GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Batman: Arkham Asylum

In Batman: Arkham Asylum, the Dark Knight takes on his greatest challenge yet when he becomes trapped with all of his most dangerous villains inside the insane asylum of GOTHAM CITY - ARKHAM ASYLUM! Batman: Arkham Asylum exposes players to a unique, dark and atmospheric adventure that takes them to the depths of Arkham Asylum - Gotham's psychiatric hospital for the criminally insane. Gamers will move in the shadows, instigate fear amongst their enemies and confront The Joker and Gotham City's most notorious villains who have taken over the asylum. Using a wide range of Batman's gadgets and abilities, players will become the invisible predator and attempt to foil The Joker's demented scheme. Batman: Arkham Asylum features an original story penned exclusively for the game by famous Batman author and five-time Emmy award winner, Paul Dini, whose credits include Lost season one and Batman: The Animated Series. With amazing graphics and a moody, immersive setting, Batman: Arkham Asylum offers diverse gameplay options that push the envelope for all action, adventure and superhero games.
Average Customer Rating:
9.569
9.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (298 reviews)
10 stars
159
9 stars
51
8 stars
8
7 stars
0
6 stars
3
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
219 out of 22398%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Batman: Arkham Asylum
Review 1 for Batman: Arkham Asylum
One of the best super hero video games ever
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/21/11
ummfloyd
Location: California, somewhere
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Its fun, challenges, like a puzzle maze, and face through toughest villians and thugs espcially killer croc ! its most best super hero game i've ever played in my life don't turn this game down its just simply AMAZING !!!!!!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Batman: Arkham Asylum
GREAT GAME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/11
sir2KC
Location: Cedar Rapids IA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Awesome game. Great graphics. Buy this game and i guarantee you will love it. Just a great game for everyone
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Batman: Arkham Asylum
Its not a kid game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/10
tdtuchdown21
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Batman is back and much darker in batman arkham asylum. In this game you play as the dark knight himself, and try to take back control of arkham asylum from the evil yet awesome joker. As you do this you will fight a few villans like: poisin ivy, scarecrow, my favorite killer croc, and of course harley quinn and the joker in his plot to make a super steroid army. As you go on you will learn that this game was not made for children. 1 reason is the challenge. This game is incrediblly difficult and requires alot of attention and paitence. 2 The violence and lots of it . However there are some things i didnt like. 1 the riddlers riddles just end up throwing you of track of your main objective. 2 unfortunatlly this game can become a button masher in hand to hand combat. All things considerd though the game is stunning. The graphics are almost too realistic if thats possible, And the seperate bat missions like the stealth modes will keep you playing long after the story mode.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Batman: Arkham Asylum
A masterpiece.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/29/12
ZReviewer
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Batman: Arkham Asylum is nothing less than a masterpiece. The graphics are beautifully detailed, the combat is amazing, and so addicting. The story is written by Paul Dini, the voice of Joker is Mark Hamill (Luke Skywalker), and Batman is played by Kevin Conroy. The game is set in Arkham Asylum when Joker is caught by Batman, and Batman brings him to the Asylum. Joker escapes, and takes control of the Asylum.Freeing all the inmates, and it's up to you to stop Joker, you get to utilize Batman's gadgets, detective skills, and combat abilities. You face the best of Batman's villains including: Bane, Killer Croc, Scare Crow, Harley Quinn, and more. In short this game is amazing. Check out my other reviews by moving the cursor over my nick name, and put a thumbs up if this review was helpful to you.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Batman: Arkham Asylum
Amazing Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/26/09
supersport
When I bought this game I knew it would be a decent game because the demo was great. After playing it almost non-stop for the past day and a half I can say that it was even better than I expected. It makes you think so that there is a challenge, but not too much of a challenge. The graphics are incredible, and the sound effects are awesome, the characters voices are very well done. The storyline is also quite interesting how the joker has his "plans", and how all of the characters from the batman cartoons play into the story. The fighting in this game is totaly incredible and easy to use. There are so many different moves that batman can do and they are all really cool. You can also silently kill enemies by coming behind them or you can use a bathook to get on a roof of a building and do a gliding kick to an enemy catching him by suprise. There are sooo many different things you can do in this game. This is one of the best games I have ever played and I recommend you go get it right now!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Batman: Arkham Asylum
First Great Game In Years
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/3/09
Guitar Hero Metallica Fan
When I first saw that Batman Arkham Asylum was coming out, I though this was just going to be another arcade fighter with good graphics. My opinion quickly changed after I saw the first trailer. I knew this game was going to be great. When it came out, I rushed to buy it and put it in my system. I was amazed. The visuals are great, the story line is vast and dynamic, it keeps you on the edge of your seat wanting more. Unlike other games of its genre, you cannot just break out and attack enemies, you need to pick enemies off one by one and be as stealthy as the "Dark Knight". There are many gadgets that you can unlock throughout the game, and as another bonus you can upgrade you gadgets. The immersive story line is VERY exciting and keeps you eyes glued to the screen. There are challenges, trophies, character files, and riddles to go along.To say the least, this not your average action game. If you even slightly like batman this is the game for you, it is worth the $** price tag it comes with.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Batman: Arkham Asylum
Fantastic Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/22/11
mitchinator
Location: portland,oregon
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Batman: Arkham Asylum is an amazing game. Nearly everything about it was great. The only thing that was bad about the graphics is that some of the lip-synching is off. But other than that this game is near perfect. The combat in Arkham Asylum is spot- on, stealth sequences are beyond fun, and the boss battles aren't very hard. The only draw back in the gameplay is that during the stealth sequences, when you're having so much fun stalking one of Joker's goons, you realize that you've been doing it for the past hour. So, yeah, it's too much fun. Also, the game's plot is pretty good. The setting in the game is dark and spooky. Especially, in the second half of the game. Also, this is one of those games that gets harder and harder as you progress through the story. Overall, this game is spectacular. I didn't even tell you about the extremely awesome scarecrow sequences or some of the cool upgrades that you can purchase. I would give this game a ten.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Batman: Arkham Asylum
Batman is my new #1
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/11
Codamadius
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The most unique combat system I've ever experienced. Free flow combat...great idea, and great job executing it. Graphics are great, the story is great, and the interactions are great. This is the first Batman game where Batman is truly Batman. And his enemies are truly themselves as well. I hated the old 60's Batman because he wasn't nearly a "Dark Knight". And we all hated the "GEE WILLIKERS!" Robin as well. They modernized Batman's world to the fullest and made him a role model of heroes. I cannot wait for Batman: Arkham City to come out. I know they added lots of things and the story will be just as good. I almost thought that Robin would be annoying and corny as he usually was, however they seemed to finally have made him to be worthy of Batman's sidekick. They also added lots of Batman villians (and villianesses ;) ) to the story. Until that comes out, and even when it does, Batman: Arkham Asylum is a must for everyone. Even ones who aren't the biggest fans of the Bat. I became one because of the recent movies and this game. :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Batman: Arkham Asylum
Phenominal Game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/14/10
Nintendo Guy
So when I bought this I figured it would be just another superhero game (Spiderman 3, Superman Returns, Marvel Ultimate Alliance, ect.) but in fact, it was much more. Arkham Asylum was a superhero game, a fighting game, a detective game, and a mystery all in one. Arkam Asylum also teaches you alot about the DC Universe, The plot of the game is that when Batman takes the Joker into custody without hardly even a fight he gets worried that he is up to something. Despite his suspicions he takes the Joker to Arkam Asylum, There the Batman accompanies him almost all the way to his cell but when he reaches a point where only Arkam employees are allowed he must stay behind. Once Batman is out of the picture the Joker breaks free of the guards and escapes deep into Arkam while Batman is in pursuit of him. During his pursuit Batman battles many old enemies and must save some friends. All in all this game is very fun to play and you will also get a good "education" in the DC world.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Batman: Arkham Asylum
Great game!
Posted on:4/11/09
FrAg MiStEr
I think this will be a great game with an awesome storyline , but one thing that concerns me is that it may be a storyline from watching the trailer video.I am not sure ,but hopefully it will be a long action-packed game.Great graphics and interface.I read a article on it a few months ago.I was hooked with the game and can't wait for the game to come out in June.Hopefully they will get out all the flaws and hopefully have NO flaws , if there are flaws hopefully they are really minor.It shouldn't be such a easy game to play maybe they will have where you can change the difficulty (like in most games) because I don't like games that are easy.I heard you will be able to use the batarang and that will be a great feature.Controls will probaly be easy to control on all systems.Overall from looking at this great game and will hopefully be a great super-hero games because a lot of people are giving this game a lot of credit and don't do that a lot for super-hero games.Batman Arkham Asylum will be a great game!!!
Review 11 for Batman: Arkham Asylum
Not as cracked up to be as I thought
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/31/09
EC
Overall, the game feels dragged out by the time Killer Croc rolls around. Speaking of which, the boss fights are way easy. The freeflow combat that it prodes itself on is not that great. Combos are nearly impossible due to one being able to knock out a big group fairly quickly leading to a combo loss (I myself regularly get 20 combo runs only to try number 21 and see all enemies are downed and then starting at 1 again). Also in ffreeflow, you dont typically go where you want, the game defaults to the nearest enemy automatically...so much for the FREE in freeflow. I do have to say that this did Batman justice. The Predator Challenges are stupidly easy (when Batman does what you want him too and not default to some random direction you're not facing), yet the Combat Challenges are stupidly hard due to the aforementioned combo breaking. Yes it is a must buy in my opinion for the sake it is aa great game...but not a recommended multi-play game...one shot then trade in....which I will do tomorrow most likely.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Batman: Arkham Asylum
Favorite game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/16/10
heyheyman
this is a truly awesome game!!!! its about joker taking control of arkham asylem and batman has to stop it. the graphicks are really good it almost looks real!!!! its really short i beat it in three days, but once you finish you want to do it agoin in a harder mode. i dont really care about the riddlers riddlers but thats my opinion.you use every one of batmans gadgets, and can also buy upgrades.its pretty short so if you want a long game definetly dont buy this. the soud is great and like every game the mouth moves up and down.its defenetly has a challenge to it. this game is only for gamers. if you dont know what a d-pad is dont buy it. but at the end you can only fight people in chanenge mode. that kinda bites. its really upredictable and the final boss is easy. all in alll it the best game ever but really short.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Batman: Arkham Asylum
Great game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/17/11
riit76
Location: Seymour, IN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Most super hero games are just ok... at best. And some of them are absolutely terrible. But this one is the first one that I have ever played that I enjoyed the story, the graphics, the gameplay, all the way through to the end. The voice work is great on every one of the main characters, all character models look great. I would reccomend this game to anyone just because its that GOOD superhero game that we have been needing for a long long time. Also, lemonade is delicious.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
DC Universe Online
7.3 out of 10(262)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Batman: Arkham Asylum
a truly excellent game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/12
THURNIS
This game is more than just a game, it is an experience. The graphics are stunning and make Batman and his most dangerous foes look better than ever. The voice acting is the new standard of excellence in video games. The story is great and flows beautifully. The various boss battles are new and exciting, and the upgrades to Batman's gadgets and armor are always fun to unlock and use in the world. After beating the story, you can free roam in the asylum and spend hours collecting the myriad of riddles around the asylum. Fans of the Batman franchise will appreciate all the subtle nods to villains and other characters from the batman universe. Even people like myself who only knew the Christopher Nolan Batman movies will walk away with tons of Batman knowledge after finding all of the character bios and inmate therapy tapes. This game is an incredible experience to play through, and can captivate die hard fans as well as people new to the Batman universe.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 15 for Batman: Arkham Asylum
Great while it lasts.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/09
Professional Reviewer
The first thing I have to say is this is an amazing game. The graphics controls storyline and gameplay are great. It starts off with you taking joker to the asylum and then of course he breaks free and trys to take over arkam asylum. This leads to good plot and lots of fighting. Fighting doesnt get boring for a second. The fighting makes you want to fight. It looks like you took great stunt devils and put them in a fight seen. Another amazing feature is the graphics. The only flaw in the graphics is the awful lip synching. it looks like there saying something completly different then there saying. You feel like your batman using all his gadgets and using amazing combat. You fight all batmans greatest rivals. I have played and beat the game. It took me about a week to beat it so about 24 hours. Remeber to buy this game! Challenge mode will keep you occupied for a while after you beat it. I personally found this a great game while it lasts. I hope you take in this information and it helps you decide whether to but it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Batman: Arkham Asylum
Not Much To Say
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/30/09
DIBS
there is not much to say about this game because it is probably one of the best games out there right now and if not the best. All good games can be summed up very shortly. what i think makes this game great is that it makes you think and even better you have fun doing it. i am pretty far in the game and the controls, characters, and the settings of the game is truely amazing. i dont write reveiws much,but when i do they are worth it. the storyline is your oviously Batman and you bring the Joker into the Arkam Aslyum. He has devised a planm and escaped within the Asylum and is in control of everything. you must stop him, but he has released every single of Batman's old enemies such as Harly Quinn, Bane, Poison Ivy, Killer Croc and so many more. and it feels amazing after you take down a well known criminal. And there are many hostages and many people are dying because of this mad man. Will he be stopped? Well youll have to buy the game to find out.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Batman: Arkham Asylum
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/11/11
Spinosaurus
Location: NorthRichlandHills,TX
This is a RE-REVIEW. Do NOT read my past one. The only reason I gave arkham asylum a 2 was because I rage quit because I couldn't beat the Joker at the very last part of the game. Listen, I loved this game, and I can't wait for arkham city. The gameplay was mostly fun, the graphics were great, the story was epic and addicting, although it had some flaws. Some parts were hard, I would get spotted a lot at stealth parts, I was great at fighting, but not awesome at it, I would get lost and confused a lot,etc etc, but overall, an awesome game. Do NOT troll me or say I was stupid or I am a bad gamer or anything, etc etc.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Batman: Arkham Asylum
BATMAN ARKHAM ASYLUM...nuff said
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/10
COreyy
Location: new york
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a very cool game, it has everything cool stealth moves, you can hide in the vents or the goblin statues up high if someone spots you.What is cool about this game is your no longer that old blue batman anymore, you play as a very shadowy hidden character, with amazing skills. What i liked mainly about this game was the fighting moves you can do, there are so many cool takedown combos you can do, it is absolutley amazing. There are not many glitches in this game, i played the whole entire game, and there was no glitches at all.What I dont like about this game is that once your done with the story mode, theres not much you can do, there are no enemies you can knockout, or anyone there, even though I got so addicted to the game, that i achieved all of the riddler trophies. But overall this game has a good story and I highly recommend it if you like action, fighting, and even stealth.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Batman: Arkham Asylum
the greatest superhero game of all time
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/10
mojo17
when i had first picked up batman arkham asylum, i expected it to be just like any other superhero beat em up game... i was wrong. batman arkham asylum is a survival horror game like silent hill mixed with deadrising which is good. but at the same time it still has parts where you can beat up bad guys. it also has some tactical themes to it like metal gear and splinter cell. in addition to being able to sneak up on enemies and take em down batman also has alot of neat gadgets which can be used to your advantage. and the mysterys you have to solve are very intersing and time consuming... which is also a good thing. and alot of people say the game is short when it really isnt ita very long. and even when youre done you can still find collectibles and complete challenges. and you can explore the hospitals and other things on arkham island and there are some encouters with scarecrow which are very freaky. along with scarecrow there are many other like the joker harley quinn etc. so in conclusion i would just like to say that arkham asylum is one the greatest games of all time and the greatest superhero game of all time. my final score. 10 out of 10 or 5 out of 5
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Batman: Arkham Asylum
Batman was never this good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/11
Raventheblack
Location: Mi
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Batman Arkham Asylum set itself apart from any other batman game with elements that would take up several videogames alone,most batman games were typcial side-scrolling beat em games with an occasional car chase,not this time,this time around your immersed in a very expansive enviroment and your not alone your in arkham asylum with a lot of people you can talk to whether its for advice,a good joke,or just to make you feel your like batman and actually part of the game,game mechanics now include a more stealthy apprcoah where you can sneak up behind enemies and take them down silently without alerting others to your location or using your grappling hook play a game of predator where you watch your opponents from above waiting for the perfect moment to strike them down,enemy's also react differently depending on the situation they'll be either confident or scared when you first see them and as you take them down 1 by 1 the remaning enemies start to panic you can even see there heart rate rise with your detective mode,eventually theyll lose their cool,puzzles are also incorpated in the game yet none of them are stressfull and hard and offer fair and realxed yet complex challanges,in the game you get experience points by beating up bad guys and solving riddlers challlanegs which not only restores your health but when you gain enough you level up and can unlock upgrades rangeing from equipment upgrades to new attack combos and even upgrade your health,a major part of this game is exploration as you explore new areas you can find hidden and cool stuff like villain references and riddler challanges so the game kinda has a metroid prime exploration theme to it,the combat system coulda been a bit better and batman coulda had more tools and or weapons i felt but those are minor oversights,as batman your abls to talk to prison guards just for friendly convos or to gather info,theres not too many boss battles but one of the great more scary experiences is when scarecrow comes and your whole world turns upside down via silent hill style,the fact also many of the batman villains from the comics are mentioned in the game also keeps homage to the old school fans fo the series,the game all in all is hard to explain it just has so many elements and good thigns going for it your never quite bored,sadly the game is short and can be beat in 3 hours but if your a gamer youll track down them riddler challanges,i give the game a 10/10 its the best batman game ever and one of the best action and exploration games around ever since metroid died(and yes metroid and my heart for it died when i saw metroid other M that game was horrible)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>