GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Resident Evil 5

From the ashes of old conflicts, a new terror arises. The Umbrella Corporation and its crop of lethal viruses have been destroyed and contained. But a new, more dangerous threat has emerged. Years after surviving the events in Raccoon City, Chris Redfield has been fighting the scourge of bio-organic weapons all over the world. Now a member of the Bio-terrorism Security Assessment Alliance (BSAA), Chris is sent to Africa to investigate a biological agent that is transforming the populace into aggressive and disturbing creatures. Joined by another local BSAA agent, Sheva Alomar, the two must work together to solve the truth behind the disturbing turn of events. Featuring a revolutionary new co-op mode of gameplay, Resident Evil 5 will let players experience fear together as terror moves out of the shadows and into the light of day.
Average Customer Rating:
8.63
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (327 reviews)
10 stars
155
9 stars
46
8 stars
19
7 stars
8
6 stars
5
5 stars
3
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
12
228 out of 26586%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Resident Evil 5
Review 1 for Resident Evil 5
Excellent game, definitely worth the money.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/09
xGACYx
This is definitely a game that should not be missed. Beautiful. That is the first thing that comes to mind when you first start the game. It looks absolutely beautiful. When I first popped it in, I was playing it on a standard-definition TV, and it still looked great. Play it on an HDTV and it's a whole new world. The graphics are stunning. The controls take a little getting used to. As others have said, you really need to get used to not being able to run-and-gun. If you want to kill something, you have to come to a complete stop and you will remain stationary until the gun is back by your side. This takes some getting used to because sometimes you won't even realize how close the guy you're about to kill is until you go to shoot and see him swinging. After the first 10 minutes or so, however, you should be golden. Another thing that takes some getting used to is how slowly the camera moves when you are aiming your gun. Once again, it only takes a few minutes to get used to and then you're a pro. Story-wise, it was OK. Not great, but far from bad. Not nearly as captivating as Resident Evil 4, but still pretty solid. My biggest complaint about this game is the length. It's rather short compared to most games of the genre. I have read that the average time it takes to complete RE5 is between 10 and 12 hours, which seems rather short. I was able to beat this in only a few sittings, as were a few of my friends. While the game is short, it is definitely a challenge. You will die a lot. And I mean a lot. On the last chapter alone, I died 15 times. Some enemies are ridiculously overpowered and have an attack that can kill you in one hit. Others just do not seem to die. But the challenge is what makes this game so good. While you may get frustrated at times, the challenge is absolutely captivating. You will find yourself playing it for hours on end, wanting to continue playing even thought you know you should just put the controller down for a few hours. All in all, this is one of the best games that you can buy for the Xbox 360. It has very few cons, but many, many pros.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
70 of 73 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
gamerboy321
 
Please wait while more information about gamerboy321 is loaded.
Additional information about gamerboy321 could not be loaded.
Posted 3/26/11
I totaley agree with you
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Resident Evil 5
A bit of a mixed bag in the Resident Evil series.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/7/13
Tazman5129
Location: lehigh acers, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game was unfortunately given the difficult task of fallowing Resident Evil 4, a game that many consider to be the best in the series. Without that pressure, the game could have been a lot better. Don't get me wrong, RE 5 was a good game, but lack in some ways as compared to its predecessor. It has a good story, though if you are new to the series, then you might get lost, and the game play, graphics, and lasting appeal are okay. Although, this all brings me to my first complaint. The game feels more like an action shooter than a survival horror. It was almost as if Capcom didn't know what they wanted their new game to be. They make it so that you stand still while shooting and reloading, and you must organize your inventory in real-time, and this is good for a survival horror, but other elements in this game point more in the direction of action shooter. Aside from one or two moments, the game isn't scary, and they give you ammo almost all the time, so as long as you don't shoot randomly, you won't run out of ammo. The inventory system makes no sense, and the story feels very broken up. It feels more like you are playing individual missions as apposed to one expanding adventure. Between each chapter, you can buy, sell, and upgrade weapons, and organize your inventory. Your can only bring nine things with you, but you have unlimited space to store stuff outside of each chapter. Also, if you fully upgrade a weapon, you can get unlimited ammo for it. This subtracts from the horror element even more. Plus, the game is way too easy. They seem to give you what you need when you need it, especially during boss battles. In the end, its an okay game, but it just doesn't fell like a Resident Evil game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Resident Evil 5
wow
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/13
FRESH101
Location: Nuketown il
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
if you have 10 dollars this is your game I bought for 5 dollars a couple yrs ago back when my blockbuster was open and I sold it but I don't regret beating the game is really awesome. but don't buy the mansion dlc my stepdad tells me it was kinda bad. but buy revelations first because if you do want to play that dlc revelations is what happens before that. off topic though re5 is a great game I would really recommend it for it is awesome.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Resident Evil 5
THE BEST GAME EVER!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/5/13
JILL123
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I LOVE THIS GAME BECAUZE IT HAS LOTS OF SHOOTING. MY FAVORITE CHARACTERS ARE JILL AND WESKER AND CHRIS.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Resident Evil 5
Liking about RESIDENT EVIL 5
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/5/13
JILL123
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
What I like about this game is that the Resident evil series is the best but in my opinion I love Resident Evil 5 the most than the other Resident Evil. Its a good game for people who like shooting, scary moments, zombies and other stuff.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 6 for Resident Evil 5
A MUST BUY
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/30/13
NLHPKNOP
Location: elkhart, in
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
IT IS A GOOD GAME BUT NOT AS GOOD AS RESIDENT EVIL 4 I WOULD RECOMMENDENT TO A HARDCORE GAMER ,BUY IT
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Resident Evil 5
best game ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/16/13
cruudysquare
Location: dinuba,ca
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
they said that resident evil 7 will come up in 2015 and jill and caire well be in the game too i hope they put jill and caire
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Resident Evil 5
One of the best RE games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/12
grubkiller
Location: New York City
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Resident Evil 5 is a great game for RE fans RE 5 has the same laser sight from Resident Evil 4 but its Chris story going to the west African branch and stopping a deal of B.O.W.S graphics are up to date and good gameplay is nice and the story is great.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Resident Evil 5
GREAT GAME!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/20/12
xZioZ
Location: los angeles
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
THIS GAME IS GREAT ... TAKES A LITTLE TIME TO GET USE TO CONTROLS... I RECOMMEND THIS GAME WORTH EVERY SINGLE PENNY I SPENT ON IT
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Resident Evil 5
ONE OF THE BEST!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/12
deafcon
Location: connecticut,Ct
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I absolutly love this game! RE4 transfered the combat system and made it even better in this.the graphics are extremlly realsictic and watching heads and gore exploding never has been better.the only problem i had with this game was the replay value,there is'nt much to do(if you have versus and all the map packs then your fine!)when you beat the game on all the difficultys and get the achievments you want.Overall,this game is a must have even if your a RE fan or not!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Resident Evil 5
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/12
LordMushu
Location: Houston, TX
I understand those people who give the game a chance and quit right away. DON'T! You WILL regret it, the controls aren't exactly the most comfortable in the world but just try playing on amateur at first or play with a friend who already played the game to get used to them. Once you get used to the controls you will love the game.No it might not have classic zombies but that is no reason not to give the game a try I still find myself playing the campaign quite a few times especially with a friend online.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Resident Evil 5
I don't know..
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/12/12
elroho24
Location: Indianapolis, IN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I bought this game yesterday, just to get up to speed in the Resident Evil series. I read the reviews and people said that it was great, but I didn't really think so. The controls are ridiculous. You have to press like two or three different buttons just to reload, or knife the zombies, which by the way aren't really zombies, just crazy people and you can't move and shoot or move and knife at the same time. It's a hard game. I don't know about it. It's not like the others. I hope Resident Evil 6 is better.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Resident Evil 5
resident evil 5 a mixed bag
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/12
bfgu
Location: norwood ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
a the next title in the re sereies it depends on if you liked re 4 if you do this is the game for you . every one alredy knew chris was becaus the pattern chriss games have a pattern like 1 3 5 it has a wepon selection type like outbreak this game turned to be good because it had the same virus from re4 i seen beta pics and it had jill and claire together the gameplay was 2 blurry if you have a xbox YOU MUST HAVE THIS.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for Resident Evil 5
Awesome game get it right now.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/8/12
subzero123123123
Location: ohio,Oh
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a great game. The controls may feel odd at first but in time they feel completely normal.There is a great story line.The game itself gets dull after the campaign but the fact that their are hidden weapons and collectibles and a multiplier and 2 DLC's.When you play the game you play at hours at a time. The story is so addicting , the times your not playing the game you wish you were.The games graphics are amazing the game is beautiful.Well if I were you i would be rushing on my to gamestop to get one of the best games ever.Do it now!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Resident Evil 5
Awesome co op spit screen
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/24/12
apezz
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game was so much fun, I really appreciated the co op spit screen, it wasn't full screen but it was still great either way, I played this game with my son, It's not the best game for young players, but it is very simple to play.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Resident Evil 5
One of the best games I've ever played.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/19/12
PokeguyRoblox
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a very great game. I understand that some people don't like it because it strays too far away from the original RE games. That doesn't make this a terrible game. The graphics are some of the best I've ever seen, the music design is awesome, and the Co-op is the best feature about this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Resident Evil 5
Well worth the money
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/17/12
ibgamer01
Location: 14 Cadwell rd./ 169 Auer farm rd.
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Out of all the Resident evil games, this one was my favorite. I loved the story-line, graphics were superb and way better than RE 4, and the co-op was awesome. I loved how they added split screen in, too. The game has so many extra content, it makes you want to keep playing until you unlock everything. I got it 2 months ago and i'm still in the process of unlocking hidden and extra content. This game is always fun to play with a friend. Resident Evil 5 was definitely worth my money.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Resident Evil 5
Exciting
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/12
XxCheetah
Location: Phoenix, AZ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The Game isnt overly great as far as gameplay goes. Its nice that you have to stop to take your time and be accurate but at the same time annoying when your being surrounded by a group of monsters. I loved the game though i havent beat the game yet i think i only have a few levels to go through, but i have enjoyed the game. Great replay value but its a game for a certain kind of a gamer thats for sure. Resident Evil earns a 9/10 for me.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Resident Evil 5
AWESOME!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/4/12
scotty24360
Location: virginia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
my review of the game... well i started it two player with a freind when i first got it. and its verry addicting! we loved it! we literally craved playing this game when we wasnt home lol.so i guess my review of this game is summerized in 1 word. AWESOME. buy it!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Resident Evil 5
No.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/12
brennendeschnee
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Twenty minutes in and I didn't even want to finish the first chapter. Boring story line, bad gameplay, you can't even survive the first battle without restarting quite a lot. Unless you're willing to cuss at your screen all night, don't buy this game. It's not worth it at all.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 17 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
cloud6552
Hamilton, Ohio
 
Please wait while more information about cloud6552 is loaded.
Additional information about cloud6552 could not be loaded.
Really now?
Posted 5/6/12
You probably suck at the game. I went through the entire game without dieing once. It's pretty easy. I found it fun, intense and the story was awesome This game was meant for Co-op.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>