GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Company of Heroes: Tales of Valor

Company of Heroes: Tales of Valor is the expansion to the Game of the Year winner and highest rated real time strategy franchise Company of Heroes. Featuring new campaigns to overcome, units to command, and battlefields to conquer, Company of Heroes: Tales of Valor delivers evolved gameplay mechanics and 3 episodic adventures including 9 new missions, 3 new Multiplayer Modes, and new abilities to master.
Average Customer Rating:
7.667
7.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
1
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 683%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Company of Heroes: Tales of Valor
Review 1 for Company of Heroes: Tales of Valor
Great Game for a Low Price
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/8/09
Sid Straub-GA 5007
Company of Heroes is an overall great franchise which has allowed for a solid strategy game that involves true tactics. Tales of Valor augments some fresh new game types and maps to help keep old players hooked and new playersmore to get hooked on. Despite the system requirements stressing most non-gaming pc's, the game can run on a lower end comp with the right settings. The new units offer better tactical options for each army as well as the three new short campaigns offering a rewarding experience. Some cons although are the much anticipated new armies, which made no appearence. Most would agree that the Italians and Russians would have made a good addition, but Relic still has room for one more expansion in my opinion. An otherwise great lineup of maps have been cut in half (Origianally 18 new maps were revealed to be included. ToV only ships with about 9). For the thirty dollar price tag, this game is a great addition to the series, and a great standalone for newcomers.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Company of Heroes: Tales of Valor
Ok, but not amazing
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/11/09
SwatCommander412
This game definitely is a good buy, ever since the first Company of Heroes was released I was hooked, however in this expansion pack, they released several new maps, some of which are user-created. There are also some new units that can be used in place of old ones and the units are somewhat better than the ones they replace. The story line is really good, but quick and short, there is little to be played. Graphics are still amazing and jaw-dropping! Several new multi-player modes are at your disposal yet all the modes are very challenging and are not really that fun. The original online gameplay is still in place and in my opinion is the best way to play online. There also appears to be a new online rating system: skirmish. In here, I noticed that the AI is ten times more difficult and they seem to have the better advantage over your teams no matter how good you are at the game!! My friends and I are really experienced at this game and 3 of us playing 1 medium got so hard, its like the medium AI is now experts... So, in conclusion, the game is a good buy for someone who never owned the game, if you already own the game, just download the patch, unless you want the 12 or so new units and multiplayer modes.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Company of Heroes: Tales of Valor
Nice units...not much substance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/1/09
Tanker1972
So this expansion gets rave reviews. No way, this was not worth $30 unless you're into online gaming. It adds new maps and new units. Some of which are really awesome, but the amount of substance and work put into the new campaigns is laughable at best. The three new campaigns are extremely easy, and can be completed in about 30 minutes each, not the mission the whole campaign. Anyway I was disappointed after playing the other campaigns from previous expansions and expected something equal to those in substance, sadly this is not the case with this expansion. I expect expansions to carry a lot more re-playability than this one offers, even the intro movies are generic at best, granted I don't really gauge a game by that, but this has so many shortfalls you tend to look at the whole thing as some attempt to throw an expansion together as fast a possible to generate revenue.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 4 for Company of Heroes: Tales of Valor
A great game, but an okay expansion
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/11
DaveTabbs
Location: Eastern United States
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Company of Heroes is a great game. It is without a doubt the most realistic and entertaining WWII RTS game out there. However, Tales of Valor did not offer much. It came with three new campaigns, and three new game modes. Not worth the 30 bucks it was released as. Luckily I bought it for only 8 bucks when it was on sale at my local Gamestop, so I could critique it without spending too much. If I were to rate Company of Heroes as a whole, I would give it a 10/10. However, if I were to rate Tales of Valor, I would give it a 6/10. I do recommend this game, however if you buy this expansion, make sure you don't blow anymore than 10 bucks on it wherever you may find it.
 
My Product Recommendations
Company of Heroes: Gold Edition
10 out of 10(3)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Company of Heroes: Tales of Valor
great game, hardcore players preferred
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/11
backfire96
Location: california
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this is a really great in-depth strategic game revolving around world war II. It is especially great due to the factions in the game and the units available to each faction. This allows for a good bit of variation in the game. Although, i must say, i am not to fond of the games skill level (as it is meant for good gamers). I mean, you don't need to be really good at games to play it and still have a lot of fun, but it ws probably made for more better gamers in mind. If you do hapen to get into it, it can start getting really fun though, and it has a great multiplayer matchmaking system to keep things interesting.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Supreme Commander: Forged Alliance
6.4 out of 10(11)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 6 for Company of Heroes: Tales of Valor
Company of Heroes Continues
Posted on:2/14/09
Beelzebub
Although this upcoming stand-alone expansion will feature no new factions, new units as well as game types have been confirmed. There is at least 1 confirmed campaign, with 3 more to be rumored. The Tiger Ace campaign will give you control of a sole Tiger with special abilities. New gametypes for multiplayer, as well as a new game type for the tiger will be very innovative. As once of the best real-time strategy series ever made, this is a must have for RTS fans or WW2 fanatics.
Review 7 for Company of Heroes: Tales of Valor
Pvt. Donut
Posted on:12/25/08
Anonymous
Well IMO it sounds like at least one new army will be released, maybe 2, With THQ new skins means new doctrines therefore new Armys. Some New German army that we possibly rarely herd of (Japanese Would have been more fun) , ans I would keep an eye out, I have a feeling the Russians will be making an appearance, with the simple comment "Started our name in the East.", But even if i get 10 more Official Maps its a Definite Buy, THQ and Relic Know RTS.
Review 8 for Company of Heroes: Tales of Valor
Finnaly
Posted on:12/17/08
Anonymous
Yea baby!!! The best game Ever!!! The great part of this game that it focus on the German axis side. We are tired of focusing on the allies side the real heroes of tww2 were the axis not the allies. Using Wittmann tiger tank I love it the first to part were great and still lots of people play this game I highly Recommend this game. If u love ww2 and RTS. And want to have the power of contrling a Tiger tank. THQ the best.
Review 9 for Company of Heroes: Tales of Valor
Hmmm...
Posted on:2/25/09
WornWing
I'm not going to pre-order this or buy it right off the bat, but i love the game. Like most people said here, no new units (should of made Italian and Russian factions) but they could use heck of more maps and maybe some new skins would be cool. I'm tired of playing the same old boring maps! Ugh, i want more huge and more city like maps would be excellent!
Review 10 for Company of Heroes: Tales of Valor
same old stuff
Posted on:12/23/08
MeerKat
It looks like there aren't any new factions here. Looks like a bunch of new maps and maybe some re-skins, so i'm paying **$ for something i could get from a mod off the internet? Hopefully with this they will release the object editor so we can actually get some mods going. This game is done and dry without any.
Review 11 for Company of Heroes: Tales of Valor
This one is a gimmick
Posted on:11/12/08
GeorgePatton3
Okay, I know there almost zero details at the moment, but so far it doesn't sound like THQ and Relic put anything "new" in this one. By that I mean no new factions, no new GOOD stuff. Maybe we'll find out more as the shroud of secrecy is lifted...until then, forget this one.
Review 12 for Company of Heroes: Tales of Valor
Xpack for best rated strategy game of all time.
Posted on:11/23/08
Anonymous
Relic has made many expansions for dawn of war and company of heroes and they have yet to disappoint with anything they have done so even though there isnt that much announced for this yet I'm 100% sure it will be worth a purchase for fans of coh.
Review 13 for Company of Heroes: Tales of Valor
Realism, Storyline, and Fun – What more can you ask for?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/09
Mr_JimWest
I have ill-spent hundreds of dollars on similar WWII strategy games. Company of Heroes (COH) is by far the best I have ever seen. That being said, their expansions have no let downs – not like other games. For one, Tales of Valor is independent from the original – and their other expansion “Opposing Fronts”. Not just the single player gaming – but the online multiplayer too – it’s a huge plus, especially if you don’t have ~60 bucks on you. Second, when they say “expansion” – they mean it! You are getting what you pay for, and although it may seem cheaper than other brand new games – but I would most decently pay more if need be. Next, Tales of Valor gives you a new, interesting perk into the high quality game play – which the other expansions don’t have. This “perk” is the ability to aim your specified units. Now – I know other games allow you to do this also –but Tales of Valor has gone about it in a more appealing way. If you plan to buy a Company of Heroes game for the first time, I don’t recommend Tales of Valor. This expansion gives a different look into COH than the originals – don’t get me wrong is a beautiful add on – and I am in high appraisal of it, but to get the full COH experience – get the original and Opposing Fronts expansion in the Gold Edition. In general, if your computer can handle it – the detail of this game is amazing! You sit there surveying the battlefield from a 3rd person view – and with a swipe of your mouse wheel, you’re in a First Person Shooter (FPS). Although I am not much of a story line guru, I really enjoyed the 3 campaigns that came with Tales of Valor, and even more appealing: the whole series. The controls are easy, navigation is simplistic, even downloading patches – couldn’t be any easier, it’s all done automatically… One of the biggest reasons I love the COH series, is because of the realism. There is no other WWII strategy game the even comes close to the amount of realism that COH provides. Weapons, vehicles, damage, maps, terrain, reactions, explosions….all though not 100% accurate – again, the best you will find! In conclusion, buy Company of Heroes Gold Edition – which includes both the Original and Opposing Fronts for the same amount – if you like it, I highly suggest Tales of Valor, it adds multiple new extras here and there for your overall enjoyment. For those who already own COH, Tales of Valor is definitely worth the money – you will get more than you expect from it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10