GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Xbox 360 Intercooler TempSmart

Temperature sensing cooling device for the Xbox 360.
Average Customer Rating:
6.829
6.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (70 reviews)
10 stars
24
9 stars
13
8 stars
5
7 stars
4
6 stars
2
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
16
45 out of 7064%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Xbox 360 Intercooler TempSmart
Review 1 for Xbox 360 Intercooler TempSmart
Red Ring
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/13
travis248
Location: Orlando FL
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Do not use this i started to use this for my xbox 360 and and then i started getting red 3 red rings of death so don't buy it.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 2 for Xbox 360 Intercooler TempSmart
Well, better than risking Red Ring of Death!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/13
MasterRed01
Location: Covington, GA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
A few years ago, my first Xbox got its first Red Ring of Death (RROD for short) from over heating. I managed to get a new hard drive for it, but something in the circuit board was fried from the pure heat in the system. Granted, it was an Xbox that came out near the very beginning of its generation (I even still use the 16 GB Hard Drive!), so I was expecting it to happen at some time.
This fan can prevent it from over heating, and I use it every time when I play my XBox. It works really well, if it is on correctly (it hooks onto the back of the fan, and when it's not on right, the censor in it which detects the heat might not pick up the right tempt).
The only real downside to it is that it is really, really, REALLY loud when it's on. You can hear it from across the room even (my father once even thought he somehow broke my Xbox when the fan turned off when he walked passed it once. ) The fan turns on and off on its own, the censor in it telling it to turn on and off on its own, so you will not hear the loud fan spinning the entire time you play. At least you shouldn't if you have your Xbox in a well circulated spot. It also requires it's own power source, taking a plug in of it's own.
It has a light on the plug in itself to let you know it is getting power as well. A nice touch in my opinion.
Basically, there are probably better fans out there (I've heard that there are even some liquid cooling systems for it, but they probably cost a good bit of money), but if you need something now, need it to work for sure, and don't mind it being loud for about a minute at a time, and getting it for a low price, go ahead and buy it.
Again, there are probably better fans, but this I can honestly say works for sure, even with its flaws.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Xbox 360 Intercooler TempSmart
it works perfect
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/12
mustangcobra
Location: lilesville nc
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i can honestly say this product works perfect i say that cause i have an xbox 360 the white one wit the 60gb hard drive ive had it for 4 years now i bought it brand new a week after i bought it i purchased the intercooler and since then i have yet to have any problems out of my xbox and im a hard gamer since the first day ive bought my xbox i play it none stop for 12 hours or better a day and everytime it has always stayed cool wit the intercooler so yes people i reccomend u buy the intercooler it helps.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Xbox 360 Intercooler TempSmart
better cooling
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/19/12
jdmkid562
Location: long beach, ca
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
it had cooled my xbox alot and my xbox have not got the RROD ever since i would recommend this to anyone who plays 5-6 hours on there 360
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Xbox 360 Intercooler TempSmart
It stinks terribly
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/11/12
gamergamergamer
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Don't not buy doesn't do anything at all it actually made my xbox go rrod more times than without it
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Xbox 360 Intercooler TempSmart
Awesome Product
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/12
zSwiftFoxz
Location: Texas
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This takes the hot air out of your xbox meaning you have a decreased chance of getting the RROD. It runs of its own power supply so it doesnt need the xboxs power supply. When your xbox gets really hot the intercooler powers on and does its job. It can get loud but you learn to ignore it. Great Product
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Xbox 360 Intercooler TempSmart
Works great!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/12
Kauru
Location: Indiana
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
The older version of this product had its issues since it ran off of the Xbox's power supply and therefor cause the Xbox to produce MORE heat, but they've been fixed! No more RROD! This version of the intercooler works great. I bought one for my boyfriend's family's Xbox a couple years back, and never had any problems. It makes a little bit of noise as it runs, but you get used to it, it's not that loud at all... especially if you wear a headset or crank your volume! haha It's definitely a must have for the Xbox 360.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sean92
K-Town Idaho
 
Please wait while more information about Sean92 is loaded.
Additional information about Sean92 could not be loaded.
Does it work with the 360 Elite?
Posted 5/2/12
I think my question is self-explanatory but, just to be sure... I am getting a 360 Elite from a buddy of mine and he said that there is just no cooling system in it. Will this product work for it?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Xbox 360 Intercooler TempSmart
it does what it does good...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/6/12
knoxtight
Location: Dallas tx
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
you need to clean your system any how all the time like once every two months or more if your house is dirty or dusty, unless you got a warrenty to break by opening it up..even then..this thing does draw air into the console in unison dust...with this and a a routine internal dusting this is not a bad purchase......
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Xbox 360 Intercooler TempSmart
Great but loud
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/2/12
M7153DRC
Location: Laramie,WY
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Ignore most of the other reviews they are talking about the first generation intercooler that ran off the power supply of the 360 this actually increased the temp of the Xbox. This one however uses it's own power supply. I haven't had any issues with it, it keeps my Xbox much cooler and it's been working for several years now with no problems on my Xbox or the intercooler itself. I highly recommend it to anyone with the old Xbox so you don't get the RROD.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Xbox 360 Intercooler TempSmart
IT WORKS ! BUT ITS LOUD !
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/11
AJONDECK
Location: Milwaukee
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
iF you want to play your xbox 360 for a long time then u BETTER get this because it will prevent your system from OVER HEATING. which causes the RED RING OF DEATH OR (RROD). I recently bought it for mines and it works great it comes on right away when it senses your system heating up. DO NOT LISTEN to the other people on here. just make sure you get the* TEMP SMART * version of the cooling fan. I usaualy game about 5 hours a day on it so take it from me ok. and have fun gamers !
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Xbox 360 Intercooler TempSmart
Works great, but don't expect too much.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/11
RadTaco
Location: IL
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I bought this around 2-3 years ago after i got my Xbox fixed by Microsoft because it overheated severely. Now whenever it overheats i just pop the intercooler on and it keeps it cool, making not as much noise as you would expect. Basically what I'm trying to say is: Don't expect it to fix your Xbox, only get it if you have minor problems otherwise yell at Microsoft. They usually fix it.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for Xbox 360 Intercooler TempSmart
RRoD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/11
Sheep225
Location: Monrovia,CA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
In some cases if u have the old white xboxs it will cause RRoD it did it to mine ,but my freind has a black xbox nd it works perfect
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FatCat580
Greer
 
Please wait while more information about FatCat580 is loaded.
Additional information about FatCat580 could not be loaded.
Same
Posted 2/7/12
This Happened To Me Too But I Put It On Wrong, I Put It On Again And It Didn't Happen.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Xbox 360 Intercooler TempSmart
Fan-tastic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/11
Intercoolerfan
Location: Upstate New York
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Have had this unit for over two years and i play for 3 to 5 hours daily. No problems at all. All those who say it causes the RROD are nuts.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Xbox 360 Intercooler TempSmart
Works and Cheep
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:10/21/11
Gamerboy97
Location: Hurricane, WV
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It works if your 360 is in some time of compartment but if not dont just buy it to be safe and cautious because your 360 shouldnt really get hot at all if its in the open.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Xbox 360 Intercooler TempSmart
Works as described
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/1/11
BornZKill
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Bought this product well over a year ago, and have had no problems with it since. I run my 360 everyday, whether it be from me or my daughter playing video games to watching Netflix, so it is constantly on.
1) The automatic TempSmart is nice, it turns on the intercooler shortly after the Xbox heats up and stays on for some time after it shuts off, to make sure to get the hot air out.
2) Its AC powered, unlike to older on which plugged in between the Xbox and the power supply, it is a stand alone unit, meaning it cannot screw the Xbox up. It draws air OUT of it, not INTO it, so it doesn't fight your stock fans.
Overall I think this is a great accessory.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Xbox 360 Intercooler TempSmart
Do not buy!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/11
SKD3
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
So I have no idea why anyone thought this thing worked. And whats even better is that it actually prevents any air flow throughout your Xbox 360. It destroyed my buddies Xbox so make sure nobody buys this thing.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
8 of 20 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bunnie
house
 
Please wait while more information about bunnie is loaded.
Additional information about bunnie could not be loaded.
this what i think
Posted 6/15/12
i agree cuz i screwed my xbox up i didnt know what was wrong till i got the red ring then i bought a new xbox, week later my friend said it was the cooler so i went all night and fixed my xbox so yea.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Xbox 360 Intercooler TempSmart
Horrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/11
Tsagu
Location: Rossford,OH
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
This intercooler is horrible! I bought it for my friend after he got his 360. He used it for 2 weeks and the system suffered an RROD. It wasn't under warrenty or anything so we decided to take it apart. Once opened we saw it sucked a lot of dust into it which was sticking to everything causing it to overheat. Funny thing is,we kept the location the 360 was in very clean.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Xbox 360 Intercooler TempSmart
not worth it
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/11
mats
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
nothing from nyko last about everything iv bought from them breaks like the battery pack i bought 2 days later its broken this causes rrod
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Xbox 360 Intercooler TempSmart
this is horrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/11
rickybobby12
Location: Atlanta,GA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i bought one of these a couple weeks ago and it broke my xbox it was brand new then the RED RINGS OF DEATH striked my xbox i buy nothing that comes from nyko because if you do itll be commiting suicide if doesnt come from microsoft its not worth buying
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Xbox 360 Intercooler TempSmart
OMG it works
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/14/11
JxC24
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I found it to get loud but then I moved my xbox into a more open spot that is more ventilated and it works great.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>