GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

History Channel Civil War: Secret Mission

Assume the role of Union and Confederate soldiers fighting behind enemy lines in legendary battles with HISTORY Civil War: Secret Missions. Your goal is to disrupt the armies of both the North and the South by any means necessary, including conducting train raids, stealing ironclad ships, stopping enemy supply lines, destroying enemy artillery and more. All events are drawn from the real life actions of famous partisans, scouts and rangers - fight as a member of Mosby's Rangers, Sheridan's Scouts and Grant's Secret Service and receive your mission commands from famous generals including Robert E. Lee, "Stonewall" Jackson, and Ulysses Grant. The action accurately reflects the guerrilla tactics of the time period. Weapons include the shotgun, the pepperbox revolver and the coffee mill gun, and there is heavy reliance on scouts and naval warfare.
Average Customer Rating:
7.8
7.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
3
8 stars
0
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
10 out of 1567%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for History Channel Civil War: Secret Mission
Review 1 for History Channel Civil War: Secret Mission
Actually Good !!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/10
Eddie J
I love history and I love gaming, but don't think they could go together good. Well this game surprised me. It was actually not that bad as it sounds. Grahpics were great and the gameplay was familiar, it was kind like playing COD but in the Civil War). Another good thing is that you get a lot of information about what when on in the Civil War. Like I didn't know that their were snipers back then and that they had some form of a gernade. Their are some bad things about the game. One thing that got on my nerves is that I heard the same dialoge fifty times in one mission. Voice acting in this game isn't great. AI can use some work in this game. If I could use a knife in this game I could probably get through the game with just that. What got on my nerves the most was that the enemys won't even take cover half the time, they would just run up to you and atart bashing you on the head with their weapon. All and all this was a good game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for History Channel Civil War: Secret Mission
AMAZING!!MUST BUY!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/08
sh00tingf4n4tic
Honestly, this game is the best game I've played. IVE PLAYED all the shooting games COD4, Gears, Halo 3, Bad Company and this game is SOOOO much better than them. Think civil war you get to fight and live your battles. Honestly, I've never been into history at school, but after playing this I've begun to pay attention and I have taken great interest in history now. Also, I'm now into the history channel which I never was before. The weapons, battles, voices, sounds, acting EVERYTHING is so amazing I've never had this enlightening of an experience with a video game before. Forever, will I remember this game and play it. Also, I've started playing it with my other members of my family and they also enjoy the experience as much as I do and maybe even more. Bottom line: Great, Amazing game, HIGHLY recommend.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
13 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for History Channel Civil War: Secret Mission
Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/17/12
dog12345
Location: Bay City, MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game has way better graphics and a few more guns than the first civil war game by the history channel and is pretty great.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for History Channel Civil War: Secret Mission
Wonderful
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/09
Umpire25
This is a fun game. It is very fun to play the weapons are realistic and it is no too hard once you play it on easy you get a hang of the concept. You can advance rank and unlock quite a few acheivments which will keep you busy after you beat the game. I could not put this game away it was awesome. I recommened this to anyone that gets bored of the same old WWII games. The levels are historically accurate so there is some realism. The weapons are very cool and there are many of them if you play for a few hours strait for a week or two you should be able to complete the game and get most of the acheivments. The History Channel outdid themselves in making this game. They took a good chance and it paid off. Try out this game if you want to entertain yourself
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for History Channel Civil War: Secret Mission
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/22/09
Marine21097
I have played many of the first person shooters(cod, halo, gears of war,medal of honor, and all the other great titles) and am a fan. I also LOVE the civil war so when they combined i was like OH MY GOD!!!!! like others, i too thought there was going to be thousands vs thousands of soldiers, but that's alright. The graphics could have been better, but they were not bad. The A.I. is just like CW: A Nation Divided. The (ally) soldiers pop out of thin air and run straight into the line of fire and die over and over again in a never ending process.I wish they payed attention to the characters like other games. For example in the end of CoD4 i know people who nearly cried when Capt. Price died (obviously they were big fans).One last thing is if it takes say 7 shots to kill a man and you shoot 6 shots the character shows NO reaction at all. I know there are a lot of cons in here and this thing was supposed to make CW:SM look good in the eyes of readers but that's for the people who want to know what it has. Its an overall AWESOME game and if you dot mind any of the previous cons the BUY IT!!!!!!! P.S. And to you idiots out there the reloading is "too slow" because its the CIVIL WAR! 1860s for God sakes.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KillerWhiteMan
 
Please wait while more information about KillerWhiteMan is loaded.
Additional information about KillerWhiteMan could not be loaded.
Posted 3/21/11
Don't know that I'd listen to your opinion seeing as you called Gears of War a first-person shooter when in fact it's a THIRD-person shooter. This game is good, but it's more convincing when you actually know what you're talking about.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for History Channel Civil War: Secret Mission
Decent Civil War Game!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/11/11
Sarhtaz
Location: Illinois
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Play as a soldier from the Union or Confederacy in secret missions of the Civil War. Take action in covert operations behind enemy lines that disrupted the armies of both the North and the South. All events are inspired by the actions of famous partisans, scouts, and rangers. Go on 11 Secret Missions! Be a part of a secret sniper mission at the Battle of Gettysburg, conduct a covert train raid on the B&O Railroad, sabotage artillery outposts during the Lewisburg Deception, and many more! Fight as a member of a famous fighting unit, including Mosby's Rangers, Sheridan's Scouts, and Grant's Secret Service. Experience the weaponry and military advancements of the Civil War; shoot Gatling Guns and Coffee Mill Guns, the automatic guns of the era. Use repeating rifles, grenades, sabers, exploding artillery, shotguns, and more! The game features intense, tactical combat. It's based on authentic Civil War combat methods, artillery barrages, urban assaults, sniping, and stealth. Set charges, place explosives, sabotage enemy strongholds, and destroy enemy buildings to complete objectives. Relive History. Each level begins with a documentary video describing your mission and the importance it played in the Civil War.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for History Channel Civil War: Secret Mission
to anyone who says this is a terrible game...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/16/09
dorkyness619
This game is not meant for everyone and to really enjoy it, it helps if you appreciate things that really did happen in the specific locations in the game. I really liked how the events were real and researched by the history channel. Now it seems they didnt really try hard with the graphics but they still managed to capture the realism of southern weather and envirements. I can back that up because i live in lynchburg virginia wich is were alot of the war was fought. Now for gameplay. The controls are greaat and are similar to that of cod series. They are really smooth and easy to get used to. The weopens are all basicaly different and each might be able to carry more ammo, or do more damage. Also you can get ability points to apply damage or more health or more ammo. The game is really hard and will have you playin for a good week if you have a life. Possibly 3 days haha. Normal is hard enouph and i wouldnt play on hard ever. The weopens are historic and real. The loading is accurate to the way they really loaded like using ramrods and muzzle loading. The ai is really smart and has inpecable aim. They unlike other games dont care if you have a family back home or a wife that loves you but will hit you on target. They charge fast shoot streight and can and will kill you atleast once in every level. take my advice and buy this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for History Channel Civil War: Secret Mission
Terrible Game
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/7/08
XBOX Ruler
This game is just a waste I am glad that I rented the game and not bought it. This game is just terrible in all aspects, first the graphics are just plain terrible every thing looks very bland and stale the sound is very generic in this game nothing special there. The play control is really terrible in this game you have no control over the solider its like he is walking on ice he slip all the time the shooting part is also bad you aim at person and shoot they don't die the just stand there and shoot you back. I shot 6 rounds of a pistol into one solider and he did not die. This game is also has a very bad story line of secret war missions that you have to fight in I thought that this was going to be big battles with hundreds of on screen soldiers but instead you just fight a few soldiers here and there. Very bad game!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 28 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
CptObvious
 
Please wait while more information about CptObvious is loaded.
Additional information about CptObvious could not be loaded.
Posted 8/28/13
SECRET Missions. . . if they're a secret huge armies wouldn't be sent in to fight, that kinda defeats the purpose of it being a SECRET mission, and perhaps seeing how it's not call of duty maybe the guns that the game has aren't that accurate from far ranges so perhaps you missed.
Customer Avatar
th381
 
Please wait while more information about th381 is loaded.
Additional information about th381 could not be loaded.
Havent bought yet but commenting on someone elses
Posted 9/9/11
you see its 1860 they didnt have the power full guns we have 2 day
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 9 for History Channel Civil War: Secret Mission
Maybe a 10
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/15/11
XboxExpert
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is THE BEST GAME EVER. I WOULD PUT IT UP THERE WITH MADDEN 06. A few hard levels, but you can't lose hope in civil war. Game is great for people who love them some achievements. ALSO STA-DAWG MUST BUY THIS GAME!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for History Channel Civil War: Secret Mission
why i HATE it
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/13
gamerates
Location: United States, USA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
i think its more of a flash game i hate flash games thats me some people might like flash but it dosent feel real to me i like call of duty or battle field they feel real but not quite this game kids ussely like flash i think its more for them
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for History Channel Civil War: Secret Mission
Pretty Good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/19/13
NoBama2012
Location: Gilbert,AZ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought this game yesterday and i amalready loving it! The campaign is fun and it has some pretty fun levels. The graphics are on the high end of average. The only down side to me is that when you kill someone, their body disappears iin 3 seconds. Other than that it is great.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for History Channel Civil War: Secret Mission
Sucks
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/10
bunnyuns
Location: pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
this game sucks and if u buy it u will want your money back trust me i bought it!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 43 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for History Channel Civil War: Secret Mission
fighting behind enemy lines is too devious
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/9/12
strayrogue
Location: Harrington Park, New Jersey
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i have had this game for nearly 2 years now. i am a histori fanatic and a lover of shooter games. i really like this game with all the antique fire arms and the historical landmarks. this game is great for some one interested in the civil war and likes to fight with ancient guns so histori lovers you should want to buy this game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for History Channel Civil War: Secret Mission
awemazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/15/12
misscivilwargirl
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
its a great game if you love history this is the game for you! me i love civil war history and and the game puts you in what hapen back then!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for History Channel Civil War: Secret Mission
Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/30/12
Hangtheconspirators99
Location: Davidson,NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love history so this was a good game for me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10