GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PlayStation 3 80GB System 2 USB (GameStop Premium Refurbished)

As its digital soul, the Cell BroadBand Engine represents a tour de force in parallel processing, which means a gaming experience that is beyond what you know today. Its built-in Blu-ray Disc drive delivers a whole new generation in high-definition gaming and unmatched digital media storage. Whether it's gaming, Blu-ray movies, music or online services, PlayStation 3 invites you to Play Beyond.
Average Customer Rating:
7.896
7.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
10 stars
31
9 stars
4
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
7
38 out of 4879%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PlayStation 3 80GB System 2 USB (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Review 1 for PlayStation 3 80GB System 2 USB (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Great system and no maintanance needed!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/13
HonestT
Location: Canoga Park California
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I love this PS3 I bought 3 years ago refurbished at Gamestop. I bought the 2 year warranty in case I needed it, which thankfully I didn't. This machine does everything reliably. This machine also plays PS2 games. I love the Godzilla game Monsters Revenge game playing against my daughter. I also love Resident Evil 4. My only con with this system since it has both processors for PS3 and PS2. Is that the systems sucks as much watts as a refrigerator does!! So for that I bought a new and used PS3 systems respectively at Gamestop. A 250 Gig and 160 Gig PS3 systems during black Friday a few days ago. I bought the 250 Gig bundle with Batman Arkham Origins and The Last of Us included for free for a total of $199.99! I am so happy, both games rock!! I bought a PS4 but I will try to sell that for Xmas on Ebay with 4 shooter games and a extra controller. My 160 Gig System I bought used for $149.99 with a 2 year warranty. Runs great so far also!!! I cant wait for Gran Turisomo6!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for PlayStation 3 80GB System 2 USB (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Very, VERY good console, but overpriced at GS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/30/13
residenteviloutbreak
Location: Jackson MI
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is by far the most reliable of the original "Fat" models released. It stays cool, stays silent, and actually looks nice. I like how it looks "Big" and looks like its meant to be under my TV. While the slim looks like a mini dvd player... and the super slim looks like an offbrand toy made in Korea. Anyways, its a great console, and totally worth money regardless. Make sure you buy the following ESSENTIAL ps3 things first: HDMI Cord, Playstation Plus. Pros: Amazing console, fast gameplay, good graphics, built in blu ray, reliable. Cons: Giant, finger print magnet, controller feels awkward, no PS2 support that other models before had.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for PlayStation 3 80GB System 2 USB (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
MY 80GB 2USB PS3
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/2/13
psxboyz
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got this PS3 for free because of the disc drive is missing therefore i take the top and put a ps1 or ps3 game over the spinner and the laser then put tape up top of the cd to keep it from popping off and scratching my cds and then it works but it worth getting for free but i would be happy to replace the disc drive for it and it be back working again
but it sucks without PS2 BC i like the 80gb 4usb better..
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 4 for PlayStation 3 80GB System 2 USB (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
ps3 fat never had 1
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/12
bigjames27
Location: fort wayne indiana
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i always wanted a ps3 fat because the blu ray and backwards compatibility but i couldn't afford it it was like 623.00 after taxes when they first dropped so i waited a few years now i have an 160 gb and i like it but it doesn't have backwards compatibility and now i want to get a fat model but they say the fat models break easily but i want one so bad if anyone thinks i should buy this fat 1 for this low price comment on my review
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for PlayStation 3 80GB System 2 USB (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/13/12
thebandit
Location: war west virginia
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I Like Gamestop. I woud tell everyone about this place. i love the ps3 i would not own any other game system.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for PlayStation 3 80GB System 2 USB (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Broke within 2 weeks
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/13/12
longy316
Location: PA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought it on June 27th, and it is now July 13.... It will not start and I cannot eject the disc from the PS3 either. Luckily it still falls under warrenty so I will be getting a new one, but i lost all my saved game data. I would NOT reccomend getting a used PS3 from here again.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PlayStation 3 80GB System 2 USB (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Worth Every Penny
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/30/12
GruntUltra567
Location: Vancouver, WA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Refurbished means brand new, only there is a minor thing not the same. My refurbished PlayStation 3 just doesn't have "PlayStation 3" written on the top. This is the exact same as a brand new console and was worth every penny. I love GameStop.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for PlayStation 3 80GB System 2 USB (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Refurbished=Terribleness
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/27/12
angry123
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So I'm extra excited to try my PS3 when it finally arrives. I play for maybe 45 minutes and turn it off and return a couple hours later to find the red light blinking mysteriously. I then found out that I have YLOD. When I bought this system I read the reviews of how refurbished game systems tend to basically suck and they are 100% right only I didn't listen. So the next buyer of this product, you were warned.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for PlayStation 3 80GB System 2 USB (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
"Refurbished" only means re-packaged.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/27/12
jreaper7
Location: Northglenn, CO
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
BUY THE WARRANTY if you'd rather save a couple bucks buying this loud fog horn of a system than just buying a new one. These units are not refurbished. Unless you consider popping in a game for 5 minutes and calling it good. I tried going the cheaper route and bought a used unit, big mistake. It's not a matter of if, but when the YLOD will haunt you. I got it after 6 months, and believe me you will to. Since I didn't buy the warranty, the $249 I spent approx after taxes was wasted for 6 months of enjoyment. The only saving grace was selling the YOLD unit on ebay. If this still doesn't change your mind, educate yourself about the reballing of gpu's, because thats what will need to be done once the unit bites the dust.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PlayStation 3 80GB System 2 USB (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Never Buy A Refurb
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/12
Hieco
Location: Ohio
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
3 weeks after ordering my refurb'd PS3 from Gamestop it finally arrived! ...Only they sent me the wrong model. So, I sent it back and another 4 weeks go by before I finally get it back, luckily they send the correct one the second time. I have had the PS3 for a grand total of 2 months now. Played it maybe 6 times in those 2 months. It is in a well ventilated area, with nothing obstructing it at all, and yet it has already given me the YLOD. Clearly Gamestop is not competent at "refurbishing" systems if the most they can do is make it playable for 2 months before it dies again.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 11 for PlayStation 3 80GB System 2 USB (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
One of my favorite consoles! A good buy!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/27/12
SandwichSeeker
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So I got this for christmas 5 years ago. After about 4 years a charger to my headset yanked out one of the usbs. Its not a huge problem but it can be annoying. Then about 2 weeks ago I decided I wanted to play some BF3 and I went to insert it to find that it wont take in the disc. After a little searching on youtube/google I had one of 2 choices. First pay $100 to get it repaired or option 2 try to open up the console and try to fix it on my own. I didnt feel like paying $100 so I went with option two, it worked for 5 minutes then same problem. So I decided I wanted to try an xbox 360 and get that. So bottom line I would suggest ps3 to anyone it will last a long time with no problems.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PlayStation 3 80GB System 2 USB (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
It is a good system.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/26/12
SNAKEEYE16000
Location: Georgia,GA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This system is one of the best consoles out there. the internet access is the best on play station. I recommend it to everyone.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PlayStation 3 80GB System 2 USB (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
I will never get a refurb from them again
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/19/12
Balian
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This review isn't directed at the PS3 in general (because I love the PS3), just at this refurb. My refurb got here 3 days ago and after only 2 days of use, I get the 3 red lights. I read up on the problem and it almost always means a bad heat sink. I did notice over the past 2 days that the fan has been exceptionally loud. And I don't keep the console closed in, so it's not me. I had another PS3 before this one and it worked amazingly. But I bought it new. Had it for 4 years. And now this piece of junk refurb dies in 2 freakin days. "Cleaned. Tested. Guaranteed", yeah right. They sure didn't test it very well. As for cleaned, it had crusty stuff on it and the cables smelled like cigarettes. And when I cleaned it, a lot of black stuff came of it. Never, ever buy a refurb from Gamestop. Get a new one.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
8 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PlayStation 3 80GB System 2 USB (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
the best of the best
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/11
awsomegamer223
Location: streator il
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i bought this system over two years ago and only shut down on me once. And that was from over heating. Why it did that was because I had it under my bed and on carpet. What ever people say about xbox being better or vice verse, I have both and they have there pros and cons. This is definitely a multi media machine. The fact that it does blu ray opens up a whole new level of gaming. Just having that and not needing to buy a separate blu ray player is awesome! the only major bad thing is that it only has 2 usb ports. So if you have a wired controller and a usb headset there's no more room for different things.take it from me i put in 4-7 hours a day on video game and this meets my standards. What are you waiting for click add to cart!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PlayStation 3 80GB System 2 USB (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Worth Every penny!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/11
Sora22
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Wow, i have been waiting for the PS3 and I am in awe with the graphics, the controllers and the games. Worth the wait and the price I paid.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PlayStation 3 80GB System 2 USB (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Great!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/11
Cokefannn
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Of course this is a PS3 and expect it to work perfectly! It has great performance and does not overheat . I have had no problems with my two 80 GBs and they have outlasted my friends x-boxes. Have had no repairs to them, and they work great! This as a great product for a gamer and someone who likes to watch movies!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PlayStation 3 80GB System 2 USB (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Good System.. But
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/5/11
AngryLime
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
To me its not as good as the xbox 360, especially the new ones. With the ps3, updates take WAY longer. It took over an hour to update a game, when the longest i've waited on the 360 is 30 seconds. What the PS3 has that the 360 doesnt is a sensor that enables motion on the controller. Another downside of the PS3 is that it has a lot less DLC and usually it gets DLC slower then the 360. It does have a few name brand games like uncharted and Killzone, but 360 has Gears of war and Halo which are both equally succesfull, specially to hardcore gamers. I own both systems and think they are both worth getting.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PlayStation 3 80GB System 2 USB (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
AWSOOOOOMMEEMEMEMEMEMEMEM
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/11
MRWHITEBOYCOMPTONUNITE
Location: Popcorn Perry, IN
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
JUMPING IN JOY WHEN I SAW THIS IN MY ROOM WHEN I GOT HOME ALMOST CRIED got black ops and mw3 and skyrim soo happpypyyypypypyp <333333
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
love yah
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PlayStation 3 80GB System 2 USB (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
xbox 360:good.ps3:great!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/11
winn123456789
Location: loveland,co.
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i had an xbox 360 and it was a good console, and then i bought a ps3, and u kno what, ps3 is by far the best console i ever owned in my life.the online gaming's great, the graphics are outstanding,and the lifespan of this console is longer than the 360, plus u dont have to pay to play online!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! so u dont have to worry about paying fo ru r online for the next month!!!!!!!!!!!! get the ps3 instead of the xbox.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kkstriker1234
La
 
Please wait while more information about Kkstriker1234 is loaded.
Additional information about Kkstriker1234 could not be loaded.
Great console!!!!!!
Posted 6/16/12
I've had it for a long time and it's a great console
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for PlayStation 3 80GB System 2 USB (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Its Awesome For Hardcore Players Who Wants More !
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/11
MrDTFman
Location: hawaii,HI
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought it played it enjoyed it no questions about it and the rest is history....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>