GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Battle Fantasia

There was once a time when the world was engulfed in darkness. Mankind fought six battles to save their world, but lost every single one. All hope was lost for humanity, but one day the darkness was finally driven back by the swords of four heroes. Light returned to the world, and with it came peace and serenity. The world was then divided into two major countries: The Magic Kingdom and the Steam Empire. The people prospered like never before. But in recent months, rumors spread among the people that the darkness was returning. However, fate has once again brought together warriors from all over the world. Some fight in the relentless pursuit of justice. Some fight due to their conviction and faith. Players will also be able to pick between 12 beautifully illustrated characters by Emiko Iwasaki, and battle it out in front of gorgeous high-definition 3D environments.
Average Customer Rating:
7
7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
0
8 stars
3
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 580%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Battle Fantasia
Review 1 for Battle Fantasia
Great game for a knowledgeable fighting gamer
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/29/10
6ixx
Location: Las Vegas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I played this game about several months before it's American release and I think it's rather interesting. Aksys games are known for their irregular character choice and their unique fighting style/systems. If you're looking for your average fighting game, you've come to the wrong place, but if you're a veteran fighting gamer, this will probably be one of those games that you'll enjoy. Battle Fantasia is really diverse in it's story and most fighting games won't give you that. This game is not for people looking for marvel vs capcom 2 combos or anything of that nature. In my honest opinion, I would say that it's a cross breed between Street Fighter Three 3rd Strike & Guilty Gear X2. You can't do anything too crazy in terms of combos but you would exceed that of most SF games. They also have a parry system like in 3rd strike so if you're good enough, you can punish players who are easy to read. Basically, if you love any of the Original SF2 series games, you'll like this.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Battle Fantasia
A colorful fighter, but thats all
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/12/10
Fallin89
Battle Fantasia looks great at first, but when actually playing you may regret ever buying it. This game is just another fighter in the list of many titles. I do have to say that the characters have quite an extensive background story, probably one of the only fighters I've seen that puts so much story behind each character. But this is also a problem as there is so much dialogue and very little fight. You'll probably read 15-20 minutes of story and fight for 10. ( a slight overexaggeration, just slightly). The dialogue is accompanied by japanese voicing and some changes in character facial expressions like a digital comic book. The fighting itself is kind of simple and each character only knows one or two special moves. Chaining combos isn't really a big thing in the game and the actual graphics for the fights is a little lazy. The difference in difficulties is good. Some battles can be really tough, but overall the game seems childish. If you really love fighting games and don't mind the repetitiveness of them then this could be a good game, other then that, look for something else.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Battle Fantasia
Really fun Characters, Good fighter just not great.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/09
Spazz102
Ever wanted to see what would happen if a magical rabbit fights a giant steam punk Santa Claus? Well you get to do that, along with Freddy Mercury influenced Banana in Pajamas reject with guns. The whole game is over the top anime fighting. the problem is that after you beaten the story mode all you get are character screen and a new color palette for your characters. Fights are pretty tough when you start out but once you get the hang of it you can beat the story with minimal problems. Don't buy to play online since no one is playing this online at least not the times I tried. It'd be nice to see more unlockables like new characters. I'd say rent this game some where and enjoy it for a weekend its not going to hold you over if your a fighting game nut.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 4 for Battle Fantasia
Akskys fighting games are 2D legends and this is one of them. :)
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/8/10
VICTORSIMAGINATION
WHAT AN AMAZING FIGHTING GAME NEXT TO BLAZBLUE AND GUILTY GEAR!! The storyline is deep but NOT as deep as Blazblue! The fighting mechanics are awesome. My favorite fighter is Urs! He is awesome. This games controls are cool and everything about it is cool. So if you are a hardcore fighting game fan..... then get this game at this cheap price because just like Blazblue and Guilty Gear.... This is truly amazing. Thats all I got to say. Its not perfect and will never be better than Blazblue but... .ITS AWESOME!!!! I wonder after Blazblue if Akskys will come out with another fighting game. This fighting game is just awesome. Yatta Akskys games! WELLL.....GO BUY IT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YOU WILL ENJOY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Battle Fantasia
not for me
Posted on:9/12/08
Anonymous
So arksys lost money by releasing this exclusive in the U.S. on the 360 a system that fighting games play very poorly on I understand Guilty gear 2 since it is not a fighting game, but not battle fantasia, I'll be importing this one from europe for the ps3...... wonder if there are any game stop companies in europe, 360 needs to have a good fighting game controller made for it like the classic controller for the wii, then I would buy it for the 360
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Battle Fantasia
Battle Fantasis is a Great Fighter!
Posted on:9/5/08
Antique Legend
This game is pretty cool. It has a different style to it than most other fighters out right now. I played it for the PS3 and I liked it a lot. If you are looking for a different type of fighter with a story, then this is a must by!
Review 7 for Battle Fantasia
An Underground Sleeper
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/08
G-FRESH
December 1, 2008, - This is one game that will more than likely be overlooked, which is a big shame being that Battle Fantasia (while not being really too different from other 2D fighters) is still very good in it own right. Aksys Games should be commended on bringing this very niche title here to the states. It also cool that it was made by one of my favorite fighting developers Arc System Works. This is NOT Guilty Gear with a new coat of skin. Compared to GG its much slower but the characters themselves are still pretty wild/weird (an Arc System's trademark). Battle Fantasia is sort of a "storybook" based fighter. By that I mean all of these characters feel as if they were pulled straight out of fairy tales and were made to fight. Characters range from boy wizard Cleric, HUGE oaf Donvalve, catgirl Coyori, knight in training Marco, gunslinger Face (my personal fave), etc. The roster is pretty small as it only has 12 fighters, but luckily there all pretty unique and fun to use. Its also pretty cool that instead of the announcer saying "round 1" its "chapter 1"...see, like a "storybook". Battle Fantasia's modes consist of Arcade, Vs, Survival, Time Attack, Xbox Live, and Story Mode. It also has a Gallery mode to check out all the endings and pictures that you unlock throughout the course of playtime. It should keep you pretty busy for quite a while in order to unlock everything (considering it also unlock achievements). So as far as game modes go I have no complaints whatsoever. Graphics look beautiful. All the characters are 3-D but the fights are strictly 2-D. They all are wonderfully detailed, and there animations and expressions are top notch. All of their super moves are also very well done with really nice special effects and fit with each respective character. The backgrounds themselves, while some of them are simple looking, are also beautifully done. It's a fantastic looking fighter. The music for the game is very "fantasy" like. Every level's music fits just about perfectly. While it's not the greatest music I've ever heard in a fighting game, it is very well made, and again, fits pretty perfectly. Sound effects are also pretty spot on. Punches sound like punches, slams sound like slams, and there supers all sound like they pack a wallop. I also really like that in each characters story mode they all speak Japanese with english subtitles. I'd rather have that then horrific voice acting any day. Controls will be instantly familiar to anyone who's played any street fighter game. Its all pretty much half circles, charging certain moves, etc. As for playing with the 360 pad, to be completely honest, it's not actually too bad. Mostly every command I input comes out. I would say about a good 85% of the time. All in all not to shabby, not to shabby at all. Aksys Games took a chance on Battle Fantasia and I'm really glad they did, as I'm enjoying it very much. If you're a fan of the fighting genre you should give Battle Fantasia a look. Its characters, storybook setting, and gameplay are all very solid. At the very least, give it a shot when the price drops. Definitely an underground sleeper.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10