on:9/26/08
GhOsTy 31
This game is looking good from all of the videos i have seen on it. And to clear things up, im pretty sure this is a strategy game. The story sounds pretty cool and interesting. Lets just hope it doesn't keep getting pushed back.
Review 12 for Stormrise
Revolutionary and Innovative, with few annoyances
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/26/09
PANZ
The controls in Stormrise are revolutionary, but provide some minor annoyances; sometimes it's not quite as efficient as being able to make precision choices, like with a mouse and keyboard. Nonetheless, it's the best attempt at a console RTS to date. Halo Wars uses a pretty basic and generic control system, that of which you see in every other RTS, but Stormrise is more ambitious. Not only did they make an incredibly fast and working system, the team at Creative Assembly also made the first real 3D RTS, which is the main point of strategy. There aren't any spam wars - You wont make it with mass-building tanks in StormRise, the game is all about strategy. The resource system is quite interesting too, you have to expand and take over enemy energy nodes. The fun part about this is that certain nodes are linked together. There are nine unique units per faction, the Sai and the Echelon. There aren't any equal counterpart units either. Each unit serves a totally unique and tactical function. There isn't any artificial Fog of War, there's only a realistic line of sight. And this makes the game more interesting, since you can't pan around the entire map and view all units like little ants on the playing field. The sound and graphics in the game are top-notch for a game in the RTS genre. The AI can be a little clunky sometimes, but the game's challenge, minimal HUD/interface, and amazing controls make up for it. RECAP: The campaign does what it should - it teaches you the ropes, and prepares you for multiplayer. It's lengthy, and has some decent dialogue, but the real meat is in the online play. The multiplayer maps are incredible and offer a lot of strategic placement and employment of the unit's unique abilities. Line of Sight and Verticality are fantastic, and easily set this game apart from the rest.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Stormrise
Awsome!!
Posted on:3/2/09
m@xt3r
I think this game is going to be great. I like the two factions. They both look cool. I hope they don't pull it back. Im really looking forward to it. Awesome!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.